Vault

Max value reached

Adding this item would put you over your total vault limit of $250. please review your cart to stay under the limit.

Moisture Mist Beauty Cake Foundation Review

Moisture Mist Beauty Cake Foundation Review
Overall rating from 347 reviews so far:
4.0/5
Would use it again?
4.0/5
Did it do what it said it would?
4.0/5
Would recommend it to a friend?
4.0/5

A compact foundation that can be applied wet or dry to provide optimal coverage and a natural finish.

・Employs Advanced Luminous Technology to promote a makeup look that is beautifully smooth and radiant.
・Minimizes the visibility of pores and subtly covers fine lines and imperfections for a flawless appearance.
・Glides on luxuriously to give skin perfect, even coverage and a creamy powderless feeling.
・Contains Multi-Nutrient Factor, an advanced moisturizer and energizer.
・NON-COMEDOGENIC.

TO USE
・Apply with a dry or slightly moistened sponge after skincare, smoothing on evenly from the center of the face outward. 

Without water For greater coverage and convenient touch-ups.
With water For sheer coverage and a light fresh feeling.

 

Availability Farmers stores, selected pharmacies and Online

Website www.moisturemist.co.nz




RRP: $37.00

Write a review

Please sign in to write a review.

Not yet registered?

It's super simple and only takes 30 seconds.

Register now

How would you rate this product?

Moisture Mist Beauty Cake Foundation Review

Moisture Mist Beauty Cake Foundation Review

Reviews

Overall rating:
4.0/5
13th February, 2020
0 members found this review useful
So versatile

I love moisture mist. They always sit so nicely on the skin and I love that it's non comedogenic as I find that some foundations clog up my pores and then I breakout, or they just feel a bit heavy and yuck on my skin by the end of the day. This product gives great cover but finishes of really nicely into a powder. Looks great under a setting powder too. I'll be trying it again for sure!

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
4.7/5
14th June, 2019
0 members found this review useful
Tried and true foundation

Used this foundation on and off for a couple of years. So sad to see this product and brand coming to an end. Great product and great for travel.

Tips: Ensuring the sponge is damp enough to be able to apply the foundation easily

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
4.3/5
14th June, 2019
0 members found this review useful
Moisture Mist

This is the first foundation I ever tried, my mum used to buy it so she brought me one when I started getting into makeup im the shade "rose beige" and when i found out they were going to be making any more i went and brought like 6 beauty cakes. i love this foundation so much and i love the way it sits on the face, you can do it full coverage or light coverage, i tend to use this for more of a light coverage as i like the way it sits on my skin. i swear by this product and its the only product ive used for 9 years!

Tips: buy it soon!

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
5.0/5
13th June, 2019
0 members found this review useful
Moisture Mist

Moisture Mist is amazing. I use it everyday as a base foundation. It stays on as full coverage for over 8 hours.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
4.3/5
17th October, 2018
0 members found this review useful
Moisture Mist

This was one of the first foundations I had tried back when I was a teenager. My mum used to always have this foundation, she loved it and I would always use it. I really liked it back then, gave good coverage, I liked applying it with a wet sponge. I have not repurchased it though because it is quite expensive and also expensive on its own without the sponge. I love the hard cover case, it has a mirror inside. These days I prefer a liquid foundation.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
4.0/5
18th August, 2018
0 members found this review useful
Try it, you may like it

We all have our preferences for type of foundation - liquid, powder etc but this little classic beauty does both and has a handy compact and sponge. I have a combination skin - dry on the surface and oily base. So I usually like a liquid foundation. I tried this one and loved wetting the sponge before applying the foundation. It allowed me to work the foundation without it caking and dried to a subtle powder finish.

Tips: Add as little or much moisture to the sponge as you prefer.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
5.0/5
17th August, 2018
0 members found this review useful
Go to

This is one of my go to's for foundation. Easy to layer on and doesnt oooo like you need a paint scraper to get it off. Plus, super sensitive skin here and makeup can make it angry but not this! Wear it daily without and angry flare up. It's great!

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
1.0/5
26th April, 2018
0 members found this review useful
The name doesn’t lie: Cake

This is like playdough in a pan. I feel like I could take it out and role it into a ball, maybe make some animal figurines just because I can. You could use a rolling pin and make this into a moisture mist pizza base. At first I thought it was ok but for some reason the oil began to withdraw from the product (not sure why as it was just sitting in mymakeup case with everything else for 2 months) and made it look like a butthole. HAHA! I think when you’ve used it 2-3 times the cake starts to look unhygienic and can get bits of fluff in it, unless you go right in and scoop with your fingers. I ended up spooning the whole product into my fireplace and watched it burn as a night time activity with a friend. #lame #youliveandyoulearn

Tips: Hot tip: it looks cool when it’s melted.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
1.0/5
25th September, 2017
0 members found this review useful
2016 Fantail Limited Edition "Rose Beige"

When BR announced that this year's Limited Edition Moisture Mist Beauty Cake was packaged in a beautiful black case with a bold gold and silver fantail design and that they would be sending out a few trial invites, I just couldn't wait to get my hands on one. I put my hand up for the trial team and then a few hours later, some serious FOMO set in! 

The next morning, the FOMO was even worse! I'd never owned or used a Moisture Mist product, and this packaging was just too beautiful to pass up.  I did some research and discovered that it's the perfect foundation for oily skin! Kick up my FOMO another notch.  I didn't know why I was feeling like this, I don't usually buy Limited Edition products because once they're gone, they're gone for good.  But this one was different because I fell in love with the fantail design and even better, you can buy refills. That meant I could continue using this beautiful case once I'd finished the initial pan of foundation. Yay! 

Well, I my FOMO got the better of me and I went to my local Life Pharmacy the very next day.  I walked in all excited about getting this product, only to discover that they only had 3 shades in stock, and they were all dark.  Thankfully, Farmers is right next door and I walked in with my hopes up high, and they had testers! I found my perfect Moisture Mist shade before tentatively glancing over at the Limited Edition selection on the shelf.  I felt just like a kid at Christmas! I picked up a box of "Rose Beige" and instantly thought to myself, 'Do I really need this?'. I put it back on the shelf and started walking away. I got to the door, but couldn't leave. I turned around, and another five minutes later, I'd bought it and was on my way home. It's so pretty! (My preciousss!)

Do I regret my impulse buy? Unfortunately, yes.  Don't get me wrong, the packaging is absolutely beautiful, but the product inside is a huge let down.  After doing so much research before buying this product, I thought it would be the perfect match for my very oily skin, but I find it difficult to apply, even after watching numerous Moisture Mist application tutorials online.  I can't seem to build up the foundation and only ever get sheer to light coverage.  If I try layering more, it ends up looking cakey.

I even tried applying the Beauty Cake in various different ways:  with a damp sponge, with a wet sponge, with a dry sponge, with my fingers, and I even tried using a damp foundation brush, but nothing worked and I still ended up with light coverage.

Tips: Review continued ... Using a foundation brush made it cakey, and I found it difficult to pick up product when using my fingers, a dry sponge just didn't work, a wet sponge ended up being too sheer, and a damp sponge seems to work the best, but I really have to rub that sponge hard, in a round, circular motion over the product before it picks up the slightest bit of foundation.  This is then applied to my face in very small sections, if I try larger sections, it ends up being too sheer, and if I go over a section twice, it turns cakey very quickly.  

After applying the foundation, I rinse the supplied sponge out, and it's like the sponge is just holding onto all the foundation and then it releases it down the drain with the rinsing water!  It's so frustrating. I can see the foundation in the sponge but it just doesn't end up on my skin.  I've tried patting it on, tried a roll-press motion, tried rubbing it on, and smearing the sponge across my skin.  They make it look so easy in the Moisture Mist online tutorial, but its just not like that in real life!

Needless to say, I won't be repurchasing a refill, and definitely won't be recommending this product to anyone, unless you're prepared to be frustrated with application issues and possibly end up with a product that you really don't enjoy using

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
5.0/5
13th July, 2017
0 members found this review useful
Moisture Mist Beauty Cake.

I found this product great. It was easy to apply and gives you a great natural look without giving you the look of wearing to much foundation. Easy to use and comes in a very attractive and portable container. Would highly recommend this to everyone.

Tips: applying with a damp sponge makes the process very easy and it goes on smoothly.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.

Have You Registered With NZ's Biggest Beauty Guide?

We're always looking for great reviewers to send FREE, FULL SIZED Beauty Products to!

Register today, and help New Zealand never make a Bad Beauty Buy again!

Register Here!