Vault

Max value reached

Adding this item would put you over your total vault limit of $250. please review your cart to stay under the limit.

Hourglass Cosmetics Ambient Lighting Powder Wardrobe Review

Hourglass Cosmetics Ambient Lighting Powder Wardrobe Review
Overall rating from 29 reviews so far:
4.8/5
Would use it again?
4.9/5
Did it do what it said it would?
4.8/5
Would recommend it to a friend?
4.7/5

Hourglass Cosmetics Ambient Lighting Powder Wardrobe Give the gift of light in this limited edition palette featuring three shades of Ambient Lighting Powder, the high-tech, soft-focus finishing powder that features state-of-the-art technology to recreate the most exquisitely flattering types of light. Includes one new limited edition shade, Incandescent Light, and two existing, Dim Light and Radiant Light.

Dim Light A neutral peach beige powder that blurs imperfections and highlights a radiant complexion with the perfect balance of warm and cool tones.

Radiant Light A sun-kissed golden beige that enhances the overall complexion with believable, subtle warmth, and also extends a summer glow.

Limited Edition Incadescent Light A pearlescent powder that highlights the cheekbones and brightens the complexion with a celestial glow.

Availability Mecca Cosmetica and Online

Website http//www.hourglasscosmetics.com/lighting-powder



RRP: $89.00

Write a review

Please sign in to write a review.

Not yet registered?

It's super simple and only takes 30 seconds.

Register now

How would you rate this product?

Hourglass Cosmetics Ambient Lighting Powder Wardrobe Review

Hourglass Cosmetics Ambient Lighting Powder Wardrobe Review

Reviews

Overall rating:
4.3/5
20th April, 2018
1 members found this review useful
Beautiful But Not Perfect

I have struggled with my review for this product slightly because my feelings on this product have been a bit of a toss up.

I was keen to try this because of the hype and I was struggling to find highlighter and bronzer shades I liked. But it is expensive.

Finally I got one and couldn't wait to try it. I eagerly contoured my face and it felt a bit lackluster. I was expecting something more.

However the powders felt beautiful and the shades while not packing the punch I expected did seem to flatter my skin more than several brands I tried. So I kept at it and eventually found ways that worked best for me. And perhaps had also learned by this point that less could be more.

One trick I learned that I really like is mixing them together, this can create a whole new shade and can also be used as a face powder with a bit of glow.

What I love most about this product is how finely milled it is. None of my cheaper highlighter can compete with that. And it does last, which given the price is a relief. It's also in a nice compact, which I am a fan of.

All in all, I think I let the hype initially make me expect too much from this product. But it is quality.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
MAGPIEFI
23rd July, 2018

Great review I've been debating it

Overall rating:
5.0/5
3rd March, 2018
0 members found this review useful
These powders are stunning!

Honestly, i purchased this only because of the hype surrounding it. I took it home and had nooo idea how to use it, but that's how I found out it's so versatile!! I use the end shades to set my face all over if I'm using a matte foundation for a beautiful glowy look. The middle shade is beautiful for highlighting, I do find it a bit glittery but if it's worked into the skin it has a beautiful finish. It's definitely worth the purchase if you love an all over natural glow.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
25th November, 2017
0 members found this review useful
Effortlessly Blurs Pores, Fine Lines + Adds Glow!

This is one of my favorite products and palettes in my makeup collection. It's one of my most reached for palettes and I use it when I'm in a hurry to get out the door because it's so easy to apply and get a beautiful, glow and that blurs pores, doesn't look cakey or settle into fine lines. Plus the powder in the middle, Incandescent Light can be used a very subtle glow highlight and the powder on left Radiant Light gives a subtle all over bronzed glow that can be used as bronzer. The from the first time I tried this out in store it was love. The powders feel really light on the skin and the look I get from applying this is almost airbrushed. I honest was skeptical because my very pale skin friend used this and because the powders look very light and swatch very light and her face looked very subtly contoured, I wasn't sure I would get the same results using this on my NC25 skin. But I did, I got the same results and that subtle contour, glowy skin and it blurred my pores, didn't settle into or emphasize my fine lines. And I got that without and any need to really blend it in it which is why I reach for this when I'm in hurry because I don't need to be too precise with my application or worry about how much my brush picks up since it all blends so effortless and easily you can't really tell where my highlight starts and my bronzer begins. It's unlikely you can over apply this by accident another reason I use this to finish off my base when I'm in a hurry. This isn't a cheap palette but I use it so much almost $100 at the time of this review but the powder is so finely milled the compact is well made and sturdy so I feel like I'm definitely getting a quality product for my hard saved cash. Even though the pans only have 3.3g of powder I have gotten a lot of use out of it and when I hit pan eventually I will be investing in another one to replace it. I think this would be a fantastic staple in anyone's makeup collection.

Tips: Excellent if you love like a radiant look that blurs the appearance of pores and all over subtle bronzed healthy glow. It actually takes effort and digging into the product to over apply it and effortless to get right on the first application as the powder blends seamlessly. I use Dim Light (right pan) to set my foundation all over, Radiant Light (left pan) for an all over bronzed glow and for really subtle light bronzer under my cheek bones and sides of my forehead and lastly, Incadescent Light (middle) for a very subtle highlight glow on my cheekbones, bridge of nose and cupid's bow and light dusting over my eye shadow. The palette is very compact and sturdy, great for traveling. Even though the pans are small I can easily fit my Real Techniques Buffing Brush, Contour Brush, Stippling Brush, Sculpting Brush and tap the Multipurpose Brush in the pans.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.7/5
17th September, 2017
0 members found this review useful
2/3

I love the middle powder to use as a highlight. Its not too powdery and it is such a nice glow without being too over the top. The powder on the right is a perfect bronzer for my skin and doesn't require much blending. I personally dont use the powder on the left because it leaves my skin looking quite yellow.

Tips: Make sure you tap any excess off or it can look pretty powdery over pores

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
14th August, 2017
0 members found this review useful
So prettyyyy

I love everything about this! The colours are all to die for, the packaging is amazing and it has the perfect amount of shimmer! Day or not, you can use this palette to rock any look and it makes your skin look so dreamy and glowy! The colours are all perfectly pigmented and you don't need to use a great deal of product! I've had this for about a year now and I've still got plenty of product left - good bang for your buck!

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.7/5
11th June, 2016
1 members found this review useful
I love this but I struggle with this...

It's a love hate relationship. I hummed and haa'd over this in the shop, many times, before buying.

I find the dark shade is a little too dark and too bronzey for me maybe? I think my main problem is finding the right brush to use with it, not too big, not too small, just the right amount of fluffiness.

I have to say I was hoping for more 'blurring of imperfection' action but alas I don't see anything blurred. It does add a nice glow to my face and the light shade provides subtle highlights. I like that it is not glittery like a lot of highlighters are.

I like the packaging and I'm happy that I bought it. I'm not sure I really needed it, but honestly I'm happy just to look at it even if I'm not using it- it is beautiful and luxurious looking, and the three different powders all have a deep glow. It's like when you see someone beautiful and you just can't stop staring!

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.7/5
6th October, 2015
5 members found this review useful
Bae

I have had this palette over 6 months and only now do I feel confident in writing my thoughts on it. I have dry skin and was sick of my makeup constantly looking tired and dull so one day I went in to Mecca and had the assistant dust the powders all over my face so I could see how they wore. I honestly couldn't stop looking at my skin the entire day, it made my skin look airbrushed and glowy all day long (in a non-oily way).

Needless to say I went back the next day and purchased it. Initially I was only using Dim Light over the centre of my face and for the life of me could not recreate the effect on my skin that the assistant had created. This resulted in me putting it aside and doubting my purchase. However, I picked it up again a couple of months ago after researching how others use it, and I just adore it now. I use all 3 powders daily as follows:

Dim Light: I dust this over the centre of my face to blur the size of my pores and imperfections, and just give the skin a healthy glow. It really is great at pore blurring!

Incandescent Light: I use this on all the standard high points of my face for a gorgeous non-glittery highlight. I also love it as a brow bone and inner corner highlight as it lasts alll day!

Radiant Light: I love the effect of this dusted over my bronzer at the back of my cheekbones and on my forehead. It really does give your face a gorgeous radiant glow. I also dust this down the bridge of my nose for a healthy, sun kissed flush of colour.

The packaging is elegant, feels sturdy and is perfect for travel as it contains a good sized mirror. I do note that the Hourglass label etc is starting to wear off, but that just shows how much I use it! Do I think it's worth it? If you have dry/normal skin, absolutely! It just makes your skin look airbrushed. Not entirely sure how useful it would be if you have oily skin though.

Tips: You can use the powders as a natural wash of colour on the lids, or as a topper to a matte shadow to liven it up. They look gorgeous!

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Ringy
18th December, 2015

So glad you have detailed how to use it- I bought it last week and was stressing about it! So many to choose from and I chose this one- glad you like it - I hope I do too.

Mila
10th October, 2015

I love this palette great review, I do think it's just a matter of playing with it to get what you want from it

Sarahbeautynz
8th October, 2015

I hope it helps! I have my fingers crossed for you x

Thebeautycontext
8th October, 2015

Love your review x will try using this palette tomorrow in the ways you like and see if it works for me

Sarahbeautynz
6th October, 2015

Haha! I was so tempted to write bacon and eggs..

kirstyj
6th October, 2015

Love the title :P

Overall rating:
4.0/5
29th September, 2015
0 members found this review useful
Subtle, but beautiful

This has been on my wishlist for a while now, but I was worried at such a hefty price tag that this product would be all hype. Well let me tell you now, the hype is real!

Subtle is the name of the game when it comes to the Hourglass Ambient Lighting wardrobe. Dim light is a smidge too dark for my pale skintone, but with a light hand I can get away with it. I use my usual Clarins matte powder on a small brush over concealed blemishes and then apply dim light over my entire face. At first glance you're not sure its had any effect at all, yet when you catch a glimpse of yourself in the light you can see the most gorgeous glow to your skin. This somehow imparts a perfection to your skin that was definitely not there before. Incandescent light is a lovely natural highlight, not super obvious so you can wear it in the daytime without feeling too dolled up. Radiant light is a smidge dark again but being quite sheer can be applied gently for a lovely natural glow.

The powders, like the ambient blush, are very finely milled and buttery, but also quite delicate so your brush does kick up a lot of product when you use it. I find that these have great longevity on my skin, and does last all day. I don't know that I can ever justify repurchasing, but I definitely will continue to use and enjoy this palette

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
10th August, 2015
0 members found this review useful
Hourglass Ambient Lighting you Light up my Life

I really had to um and ah about this one as it was such an expensive palette. I had seen so many reviews and I really wanted a finishing powder but wanted something that would give me a nice glow without being in your face highlighter. I bought this off Mecca Cosmetics online and it cost me $102 EEK ! most expensive product I own.I was beyond excited when this arrived !. The packaging does not let you down its beautiful, it comes in a sturdy shiny bronze compact, it just feels worth the money. It opens up to reveal three lighting powders and a mirror on the inside.

I had watched you tube tutorial after you tube tutorial on how to apply this but because these colous are all really subtle you really can get away with using this however you like.

Dim Light - Dim light is a really subtle beige/champagne type colour with teeny tiny flecks of gold. I used this as a finishing powder over my foundation (both liquid and mineral)it works on everything, I applied with a khabuki or big fluffy brush everywhere. Its super subtle and at first I was a little dissapointed but then you catch yourself in different lights and you realise its given you a soft focus look like you've been airbrushed. This will be a everyday staple. I also used this on my eyelids as a shadow base or for more natural days on its own.

Incandescent Light - This is a pearlelescent shade again with teeny gold flecks this was best suited on me as a highlighter for the tops of cheekbones and cupids bow etc. Again its a super subtle colour so you wont come out looking like a disco ball !.

Radiant Light -Radiant Light is a more bronze type shade and has less illuminating properties to it. I use this as a very subtle bronzer on my cheeks and forehead - its excellent for super fair skin tones like myself.

This is an amazing product, application is easy the texture is wonderful and buttery and there's hardly any fallout. I do not know how I lived without these before!.

I would recommend these to absolutely everyone but especially the fair skinned. I will be repurchasing if I ever run out although you dont need to use alot.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
3.7/5
5th August, 2015
0 members found this review useful
The Glow

Ive had this palette for almost a year, it took me awhile to warm up to it. I saw alot of people taking about this as a highlighting product which is how i decided to use it, top of cheek bones ect. It really didnt seem that great so it sat at the back of my makeup desk. I have only just discovered my love for the palette after watching beauty gurus use it! The light colour is perfect for using as a finishing powder, i use the darker brown colour as a bronzer which is amazing and doesnt look muddy, the other more pinkish shade i dust over my cheeks for a more natural blush look. This product is amazing and definitly worth the price.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No