Vault

Max value reached

Adding this item would put you over your total vault limit of $250. please review your cart to stay under the limit.

Welcome to

Beauty Review

Want to be advised of trial teams we’re running, giveaways, great beauty offers and competitions? Sign up to receive our newsletter now, it’s easy.

Schwarzkopf Hair Mascara Reviews
Share with a friend
Would use it again? 4.6/5
Did it do what it said it would? 4.6/5
Would recommend it to a friend? 4.6/5

Schwarzkopf Hair Mascara Reviews

Overall rating:
4.6/5

New Schwarzkopf Hair Mascara quickly and precisely covers your greys.  It’s ‘on the go’ format provide you  a quick and easy fix – any time!

•One wash temporary grey cover up
•Quick and precise application
•For strands and roots
•Dries quickly
Available in Black, dark brown, medium brown and dark blonde

RRP: $24.99

Availability: Supermarkets, Farmers, Department Stores and Online

Websitewww.style-studio.co.nz

back

Found in:

Write a review

To allow us record accurate reviews we require you to register.

Looking to rate this product?

Please sign in or register.

Overall rating:
5.0/5
30th June, 2018 at 1:25 pm
1 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Covers Strands Perfectly

I have a few strands here and there that need concealing, so this was a really interesting product to try as someone who doesn't need to cover all of their roots.

I often don't bother with full coverage products anymore as they cover way more than I need now that I've changed my hair colour. But this product I would definitely bother with for those few strands that need touching up or concealing.

The product comes in a mascara-like tube with a mascara-like wand. But it does feel harder and rougher than a mascara wand.

To use on individual strands, I didn't find the wand that effective, so I ended up covering all my roots to conceal a few strands. But what this did show me is that the colour didn't rub off on my clothes or pillow. It did make the hair feel slightly straw-like, but a lot less so than some of the sprays feel. You also had more control than with a spray.

I then tried putting some product on my finger and rubbing it along the offending strands. I found this really effective and more economical. It was also easy to wash off.

I found this product really great for those small touch ups. For the few strands that got missed during a colour or the couple of grey hairs that don't seem worth dyeing your whole head for. This is perfect.

I can see me keeping this product on hand for many years to come.

Tips: Remember this is a product for your roots not your brows or lashes.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
5.0/5
1st July, 2018 at 8:48 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Hair Mascara!?

OK, so this one was weird but ingenious! So the packaging comes exactly how you would expect it to...tubular with a twist off lid that housed a spoolie. It looked identical to my one off my last mascaras as it was black with purple/pink writing on it. It's easy to apply, and covered my grey roots easily. I styled my hair in the mornings, apply this to a few areas that my grey's poked through and voila, covered. It was easy and is so handy to have in between coloring. I thinks it's an awesome addition to the make up kit.

Tips: Don't get it mixed up with your regular mascara...it looks identical!

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
5.0/5
1st July, 2018 at 6:38 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Dark Blonde Schwarzkopf Hair Macara

This colour matched my hair colour perfectly and it did exactly what it was meant too. The mascara applied easily and smoothly onto my hair.

A great way to cover the odd grey strand.

Tips: Apply in one long stroke to ensure the colour spreads easily :)

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
5.0/5
2nd July, 2018 at 12:17 pm
2 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Covers those glittery greys perfectly!

I’m in my early 40’s and my greys are high maintenance (I'm about 50-60% grey!), so I was really excited to trial the Schwarzkopf Hair Mascara for Beauty Review!

I've had no success with any temporary grey cover products. Most have been messy to start with, and then the coverage has had no staying power through a normal day.

The packaging is lovely, and the hair mascara bottle itself is a good size.. It has some striking metallic pink/mauve on the packaging and mascara, giving it a little glam-factor. The spoolie is a good length and also quite fine bristled, for a lovely fine application to hair strands. I selected medium brown which is slightly darker than my usual colour, but I wanted to ensure good regrowth coverage.

I highly recommend reading the instructions before starting - as they ensure there's no mess, that you get a natural looking application, and a nicely blended finish.

You apply this product to dry hair.. To apply I held sections of hair firmly stretched out and gently painted on the mascara to my greys and down the strand a little to blend the product through (I maybe had 2cm or regrowth to cover). I left it to dry for about 5 minutes, and then brushed those sections of my hair to even it out and blend it further. The finished look was excellent, and I had near 100% grey coverage. I also had zero product on my scalp (my biggest gripe with spray on products!). Winning!

It's dry to touch, so no transfer to hands. You definitely need to brush it through to smooth your hair out again and finish styling if need be.

Washing the product out the next day, was as simple as shampooing and it was gone. I felt the mascara was a more natural finish to other products I'd tried. The medium brown is true to colour - so I had a more ombre look when finished - but I quite liked it for a temporary touch up and a slight change to my look too. You could get a little creative with this product! I didn't feel like my hair looked like I was obviously covering up greys.

I was really impressed with the way the product applied, blended and lasted. I'm not sure how many applications you'd get with the mascara but it doesn't feel like you're using a lot of product with each application.

This hair mascara would easily give me an extra week or two before having to colour my roots if I wanted to wait or didn't have the time. It also gives me an easy, natural looking solution when going out and feel I need to hide those glittery greys from sight.

When I repurchase I'll probably go for the dark blonde now that I know the coverage of greys with this product is excellent just so I have a better match to my natural colour. That said - you could have a bit of fun with a few colours whether you had greys or not, to change up your look, as it covers hair really well!

Thanks again BR for another fabulous trial opportunity!

Tips: The quick easy instructions are fantastic, and following them is the key to a nice natural look.

Don't try and dry it with the hair dryer. Be patient. My first every application I used a hair dryer to hurry the process up - and I did get a little extra frizz going on that I had to tame afterwards, so I think natural drying is best with this product!

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

That is interesting KiwiLass. I went darker than natural because I felt darker gave a better shot at covering my greys (about 60% grey) & it was great. I keep my hair light so I'm keen to try the blonde for a less obvious touch-up!

wow, it's always interesting reading other reviews after I've submitted mine! I trialled blonde and while there were things I liked about it, I only gave 3/5 on all ratings, as a lot just didn't work well for me. But then I'm at least 70% grey now!

Fabulous review!!

Overall rating:
5.0/5
2nd July, 2018 at 11:08 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
The Holy Grail of touch-ups

I've finally found it! The perfect instant touch-up to cover that pesky grey regrowth.

Being a brunette, those white hairs show up way too frequently for my liking. I'm lucky if I get a good three weeks before I have to dye the roots again or wear a hat 24/7. With this magic mascara, I reckon I could get another 2 weeks before my hand is forced which is so liberating!

I trialed the medium brown colour. The product itself looks just like a mascara and acts the same way. Application is via a larger mascara-type brush. The consistency of the liquid is thick but smooth, meaning applying to the roots is easy. It brushes on effortlessly and covers without any harsh lines, or (so far) mess to the surrounding skin - and I'm going right over those fine baby-hairs around the temple and widows peak. Drying time isn't instant, but a couple of minutes seems to be sufficient and is touch-dry, ready for styling. The best part about this product for me is that it doesn't leave my hair dull where it was applied, unlike other products I've tried over the years, and it also doesn't rub off on fingers or irritate my scalp. Win, win!

I will happily be keeping stock of this wonder product and highly recommend to anyone looking to cover their greys with a natural looking finish.

Tips: Apply before your makeup to allow time to dry.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
5.0/5
2nd July, 2018 at 11:46 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
It's a winner

I was excited to try this and was stoked to get a place on the trial team. When my package arrived I thought the packaging looked nice and it looked like something that would catch my eye and tempt me to try. The actual product looks nice too and I liked the black and metallic colouring. I was a bit hesitant when I saw the colour as I thought it might be a bit light compared to my hair but it blended perfectly. I was able to get super close to my skin without leaving any of the product on my skin and it glided over my hair fairly effortlessly. I was so impressed at how the product didn't sit on my skin that I actually swiped it across my forehead and was impressed that it really only adhered to the tiny hairs there. I'm not sure if it was the natural oils on my face (and I don't have oily skin) but there seemed to be a natural repellent that kept the product on the hair only. I also thought I'd try it on my eyebrows and it blended well and seemed to make them look darker. I don't have grey in my eyebrows but if I did I would definitely consider using this product to darken my brows. The only criticism I have for this product is that it didn't seem to dry 100%. Brushing my fingers through my hair, a couple of hours after application, I noticed that there was a fair bit of residue on my fingers. It wasn't wet as such but it was slightly tacky to the touch. Overall I love this product and will use it frequently. I dye my regrowth very regularly and have found that the very close hairs often don't take the dye as well, this will let me get a very finished look with ease and will also let me stretch out the time between dyes.

Tips: Not really, this is very easy to use so just use it.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
5.0/5
3rd July, 2018 at 12:57 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Marvelous Mascara For Hair!

This comes in a large mascara tube, the brush is firmer than an eye mascara and contains 16ml of product. It will also fit nicely in your make-up bag.

My hair regrowth is definitely noticeable these days so I was delighted to receive an invite for this trial and this product did not disappoint.

I used the Medium Brown and applied this to my roots and then blended out onto my strands as per enclosed instructions.

The mascara blended beautifully with my hair, so well in fact that you couldn't tell I had used any and that was with using around my hairline as well.

Your hair must be dry and you don't need to apply thickly, just a little till you get the desired effect. Wait for it to dry then brush your hair. Do not blow dry as it will go brittle. It also easily washes out with shampoo.

I really like this hair mascara by Schwarzkopf and will continue to use this. It is perfect for hiding those greys between colouring.

Thanks Beauty Review & Schwarzkopf :-)

Tips: Less is More

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
5.0/5
4th July, 2018 at 9:52 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Love!!!!

I was so happy to get this for review! i waited to touch up my hair with permanent dye when i got that awesome email. when it arrived my regrowth at the front was about 5 cm long, and very very grey. it comes in a large mascara tube. i got dark brown to match the rest of my hair. the instructions were easy to follow. Just brush the wand threw the hair where it needs touching up, it took me about 5 minutes to do, but there was a lot to cover. and after it dries brush it to break it up. it was so much better to use than the spray ones I've used. there is no dripping or spray left on the skin after, its easy to wipe off if you do get a bit on the skin. no mess!! it was easy to wash out with shampoo. When it runs out i will be buying it again. well worth it!

Tips: try not to touch the hair to much, it does rub off on your hands

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
5.0/5
5th July, 2018 at 6:38 am
1 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Where has this been all my life?

I've been colouring my own hair for quite a few years now, mainly due to budget and lack of time - working full time and being a Mum of 3 kids. Often when I colour my hair I miss some bits (I'm not the best lol) and this product is just so handy for catching the little bits of grey that I somehow miss. It's also amazing for regrowth. Because it's like a mascara wand, you can apply it really precisely rather than some of the sprays that are on the market at the moment - they are so messy and go everywhere. The other thing I like about this is that it doesn't budge! Love this!

Tips: Small enough to carry around, it looks like a tube of mascara! It's great to keep in your purse just in case you catch some greys that you've missed :)

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
5.0/5
5th July, 2018 at 7:28 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Love it...

What a great product....

I quite often get a few unfriendly greys that I usually pull out from my fringe - not any more!

The colour is so simple to apply, using the mascara wand, one layer was more than enough to cover they grey and looked great.

The instructions said to brush hair when dry, but as I was just colouring the odd strand, I didn’t bother brushing.

I have quite a mop of hair and found that if I tried to colour parts of my underneath hair I would get the mascara wand tangled up in my hair!

A definite must for your handbag.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

New?

to find out why you
should join New Zealand's largest beauty website

Click here

Beauty Poll

See all
Are You Currently Using MANUKA HONEY Beauty Products?

Are You Currently Using MANUKA HONEY Beauty Products?

I am - I'll tell you what in the comments!

view results

Review of the Day
emilyplum78
La Roche Posay Effaclar Foaming Gel and Duo Plus
These products work as a 2 step programme to effectively control oily and… more »