Vault

Max value reached

Adding this item would put you over your total vault limit of $250. please review your cart to stay under the limit.

Garnier Pure Active Charcoal 3 In 1 Mask Review

Garnier Pure Active Charcoal 3 In 1 Mask Review
Overall rating from 50 reviews so far:
4.0/5
Would use it again?
4.0/5
Did it do what it said it would?
4.0/5
Would recommend it to a friend?
4.0/5
Use Garnier® Pure Active Intensive Charcoal 3-in-1 innovative formula as a wash, scrub and mask to visibly reduce blackheads and prevent their reappearance.
This innovative formula can be used as a wash, scrub and mask to visibly reduce even the most resistant blackheads and help to prevent their reappearance*
1. Wash concentrated in active Salicylic Acid it purifies skin intensely and removes dirt and impurities.
2. Scrub it contains natural exfoliating particles to unclog pores and visibly reduce resistant blackheads.
3. Mask enriched in ultra-absorbing vegetal charcoal and blueberry extract to neutralize shine while leaving skin comfortable and smooth.

Pack Size  150ml 

  $13.99 

Availability  All leading supermarkets, The Warehouse, selected pharmacies and department stores.

Website  www.garnier.co.nz



RRP: $13.99

Write a review

Please sign in to write a review.

Not yet registered?

It's super simple and only takes 30 seconds.

Register now

How would you rate this product?

Garnier Pure Active Charcoal 3 In 1 Mask Review

Garnier Pure Active Charcoal 3 In 1 Mask Review

Reviews

Overall rating:
4.0/5
8th November, 2018
0 members found this review useful
Pleasantly surprised

I don’t use this for any other purpose but a scrub. As much as I love a mask etc I would rather use a separate mask product as I don’t want my skin drying out too much at the moment. So a scrub was enough for me. I still really liked this.

It was a good scrub. Much cheaper than my previous one and easier to get my hands on. Which is also what made me use this. For the price it’s been great. I use 2-3x a week as an exfoliant. I love the feeling it leaves my skin in. It feels so smooth and clean. Exactly what I needed to help shed those loose skin cells.

I admit the blueberry appealed to me also.. but It definitely doesn’t have a fruity smell. It’s hard to describe maybe slightly masculine.

It exfoliates but doesn’t leave you red and raw it’s a pretty acceptable level of exfoliation. Not too harsh.

As I said I’ve only used as a scrub but if you have dry skin I think this would be quite drying on you so don’t leave for too long. My combo skin gets away with using it quickly and I’m pretty happy with that.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
3.7/5
4th November, 2018
0 members found this review useful
Garnier PureActive Charcoal 3 in 1

Having finally purchased my first charcoal product.. i was so excited to try it. It does say it was recommended for those with oily to combination skin.. My skin is not usually oily.. but it does tend to undergo quite a few seasonal changes... and i realised my skin is growing more sensitive. Most of the time it’s normal.. sometimes i get dry patches... sometimes breakouts.. and always have blackheads on my nose.. so thought i’ll give it a go anyways.

When i first opened it, it did give a smell as what i expected charcoal products to smell like, not surprised there... It was dark grey (also as expected)... Consistency was smooth. Easy to dispense.

First, i used it as a mask and i just loved it. It was just so relaxing.. However, when i was washing it off, i then realised the charcoal product took me slightly longer to get it off my hands (especially around my nail beds) and basin compared to other products. Despite this, my face felt soft, smooth, and purified.

I enjoyed the mask so much that i decided to do it again the next day.. then i realised.. little breakouts started appearing more frequently as i used it for a third day. I wonder if this was due to the effect of this product drawing out the dirt and oil from the skin, as the breakouts kept popping up. So i decided to give it a break for a few weeks and see what happens. Maybe my face just needed some time to adjust to using this product for the first time?

When my tiny pimples were gone, i decided to give it another go. Unfortunately i was in the stage of having dry patches... but i was just so tempted to try it again. When i rubbed it on, it actually gave my face a stinging sensation.. so i didn’t leave it on for too long... and washed it off quickly.

After my dried skin was healed, i gave it another go.. This time i used it as a quick scrub ‘n’ wash... My skin did have a slight stinging sensation while scrubbing.. but it wasn’t too bad. After washing it off, my skin felt relaxed, clean and purified... while soft and supple. I just loved this feeling. I didn’t see the sudden breakouts the next morning... which was good.

Although no random breakouts this time.. there havn’t been any changes to the stubborn blackheads on my nose so far... I can’t blame the product though... as i always found it difficult scrubbing tiny granules on and around my tiny, flat nose where those blackheads are hard to reach... Maybe i just need to change my scrubbing method, such as using a scrub applicator for my nose and see if that will work better than using my fingers.

It’s a shame i can’t use this lovely product everyday.. as part of my daily wash/scrub routine due to my stubborn skin... but i will definitely keep using it with a few breaks in between to keep my skin happy. And maybe only as a mask once in a couple of weeks.

Definitely recommended to friends with oily/combination skin that also doesn’t mind the not-so-feminine scent.

Tips: To prevent any messiness, best to use it while in the shower.

Not recommending it for those with very dry skin.. but for those who does gets dry skin and wants to use this product like me, must moisturise very well after using.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
23rd September, 2018
0 members found this review useful
Clear beautiful skin

I was super happy to pick this up in the Beauty Vault! I had never used a charcoal product before and had read a lot of great things about this. It comes in a squeezy tube with a flip top lid which I love.

When my usual cleanser ran out I started using this, it says it can be used 3 ways, a scrub, cleanser and mask. I'm unsure what the difference is between a scrub and cleanser when using this as it scrubs every time you cleanse lol.

The consistency is semi thick, it spreads easily and has a very fine grit which gives a great exfoliation. At first it felt quite harsh and it made my skin tingle and had a weird cooling sensation. I thought I was having a reaction but my face wasn't red and after a few uses this feeling was barely noticeable.

The smell is very masculine but as it washes off it doesn't bother me. I like using this in the shower because boy it is messy! A dark grey colour which goes everywhere and stains towels if you don't wash it all off properly. So make sure you give your face a good rinsing. I used it over the sink once and never again lol I made a huge mess and it is too time consuming to clean up.

My favourite way to use this is a scrub, it leaves my skin feeling amazingly soft and smooth, it stops any breakouts and heals any existing ones fast. I have blackheads on my nose mainly and this has helped reduce them significantly, yay! I use this daily and it doesn't leave my skin dry or tight however I do moisturise thoroughly afterwards.

This is a lovely product and I would definitely repurchase once it runs out. Highly recommend this!

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
23rd August, 2018
0 members found this review useful
1, 2, 3, hooray, to skin care from Garnier

I was so impressed with this product! The packaging is very eye catching, it has a good study cap so the product with not dry out and it has a good weight.

I love that you can use it multiple ways. I have not had any breakouts with this product and it's a new staple in my Skincare regime.

The product is very thick and dark grey in colour.It smells amazing and has exfoliating beads in it. The grit does a good job at exfoliating and is not abrasive. The mask does a good job of absorbing oils, it dries down nicely and it's fast to remove; it leaves my skin feeling very soft and oil free.

This is a brilliant product, I highly recommend. It's very good for oily to combination skin types. But if you added a facial oil or moisturiser to the product someone with dry skin could use this too.

Tips: It's very good for oily to combination skin types. But if you have dry to normal skin and you want this product you can add a facial oil or moisturiser to this product.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.0/5
10th August, 2018
0 members found this review useful
Garnier 3 in 1 Mask

First of all, this product claims to be for people with oily skin that is prone to pimples and blackheads, as it will help reduce them and prevent reoccurrence. I have oily skin that is prone to both, and I definitely found that both pimples and blackheads became much less frequent as I kept using it. It didn't do anything in terms of reducing oiliness, but it seems to be more focused on reducing breakouts.

The packaging is fairly standard, the exact same as some other Garnier scrubs and masks. You get heaps of product for the price, so it is definitely worth it.

In terms of consistency, it is quite thick and the charcoal in it makes it stain face cloths, so be careful if using one to remove it. You don't need too much product when using it as a wash or scrub, but I found I needed a little more when applying it as a mask. It also took a little longer than 5 minutes to dry so I tended to leave it on for a little longer.

The fragrance is quite strong but it's hard to describe, maybe almost a little like aftershave. I found it to be a little off-putting the first few times I used it, but I got used to it.

Overall, although it has a couple downsides, like the staining and the fragrance, I think the fact that it does what it says, and the fact you get so much product for quite a low price, it is most definitely worth it. I'd definitely recommend it to anyone with oily skin that is prone to pimples and blackheads.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Overall rating:
5.0/5
7th August, 2018
0 members found this review useful
Amazing..

This product is the best... did what it said it would do by clearing up the oils that my skin produced and clearing up my current family of blackheads on my chin and nose. I washed my face twice a day and have noticed a big change..my face is clearer and feels clearer.. i used it as a mask a few times but preferred it as a face wash.

Tips: Dont leave it on to long and offen as can dye the hairs on face black..

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Overall rating:
5.0/5
6th August, 2018
1 members found this review useful
As good as the label says!

Garnier charcoal face wash / scrub / mask

My first impression of the packaging were that there was a lot of information, it seemed crowded and complicated but I sat down and read the whole label, it has some pretty big claims - neutralising shine being the main point to spark my I interest, my skin can get quite oily, especially my forehead and chin.

This product is black and inky and has a slightly bitter sweet odour, I was a little apprehensive it would stain my skin but my worries were unfounded.

The product states it can be used as a wash, scrub and face mask, I decided to use it as a face mask once every 3 days for 9 days. I applied all over my face, gently massaging in with my finger tips and left to dry for 5-10 minutes, it is quite gritty. In this time I could feel it tightening quite quickly and by the 7th minuite it was completely dry and very tight, not at all unpleasant, it felt like it was actually doing something. I felt no discomfort.

After washing off the product my skin felt fresh and smooth. The next day, I noticed my makeup applied smoother and my acne had significantly calmed down, in particular I had a couple of blind pimples on my chin and they were no longer painful and had a head on them - like the mask had drawn them out. By the third day my blemishes had virtually gone, I eagerly reapplied the mask that night.

My skin has only gotten better with every day, the effects of the shine control lasts about 2.5 days before my skin gets oily again.

As a mask, I cannot recommend this product more, my skin is the best it's been in years and I have now started using daily in the shower to enhance the effects. If you have oily blemish prone skin, try this product! Especially for this price point and volume, it is unbelievably good value for money and it actually works. 5 stars!

Tips: Let it dry on your face completely.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
MareeB
6th August, 2018

Great review. I wondered how good this would be!

Overall rating:
3.7/5
31st July, 2018
0 members found this review useful
Charcoal Scrub

This was a nice gentle scrub with the added bonus of charcoal. It felt great on my skin, not too drying. Haven't used it for very long so not sure how effective it is yet, but I'm excited to see results. The charcoal smells a bit and tends to stain light coloured flannels though!

Tips: Don't use a light coloured flannel to wash it off lol

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Overall rating:
5.0/5
30th July, 2018
0 members found this review useful
Blackheads be gone!

This product more than delivered as promised. I used as a wash twice weekly and a mask once a week, I have blackheads over my nose and chin area so ensured I was especially generous in these areas. This product is minty fresh and definitely reduced the number of blackheads u currently have and seems to have stopped any new ones popping up.

After use my skin felt soft and looked refreshed I had no redness whatsoever, it was however quite messy and I found the shower the nest place to use it..I made the mistake of using it over the sink and made quite a mess due to its black colour so spent more time cleaning the sink then I did cleaning my face.

I love this product and will be buying more once finished thanks for the introduction!

Tips: I found as a mask I needed to leave it on for 10 minutes to get it to.dry proprrly

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Overall rating:
4.7/5
30th July, 2018
0 members found this review useful
Yes it help

I have been using this for just for 20 days now as a a daily for face wash and mask it is helped to minimise blackheads I will definitely keep using it. And clear up redness.

Tips: Add water when using as mask

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.