Vault

Max value reached

Adding this item would put you over your total vault limit of $250. please review your cart to stay under the limit.

Red Cosmetica Lipstick Review

Red Cosmetica Lipstick Review
Overall rating from 10 reviews so far:
4.5/5
Would use it again?
4.4/5
Did it do what it said it would?
4.4/5
Would recommend it to a friend?
4.6/5

Red Cosmetica Lipstick.

A complex, luscious red lipstick with with a silky smooth velvet cream texture. Enriched with Apricot Kernel Oil (Vitamin E) to soothe, protect and moisturise your lips. 100% allergy tested and fragrance-free.

Availability Selected retailers and online

Website http://www.redburlesque.com/



RRP: $35.50

Write a review

Please sign in to write a review.

Not yet registered?

It's super simple and only takes 30 seconds.

Register now

How would you rate this product?

Red Cosmetica Lipstick Review

Red Cosmetica Lipstick Review

Reviews

Overall rating:
5.0/5
5th October, 2015
4 members found this review useful
No others will even come close!

Red lipstick always has and always will be my ‘confidence ++’ and my way of standing out. So imagine the accelerated heart beat, the sweaty palms and the excited squeal coming from me when I learned that I would be possibly finding my soulmate red! A red that is matched to me! My excitement was taken over by pure horror at the three matches I was given, according to my skin tone and my ‘out there’ approach. They all had orange undertones with one being more orange than red. Now I am all for pushing boundaries but orange and I are NOT on speaking terms anymore after the horrific oompa loompa scenario that had me swearing off orange for good!!

Nevertheless I trusted the process and went head first in to this, wanting to get the ultimate experience out of it all. I went for a shade called Melody Mangler which is a bright red, with orange undertones and an almost edgy rockabilly/rock chic look to it. I was surprised to find that inside that simple black tube was a lipstick that would set off a gasp of ‘hhmm do I like it?’ that quickly turned in to a slow motion moment of adoration with widening eyes, and a hug to my chest. I chose the satin finish because I like a little bit of a moisturizer with the stay power of a matte. I have to say when we had to choose our colour to trial; the model pictures of the lipstick on didn’t do the lipsticks or the brand any favors. They didn’t show them in their true form or in a flattering way.

The lipstick has a pleasant smell so the fragrance free statement is not true! It glides on smoothly and the pigmentation blows my mind. It’s very true to its appearance. It conditions my lips and makes them feel like spongey velvet. This lipsticks stay power is almost unbelievable! I applied it in the morning before I went out and nine hours later it was still vibrant and firmly in place! That is no reapplication, no touch ups! I ate, I drank and I licked my lips more than a few times! What is this hocus pocus?! I have never, ever come across a satin finish lipstick with that kind of quality or stay power! Even the matte lipsticks have competition in this. My matte lipsticks always stay but there are wear marks where I drank or ate that appear through the day or night. The Red Burlesque doesn’t shift at all!

My only wish for this is that it came in all the colours of the rainbow to satisfy my need for bright, vibrant and out there. Red is great but it gets old very fast. I am so glad that I trusted the process and went with what they suggested for my skin tone etc. I can honestly say that my apprehensions about the orange undertones have been settled and I am in love with the red I have. I say whole heartedly with hand on my heart that Red Burlesque has found my PERFECT RED!!!!!!

Tips: Trust the process!

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Shana_Banana84
7th October, 2015

Aaahhh that's what the smell is! I couldn't put my finger on the smell. I loved the smell anyway :) Thank you for finding my perfect match xx

Adcoutts
7th October, 2015

Awww thank you Shana, we're so glad you trusted us with your lips! P.S. The fragrance isn't a fragrance, it's vanillin (extract of the vanilla bean) xx

Shana_Banana84
6th October, 2015

Thanks gf its so worth the money :)

Macs
6th October, 2015

I really did like the look of this lipstick. Good review.

Shana_Banana84
5th October, 2015

Aaawww thanks. I am so glad I did too! I am sooo happy with the result xx

First Lady
5th October, 2015

I am so glad you really went there for this trial, even though you weren't convinced at first by the shades suggested - model reviewer behaviour...and a fab result! xx

Overall rating:
3.3/5
4th October, 2015
1 members found this review useful
Betsy rose lippy

I had high expectations for this lipstick. It is definitely a show stopper! I have the Betsy rose shade which is a deep wine red colour. I love the colour, it's what I would call sophisticated with a touch of edge. It is matte and so I found it unforgiving if I wasn't precise on my application. For that reason I think this lipstick needs a lip liner. Usually I go without one, but I found I needed one with this lippy. I also found it very dry. So when applying make sure you have scrubbed your lips smooth! Otherwise it will show up your dry bits. I did try using a balm underneathe but that just changed the depth of colour and it lost it's wow factor. The staying power was good, almost like a stain. I definitely feel great wearing this lipstick.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Adcoutts
7th October, 2015

Thanks for your review, Jacinda. Even though Betsy Rose is less doing than most mattes, we agree mattes are a little unforgiving with dry lips ;) xx

Overall rating:
4.7/5
4th October, 2015
3 members found this review useful
Ruby Joule Red Burlesque Lipstick

I was so grateful to be picked to trial this product as I was yet to find my perfect red.

I had to email Red Burlesque and answer a few simple questions as well as send them a recent photo of myself bare faced. They replied within two hours with eight suggest shades for me, four in a matte finish and four in a cream finish. They then narrowed it down to one of each finish that they thought best suited me, I then went onto the website to look at their two suggestions. Picked the shade Ruby Joule and eagerly awaited my lippy to arrive.

The packaging is a sleek black with the word RED in bold silver and burlesque in small silver writing on the cap. Ruby Joule is a matte finish and has no scent.

I will start with the negative, I have worn this lipstick five times now and every time I apply it, it feels very dry and stiff to apply, I feel like my lips are being pulled/stretched when applying the first coat (it actually hurts slightly), I always apply two coats to achieve the desired colour and the second coat isn't as hard as the first to apply. (Now I know that matte finishes can be dry to apply but I own many matte lipsticks and have never had one feel like it was pulling on my lips).

Ok, now for the positives. This lipstick lasts on average, eight hours with careful eating and drinking, it does fade but very evenly so you arn't left with horrible lines around the outer sides of your lips. I havn't needed to use a lipliner as it doesn't bleed but Red Burlesque suggest using their Tomango shade liner for Ruby Joule. This shade is a velvet matte finish which is lovely. I have received loads of great feedback with this red, and I really do think it is my perfect shade so yay thank you so much Red Burlesque and Beauty Review!!

Now matte lipsticks generally dry your lips out and normally leave my lips feeling dehydrated for up to two days afterwards but because this lipstick has vitamin E in it, my lips didn't suffer from any dryness which is fantastic!

I would recommend Red Burlesque to help find your perfect shade of red and I'm wanting to try out the other suggestion they had for me too.

Tips: To avoid leaving lipstick on a glass or mug, simply lick your lips first before having a drink.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
SandyGedge
7th October, 2015

That's fantastic customer service and thank you for your reply :-) don't get me wrong, I still love it and look forward to trying out some of your other suggestions xx

Adcoutts
7th October, 2015

Thanks so much for your review, Sandy :) After reading through a few of the reviews (including your obviously) on our mattes, we are going to look in to changing the formulation next year to make them easier to apply. xx

SandyGedge
4th October, 2015

Aww thanks hun (Koni) that means a lot coming from you ;-) my 'tip' seems to work well for me so hopefully it works for all you lovelies! xx I will normally wait until the last day before reviewing my trial products to get as much use as I can :-)

Koni
4th October, 2015

Woohoo I was waiting for your review and that shade ansolutely suits you! Great review and what a snazzy tip - I'm going to try that out first chance I get :-)

Overall rating:
5.0/5
4th October, 2015
1 members found this review useful
Nothing But Red

Red: it's classic for a reason- because it looks good on everyone. But the trick of course, is to select a shade that is right for you.

RED Burlesque is an Australian premiere brand of lipstick "inspired by the sexy, teasy, steamy world of burlesque" and its the largest and most diverse range of red lipstick in the world. Their entire line is fabulous, amazing red lipsticks. All developed and named after, one of 21 of the most renown current global burlesque performers.

I had to email the RED Burlesque team a picture of myself and advise my skin tone and what lipstick I usually wear. They respond very fast with some shade recommendations and so, I had to emailed them back with my lipstick choice.

I choose Briana Bluebell: a sophisticated blue-based deep red in a cream formula and let me say, I am in love with this lipstick!

It comes in a simple black cardboard box with the company name on one side, and a cut-out area on the bottom that reveals the name of the shade. The lipstick case itself look exactly like the box that comes in.

I have been obsessing over this product since I got it. It's sexy, sultry and flatters any skin tone.

The formula is wonderful! Feels smooth and non-sticky. It moisturizes my lips very well and keeps the moisture after the lipstick has worn off. I personally love the consistency.

The wear of the lipstick was also quite impressive. I was pleasantly surprised to see that this lipstick stayed on most of the day. However, since it was the first day I was being extra mindful of anything that went near my mouth. What I loved about this lipstick was the fruity scent it had because I could honestly smell it for most the day. It was very easy to apply it, and it didn’t feel weird or dry on my lips.

Overall, I would recommend this product to everyone. The lipstick itself is brilliant, but the actual colour matching service that RED Burlesque offers is exceptional and really makes this shopping experience very enjoyable.

Tips: Using liner as a base colour to fill in your lips will give the lipstick a smooth base to stick to and help to extend the wearability of the lip colour.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Adcoutts
26th October, 2015

Thanks for a wonderful review! We absolutely love that you love your new Briana Bluebell lippy so much :) xx

Overall rating:
4.3/5
4th October, 2015
1 members found this review useful
Love that RED!!!

I usually shy away from bright red lipstick as I know the wrong one can look terrible but with the help of the red burlesque team and the red burlesque app I ended up with the perfect red lipstick for me. The colour I trialled was Ginger Valentine, which incidentally is the same colour red as my favourite winter coat. I loved the colour, and that it was matte (as red and shiny would have been too much on me) and I love that the colour chosen by submitting the photo was exactly right for me and that I got a choice of three recommended colours I could try (depending on how brave I was feeling) within a few hours of submitting a photo.

The only downside for me was that my lips felt quite dry after using it, possibly because I chose a colour with a matte finish.

But that's only a minor thing, quickly corrected with a lip balm, and I'm so glad I got to trial the lipstick and it's becoming a firm favourite (I'm going to wear it again tomorrow).

Tips: Get the red burlesque app, load your photo and try some reds out for yourself. I found the colours on the app realistic to the colour of the lipstick I trialled.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Adcoutts
7th October, 2015

Thanks for your review, Bridget :) Yes, mattes can be quite drying and even though ours are far less drying than most, we'll be looking into altering the formulation a bit next year to make them more moisturising. xx

Overall rating:
5.0/5
29th September, 2015
1 members found this review useful
Set for life!

Ohhh my stars!!! What an experience this is!!! I finally have my perfect red!!!

The whole experience is really quite awesome with just a touch of anxiety! I had to email the Red Burlesque Team a picture of my naked face in natural light & advise my skin tone & what Lipstcks I usually wear. They replied within a couple of hours (faster than I expected) with some shade suggestions. I headed on over to their website to check them out... I love their website! Each shade has a picture of the Performer the colour is named for and a great description of the colour.

I emailed them back with my choice - Rita Fontaine - and nervously waited.... What if I'd chosen wrong..? This was the anxiety kicking in. I don't generally buy something online if I haven't tried it already. I like to see what colours look like on me before I purchase....

Rita arrived a couple of weeks later and my lord!!! Huge success!!! She looks beautiful on me! Rita Fontaine is a Matte finish, velvety smooth and lasts so well!!! She's a blue based pinkish red & pops! I get so many compliments wearing her.

The packaging is lovely! A simple black box with Red Burlesque on 1 side. The lipstick case it's self - the same. I love it!

I found Rita lasted really well! I put her on for work and only needed to reapply every couple of hours - this with talking constantly and drinking coffee. There was no feathering or bleeding.

She also comes off easily. Transferring & washing... so no putting your lips near anyone's white shirt! But also no staining the lips which I appreciate. Micellar water washed her off very easily.

I really hope they do not discontinue Rita Fontaine as I feel this is my shade for life!

I will absolutely be looking to purchase 1 or 2 of the other suggested colours in the future.

Tips: Lip liner goes a long way with Red Lipstick... Red Burlesque also have a few shades of Liner that they advise which Lipstick shade they work with.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Adcoutts
7th October, 2015

Thanks so much for such a fantastic review! You never have to worry about that nasty word 'discontinue' with Red Burlesque ... it's not part of our vocabulary, so you'll always find your new shade for life, Rita Fontaine. xx

Overall rating:
4.3/5
26th September, 2015
1 members found this review useful
Amazing coverage!

I have to give it up to RED Burlesque for making a really opaque lipstick that lasts relatively long and fades evenly.

Let's start off with the packaging. The lipstick comes in a small fitted black box with a tiny peep hole underneath to show the name of the shade you have. Unfortunately, it doesn't give you a preview of the actual colour. I've got the matte shade "112 Betsy Rose" which is a deep red, almost oxblood colour. Admittedly, it's not something I'd go for every day, but I am definitely digging it! Has very vampy vibes, and would look great on a night out.

The exterior of the lipstick itself comes in a sleek black tube, and the smell is that generic lipstick scent which reminds me of donuts.

For the downsides, it does fade a bit after eating. I had soup for dinner which had oil, and there was evident fading. Although, not to the point where it's obvious. It's also slightly transferable, but not overly messy. Since I have the matte lipstick, on application, I found it to be quite drying. Lastly, if you have dry or cracked lips, the product will seep into your lines.

Now, onto the positives! The pigmentation is amazing, and even if it does fade, it fades quite evenly so it doesn't leave you with an obvious ring around your mouth. I feel like it would have stayed perfectly well if I had ate or drank lightly. I also didn't find any signs of bleeding or feathering which is fantastic! Also, since it has Apricot Kernel oil, your lips end up feeling moisturised afterwards even after the lipstick is gone.

Overall, I think it's a wonderful lipstick that is worth the money. Definitely something I'd buy if I felt like spoiling myself. I really want to try out Michelle L'amour and Strawberry Siren.

Tips: as always, use lip liner underneath to ensure better longevity! And also be sure to moisturise your lips especially if you have dry or cracked lips.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Adcoutts
7th October, 2015

Thanks for your wonderful review, Shellbell! We'll be looking at making our mattes less drying and more moisturising next year, so stay tuned ;) xx

Have You Registered With NZ's Biggest Beauty Guide?

We're always looking for great reviewers to send FREE, FULL SIZED Beauty Products to!

Register today, and help New Zealand never make a Bad Beauty Buy again!

Register Here!