Vault

Max value reached

Adding this item would put you over your total vault limit of $250. please review your cart to stay under the limit.

Max Factor Velvet Matte Lipstick Review

Max Factor Velvet Matte Lipstick Review
Overall rating from 22 reviews so far:
4.0/5
Would use it again?
4.0/5
Did it do what it said it would?
4.0/5
Would recommend it to a friend?
3.9/5

Who says you can't have moisture and matte? our rule breaking make-up artistry brings you New Max Factor Velvet Mattes Lipstick, designed to create a striking matte lip with a moisturised velvet feel.

Availability Farmers

Website www.maxfactor.com



RRP: $27.99

Write a review

Please sign in to write a review.

Not yet registered?

It's super simple and only takes 30 seconds.

Register now

How would you rate this product?

Max Factor Velvet Matte Lipstick Review

Max Factor Velvet Matte Lipstick Review

Reviews

Overall rating:
4.7/5
18th August, 2017
0 members found this review useful
Max has the X Factor!

I saw this on BR and decided to pick it up from Farmers as a wee treat for myself. I chose the Rose shade.

It's gorgeously packaged, looks very classy.

I don't use a brush to apply it, straight from the tube, and it applies smoothly and evenly. Two coats and you're left with an opaque colour with a pretty matte finish.

I found it lasted a little longer than my average lipstick, it definitely lasted through drinking, no marks on the cup, but it needed touching up after eating.

It didn't bleed, smear or smudge when wearing off which is always a good thing.

Tips: Use a lip liner for a crisp finish.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.7/5
17th August, 2017
0 members found this review useful
Like it to the Max!

I've spent years trying to find two things - the perfect red lippy, and a matte lipstick that doesn't leave my lips looking dehydrated. This lipstick achieved both.

The packaging I enjoyed - a chic matte black tube with the colour (Love 35) at the bottom, making it easy to fish out from a sea of lipsticks. The lipstick itself has the classic Max Factor X etched on the side.

I used this lipstick two ways - one with the universal lip liner, and then without. With the universal lip liner (which I love that it's clear so it doesn't matter if your lips aren't lined perfectly) it lasted beautifully. Through a cup of tea, morning tea and lunch. Four hours easily, and then it began to fade into a nice berry stain as opposed to a ring of red around my lips and a weird nude lip look in the middle. Without the liner it lasted a couple of hours, but once again it faded into a stain and was nice to reapply.

The only thing I'd say is that it's not a true matte lipstick, there is a hint of shine going on. But I actually like this - and prefer it to having my lips become dry as husks over the course of a day. I also suspect that slight shine is what provides the moisture and makes it easier to reapply.

All in all I'm so sold on this range and will definitely add more shades (that nude!) to my collection.

Tips: Use the lip liner for longer wear time.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.7/5
11th August, 2017
0 members found this review useful
Pretty close to matte perfection.

I've not really jumped on the matte train, mostly because all of the matte liquid lippies have been incredibly drying. So I didn't have much hope for a 'solid' matte lipstick to be honest.

The packaging is lovely, sleek and it feels like a great quality product. It's also less 'old lady' than previous Max Factor packaging. I will admit, I tried to open the very bottom, do see if it was a wee pottle of product like on some brands - but I don't think it is. (I resisted the temptation to try and pry it off with a knife!)

I tried the nude shade - a pinky nude, that's great for day wear.

The lipstick smelt lipstick-y, in that I couldn't detect any distinctive scent. A great sized bullet and the square lipstick casing means you're less likely to nick the bullet when replacing the lid.

The lipstick applied well, both straight from the bullet and with a brush, and I found it wore well through the day, requiring the usual after-eating touch up. It is definitely less maintenance than a liquid matte lipstick.

The finish was, hmm, mostly matte, with a slight sheen. I found the sheen more apparent when teaming this with the Universal Lip Liner than by itself.

Over all, a nice, non drying, very-close-to-matte formula. I'm looking forward to more shades!

Tips: If you're going to pair this with the Universal Lip Liner and want a matte look, only line the outside of your pout, don't 'prime' the whole lip, else you'll end up with a sheen.

SCRUB!! Exfoliate your lips before hand!

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
3.7/5
8th August, 2017
0 members found this review useful
Love the colour

I was excited to be added to this trial, it's been awhile since I have been able to get a new lippy.

Choosing the shade was an awesome bonus. I had trouble deciding between two shades, but seeing some of the pictures of the other one I am glad I chose Nude 05. For my skin tone this was a nice pinky nude.

The packaging is simple but I like it, it clicks together well and I like that there is the colour on the end - making it easier to grab the colour you are looking for. It doesn't quite wind down properly, which is something that bugs me as I always knock the top off.

I like the smell of Max Factor lipsticks, I know some people don't, but it's not one that puts me off at all. For a matte lipstick, I was really surprised at how creamy it is, I find mattes usually drag. This one goes on smoothly and is really pigmented. It doesn't dry my lips out like most mattes either.

First use I used the lip pencil, just to line my lips. The lipstick stuck well there but wore quickly in the middle. The second time I used the pencil over my whole lips, and it definitely wore a lot better, but still disappeared in the middle after awhile. I'm quite happy to put up with that though because I got 3 compliments wearing it, so I have worn it out every day since...the only thing is the lip pencil will disappear quickly. So, although it has some downfalls, overall I like it and am really happy with the colour.

Tips: Definitely use the lip liner, and works best all over your lips.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Overall rating:
3.7/5
7th August, 2017
0 members found this review useful
Max Factor Velvet Matte Lipstick

I was excited to try this as I don't wear lipstick a lot as I can never find the right colour. I got the Nude and it was perfect! So now I've been wearing it all the time. I found that it didn't keep your lips very moist so I was using a lip gloss first then the lipstick, that suited my lips better. It latest for about 3 hours before I had to reapply. And definitely had to reapply after eating. If you want a little bit of colour with being too much, the Nude is perfect. I will definitely be buying again one I run out!

Tips: Put lip gloss on first then lipstick to keep lips a bit more moist. And use powder over your lips first before doing anything to help the lipstick last longer

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Overall rating:
3.3/5
7th August, 2017
0 members found this review useful
Standard Lippy

This lipstick is a definite if your after a general everyday lipstick. Yes it is Matt and yes it is moisturizing. Easy to apply. The longevity is not there and I found myself reapplying every couple of hours, until I used the Colour Elixir Universal Lip liner with it.

Tips: Definitely use a lip liner. It helps to stop the bleeding and keeps your lippy looking fresh for longer

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Overall rating:
3.7/5
7th August, 2017
0 members found this review useful
Nude review

I trialled Nude 05, a lipstick which is pinker than it sounds, and which complimented my pale skin nicely.

My lips tend to wander on the drier side and I have a hard time finding a lipstick that doesn't exacerbate this issue. I found that in regard to this issue, this lipstick is very average, it's not amazing but it's certainly not bad either.

It's not transfer proof, but then it never claimed to be. It wasn't particularly long-lasting, but again it wasn't bad, I found myself having to reapply every few hours, which is pretty typical for my lips.

This lipstick doesn't exactly scream 'matte', so if you want a true matte this product is probably not what you're looking for. Regardless, it does look nice.

Overall, it's a nice, mid-range lipstick. I would recommend this.

Tips: Scrub your lips to remove dead skin, then apply lip balm, allow it do its magic for a few minutes, then blot with a tissue to remove excess balm. This creates a smooth, moisturised base for your lipstick.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Overall rating:
3.7/5
7th August, 2017
0 members found this review useful
MaxFaxtor Velvet Matte Lipstick shade 05 Nude

I was fortunate enough to be in the trial team for this product, I chose the shade 05 Nude.

First of all before I even get into the product, I highly recommend you go in store to a farmers to look at the colours because the online representations of the colours (at least for the shade I chose) is wrong. It looks very purple online but in reality its more a dusty pink shade.

Anyhu, This is lipstick comes in the standard bullet lipstick packaging with a matte black lid and the shade colour on the bottom. This is nice as its easy to pick it out in my lipstick drawer.

The lipstick itself is a creamy formula that is very easy to apply. Its the perfect level of creamyness where it goes on nicely but doesn't slip and slide around your mouth. The lipstick is pretty pigmented, but I did find that I need to build it up a little, which is fine as the formula is creamy enough to allow you to do this.

Whilst this lipstick isn't shimmery or metallic I wouldn't exactly call it matte. Its sort of between matte and satin, it does dry down to be a little more matte but I wouldn't call this completely matte. It has more of a natural finish. The formula is non-drying so its a great alternative to a liquid lipstick.

The colour is awesome, on my skin tone its almost the perfect nude, just a little more pink than my natural lip colour. Once it dries down a little it doesn't really transfer but it isn't food or drink proof. So you could apply this in the morning and it would last you till lunch but you would need to re-apply after you have eaten.

I used this lipstick with and without a lip liner and found that it didn't bleed or feather so its perfectly fine to use without a lip liner.

Overall this is a pretty awesome lipstick and I would definitely purchase this.

Tips: If you have dry lips make sure you use a lip scrub before applying this product to remove dead skin for a better finish as it does cling to dry skin.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Overall rating:
4.0/5
7th August, 2017
0 members found this review useful
Lovely Smooth Application

I received a Max Factor Velvet Matte Lupstick in my chosen shade of Rose 020. It is a gorgeous Rose pink colour that can be reapplied for a brighter look or used over a nude pencil for a more nude pink colour. I love the ease of application, it really is velvety smooth to apply and has a super lightweight feel when on the lips. I don't wear a lot of lipsticks, especially matte, because I find I can "feel" it on my lips and I spend my time wearing it worrying about it being on my teeth or smearing across my face when I eat or drink and just feel generally awkward with it on. So I usually opt for a gloss or a very sheer nude. But I loved the feel of this on. I wore it out on a date and was a bit worried but wanted to put it to the rest. We went for dinner and started with drinks and entree. After our main I went to the bathroom to check on my lippy expecting to find it embarrassingly on my face or worn off and looking terrible but while it had worn a little, it was still on enough that it still looked great and it hadn't smeared or moved at all! I think this is probably due to the lovely velvety matte finish along with the Max Factor universal pencil that was included in my review, which is a transparent pencil to line and full lips with pre lippy application and it really seems to help prime and smooth lips and keep that lippy in line! What I did find though that wasn't so great was when I reapplied after dinner, it went very flakey and bits were peeling off. I fixed it quickly by using a gloss and blending it together but then in doing so lost the lovely matte look I had started out with. I tried using it again during the daytime after exfoliating my lips but I still had the same result when I went to reapply. I guess it may mean using a tissue or wipe to remove he previous layer before reapplying both liner and lipstick. Overall I really liked this lipstick, I found the colour lovely and very wearable on my olive skin with my blue eyes and I often find I have to be careful with pinks, generally opting for more brown tones but this seems to have a more blue undertone and works well, making my eyes really pop. I love the smoothness of application and the lightweight finish. It really does feel like velvet. I will just know to remove as much as I can and perhaps use some balm before reapplying and see if I can reapply with a smooth matte finish. I would be interested to see if anyone has any better luck with the flaking in other shades or if it is just the lipstick in general, though I guess as a lipstick and a matte one at that I can't expect it to wear like a liquid. It is still better than other matte and even gloss finish lipsticks I have tried and to stay on so well through eating and drinking, I am impressed and while the lipstick itself was a bit flaky my lips stayed moist just as they say, " who says you can't have moisture and matte?" It's just a shame he lipstick doesn't stay entirely moist through wear!

Tips: Exfoliate and prime lips before applying, even if it's just a small amount of lip balm and then use a lip pencil to line and fill your lips. The Max Factor universal liner is very good for not adding any base colour and for staying power. Blend gently with fingertip after application for an even smoother finish and reapply until you get the coverage you desire. When it comes to reapplying, try to blend or remove any flakes and moisturise lips again before reapplying. If it does flake a gloss blended over the top will fix it.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
JennyWren
7th August, 2017

I should add that while it had a good staying power, I mean it still looked good on my lips after eating and drinking a couple of hours later but it had come off on my glass and fork, napkin etc.

Overall rating:
3.0/5
6th August, 2017
0 members found this review useful
Can a creamy matte match a normal matte?

I was on the BR trial team for this product and I picked the shade Rose 20. For a matte formula this lipstick is very creamy. They do mention it in their write up about it but it was so creamy that to me it didn't feel like a matte. I was also sent the universal Max Factor lip liner and used this two different ways with the lipstick. The first time I wore this lippy I broke one of my own cardinal rules which is, one must do a lip scrub before applying matte lipstick. I didn't and you could tell. The first time I wore it I applied the universal liner around and then all over my lips. I have done it before with other liners and find it can help. I this case I'm not sure it did. The next time I wore it I just applied it around my lips (after doing a lip scrub) and the lippy felt nicer on. The formula is not what I expect from a matte and I found on both occasions I wore it I had clumps of the lipstick on my lips after I had touched it up a couple of times. The first time, having not done a lip scrub, I kind of expected it but there was a lot of it. I took the whole lot off at lunchtime and reapplied it because it looked awful. The second time it was much less but still enough to annoy me. Because this formula is creamy for a matte I didn't find the staying power what I would expect from other matte lipsticks. I had to reapply it more often, as I would do when wearing a creme or similar formula lipstick. This is a big downside for a matte lipstick I have to say. I quite like the packaging and I especially love being able to see the colour without taking the lid off. When you have over 70 lipsticks being able to locate the one you want quickly is important. The case has a nice matte feel and clicks together tightly and securely. I really liked the shade I picked and in all honesty this is the overriding factor as to why I will continue wearing it long-term. I am a bit of a lipstick connoisseur and I know what I like and have very high expectations for lipsticks. With the price of these I'm not sure I would purchase more of the range because I don't need to spend too much more to be getting into the price range for, in my opinion, superior lipsticks so I would take that option. It is a nice lippy overall and I will continue to use it but I don't have the same expectations of performance and longevity as I would of other matte lipsticks.

Tips: Do a lip scrub before application to minimise the amount of bits and product build up you will get on your lips.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

REVIEWERS NEEDED!

We need reviewers to put the Garnier Micellar Rose Water Clean & Glow to the test!


The innovative cleanser is combining forces with one of the original beauty essentials. Will it be more amazing than the bestselling and Top Rated Garnier Micellar Water?

We need you to help us find out!

Put Your Hand Up Here!