Welcome to

Beauty Review

Want to be advised of trial teams we’re running, giveaways, great beauty offers and competitions? Sign up to receive our newsletter now, it’s easy.

105,406reviews
7,680products

Trial and review NZ's best beauty products for free.

Register Now
Sally Hansen Colour Therapy
Sally Hansen Colour Therapy
St. Ives Blemish Control Scrub Review
Share with a friend
Would use it again? 4.0/5
Did it do what it said it would? 4.1/5
Would recommend it to a friend? 4.0/5

St. Ives Blemish Control Scrub Review

Overall rating:
4.1/5

A delicious scrub that smells of fuzzy apricots & helps reduce breakouts before they even occur. Made with 100% natural exfoliants (like crushed walnut shell powder) for a gentle, deep cleanse.

 

RRP: 

Pack size:150ml

Availability: Selected supermarkets and department stores.
 

Website: www.stives.co.nz

back

Found in:

Write a review

To allow us record accurate reviews we require you to register.

Looking to rate this product?

Please sign in or register.

Overall rating:
3.0/5
17th April, 2017 at 4:00 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Not the product for me

I've been through at least 3-4 bottles of this stuff convinced that one day I'm going to magically love it because there is so much hype around this product!

I like the squuezy tube packaging, the scent is nice and most of all I love that the exfoliant material is all natural - I'm very against all the plastic microbeads in products these days!

Unfortunately, this product is just far too harsh for my skin and I found it actually seemed to break me out more and I don't really have super sensitive skin! I also would warn anyone from using it around the eye area as its far too scratchy and rough for the sensitive skin there.

Although it does not work for me, my boyfriend loves this stuff so give it a go but keep in mind that it is very rough.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
11th April, 2017 at 11:04 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
St Ives fan

I'm not sure if it's just the apricot but I've been addicted to st Ives products for ever. The containers easy to get the scrub out of and can squeeze it right out so to get you money's worth.

I find it leaves my skin feeling really soft and as my skin isn't that sensitive I like a scrub that I can feel like it's working. If your skins is sensitive would still be ok if you didn't scrub as hard.

I always use it in the shower so it's easy to just rinse off because of the walnut shell power is easy to remove.

Love the smell

Tips: Apply it to your face scrub it on STOP leave it on for a bit before washing it off this gives the ingredients longer to work on your skin aswell as just exfoliate.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
2.7/5
1st April, 2017 at 9:55 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
St Ives Blemish Scrub

An easy to use product that fitted in well with my regular beauty routine. I initially used it at night but found the particles of scrub were hard to remove with a cloth so switched to using in the shower in the morning where it was easier to wash off completely. It left my skin feeling soft and refreshed but had to limit use to twice a week only as it was a bit drying on nose and chin. Over all though a good value for money product that does what it say it will. Will continue to use.

Tips: Use on the shower as easier to rinse off Limit use to once or twice a week if prone to dry skin.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.0/5
1st April, 2017 at 7:00 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
My skin loves

I have very sensitive skin which is quite picky when it comes to skin care products so I generally stick to the same ones. I had seen this instore for a while and always wanted to try it because of the yummy apricot smell but never grabbed it because I had one that worked and didn't want to risk it.

I was lucky enough to get this to trial and my skin actually loves it! I do only use it once every two days as this is what it says because it is quite a 'harsh' exfoliant. Usually I would use this sort of product everyday but this is still working for me.

You only need a dollop for it to lather over your whole face. I like to scrub it in for a bit and then leave it for a minute or so. This leaves my skin feeling almost moisturised and super soft when I take it off.

I find it is also good at removing any excess makeup left on my face.

I really do like this, so does my skin. I think the price is pretty reasonable so I probably will repurchase once I run out!

Tips: Follow the recommendation of only using alternate days - the scrub is too harsh to use daily!

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
2.3/5
1st April, 2017 at 5:08 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Lovely smelling exfoliant

This scrub smells good enough to eat. I was really worried that it may irritate my very sensitive skin but it didn't at all. My face felt soft and refreshed afterwards. Unfortunately it didn't help with my breakouts. I think I had more spots after using this. I did like the crushed walnut shell powder that gently exfoliated my skin. It left my skin super smooth and clean. I would like to see a security seal on or under the lid.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
3.7/5
1st April, 2017 at 1:37 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
St. Ives Blemish Control Scrub

The Scrub comes in a tub container, with 150ml of the scrub in it. This was my first time using a scrub as I'm more used to Clean & Clear Facial Cleanser. The scrub make my face feel soft and look awake, the smell of apricot helped to achieve it. I used the amount that would fit the tip of my forefinger so the scrub would last a while.

Tips: I found it easier to wash off in the shower than the sink.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.7/5
1st April, 2017 at 11:06 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Worked great on my sensitive skin

When I was requested to do a product review I was quite worried about the salicylic acid. The skin on my face is highly sensitive. It is usually combination but lately it has been quite oily.

I used this product every second night following the instructions on the back of the product. i 'scrubbed' my face gently for about 1 minute before rinsing it off. It left my skin feeling smooth and clean. It has been helping combat small acne areas around my chin and jawline After about 2-3 uses I noticed a difference in the amount of acne on my face.

The smell is definitely apricot with hints of a creamy moisturiser smell which is quite pleasant.

I have never really been a fan of face scrubs as it usually dries my skin out far too much and cause my face to feel a burning sensation when applied and cause my face to become bright red after washing off. This apricot scrub was amazing. I had a slight red tinge to my face which I think Is normal after using a scrub product.

At 150mls this would last a long time as I only used between a teaspoon and tablespoon of product each time.

I have already recommended this product to some family and friends and will definitely be buying more after this has run out.

Tips: i used a wet washcloth to remove scrub. Seemed easier to remove all of the scrub off my face.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.0/5
1st April, 2017 at 12:32 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Nice basic face scrub

This is good value for money and it will last a long time. The packaging is pretty basic and not all that appealing. However the product itself was really nice to use. It left my skin feeling reall good! I could feel it working and i love how clean, soft and smooth my skin felt after using it.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.0/5
31st March, 2017 at 8:45 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
St Ives Blemish control Scrub

I love the way my skin felt after using this scrub for the first time. I've been using this every second night since receiving this product to trial. My skin seems to like it. I often find I react to most scrubs. But this is gentle. I love the way my skin feels after using it. So smooth and fresh feeling. Ive also been having a few hormonal breakouts and its helped so much with this. So pleased to finally find something I can use on the regular. It also smells great and is an affordable option. Can't fault this product.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
3.7/5
31st March, 2017 at 6:13 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Just another scrub!

The packaging is great, nice and clear to read and a decent size bottle! Smells fruity and wasn't too strong. I used the product every second day and found it left my skin quite smooth but I definitely needed to moisturise straight away. I didn't find it helped my skin too much and would probably only buy again if I couldn't find another scrub the same strength.

It's not too gritty, but enough to exfoliate almost daily. My skin is combination and I found I wasn't so oily throughout the day, but for me it was quite drying, so I would definitely recommend using 2-3 times per week only.

Tips: Use in the shower as the beads wash off far more easy than over the sink.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No