Vault

Max value reached

Adding this item would put you over your total vault limit of $250. please review your cart to stay under the limit.

Welcome to

Beauty Review

Want to be advised of trial teams we’re running, giveaways, great beauty offers and competitions? Sign up to receive our newsletter now, it’s easy.

Schwarz Survey
Schwarz Survey
Hourglass Cosmetics Ambient Lighting Powder Wardrobe Review
Share with a friend
Would use it again? 5.0/5
Did it do what it said it would? 4.8/5
Would recommend it to a friend? 4.7/5

Hourglass Cosmetics Ambient Lighting Powder Wardrobe Review

Overall rating:
4.8/5

Hourglass Cosmetics Ambient Lighting Powder Wardrobe Give the gift of light in this limited edition palette featuring three shades of Ambient Lighting Powder, the high-tech, soft-focus finishing powder that features state-of-the-art technology to recreate the most exquisitely flattering types of light. Includes one new limited edition shade, Incandescent Light, and two existing, Dim Light and Radiant Light.

Dim Light: A neutral peach beige powder that blurs imperfections and highlights a radiant complexion with the perfect balance of warm and cool tones.

Radiant Light: A sun-kissed golden beige that enhances the overall complexion with believable, subtle warmth, and also extends a summer glow.

Limited Edition Incadescent Light: A pearlescent powder that highlights the cheekbones and brightens the complexion with a celestial glow.

RRP: $89.00

Availability: Mecca Cosmetica and Online

Website: http://www.hourglasscosmetics.com/lighting-powder

back

Found in:

Write a review

To allow us record accurate reviews we require you to register.

Looking to rate this product?

Please sign in or register.

Overall rating:
4.7/5
17th September, 2017 at 5:21 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
2/3

I love the middle powder to use as a highlight. Its not too powdery and it is such a nice glow without being too over the top. The powder on the right is a perfect bronzer for my skin and doesn't require much blending. I personally dont use the powder on the left because it leaves my skin looking quite yellow.

Tips: Make sure you tap any excess off or it can look pretty powdery over pores

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
14th August, 2017 at 11:02 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
So prettyyyy

I love everything about this! The colours are all to die for, the packaging is amazing and it has the perfect amount of shimmer! Day or not, you can use this palette to rock any look and it makes your skin look so dreamy and glowy! The colours are all perfectly pigmented and you don't need to use a great deal of product! I've had this for about a year now and I've still got plenty of product left - good bang for your buck!

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.7/5
11th June, 2016 at 4:52 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
I love this but I struggle with this...

It's a love hate relationship. I hummed and haa'd over this in the shop, many times, before buying.

I find the dark shade is a little too dark and too bronzey for me maybe? I think my main problem is finding the right brush to use with it, not too big, not too small, just the right amount of fluffiness.

I have to say I was hoping for more 'blurring of imperfection' action but alas I don't see anything blurred. It does add a nice glow to my face and the light shade provides subtle highlights. I like that it is not glittery like a lot of highlighters are.

I like the packaging and I'm happy that I bought it. I'm not sure I really needed it, but honestly I'm happy just to look at it even if I'm not using it- it is beautiful and luxurious looking, and the three different powders all have a deep glow. It's like when you see someone beautiful and you just can't stop staring!

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.7/5
6th October, 2015 at 8:48 am
4 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Bae

I have had this palette over 6 months and only now do I feel confident in writing my thoughts on it. I have dry skin and was sick of my makeup constantly looking tired and dull so one day I went in to Mecca and had the assistant dust the powders all over my face so I could see how they wore. I honestly couldn't stop looking at my skin the entire day, it made my skin look airbrushed and glowy all day long (in a non-oily way).

Needless to say I went back the next day and purchased it. Initially I was only using Dim Light over the centre of my face and for the life of me could not recreate the effect on my skin that the assistant had created. This resulted in me putting it aside and doubting my purchase. However, I picked it up again a couple of months ago after researching how others use it, and I just adore it now. I use all 3 powders daily as follows:

Dim Light: I dust this over the centre of my face to blur the size of my pores and imperfections, and just give the skin a healthy glow. It really is great at pore blurring!

Incandescent Light: I use this on all the standard high points of my face for a gorgeous non-glittery highlight. I also love it as a brow bone and inner corner highlight as it lasts alll day!

Radiant Light: I love the effect of this dusted over my bronzer at the back of my cheekbones and on my forehead. It really does give your face a gorgeous radiant glow. I also dust this down the bridge of my nose for a healthy, sun kissed flush of colour.

The packaging is elegant, feels sturdy and is perfect for travel as it contains a good sized mirror. I do note that the Hourglass label etc is starting to wear off, but that just shows how much I use it! Do I think it's worth it? If you have dry/normal skin, absolutely! It just makes your skin look airbrushed. Not entirely sure how useful it would be if you have oily skin though.

Tips: You can use the powders as a natural wash of colour on the lids, or as a topper to a matte shadow to liven it up. They look gorgeous!

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

So glad you have detailed how to use it- I bought it last week and was stressing about it! So many to choose from and I chose this one- glad you like it - I hope I do too.

I love this palette great review, I do think it's just a matter of playing with it to get what you want from it

I hope it helps! I have my fingers crossed for you x

Love your review x will try using this palette tomorrow in the ways you like and see if it works for me

Haha! I was so tempted to write bacon and eggs..

Love the title :P

Overall rating:
4.0/5
29th September, 2015 at 8:38 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Subtle, but beautiful

This has been on my wishlist for a while now, but I was worried at such a hefty price tag that this product would be all hype. Well let me tell you now, the hype is real!

Subtle is the name of the game when it comes to the Hourglass Ambient Lighting wardrobe. Dim light is a smidge too dark for my pale skintone, but with a light hand I can get away with it. I use my usual Clarins matte powder on a small brush over concealed blemishes and then apply dim light over my entire face. At first glance you're not sure its had any effect at all, yet when you catch a glimpse of yourself in the light you can see the most gorgeous glow to your skin. This somehow imparts a perfection to your skin that was definitely not there before. Incandescent light is a lovely natural highlight, not super obvious so you can wear it in the daytime without feeling too dolled up. Radiant light is a smidge dark again but being quite sheer can be applied gently for a lovely natural glow.

The powders, like the ambient blush, are very finely milled and buttery, but also quite delicate so your brush does kick up a lot of product when you use it. I find that these have great longevity on my skin, and does last all day. I don't know that I can ever justify repurchasing, but I definitely will continue to use and enjoy this palette

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
10th August, 2015 at 4:08 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Hourglass Ambient Lighting you Light up my Life

I really had to um and ah about this one as it was such an expensive palette. I had seen so many reviews and I really wanted a finishing powder but wanted something that would give me a nice glow without being in your face highlighter. I bought this off Mecca Cosmetics online and it cost me $102 EEK ! most expensive product I own.I was beyond excited when this arrived !. The packaging does not let you down its beautiful, it comes in a sturdy shiny bronze compact, it just feels worth the money. It opens up to reveal three lighting powders and a mirror on the inside.

I had watched you tube tutorial after you tube tutorial on how to apply this but because these colous are all really subtle you really can get away with using this however you like.

Dim Light - Dim light is a really subtle beige/champagne type colour with teeny tiny flecks of gold. I used this as a finishing powder over my foundation (both liquid and mineral)it works on everything, I applied with a khabuki or big fluffy brush everywhere. Its super subtle and at first I was a little dissapointed but then you catch yourself in different lights and you realise its given you a soft focus look like you've been airbrushed. This will be a everyday staple. I also used this on my eyelids as a shadow base or for more natural days on its own.

Incandescent Light - This is a pearlelescent shade again with teeny gold flecks this was best suited on me as a highlighter for the tops of cheekbones and cupids bow etc. Again its a super subtle colour so you wont come out looking like a disco ball !.

Radiant Light -Radiant Light is a more bronze type shade and has less illuminating properties to it. I use this as a very subtle bronzer on my cheeks and forehead - its excellent for super fair skin tones like myself.

This is an amazing product, application is easy the texture is wonderful and buttery and there's hardly any fallout. I do not know how I lived without these before!.

I would recommend these to absolutely everyone but especially the fair skinned. I will be repurchasing if I ever run out although you dont need to use alot.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
3.7/5
5th August, 2015 at 8:41 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
The Glow

Ive had this palette for almost a year, it took me awhile to warm up to it. I saw alot of people taking about this as a highlighting product which is how i decided to use it, top of cheek bones ect. It really didnt seem that great so it sat at the back of my makeup desk. I have only just discovered my love for the palette after watching beauty gurus use it! The light colour is perfect for using as a finishing powder, i use the darker brown colour as a bronzer which is amazing and doesnt look muddy, the other more pinkish shade i dust over my cheeks for a more natural blush look. This product is amazing and definitly worth the price.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
7th June, 2015 at 8:27 am
2 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Perfection in a palette

I've been looking at this for a long time but couldn't justify the price tag, when I received some money for my birthday I went out and purchased it and I'm so glad I did.

The case is just gorgeous, a shiny brown plastic clip case, that is easy to open and shut and feels like good quality as it's quite heavy. The 3 powders inside are a bit on the small side but I can't see me hitting pan for quite some time as you don't need to use heaps of powder to get a nice finish.

Once I've applied all my make up, I use the dim light to go over most of face with a big powder brush. I then grab a kabuki brush for the radiant light and apply that where you apply bronzer. (I apply the bronzer as well). Final touch is the incandescent light with a small highlighting brush on top of my cheekbones. The effect of the dim light is very subtle, creating a very soft look on my skin, almost like photoshopping my skin and the radiant light just brings out the glow of the bronzer. The incandescent light adds a beautiful sheen where applied. The only downside is that it's no good for oil control, so I don't apply to my T zone as it can end up looking greasy there. It's a really great product that helps soften the appearance of my fine wrinkles and brings about a youthful glow that I now couldn't live without.

Tips: My tip. Just go out and get it, you need it in your life.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

I think you sold me on it - I am going to have to get it (sorry bank account)

Overall rating:
5.0/5
31st May, 2015 at 10:28 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Totally worth the money!

This palette is definitely expensive, but it is so worth it in my opinion. These powders are incredible, they are soft and give the most gorgeous finish to the skin. It has one that I think works for all over the face, one that works as a gorgeous bronzer, and the middle one is the most gorgeous highlighter and it's actually exclusive to the palette itself.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
15th May, 2015 at 10:08 pm
3 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Glowing

This is just pure luxury.. On all levels. I brought this from Mecca and I must say amazing customer service I think it was only 2 days from when I placed the order to when it arrived and I had emails along the way saying it had been shipped etc. so of course I ripped into it with excitement when it arrived. (Cue harps playing) the case is just beautiful and I instantly feel special it is a mirrored dark chocolate brown with hourglass printed in gold to one side. I must say when I got fingerprints on it I had to carefully polish them off because it shouldn't have fingerprints on it it's too beautiful.

I open it up and in front of me there are 3 shades In 3 square shaped domes. There is also a mirror inside that runs the width of the palette. The Shades I have never seen before. At first glance I thought all three would be too light and I thought I had just wasted $89 but how wrong was I once I used it. The three magics are:

Dim light which is the medium colour out of the three. I do find it quite pigmented and I was worried I'd look all glittery I like using this very lightly all over like a bronzer. It definitely gives a healthy glow look to my skin I'm surprised at how little you actually need to use.

Incandescent light is the lightest shade out of the three it's a peachy kind of tone. I love this one and once applied my skin looks healthy, glowing and flawless. Yay there is hope for me even if it is with a bit of trickery!!

Radiant light is the darkest of the three shades and the one I use the least. It is basically a setting powder with no pigmentation so it doesn't really give that "glow" I have dry skin so I stay away from anything that is going to be matte and sadly this one makes me look drier (sobs)

All of the powders feel like velvet so soft and smooth. They are all so so fine I find them easy to apply using a powder brush. A very firm staple for me and I wished I brought some sooner. It's magic on my skin not only does my face look good.. And less noticeable flaws I feel good too.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

Okay that's it, i need to actually start using mine every day! its so pretty, i like saving it for a special occasion, but its just getting neglected.

Haha Koni it was like angels playing harps from heaven. I still get that feeling every time I open it :)

You had me at "harps playing" haha!!

New?

to find out why you
should join New Zealand's largest beauty website

Click here

Beauty Poll

See all
Braided Brows - Yay or Nay?

Braided Brows - Yay or Nay?

view results

Review of the Day
kfind
Linden Leaves Miraculous Facial Oil
Ok, I am going to be honest here, when I first received the oil I was excited, yes, but… more »