Welcome to

Beauty Review

Want to be advised of trial teams we’re running, giveaways, great beauty offers and competitions? Sign up to receive our newsletter now, it’s easy.

105,411reviews
7,680products

Trial and review NZ's best beauty products for free.

Register Now
Sally Hansen Colour Therapy
Sally Hansen Colour Therapy
Eye of Horus Goddess Pencil - Teal Malachite
Share with a friend
Would use it again? 4.5/5
Did it do what it said it would? 4.9/5
Would recommend it to a friend? 4.9/5

Eye of Horus Goddess Pencil - Teal Malachite Review

Overall rating:
4.8/5

Mesmerize with ancient Metallic Malachite, the teal crystal of love. Adorn and enhance your eyes with this hypnotic shimmering jewel-like formula. Glides effortlessly, waterproof, smudgeproof and long lasting.

O    Adds colour to accentuate your eyes
O    A creamy rich formula that is easy to apply and is long-lasting
O    Waterproof & smudge-proof
O    Resists oil and perspiration with no fading

Available in 9 shades

RRP: $39.00

Availability: Selected salons and online

Websitewww.eyeofhoruscosmetics.com 

back

Found in:

Write a review

To allow us record accurate reviews we require you to register.

Looking to rate this product?

Please sign in or register.

Overall rating:
4.0/5
14th December, 2016 at 4:46 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Gorgeous pop of colour

Eye of Horus make some great eye liners. This colour is no exception. I bought this really cheaply second hand. These can be quite pricey new but EOH do have some pretty good deals on their site so you can get a value pack for a good price.

This eyeliner is pretty long so you get good value for money. One side is the eyeliner and the other side has a sponge smudger. I love the smudger and use it all the time, it does a pretty good job and blending out the harsh line. Both lids fit on securely and I haven't had any issues with them falling off. This is a pencil that you need to sharpen, I prefer twist up pencils but at least when you sharpen, you can get a really defined point.

The colour of this is beautiful. It's a very pigmented, intense shimmering blue. It's bright and will definitely make a statement. The formula is creamy and will easily glide on. I love wearing this thickly on my bottom lash line when I'm wearing very neutral eyeshadow. I find it stays in place well all day without smudging much but it doesn't last in my waterline. I can remove this pretty easily with micellar water too.

I'm not totally sure if I'd repurchase but only because it's not an everyday colour for me. I absolutely love this brand of liners though so I would buy more from this brand but probably in a different colour. The purple is sort of calling my name out but I'd like to use this one up first.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.7/5
31st August, 2016 at 12:21 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Eye of Horus Goddess Teal Malachite Makes Eyes Pop

I have almost all of the colorful Eye of Horus goddess pencils but this is a stand out because of the bright teal that just makes my eyes pop. I have really tiny Asian monolids and wear glasses on top of that so this just makes my eyes pop. It is the lightest of the colorful eye pencils and probably the brightest. On me it looks more light blue. I like to wear this alongside the other colors like the blue, green and purple for a sort of gradient effect. I sort of smudge them into each other with a eyeliner or thin angled eyeshadow brush. Or I wear it on its own. I have worn it on my upper lids to give a bright pop of color but I find that it shows up more when it's featured on my lower lids. The only con about this eyeliner and I guess with the others is that it isn't entirely smudge-proof after it sets. I used to think that the Goddess pencils were completely smudge-proof once they set, but I realize that on me that nothing seems to be smudge-proof. But this brand does last longer on me than other brands. The other con is that it is twice the price of some drugstore brands but personally I don't mind paying a bit more for a quality eyeliner pencil. I have almost all the colorful eye pencils of this brand plus the nude and the white one. I have gifted and recommended this brand of eye pencils to others. I won't need to repurchase for a long, long time but I when I do run out I will.

Tips: If you love doing a neutral eye look you can use this teal shade to add a bright pop of color to it. It also looks great sort of smudged a bit with the other Eye of Horus Goddess pencils for a sort of colorful gradient effect. I like to smudge it out a bit on my lower lids with the green, purple and sapphire ones and pair that with neutral or nude eyeshadow and black winged liner and black mascara. I finish off with understated cheeks and a pretty pink, neutral or nude lip.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

I think the EOH pencil I use the most is the nude one for my waterlines. But these pencils are great for those just wanting to apply a pop of color.

Good reviews. I didn't try anything from this brand. I would love to specially eye pencil.

Overall rating:
5.0/5
9th August, 2016 at 12:28 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Eye of Horus Goddess Pencil Teal Malachite

I have read about these amazing pencils for as long as I have been on BR and have wanted at least one in my collection, so on my last holiday I managed to purchase 2!.

The pencil is long and slender, black with beautiful gold writing, telling you what amazing treat awaits you once you take the lid off.

The pencil has 2 "lids". One is the colour of the pencil and one is black. One end of the pencil has a smudger and the other is the actual eye liner.

The eye liner is the most amazing blue. Oceans of blue. It glides on with ease, even with an absolute novice like me using it.

It is creamy with a shimmer, so pretty. It is waterproof, smudgeproof and long lasting.

I found this pencil applied smoothly. The formula is rich and creamy and very pigmented. It did not flake at all and stayed in place all day.

I removed this with an eye make remover easily. It left no trace.

This gorgeous eye liner will compliment any look you decide to wear.

Tips: You will want more than one!

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
3.7/5
20th July, 2015 at 7:28 pm
1 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Malachite Godess

This was the first product i had tried from Eye Of Horus, and they already had a lot to live up to. I had seen amazing swatches, and heard amazing things, but you never know until you try for yourself, and something about this colour just lured me straight in.

This product is packaged the same as the rest of the range. It comes in a slender black cylinder, which is adorned with beautiful gold metallic writing. On one end, it has a deal cap which conceals a smudger, and on the other end is a black lid which conceals the pencil (i really think these lids should go the other way round, but it can easily be swapped around).

The colour is stunning, and the swatches really don't do it justice. Just from looking at the pencil, you can see the beautiful teal colour, flecked with tiny bits of gold, and the gold is not big massive chunks, but more of a slight shimmer. Really pretty, and subtle.

This eyeliner is beautiful to use. It applied onto the eye smoothly, and the pencil is just so creamy, pigmented and kind of amazing.

Although the colour is amazing, i just didn't use the colour enough so passed it onto to a friend. However, it did spark my Eye of Horus collection, which has grown immensely since this first product.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

ONE (bag full of product) haha - the same shop has Etude House and some other cool bits so. . . .

You'll be lucky if you only leave with one :D

haha I'll for sure be going in to swatch them and may well walk out with this

Oh sorry Trudijoy x Perfect, plus sometimes eye of horus do some incredible deals so if you time it right, you really get more bang for your buck

This is definitely on my list of more expensive things I HAVE to try. It's totally one of my colours too x Great review, chick. (wish you'd passed it on to me hehe) - I've my mind on a shop I know stocks EOH for my trip next month

Overall rating:
5.0/5
30th June, 2015 at 3:04 pm
1 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
You always feel like a goddess

I have quote a few of the EOH liners. I love them all so much. The customer service is amazing! Love how all the products come beautifully wrapped as well.

So the teal has the 2 ends like the rest of the range. The smudger and the colour. The pencils are sleek looking. Gorgeous gold writing that matches the set.

The colour is mega oh my god!! Think teal, think sparkle, think metallic, think bang! It's so beautiful! In the light you can see fairy pieces of sparkle not big in your face bits. It's like it picks up the colour of your eyes. It changes in the light and with what colour you are wearing as well. It's just so beautiful.

So the actual pencil inside is soft. It glides on so easily. It's sharpens up well. It wont budge, it stays on all day once it has set. Yet it washes off at the end of the day.

Tips: Grab the EOH pencil sharpener at the same time. It's the best I have found to sharpen these

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

That is a great tip about the sharpener, I was wondering about the best kind, thanks :}

Overall rating:
4.3/5
28th June, 2015 at 7:55 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Easy to add colour

I got these in two colours, teal & navy. Both are rich in their colour, soft & easy to apply. One end has a sponge for smudging & works well, but only do one eye aha time or the colour will NOT move. So it lasts, all day.

Tips: Best to use an eye makeup remover at the end of the day

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
1st April, 2015 at 11:12 pm
3 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Teal-tastic!

Eyeliners are something I hoard ALOT of, I must own over 20 eyeliner pencils, most I use a few times and push them to the bottom of my eyeliner pile.

Eye of horus sent me this to try which I still cant believe my luck, it is amazing how much pressure is put on you compared to if you had purchased this with your own money. And not pressure from them, they were so sweet and lovely to deal with, but the mentality of it all, honestly I couldn't afford to spend $39 on an eyeliner pencil with a risk of it being just over hyped and over priced. As much as I was so honored to be sent a parcel of wonderful goodies built for a goddess, there was so much I had to take in.

The pencil is very long, it has one side that has a sponge to smudge out the liner and the opposite side is Teal heaven! Out of all the teal colored pencils I have ever owned in my life, this one would be the best of the best. The formula is soft but firm to glide along your waterline or on top of your eyelid. It feels like butter running this on your waterline. It slides on smoothly and withing a few minutes it is set as stone. If your going to smoke this out or smudge it, you need to do it quickly.

I have used this eyeliner SO much, I reach for it more than the black eyeliner pencils so that says alot! And the eyeliner pencils are versatile, you can use it as an eye-shadow or an eyeliner.

I plan to purchase the whole collection of these, I have 4 and all 4 are out of this world!

Tips: Use the eyeliner and cover your eye lids with it to create an eye shadow, lasts all day and doesn't budge at all!

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

Aww Koni you are so sweet! Those colours would look amazing on your skin! Theyre a must have X

I put Teal and Lazuli on my list as soon as I saw it featured on your Makeup Inspiration article and your instagram. It's beautiful on you!

I can't wait to use this shade :)

July is my next 'buy all the pretty things' month so feel free to peer pressure me into it at that stage hehehe :P

I hold myself responsible, you have to try this, especially that black one it is the deepest darkest black, if you buy from the AUS website and spend over $60 you get the mascara for free :)

this is super high on my want list and your review just made me want it more! Great review - and if I succumb, I'm blaming you ;)

Overall rating:
5.0/5
21st March, 2015 at 10:59 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Shimmery goodness

I received this free with my purchase of the mascara and liquid eyeliner and I have to say I would have been happy to pat for this! The colour of this is crazy gorgeous, and feels really soft while applying sharply at the same time. I love the pencil, with its sponge end for blending and smudging. One of my favourite things about this is how well you can blend it out to wear as a beautiful eyeshadow <3

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
18th March, 2015 at 2:34 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Shimmering eyes!

I was so lucky to be gifted this from my lovely secret santa, what a fantastic gift and its quickly become one of my most adored products in my makeup collection.

When I think of Eye Of Horus, I think of all the people that have raved about their products. I was so looking forward to trying my first product from this brand!

The packaging is beautiful and just looks so luxurious. A sleek black pencil, with the awesome teal coloured lid. It is designed so well and is just gorgeous.

Is it as amazing as everyone says? Does it live up to its hype? Yes and Yes!

Other eyeliners can feel a little harsh against my sensitive eyes, but this is so smooth and just glides across, no tugging at all.

The colour is gorgeous, and so fun to have for a night out. It makes my blue eyes pop and is so funky to experiment with different colours like this.

The formula lasts and lasts. It also doesn't smudge like other eyeliners can. The formula is so much better than any eye liner I have tried.

It says it is a 'shimmering jewel like formula' and I would definitely agree. This teal is a standout and enhances the eyes so well. This eyeliner is a must-try!

This has left me wanting to try more Eye of Horus products, as this is such great quality product that delivers what it says.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.3/5
9th March, 2015 at 12:18 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Eyes of a Goddess

I was lucky enough to pick this up in the Beauty Rewards Vault, tempted of course by the amazing things I had heard about Eye of Horus.

This product really is a gem. The packaging is sleek and elegant, with a colour-coded end that helps you find it amongst other pencils. I'm a big fan of the double-ended format, one end being the pencil, the other end having a foam tip perfect for smudging.

This formula really does live up to the claims, gliding on effortlessly without dragging on the skin. The creamy colour lasts all day and stays in place, and I have oily skin.

I probably wouldn't repurchase the teal again myself as the colour wasn't really for me, but I don't tend to wear a lot of colour on my eyes. I definately recommend it for those who do and want a nice pop of brilliant, jewel-like colour.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No