Vault

Max value reached

Adding this item would put you over your total vault limit of $250. please review your cart to stay under the limit.

Welcome to

Beauty Review

Want to be advised of trial teams we’re running, giveaways, great beauty offers and competitions? Sign up to receive our newsletter now, it’s easy.

Sign up now
Sign up now
Karen Murrell Lipsticks - Fuchsia Shock
Share with a friend
Would use it again? 4.8/5
Did it do what it said it would? 4.8/5
Would recommend it to a friend? 4.8/5

Karen Murrell Lipsticks - Fuchsia Shock

Overall rating:
4.8/5

07 Fuchsia Shock
“Fuchsia Shock brings out my ultimate girl power! Strong and playful”

The KAREN MURRELL Lipstick Collection is designed with four key elements in mind:

  1. Touch, it must glide on
  2. Smell, it must smell great
  3. Wear, must wear and not rub off easily
  4. Hue, strong natural hues that do not change from person to person.

The Karen Murrell Lipstick Collection is available in nine variants - Moisture Stick (to be applied over lipstick or used as a lip gloss or lip plumper), Cordovan Natural, Pink Starlet, Red Shimmer, Violet Mousse, Carnation Mist, Fuchsia Shock, Coral Dawn and Sand Storm.

Hailed as ‘vegetarian lipsticks’- the range has no animal based materials or testing. Instead, Karen Murrell Lipsticks contain;

  • Avocado Oil to provide moisture, nourishment and hydration
  • Cinnamon for fuller, plumper lips
  • Evening Primrose Oil; rich in Omega 6 to soothe and moisturise, and
  • Carnauba Wax; renowned for its high melting point, ensuring it’s hard-wearing in even the roughest handbag.

But it’s not only what’s on the inside that counts – each Karen Murrell Lipstick canister is housed in a 100% recyclable and renewable box made from NZ trees, and includes soya ink based print.  These canisters are 4g (biodegradable PLA) and are made from corn resin. Once buried, the canisters compost and return to mother earth after 100 days.

RRP: $29
Availability:
Selected pharmacies
Website:
www.karenmurrell.com

back

Found in:

Write a review

To allow us record accurate reviews we require you to register.

Looking to rate this product?

Please sign in or register.

Overall rating:
2.7/5
21st May, 2016 at 2:20 pm
1 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Wearable "fuchsia"

I've always wanted to try Karen Murrell's lipsticks but I wasn't aware of where I could swatch them before deciding on a shade so I was over the moon to receive this in the BBBE this year. Now for me, fuchsia is an intense rich blend of pink magenta so when I saw the colour in the tube I was surprised that it was 100 shades lighter than I expected. It came across with little shock and looked more wearable than one would expect with a name like Fuchsia Shock.

I adore the effort put into the packaging of the lipsticks from the recyclable materials used to the coloured boxes that apparently reflect the shades hidden inside. The tube on the other hand is a little dull to be honest, it's a light weight matte black where the top half of the inside is a shiny black. I kind of wish they went with shiny right the way through because it could possibly have more appeal for those walking past the testers.

This lipstick goes on waxy and translates into a semi glossy finish. It smells like cinnamon and reminds me of a lighter version of Big Red chewing gum (delish!). The pigmentation is average - it's buildable but you need several swipes to achieve decent coverage. I believe this lipstick is good for those who are wanting to try bolder and brighter shades but are still not on board with full opacity.

I love that it's moisturising, it doesn't feather too much and there's little slip but the lasting power is below average with 2 hours wear and that's if I don't eat or drink. I can't see myself repurchasing any other shades from this brand.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

I was expecting it to be more magenta too but against my skintone it just looks pink. On mum it leans more towards "fuchsia" on her fair skin but ultimately just pink.

Real? I thought it would be more magenta too by the sound of it Koni.

Overall rating:
4.3/5
19th May, 2016 at 8:24 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Karen Murrell Fuchsia Shock

Received this lipstick in my beauty box and I'm so glad I did. It has now become my new favourite lipstick. The colour is just perfect, not one I would have chosen myself but actually really suits me. This lipstick goes on easily and smoothly and lasts a decent amount of time on the lips. I will definitely be buying more of this brand when budget allows as some of the other colours look great too.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
18th April, 2016 at 6:14 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Great lipstick!

What a lipstick! It has all the features of a normal lipstick but also is so natural and 'toxin free; you can eat it (don't we normally end up eating some of our lipsticks anyway so at least you can feel ok about doing so). The lipstick glides on easily and feels amazing on the lips, not tacky or anything which is great! The colour of mine is beautiful and It lasts fairly long time. The feel throughout the day is as if you aren't wearing any and I don't find the lipstick drying at all which is always a bonus. I genuinely cannot fault the lipstick at all and would happily recommend it

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
13th April, 2016 at 11:56 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
See me coming

If you want a bright, long lasting pink lipstick then Fushia Shock is the one for you. This glides on smoothly and lasts longer than most lipsticks I have tried. The ingredients in this products are natural and safe to use on your lips. I really enjoy the cinnamon flavor I get when I lick my lips. This is now my number one lipstick.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
8th March, 2016 at 1:49 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Lipstick

I won some Karen Murrell lipsticks from Beauty Review - thanks so much, what a wonderful prize. The lipsticks are great in that you know what they're made from, This is very important for me as the product is going onto my lips and into my system. The colour is fantastic. My lips feel moisturised and the colour is long lasting. I also like that you can recycle the tube after use. I would definately buy these lipsticks.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
7th March, 2016 at 4:31 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Goes well with all my looks!

First impressions – cute box, card – recyclable – yah! Cute slide opening & reveals matt black canister with shiny band and minimal branding - classic & it even has my initials on it (ok so I might share initials with Karen Murrell) . Lip stick itself is a nice pink, probably not one I would normally purchase, however it glides on my lips, feels lovely and the colour is right for me, and goes with many looks. LOVE IT!

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
6th March, 2016 at 10:48 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
My no.1 lipstick

I have this lipstick in two shades, fuchsia shock and sandstorm and I love them both!!

First of all, it's all natural so I never question how much time I leave on my lips and what harm it could be doing. It's really easy to apply and lasts me through whatever I need to get through because it still looks amazing after it starts to fade. I do not have to worry about licking it off while eating because it's all natural and I can re apply afterwards :-)

I'm absolutely in love with this and it's scent!! It smells so much better than most of my other lipsticks with the chemical smells! :-))

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.7/5
4th October, 2015 at 10:05 pm
2 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
A taste of Spring

I have always wanted to try Karen Murrell lipsticks, and I was lucky enough to win two lipstick from a competition, and Fuchsia Shock happened to be one of the colours.

This lipstick comes in really clever packaging. The box it comes in is made from cardboard, and comes in two parts, with a lid, and a body. The lid reflects the Fuchsia colour contained within the lipstick and gives you an idea of what the colour might look like.

The lipstick comes in a black matte cylinder tube, which has KM printed on the side on the lid, and words on the bottom of the cylinder that says "Nothing nasty touches my lips".

The colour pink fuchsia is a bright pink colour with a blue undertone. The formula of this lipstick is unique, although it does slide over lips smoothly, it also has a slightly waxy feel to it, which also makes the lipstick wear longer. This formula also has a unique cinnamon scent to it which i was surprised to smell, and even more surprised to find that i liked the smell.

This lipstick wears well, and even when it starts to fade, I find it fades evenly and leaves a slight stain to my lips so my lips still look okay.

Another reason I like this lipstick is because it is made up of good ingredients as well as being a NZ made product, which is something I love to support.

I will be definitely trying to get my hands on more of these.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
17th August, 2015 at 7:21 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Karen Murrell Fuchsia Shock

I love this lipsticks! They stay on so well yet they don't dry my dry lips out and they feel so moist on. The Fuchsia Sock is one of my favourites, its a purple/pink and suits my skin tone. Love the sent, to me it smells like cinnamon.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
7th May, 2015 at 2:29 pm
1 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Fuschia Fun

I was lucky enough to be given this by a friend. She knows me well and knows I love my pinky based lipsticks and im not afraid of the fuchsia’s .

First things first packaging - this comes in a simple black canister It’s a nice classic sturdy feeling case one that has travelled well in my pit I call a hand bag.

One thing I did notice about this lipstick was the smell without wanting to be negative to the older ladies of the world (think your nana) it kind of smells like something my nana would have. I cant put my finger on it but every time I open the tube I think of old ladies. Its not super over bearing and I can definitely get past it – just something different.

I absolutely love the colour inside the tube it’s a typical fuschia purply pinky colour. Not super bright but definitely a strong statement but girly colour. I applied this after my regular lip scrub (aka toothbrush) and lip balm. This is a super hydrating feeling lipstick, glides on smoothly and feels really nice on the lips. It made my lips feel soft and smooth and cared for this one of my favourite formula’s for feel on the lips not a sign of drying anywhere to be seen.

It was a little more purpley on my lips and not as bright as some fuschia’s I felt more purpley than pinky for me this is an easy every day wear and I really love it. Its one of those lipsticks I feel totally confident just popping it on without thinking is it too bright too harsh etc….It had a really good wear time aswell. This lasted a few hours easy before needing to be reapplied. It held up to drinking but not eating but it doesn’t come off streaky or patchy just wears off.

I will definitely be buying more in this range I absolutely adore this lipstick

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

sound great for smooth formula but smell like old lady i should think about this on.

New?

to find out why you
should join New Zealand's largest beauty website

Click here

Beauty Poll

See all
How often do you exfoliate?

How often do you exfoliate?

view results

Review of the Day
pedaju
It's not all in a name!
What a pretty container greeted me when Dragon's Blood Skin Therapy arrived. A generous size of product… more »