Vault

Max value reached

Adding this item would put you over your total vault limit of $250. please review your cart to stay under the limit.

Winter Foundation Shade?

32 posts, 11 members
tabucutie
1811 posts
Hi all, I got my foundation shade matched in the summer when I was naturally darker due to a tan. The tan is gone and I'm wondering if anyone can advise how to go about getting a lighter shade. I'm still relatively new to the foundation thing and not great at shade matching. Any hints would be appreciated, thanks.
JackieMackenzie
341 posts
I'm not much help. Best start though is knowing your general undertone ie neutral, warm or cool ... Then it can expand to being olive tone etc. I'm a light neutral which is where I start. I avoid anything to yellow and research foundations as some oxidize (get darker once applied). Sorry not much help here. Hopefully when we go down to level 2 Mecca could give you advice etc?
JackieMackenzie
341 posts
If you really like your current foundation, and it has the right undertone, could you purchase a shade lighter? Or mix it?
itsclearascrystal
2056 posts
Haha I've always has winter and summer foundations. I've had both the same foundation in just a lighter or darker shade or used it as an excuse to buy another brand I want to try. Match to your jawline is best I find.
tabucutie
1811 posts
Hi Jackie, so the shade I was matched to was Estee Lauder 3w2 cashew. I assume the w means warm? I used findation to find the shade in different brands and have been using WNW which I really like but they are no longer cruelty free. So will be looking for a cruelty free brand of foundation.  
tabucutie
1811 posts
@itsclearascrystal I only started wearing foundation daily in the last 5 months and have noticed my first foundation was too dark for my non tan skin lol. Thanks for the tip  hopefully I can purchase a good shade.
JackieMackenzie
341 posts