Vault

Max value reached

Adding this item would put you over your total vault limit of $250. please review your cart to stay under the limit.

Buying online

16 posts, 14 members
fairyfluff
19 posts
Hey ladies and gents. I have recentely started buying more and more online however I'm really anxious about buying makeup online incase it doesn't suit my skintone or I get a eyebrow product / foundation / concealer that doesn't match my skin perfectly.
How do you guys get around this?
The Sephora in the USA allows customers to return products that they didn't like, are you able to do this in NZ and what's the story with that?

Thank you all.
PS Glad to be here, I'm a newbie :)
tannygirl
3392 posts
   I've never returned a product but when it comes to buying stuff like foundations, bb creams and concealor and stuff. I prefer to go to actual makeup counters and get matched and take a sample home if I can. I generally stick to brands that I can swatch. I think there is a site where you can find dupes based on shades you already use but I haven't found it completely reliable but then I seem to have a hard time finding my exact shade, even though alot of shades are workable for me. 
   For other things that aren't as finicky colorwise like eyeshadow, blush, mascara, eyeliner, etc. I just look up swatches and check Temptalia to see if I have a dupe for that shade already and then I look up reviews and stuff. I haven't tried returning products to Sephora.nz so I can't tell what the process is. But when I wrote their customer service about a few minor issues that I had, it took a really long time for them to answer back and actually do anything and even then they didn't do anything just acknowledge my concern. So you can try returning a product but it might take a really long time for them to get back to you and refund you. Other people have had more positive experiences dealing with them though. 
itsclearascrystal
2055 posts