Vault

Max value reached

Adding this item would put you over your total vault limit of $250. please review your cart to stay under the limit.

YSL Black Opium Review

YSL Black Opium Review
Overall rating from 49 reviews so far:
4.7/5
Would use it again?
4.6/5
Did it do what it said it would?
4.8/5
Would recommend it to a friend?
4.8/5

YSL Black Opium the feminine fragrance by Yves Saint Laurent – new glam rock fragrance full of mystery and energy. An addictive gourmand floral with notes of Black Coffee – for a shot of adrenaline; White Florals – to instantly seduce; and Vanilla – for sweetness and sensuality.

Pack Size 30, 50 and 100 ml

from

Availability Farmers, Department Stores and Online

Website http://www.fragrantica.com/perfume/Yves-Saint-Laurent/Black-Opium-25324.html



RRP: $113.00

Write a review

Please sign in to write a review.

Not yet registered?

It's super simple and only takes 30 seconds.

Register now

How would you rate this product?

YSL Black Opium Review

YSL Black Opium Review

Reviews

Overall rating:
5.0/5
11th January, 2019
0 members found this review useful
I'd marry it if I could

I absolutely adore black opium, it is the first perfume Ive loved so much I used the whole bottle and bought another, my hubby even knows he won't go astray buying me this! Love the sweet notes, smells like warm brown sugar mmmm

Tips: Doesn't taste as good as it smells

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
11th January, 2019
0 members found this review useful
Love

This is my all time favourite perfume! Don't let the price tag turn you off! Not only is the bottle cute the sent is to die for its a sweet and fruity smell with a hint of sophistication. Also quite a strong scent that lasts all day on me. Have repurchased many time.

Tips: Use sparingly - I use on a night out as it lasts all night.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.3/5
10th January, 2019
0 members found this review useful
Beautiful but Expensive

I tested this in Farmers back in 2014 and instantly fell in love with it. It has been on and off my radar since then until I finally got my hands on it at the end of 2018... Long overdue!

I love the vanilla notes in this and find it lasts really well on clothing (I have sensitive skin—so I don't spray directly on it) the bottle is stunning and it travels really well in my handbag.

I would love to buy it again, but it's just so expensive—so make sure you love it before forking out the money for it.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.0/5
10th December, 2018
0 members found this review useful
Grew on me

I have a love hate relationship with this perfume, when i first bought it i did not like smell at all! Probably because i do not like coffee and when i used it, it was very strong and bitter when first applied and on my skin i got more of the coffee notes. However i noticed when it dried down it had more of the sweet notes to it. On my skin the lasting power is roughly 4 hours so i did have to keep reapplying and i had EDP I kept using it to use it up and it grew on me and i did get compliments even from my brother! I believe this is one you ever love or hate. If i repurchased i would use sparingly as i do like it now. Also i would get a tester first to see if it's what you like before spending alot on a perfume you don't like

Tips: Ask for a tester before you commit to buying Use sparingly

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.3/5
23rd October, 2018
0 members found this review useful
Delicious, But Use It Sparingly!

Black Opium has long been one of my favourite scents. It should first be noted that if you already have YSL Opium, this is VERY different. Opium is woody and smokey, but Black Opium is sweet and fruity.

The packaging is pretty, and and I like the colour combo they have used of black and pink.

The first few times I used this I loved it so much that I layered on a thick dose all over my body, hair and clothes. But then I started smelling it on other women who had also taken the same YOLO approach and drenched themselves this already very strong perfume. It made me realise that the sweetness of vanilla, fruit (raspberry? strawberry?) and floral notes can actually be quite nauseating. The sickly sweetness thus makes the wearer seem like a 13 year old girl spraying Impulse throughout a confined space.

So. The trick is to only use a 2 spritzes, and trust that the sweet top notes will remain present for a long time before the woody base notes come out.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
23rd October, 2018
0 members found this review useful
Yum yum yum!!

This perfume really works with your skin chemistry, I find I put it on and can’t smell it on my skin yet I get sooo many compliments on how nice I smell. I have the EDP 50ml bottle. It’s a very rich warm vanilla scent, but so delicious! It’s balanced well with other notes like cedar and orange blossom which come through about half an hour after spraying.

Tips: Lasts longer than you think on your skin!! As it’s a perfume that works with your skin chemistry

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
22nd October, 2018
0 members found this review useful
Love this!

I love this perfume! It is unique and exotic without being over powering. The chocolate and coffee hints make it alluring - one of the best!

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
23rd August, 2018
0 members found this review useful
Smells incredible!!!

My new favourite perfume! I smelled this scent on someone and bought myself a bottle because it smells so amazing. I get so many compliments on it and I really enjoy wearing it.

Tips: You don't need much as the scent lasts a long time!

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
23rd August, 2018
0 members found this review useful
Gorgeous fragrance for everyone

Gorgeous bottle and scent! as a lover of the original opium I was begging to trial this! heard amazing things and this does live up to it's hype! its sweet yet strong and could be worn at any age in any weather. Its a cosy and warm scent that everyone will love. Its super long-lasting and draws in many compliments - my only issue is at times everyone I know is wearing this and this is the only scent I can smell which makes it feel a bit less unique and special. But this would be a perfect gift for anyone as its a gorgeous scent.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
21st August, 2018
0 members found this review useful
YSL Black Opium

The first time I smelt this fragrance, I was hooked! I was addicted and so I bought it. This fragrance comes in a pretty black box. The bottle is gorgeous! Its black, glittery and I love the design with the see through part in the middle, where you can see your perfume and how much is left in the bottle. I only got a small one, but I must say, you only need 1-2 sprays and the scent stays on you all day. The scent is sweet, like vanilla mixed with flowers, but something that you could wear day and night. It is so magnetic, I would definitely recommend and buy again.

Tips: Spray once on your clothes and once on your neck. Keep the bottle out of the sun so it doesn't spoil your perfume.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No