Vault

Max value reached

Adding this item would put you over your total vault limit of $250. please review your cart to stay under the limit.

Warpaint Natural Teeth Whitener Review

Warpaint Natural Teeth Whitener review
Overall rating from 22 reviews so far:
3.7/5
Would use it again?
3.8/5
Did it do what it said it would?
3.6/5
Would recommend it to a friend?
3.5/5

Warpaint takes a holistic approach to oral health without any chemicals or additives. With carefully selected 100% natural ingredients, Warpaint whitens and polishes teeth, strengthens enamel and detoxifies your mouth.

What's in it? Activated Coconut Shell Charcoal; Calcium Bentonite Clay; Organic Sweet Orange Peel;  Organic Peppermint; Organic Lemon Myrtle.

  NZ

Website www.armedwithwarpaint.com

 




Write a review

Please sign in to write a review.

Not yet registered?

It's super simple and only takes 30 seconds.

Register now

How would you rate this product?

Warpaint Natural Teeth Whitener review

Warpaint Natural Teeth Whitener Review

Reviews

Overall rating:
3.7/5
11th July, 2015
6 members found this review useful
Warpaint is the name

I was given this product to trial and I was super excited as I have tried quite a few whitening products and had this on my wishlist.

The pot was smaller than I expected but you don't use a lot so it will probably last quite a while. The lids screws off and there's a little cap that sits on the powder, I guess to prevent spillage, but no matter how much I tried it would go all over my sink. So I recommend using over a sink or dark towel for easier clean up.

I really thought that it would taste and smell horrible but there's nothing to it. No smell and not taste. The texture is gritty and chalky when you first start brushing and feels super odd. My mates got a few hideous Warpaint smile selfies, its too tempting not to.

I made the mistake off assuming it would wash out of my regular tooth brush, that's not the case. Go and buy your selves a new brush and use the old one for the Warpaint.

Rinsing it out of my mouth took a lot as well. I have fang teeth(I hare my teeth) and bits of charcoal got stuck and I had to brush and floss to get the little bits out.

So is this all worth it?

For me it is, I'm a coffee drinker. My teeth are whiter, I can really tell this when I'm wearing my red and purple lippy, its great they don't look yellow. I did take a before and after but as they are just iPhone pics I'm not sure you can actually tell in the photo. I didn't feel like after one use it was BAM white, but the 2nd and 3rd I could see results.

The great thing about this is that it polishes too. They really clean your teeth up. If you didn't use it for whitening you could use it as a treatment once or twice a week.

Tips: Have a play with what works for you. I prefer to use this in the morning then clean my teeth as per normal straight after to avoid the little black bits in the gaps. Also don't forget about the second toothbrush, there's no saving it.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Kellyleanne
28th July, 2015

This sounds good..I'm a big coffee drinker, may need to try this soon! x

Thebeautycontext
25th July, 2015

I agree, an old toothbrush is a must!

Lutece
20th July, 2015

A fantastic review as always Melissa, I cant wait to receive mine, thank you for the tip of using an old toothbrush :)

Overall rating:
3.0/5
10th July, 2015
5 members found this review useful
Too Good to be true?

I was lucky enough to be chosen to put this product to the test, and I am so happy I got the chance to try it, because it is exactly the type of product I was looking for. This product is a natural teeth whitener, it uses charcoal, and other ingredients to clean and whiten you teeth without all the nasty chemicals that other whiteners use. Sound too good to be true, well stay tuned.

This product comes in a circular black container, which is made from a hard plastic. The lid screws on and off, and there is a thin plastic lid-seal thing that sits over the product. Very handy, considering the nature of this product.

This teeth whitening product is a powder. Like I said before, it is made from charcoal, and so the powder is black, and very soft, without any big chunks or anything. It actually has quite a lovely consistency. As for a smell, I did not notice any. And this is why the lid is handy, because it just keeps that fine, soft powder extra safe in it little container.

This product works by dipping your brush into the product, and then basically brushing your teeth. Now.. Imagine dipping your toothbrush in soil and rubbing that on your teeth. This is kind of how the product feels in your mouth in regards to the grittiness. I won’t lie, the texture is something to get used to, but by the second time I used this product, it did not bother me.

So this product sounds simple enough, but this this product is messy, and by messy… I mean next level messy. It drops specks of charcoal all over the sink, it makes you teeth look like… well a toothless pirate! But that’s what the product says, so there no surprises there! Even when you spit the product out, your sink gets messy. But the mess that.. frustrates me the most is the mess it leaves behind on my teeth. Let me be clear and say this mess is not a stain, but just a mess. It leaves traces of charcoal on my gums, in between the tight gaps of my teeth, on my tongue, pretty much everywhere. Rinse after rinse, and it’s still there. Only after a brush, and a floss, and another rinse is the majority of product down the sink, instead of lurking in my mouth. Not ideal, and quite time consuming.

So after all this.. is the product worthwhile? Honestly, I am still deciding. I know that’s not ideal for a trial review, but I am still undecided. I have been using the product for the past week, and have used it every day except one. With 6 days of use, I have noticed some evening out of the yellowness on my teeth, and by that I mean they seem less noticeable, but they are still there. If I had to make a recommendation to you today if you should buy this product, I am going to say no. It is really expensive being around $50 for a container (although this will last you a long time), but for this price, I have no seen any dramatic changes. However, I will update this review in a week’s time, and let you know how this product goes after two weeks of use, so stay tuned.

Tips: Set a designated toothbrush aside for this product, because it will taint it!

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Macs
25th July, 2015

Well written review. Love your honesty, especially for a trial review.

Thebeautycontext
19th July, 2015

The more i use it, the more i like it! My teeth are looking whiter, so by the end of the month, il update this review

Mumof3Munchkins
19th July, 2015

Great review hun such a shame the product sounded really good.

Overall rating:
4.3/5
10th July, 2015
3 members found this review useful
I look like a pirate...but I like it

Ok, I really don't get how a mouth full of charcoal can whiten your teeth, but it does. It really does.

Packaging - Simple black pot. It's sleek and it intrigues the males I've found. Maybe it's the name, I don't know, but I've had the husband, the brother and the brother in law march out the bathroom asking me about it.

Product - good god, it's charcoal. It's black, powdery charcoal. Open with fear, one heavy breath, or heaven forbid, a sneeze, and you are going to be cleaning for a while. And let me tell you - this does not clean your wall as it does your teeth!

Experience - following the instructions is simple, but it does take some getting used to. You'll definitely want to devote a toothbrush to the cause. It doesn't taste as bad as you think, but it feels really strange. I use this while listening to a whole song - that way I'm entertained and I don't try to 'hurry' the time along.

The Negative - even after rinsing, even after brushing, even after flossing - there will be a speck of charcoal somewhere along your gums or teeth. So you'll want to use this in the evening. And never use it if you have to be somewhere by a certain time. You'll arrive looking like a dirty pirate, it's just inevitable.

The Positive - It's kind of hard to explain the result. It's not an instant whitener, but you'll notice a difference after the first use. It's like a supercharged toothpaste - somehow, despite the fact you're essentially licking coal, your mouth and teeth feel more clean than any toothpaste can achieve. $55. This may not seem like a positive, but - you barely use any product - this is going to last months and months and months.

I think the effect is cumulative, the more I've used it the more fresh and whitened my smile appears. Is it a bit of a palava? Yes, but for this tea drinking gal,it's worth it!

Tips: Go halves on a pot with a mate if the price is putting you off. My brother went home with a Tupperware container of Warpaint and is loving it.

After brushing it on, and before rinsing it off, try to leave it on the surface of your teeth for a while!

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Overall rating:
2.7/5
6th July, 2015
2 members found this review useful
A Better Polisher than Whitener

My teeth are not yellow and I'm not really a tea or coffee drinker so they're not particularly stained. Warpaint hasn't dramatically whitened but a little difference can be seen after a few uses. It will not get you 'pearly whites' however it does polish your teeth leaving them smooth and slightly more healthy looking. A bit over-priced and I will not re-purchase this, however I do feel if you have very stained teeth it will help remove those surface stains, but then again so do some toothpastes you can get for a fraction of the price.

Tips: If your teeth are not particularly straight then some charcoal may get in between them, so make sure to floss and brush with normal toothpaste after :D

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Overall rating:
5.0/5
10th July, 2015
2 members found this review useful
Winning The War on Stains

Confession – I drink coffee, tea and love a good (or average, I’m not fussy) red wine in winter. My love for pigmented drinks shows on my teeth, they’re yellowish and have some obvious-up-close stains.

I also have teeth that will not handle whitening products. They can say they’re kind to sensitive teeth but my teeth will still end up aching after a few uses with no whitening to be seen, so I was very excited to try this product, being natural I figured it had to better than the cheaper and more painful alternatives.

The packaging is pretty simple – a black pottle with a screw-top lid and a little lid under that, which you lift off to reveal what looks like finely milled soot. First tip – be careful opening the pottle up as the charcoal has the potential to fly everywhere and this stuff is black as black and has great staining potential.

I was lucky enough to have a spare unused toothbrush at home so I was able to use this to start the brushing process (there was no way I was going to mix this blackness up with my regular toothbrush).

I decided to make this part of my nightly routine so as to wash the coffee and tea drinking stains away. So I did as suggested, wet the toothbrush, dipped it into the pottle, picked up a little product (and you really don’t need much at all), bent waaaaaayyyyy over my basin and began to brush in circular motions for two minutes with my lips closed, or as closed as I could get them because when I got to the back of my teeth I had to open my mouth a little, which resulted in black splotches all over the basin. Let me tell you I’ve spent the last ten days taking great delight in my blackened teeth and with the Rorschach-style designs that have been created in my basic. Do the designs tell me I'm crazy? Crazy about this product!

Post brushing I rinsed with warm water a few times then brushed my teeth as normal, as I didn't like the lack of minty-fresh feeling in my mouth.

On the first use I saw that it made my teeth cleaner than usual, then it seemed to not do much more and the disappointment was real. Then all of a sudden it went into overdrive and I can now see a definite brightening and whitening of my teeth. It hasn’t dealt to the more ingrained stains, though to be fair I wasn’t expecting it too, but it has helped the overall surface and most importantly my teeth haven’t become painfully sensitive.

I’ve finally found a whitening product that works and doesn’t cause pain. Yes, it’s not the cheapest product out there, but it’s a heck of a lot more affordable than a whitening trip to the dentist. I think once combined with a good clean from a hygienist to deal to the darker stains I’ll have constantly sparkling pearlers in no time. Can’t recommend it enough, especially for those with sensitive teeth.

Tips: Bend waaaaaaay over the basin, and put your head right in there when you brush, the blackness washes off porcelain easily enough but I'd hate to see what it would do to grout.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Sylvia
3rd August, 2015

I've been umming and ahhing about getting this, but your review has convinced me. If it doesn't aggravate sensitive teeth than it's going to be better than anything else I've tried already haha. Thanks for the great review! xx

Kellyleanne
10th July, 2015

This sounds really good! Thanks for the awesome review. Might need to try this!

Overall rating:
2.3/5
9th July, 2015
1 members found this review useful
Warpaint Natural Teeth Whitener

I received the Warpaint as part of a BR trial team and was really excited to get stuck in and test it out!

The packaging is a black plastic jar with a screw-top lid which stays on securely but can be hard to open and close due to powder getting into the creases. The jar is smaller than expected, but because you use such a small amount of product each time it will still last for ages.

The product itself is a black, milled, charcoal powder which you dip a wet toothbrush into. I was surprised by the lack of fragrance and flavour but overall this isn't important.

I made sure to check the FAQ's on the website before using and also the official hashtag on instagram which was very helpful. The three main points everyone should know before using is;

1: Warpaint can be used instead of toothpaste if you wish. This is useful if you're a bit time-poor. 2: Warpaint stains. Keep an old, dark washcloth nearby! And maybe wear dark clothes while brushing if you're particularly accident-prone. 3: Use an old toothbrush, or buy a cheap one especially for your Warpaint. As I mentioned above, it stains everything black!

I initially started out by using it in the mornings approximately an hour after brushing with regular toothpaste. It was quite alarming the first time when the blackened water went everywhere. My sink, toothbrush, hands, face... it was pretty much a disaster zone. Thankfully it rinsed off the sink easily as I didn't let it dry and get stuck on. I used it with the recommended instructions by dipping in my wet toothbrush, brushing for 2 minutes, then rinsing my mouth several times with the cup of water that I had prepared earlier, and washing my face with the dark cloth to remove the black charcoal stains.

The problem I encountered instantly though was that the Warpaint stayed stuck to my gums around where the gum ends and my teeth begins (on top of the tooth, so couldn't be fixed with flossing). Having black gums doesn't exactly scream "I practice good oral hygiene"! It was after 2-3 days of this that I switched to using Warpaint at night and regular toothpaste in the mornings. Problem solved.

So, does it work? Well, maybe. I've been using it for about 9 days now and it has only been in the past 2-3 days that I think I'm starting to see a difference, but it's so subtle that it's can't be seen in photos. I think overall it will work, but you'd need to be using it daily for a month before you could give a real definitive yes or no to its effectiveness.

Would I re-purchase Warpaint? No, it's not likely. The amount of mess and fuss required just doesn't seem worth it for such slow results. I will keep using the jar that I already have though and hopefully I'll see some improvements soon.

Tips: Use an old or cheap toothbrush (not your favourite one!), get a cup of water ready for rinsing BEFORE you start, use at nights instead of mornings, and make sure you have a dark cloth nearby for clean-up!

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Overall rating:
4.7/5
9th July, 2015
1 members found this review useful
Trial Team Review - 4.5/5!

I was SO excited to be a part of this trial team! I have tried just about every teeth whitening product available to us in NZ. I am consistently left underwhelmed by the results. I mean, think I have nice teeth anyway - and I dont smoke, dont drink coffee or tea, nor alchohol, don't really subject my teeth to too much damage. So it's not like I have awful stains or "rats teeth" to begin with, which means they shouldn't be too much of a challenge to whiten up, right?! Supermarket/pharmacy produts seem to consistently over promise and under deliver. I've never reached the level of whiteness that I really wanted. Cue Warpaint trial opportunity....

So, this stuff is black. Like, totally black. Make sure you are over a sink and wearing dark clothes when using it! It is hilarious to brush it on and then smile at yourself in the mirror! Just be careful you dont spit it everywhere as you laugh at yourself! I was expecting an unpleasant taste, but actually it doesnt really taste of much at all. It's a *little bit* gritty, but it's very fine and totally comfortable to brush on your teeth. It's a pretty pleasant product to use really, especially compared to current whitening products that can taste really bleachy or leave your mouth feeling uncomfortable. Fantastic knowing it is all natural ingredients too!

So you have to brush your teeth gently with it for 2 minutes, keeping your lips closed so as to not get the black product on your clothing etc. After 2 minutes, you rinse thoroughly and spit it out. It does take 4 or 5 rinses for the black to stop coming out. But the results are immediate! My teeth looked SO white! I took a before and after photo so I could compare, and it was quite incredible. The results in one use are more than what other products promise to deliver in 6 weeks of continuous useage, and then never even manage to get there. To put it simply - this stuff is absolutely magical! If you want fast and reliable results - this is absolutely well worth the investment. The contents of the pot will last for absolutely ages - it's very affordable when you work out the price per use.

There was only one downside that I found... I got little black bits stuck in the gaps where my teeth and gums meet, and they were ever so hard to get out! I ended up having to use a needle to tease the bits of charcoal out, and that was a slightly uncomfortable experience! I'm not sure if that's something that lots of people experience with this product, or if it's just me, but it was just a little deflating to have black outlines around my teeth after such awesome whitening results! Still, it's worth it given how white my teeth are, and I still absolutely recommend this product to anybody who wants a tooth whitener that actually delivers!

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Farmers-Wife
9th July, 2015

Fantastic review! Sounds really good

Overall rating:
3.0/5
5th August, 2015
1 members found this review useful
I wanted to love!

I was super lucky to get this in the vault. Thanks BR x

When it arrived I actually thought it was a really small container for what it retails for. The black tub is very plain. The name warpaint is so perfect for this product!! Why? You twist off the lid and there were a few loose bits that fell out so messy. Then you take off the inside protector lid and a little more spillage. Make sure you open in the bathroom!! The mess this product makes is nuts which I'll get too.

So I looked up online tips and tricks. Also read reviews and their suggestions. So I have a electric toothbrush, you dip your brush head into the powder and brush making sure your mouth is closed! MAKE SURE YOU DO THIS! I had to have a peek at how my mouth looked covered in warpaint and did the selfie for the BR wall.

I have been using this every morning and night for the past 2 weeks. I have taken photos to see if my teeth are getting whiter. There is a minimal amount of colour change. What I do absolutely love is how polished and smooth your teeth feel once used. I have also noticed in the morning there is less of that furry feeling.

The powder is chalky and doesn't taste. I find for me I prefer to not have a top on just in case you spill a bit. I got hubby to try it and yuck, revolting was his opinion. The sink and ME looked like someone attacked us with ink. I was standing next to the man when I was showered from behind with it! Even though i was standing beside him! He uses a normal brush and I can see how much of a absolute mess this caused. I always use normal toothpaste after on the same brush to clean my mouth of the blackness and toothbrush. I tried using a old brush and it hurt my gums as it was due to be thrown out. I have noticed my gums feel cleaner and almost detoxed feeling which I also liked.

Even though the tub is small it will last for months and months at twice a day brush. I don't like how you dip your toothbrush into the powder. Not hygienic.

Would I buy it? Nope! Way to expensive especially as its not showing a real white smile. I'd use it again to use up the tub

Tips: Have a old rag to clean up the mess. Don't have white or light colours on. Stay away from another person using it!

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
4.0/5
21st August, 2015
1 members found this review useful
Cleaner teeth but extremely messy!

I was very close to ordering one of these until I was lucky enough to get one in the Beauty review beauty vault. I had been following their instagram for a while and it looked and sounded like it was the next step for me to get whiter and brighter teeth. My teeth have been abused due to smoking, drinking coffee and not taking proper care of them. And since I had quit smoking it was the perfect way to treat myself.

When this was sent to me it came with a card of instructions, they were pretty straight forward but nothing prepared me for how messy things would get even though I had read the reviews and watched a few videos.

The first time I opened the container the powder went all over my sink, I dipped my wet tooth brush into the powder and tried brushing my teeth for 2 minutes with my mouth closed. The first time it felt uncomfortable, the powder makes your mouth dry but the powder doesnt really have any taste, it is bland but drying. The charcoal went all over my chest, and over the sink. It got really messy, but after rinsing my mouth I could instantly see a change in my teeth which made the messy problems not seem so important.

After a few times of messy sinks I decided to only use this when I have my showers, it definitely helped with containing my mess even though the powder still went every where.

I read a tip from Melissas review about keeping a toothbrush just for the war paint which is what I do. And I still brush my teeth afterwards because it just doesn't feel right (for me) to not have that peppermint taste in my mouth.

I was doing this daily but on the 5th day my gums became sensitive so I stopped for a few days and do it every 3rd day of the week.

This product is extremely messy but it does work. I have had family and friends compliment me on my teeth which feels great.

Tips: A lovely beauty reviewer recommended having a toothbrush just for using the war paint because it stains your tooth brush, I also use this only in the shower so the messiness stays in the shower.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Macs
30th August, 2015

I remember everyone going crazy about this product in the vault. TBH I was sceptical about this one. I extremely sensitive gums. Good to see that it does work.

Overall rating:
5.0/5
11th September, 2015
1 members found this review useful
Clean Teeth

I was so excited to have the opportunity to try this product as I was lucky enough to purchase this from the BR Vault last time. I have been searching for a teeth whitening product and nothing has really "stood out" until I discovered this product.

Going by the tittle Warpaint, I wasn't sure what to expect. When it arrived it came in a black tub with a very good informative card to go with it. I was impressed with the amount of information supplied. When I got this I honestly did not know what to expect. I got a surprise when I unscrewed the lid and saw that the powder was black! It was a bit strange but its defiantly something different. I had my doubts if this was actually going to work.

I decided to buy a new toothbrush and to specifically use it for this product. I wet my toothbrush and dipped my brush in the powder. I must say powder went everywhere, It is messy. It doesn't taste like anything in particular. My teeth were black and you it recommends that you don't swallow the product. After brushing for a while I spat it out and rinsed my mouth a couple of times with fresh water. I use this twice a week. I have not had any trouble or any side effects from this. I don't think I would do it any more than twice a week though.

I must say after the first use, I did notice that my teeth were s much whiter. I really love this and I personally think it is well worth the money.

Tips: Purchase a spare tooth brush to apply this product with it.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.

PRIZE DRAW CLOSES MIDNIGHT FRIDAY!

We want to know about your beauty shopping habits - particularly your online shopping habits!

Take our quick survey and you could win a $1300 Beauty Haul...it's that easy!

CLICK HERE TO TAKE THE SURVEY!