Vault

Max value reached

Adding this item would put you over your total vault limit of $250. please review your cart to stay under the limit.

Urban Decay Eyeshadow Primer Potion Review

Urban Decay Eyeshadow Primer Potion Review
Overall rating from 78 reviews so far:
4.5/5
Would use it again?
4.5/5
Did it do what it said it would?
4.6/5
Would recommend it to a friend?
4.5/5

Urban Decay Eyeshadow Primer Potion is THE most legendary primer in the beauty industry. Eyeshadow Primer Potion is coveted by makeup artists and makeup junkies alike because it guarantees more vibrant eyeshadow that lasts for 24 hours and NEVER CREASES!

Once you experience its powers (plus how smoothly it glides on – an added bonus) you'll never want to live without it. Original formula dries down invisibly, while Eden, Sin and Greed are shades that can also be worn as shadows or highlighters!

Pack Size 10ml

from

Availability Selected online retailers

Website http://www.urbandecay.com



Write a review

Please sign in to write a review.

Not yet registered?

It's super simple and only takes 30 seconds.

Register now

How would you rate this product?

Urban Decay Eyeshadow Primer Potion Review

Urban Decay Eyeshadow Primer Potion Review

Reviews

Overall rating:
5.0/5
2nd July, 2020
0 members found this review useful
It does the job

A sample of this was included when I bought the original naked palette and I've been using it since. I find it works best when I apply a little bit at a time and pat it onto my eyelid until it starts feeling a little tacky. I have super oily eyelids (and deep-set eyes) and my eyeshadow lasts all day without fading or creasing.

Tips: Concealer contains ingredients that will cause powder products to break down over the course of the day. An eye base or good cream shadow are specifically formulated to prevent oil breaking through.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
3.3/5
20th April, 2020
0 members found this review useful
Kinda gone off it

This was the first eye primer I ever tried and have repurchased this as it definitely works better than no primer to help blend and prolong your shadow. But on the occasion I've used concealer instead this seemed to work the same. If you can get a mini then I would recommend trying it but maybe not splurge on a full size. I will use it up but next time I'm wanting to try the Nars tinted eyeshadow base.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
3.3/5
15th April, 2020
0 members found this review useful
Its OK

I did like this primer, it does work and does make eyeshadow stay on longer, unlike concealer which I hate and will not use as primer. But I've found drugstore dupes which are way cheaper and do the same thing.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
3.3/5
14th April, 2020
0 members found this review useful
Primer potion

This primer was just ok for me. I have very high standards for an eye primer as I have extremely oily monolids, so eyeshadows did crease on me unfortunately. It did make eyeshadows more vibrant but to be honest, this was quite pricey for what it was. I'm pretty disappointed as this seems to be a holy grail product for many people.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
4.0/5
6th December, 2019
0 members found this review useful
Love it

I am someone who has really bad oiliness on my eye lids and this helped me a lot to make my eye shadow stay in place. Back in the days when this product didn't exist, my eye shadow just doesn't stay in place and it's just so bad. I am happy to be using this product with whatever eye shadow brand I use it just works well.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
2.7/5
2nd December, 2019
0 members found this review useful
Didn't keep the creasing at bay

I've been using Mac paint pot for years but had picked up a tube of this recently. Unfortunately it was as good as not priming at all for me, my eyeshadow faded and creased after only a matter of hours. Granted I do have particularly oily lids (which is why I always prime in the first place!) So if that's not an issue for you then this may be fine. For me however I'll be going back to Mac paint pot as this is super effective for me.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
3.0/5
20th November, 2019
0 members found this review useful
Good product

I read the hype and had to get my hands on this . I wear eye shadow daily to work so I need a good base. Finally I made my first Mecca order . I got the sample size just in case it’s not good. I’m glad I did .

Packaging beautiful aesthetically looking at it . But the applicator doe for it shaped weirdly not like most applicators .

Consistency is creamy ivory coloured beige . Seems quite thin compared to my other eye shadow primers .

Application seems annoying with this applicator .I seem to push the product back in to the container leaving me with a sparse amount of product to apply . I’d rather use my finger instead . Goes on thinly .

Results can hold my eye shadow for a good twelve hours wear time . Doesn’t seem to crease at all .

I was underwhelmed by this product . I would rather use my concealer I got from the beauty vault the l’oréal one . Way better at holding my eye shadow. Holds for more than 12 hours. I’d rather repurchase that than this. I wouldn’t buy it again . I know it’s a loved product but it just didn’t live up to what I’d hoped for .

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
5.0/5
29th August, 2019
0 members found this review useful
Super staying power

I use this with my naked eyeshadow palletes and they help keep my eyeshadow budge free all day. I get no running or fading with my eyeshadows when i use this and it helps the blending out of the shadows too. This us super buttery and easy to use, i use my finger to apply to help blend it into the skin. This is also helps with the application of the shadows and helping them go on smoothly. No pactches throughout the day, not the cheapest but a very good product and worth the results.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
5.0/5
19th August, 2019
0 members found this review useful
Love!!

This is the best eyeshadow primer I've tried. I have the original one.

It makes my eyeshadow look sooo good. It helps everything blend easily, makes everything more pigmented, and makes it last so much longer. I can go out and come home with all my makeup a mess and my eyeshadow still looking perfect when I use this, it's great. It dries quite quickly and, when I first got this, I didn't like it at all. I realised I wasn't blending it in properly, and that I had to blend it in fast and completely before I set it with a powder, or it would make my eyeshadow look uneven and a weird texture.

My favourite way to use this is when applying a shimmer shadow. I apply it to the lid and then pop the shadow straight on top and it makes the shadow look so good! I can definitely notice the difference between using this and another eyeshadow primer, and this and no eyeshadow primer - it just makes the eyeshadow way more pigmented and last so much longer. It's made some shades that used to not work very well for me, really easy to work with and look so much better.

My only thing I dislike with this product is the applicator. It's a big doefoot applicator that makes the product hard to apply and hard to blend. This isn't much of an issue for me though, I just use a different wee brush to apply and blend it.

I think this is worth the money, I have used it basically every time I've worn eyeshadow since purchasing and would highly recommend!

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
5.0/5
6th August, 2019
0 members found this review useful
SO GOOD

I have hooded eyelids so my eyeshadow would always settle into the creases and it looked like I just had dark lines running across my lids. This primer is literal MAGIC, I don't know how but it manages to keep my eyeshadow looking exactly as it did when I first put it on, even 18 hours later. Just make sure you smooth it out well (with your finger!) because this stuff sets like concrete, so any bumps or unevenness in the product is going to stay there

Tips: I like to set it with translucent powder first because it makes it super easy to blend the eyeshadows on top, but if you want more intense colour or grip for shimmer shadows, apply it straight onto the primer

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.

HAVE YOU SIGNED UP YET?!

We're eliminating Bad Beauty Buys...one review at a time!

It's so easy and fun to join in with NZ's biggest beauty guide!

(1) SIGN UP - (2) Earn Beauty Points for every beauty product you review - (3) Exchange your points for FREE beauty products!

Sign Up Today!