Vault

Max value reached

Adding this item would put you over your total vault limit of $250. please review your cart to stay under the limit.

Urban Decay Eyeshadow Primer Potion Review

Urban Decay Eyeshadow Primer Potion Review
Overall rating from 61 reviews so far:
4.6/5
Would use it again?
4.5/5
Did it do what it said it would?
4.6/5
Would recommend it to a friend?
4.5/5

Urban Decay Eyeshadow Primer Potion is THE most legendary primer in the beauty industry. Eyeshadow Primer Potion is coveted by makeup artists and makeup junkies alike because it guarantees more vibrant eyeshadow that lasts for 24 hours and NEVER CREASES!

Once you experience its powers (plus how smoothly it glides on – an added bonus) you'll never want to live without it. Original formula dries down invisibly, while Eden, Sin and Greed are shades that can also be worn as shadows or highlighters!

Pack Size 10ml

from

Availability Selected online retailers

Website http://www.urbandecay.com



RRP: $29.99

Write a review

Please sign in to write a review.

Not yet registered?

It's super simple and only takes 30 seconds.

Register now

How would you rate this product?

Urban Decay Eyeshadow Primer Potion Review

Urban Decay Eyeshadow Primer Potion Review

Reviews

Overall rating:
5.0/5
13th December, 2018
0 members found this review useful
Helps eyeshadow last the distance.

I brought this eyeshadow primer in the original eyeshadow version.

Its a reasonable thick formula but is creamy and glides on my eyelids easily. It looks just like a concealer. It can take a minute or so to dry properly, so to save time I usually apply the primer after doing my foundation and then move onto applying something else before doing my eyeshadow.

The sponge applicator is reasonably flexible but I find to much comes out of the tube and when you wipe off the excess it ends up going everywhere, wasting some primer.

It does an excellent job of helping prep your eyelids for eyeshadow. It doesnt crease and helps my eyeshadow stay on longer. I highly recommend this and look forward to trying the other versions.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
13th December, 2018
0 members found this review useful
Best eyeshadow primer.

I love wearing eyeshadows, and buying this was worth the price. Currently Mecca is selling a pack of 2 for $57, making it a lot more affordable. The first few days I wore this I walked well over 5km each day in the hot sun with just the primer and cheap eyeshadows, and it stayed throughout. When applying eyeshadow over the top it is able to blend with others, though I have found it takes a bit longer to blend the eyeshadow out on my skin smoothly.

Tips: If you have too much product you may need to blend it out with your finger instead of using the applicator.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
3.3/5
20th October, 2018
1 members found this review useful
Love the 'juice', hate the packaging

This was my first ever Urban Decay product! I bought a deluxe mini size of this from Mecca. The primer itself is awesome! It works well with any brand of eyeshadow, making it last all day without fading or creasing. I got the anti-aging version which did seem to smooth my eyelids out whilst I was wearing it. What I don't like about it is the sponge tipped applicator. It doesn't pick up enough product which is quite thick. When I put the applicator back in the tube, a small amount is pushed over the neck of the tube, leading to mess as well as waste. I would prefer just a squeezy tube for hygiene's sake as well. I've tried just squeezing the product out but the neck of the tube is large and dispenses too much. I would like to try the coloured primers in the range but I'm put off by the packaging so I probably won't purchase.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.7/5
13th October, 2018
0 members found this review useful
Worth the Price!

I have the Urban Decay Primer Potion in Original. The potion itself comes with a wand and the formula is of a light nude shade. When I apply it, I just put 2 small dots on my lid and blend with my pinky finger. The formula is thin which makes it easy to blend. With this primer on my lid, eyeshadow application is easy and smooth, the colors are even, and it never creases. The last part is really important for me because I've always had issues with creasing on my lid.

The only issue I had with this primer is that I had to be extra careful in applying it only on my eyelid and not have it touch my under eye area. I remember noticing these light clumpy spots on my inner eye and under eye area as if the concealer had solidified. I thought it was my concealer at that time (I believe I was using the Tarte creaseless concealer), until I noticed one day while blending the primer potion that I accidentally dab a little bit of the primer on to my undereye area and these are the spots that get clumpy. I’m not sure if it was because of the thick consistency of the concealer that I was using, but it was really hassle to remove that I had to redo my whole look.

Other than that, I was very happy with this purchase. Mind you, I haven’t tried a lot of eyeshadow primers in the market. However it is very affordable, of good quality, and lasted me more than a year so it’s worth the purchase for me!

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
20th August, 2018
1 members found this review useful
Love this primer!

Best eyelid primer I have tried. Originally saw this on ShaanXO so got a sample size from mecca and was hooked from there. The primer itself is so pretty that you could do without the shadow and just have the gorgeous primer! Otherwise it is a great base for shadow, with it staying put for a much longer time than other primers I have tried so I agree with the all day wear for sure. Sin and minor sin definite favourites. Although the price does seem up there it is definitely worth it for the quality of this product.

Tips: Use your finger to put on it seems to go on nicer than a small brush. Also use a setting powder after the primer for a smoother shadow application :)

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
28th June, 2018
1 members found this review useful
Perfect base

I loved the primer that i had it had a nice creamy formula offered full coverage whilst remaining light and it dried to a nice smooth finish. it is definitely a nice product and i will be purchasing another one in the future if not the same one then definitely from their range!

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
19th May, 2018
0 members found this review useful
Longevity Plus

I purchased this a few days ago at Mecca in a trial size (they stock heaps of mini’s so you can try them at a fraction of the price). I thought I would put it to the and use it before applying my least long lasting eye shadow. It was applied about 8 hours ago and although my shadow is starting to slide now it has lasted double the time it normally does. I love that it comes with an applicator wand as theres no wastage. I will definitely be buying this again(and again) as its the best eye primer I’ve tried.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.7/5
15th May, 2018
0 members found this review useful
Holy Grail Primers!

I love these primers! They all serve their individual purposes. Sin is amazing, actually on its own. If I’m not wearing eyeshadow I will just wear this one on its own. It’s a beautiful bronzy goldish color that looks amazing on the eyelid. The original is a must have for normal eye looks and Eden is great for very matte eyes when you need a nice light colored base. Original is translucent and the Eden one is a matte creamy beige color. The anti wrinkle one, I didn’t really see as effective at in that regard so I never use it on my clients. The packaging is very cool and stylish. Looks great on a vanity!

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.0/5
25th February, 2018
1 members found this review useful
It feels smooth and doesn't crease

I was sold this one at the airport as the usual Mac eyelid primer that I use (amazing BTW) wasn't available. The lady picked this brand and the anti-aging one for me (:() which is the purple one and told me that it had rave reviews which is actually why I agreed.

I haven't been disappointed by the product - it feels really smooth on and it certainly hold eyeshadow and liner on all day without any creasing.

The packaging is really cute with the crystal lid but I don't love the way you have to apply it with the pad on the wand. I sort of feel that there isn't that much product in there or that I'll lose a head through the wand.

I thought the price was actually OK relative to other primers I have bought in the past so I would definitely buy this again.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
30th April, 2017
0 members found this review useful
Cult favourite worth its price

I have this in the purple tube, the original one I think. I had been wanting this for the longest time so when I saw it on sale at Macys for only 8USD (like 15nzd?) I put it in my shopping basket without a second thought.

I've tried two or three other primers before but never really saw a significant improvement in the appearance of the shadow on top. Sure, they made it a little smoother and less wrinkly but that was it. This is different! This was like a whole new world and now I see why it's got so many raving reviews.

The tube has a little nozzle which makes it easy to control how much I squeeze out. And a tiny tiny little bit is enough. I apply it with my fingers because the warmth actually helps it sink in more and it glides on so smoothly. This is more of a gel/foundation kind of texture, whereas the ones I've tried before were definitely more liquid.

This seriously makes the eyeshadow look 2x more pigmented. You know those shadows that look gorgeous in the pan but when you apply it the payoff is 0? This is the savior ya'll! This is especially good on colourful or bright colours because it makes them pop.

And of course, this also helped my shadow stay put for longer during the day, and I noticed despite me getting a little sweaty (I was at an event with lots of lights and people), the eyeshadow didn't budge at all.

Love this so much I'll be buying it again when it runs out, hopefully I can find it cheap here!

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No