Vault

Max value reached

Adding this item would put you over your total vault limit of $250. please review your cart to stay under the limit.

The Balm Mary-Lou Manizer Review

The Balm Mary-Lou Manizer Review
Overall rating from 45 reviews so far:
4.9/5
Would use it again?
4.8/5
Did it do what it said it would?
4.9/5
Would recommend it to a friend?
4.8/5

The Balm Mary-Lou Manizer a seemingly innocent honey-hued luminizer that catches everybody’s eye. This highlighter, shadow and shimmer diffuses light so your skin looks softer and younger while adding a subtle glow.

Layer it on your lids for a luxe look, sweep it on your cheeks for a sexy sheen, or use it as an all-over finishing touch before you head out for the night.

Pack Size 8.5g

Availability Online retailers

Website http://www.thebalm.com



RRP: $34.00

Write a review

Please sign in to write a review.

Not yet registered?

It's super simple and only takes 30 seconds.

Register now

How would you rate this product?

The Balm Mary-Lou Manizer Review

The Balm Mary-Lou Manizer Review

Reviews

Overall rating:
5.0/5
7th October, 2018
0 members found this review useful
theBalm Mary-Lou Universal Champagne Manizer

This was one of the main reasons I wanted my In the Balm of Your Hand Palette. Mary-Lou Manizer is a cult fave and with good reason it's universally flattering and while there are many champagne highlighters on the market but Mary-Lou gives a beautiful glow to blinding sheen without emphasizing my skin's texture too much. It's finely milled and goes on smoothly.

Now I've been using this highlighter quite a bit and although the amount I have in my palette is not much I haven't seen a dent in or a dip in the pan. So imagine how much wear you're going to get out of the full size. I think this highlighter is fantastic value for money. It will take me ages to use this up but I would consider buying the full-sized one.

Tips: Wait till Farmers or a site that sells the Balm to have a sale to buy so you can maximize your savings. This is the Balm's main highlighter so it's likely you'll find in any of the In the Balm of You Hand palettes if you want to try it out along with other products. Can be used as an eyeshadow as well.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
4th October, 2018
0 members found this review useful
No more texture.

Mary-Lou is my favourite highlighter! Prior to purchasing I had only tried highlighters that were basically chunky glitter in the form of a highlighter. They highlighted texture on my skin and made it stand out. If you also have this problem then the Mary-Lou Manizer, is definitely a highlighter I would recommend trying. It's the perfect shade, a light golden colour. I wear it when I am tan and not tan, and it looks great either way. The glitter is very fine and the powder is silky and smooth. This gives off an amazing light golden glow on the skin. I find one swipe gives the most amazing natural highlight, not too sheer and not too pigmented. However, the highlighter does build up nicely for a more intense shine.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
30th June, 2018
0 members found this review useful
This highlighter should be headlining!

This is easily the best highlighter I have used. I have neutral fair skin and some redness, and it provides a subtle shimmer. It is not a dramatic pop star highlight but it is great for everyday. It comes as a compact, with an adjacent mirror, and no applicator. I don't think this matters as most people would use a fan brush to apply this and supplied-brushes are going the way of the woolly mammoth now. The Balm's branding is bang-on, with retro pin-up girls and whimsical imagery. Mary-Lou Manizer is one third of a glorious trio of shimmery sirens (including Cindy-Lou Manizer and Betty-Lou Manizer). All three highlighters feature police mugshots of femme fatale beauties of differing complexions. Mary-Lou is a blonde and fair girl-next-door cheerleader type ( it states "too pretty, too popular" on the lid). Mary-Lou has no discernible scent and stays around like the high school sweetheart she is. Her appeal is enduring, and there is a lot of her to love. I wouldn't say she is a cheap date but she is a classy broad and well-worth the thirty dollars I paid.

Tips: Layer to further illuminate. Use as liberally as wanted as it would be difficult to go overboard.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
13th June, 2018
0 members found this review useful
If you only ever buy one highlighter, buy this

And if you don't buy this, you need to go to your mirror and take a long hard look, deep into your soul and ask yourself, are you as committed to your being on fleek as you think you are? Because if you're committed, you'll get this. If you don't buy this, you really don't care about being on fleek and you should just throw out all your makeup and give up now.

In all seriousness, this is the most perfect, universal highlighter ever. One lasts you FOREVER. You'll start getting paid your superannuation before you hit pan. I'm on my second one, just started it. Lasts as long on your face as in the pan. No chunky glitter. No emphasising pores. Just perfection in a compact.

Tips: Good old mac Fix+ and amp this up for a super highlighter. Mac Fix+ on all the things!!! Oh, and BUY THIS.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
10th June, 2018
0 members found this review useful
test

it's a awesome product it's a awesome productit's a awesome productit's a awesome productit's a awesome productit's a awesome productit's a awesome productit's a awesome productit's a awesome productit's a awesome productit's a awesome product

Tips: no tips for this product

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
16th April, 2018
0 members found this review useful
A must have in your makeup collection

This is one of those highlighters that just delivers consistently. It's a beautiful and incredibly pigmented champagne colour that highlights your cheeks to the gods! The formula is buttery and the application is smooth as silk. If you're fair skinned then this is perfect for you (I rank it better than Mac Lightscapade on fair skin). I have a medium to medium deep skintone. In winter it works really well for me. In summer its a little light, but I can still use it, using a light hand. It mixes well with other highlighters, especially TheBalm Betty Lou-manizer which is marketed as a bronzer (it's really a deep highlight colour). Mixed together they make a beautiful colour. Now TheBalm have just released Bonnie-Lou Manizer which looks to be the perfect colour between Mary-Lou and Betty-Lou.

Tips: If you're never tried this before, use a light hand and the pigment may surprise you.

If you want to go full metallic, wet your brush with a little Mac Fix Plus and then watch out!!

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
25th March, 2018
0 members found this review useful
Beautiful highlighter

This highlighter looks amazing on the skin. It isn’t chunky and blends in nicely into the skin. It is on the lighter more natural side but is definitely buildable if you are wanting more shine. If you are wanting the blinding kind of highlight it may not be your favourite highlight but it definitely is gorgeous and it doesn’t leave a grey cast on tan-medium skin tones.

Tips: Can use a setting spray to make the highlighter stand out more on the days you want a more blinding glow

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
16th February, 2018
0 members found this review useful
YES YES YES

This beautiful thong is up there with one of the most beautiful highlights I've ever used. Although it is very light, its almost translucent in the way it sits on the skin and I find it even suits a medium/olive skin tone. I love this product and I will continue to use it on myself and clients!

Tips: Build it up for a blinding glow or it is beautiful all over for a "natural" lit from within look. The pan is huge so I also brush it all over my body when I'm going out!

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
3rd February, 2018
0 members found this review useful
This highlighter is all you will ever need!

The Balm is my holy grail brand - everything they make is perfection! I would recommend the Mary-Lou Manizer to anyone looking for an amazing glowy highlighter.

This product can be layered up to different levels of glow. It is the perfect colour to create a gold silver shimmer just where the sun would shine on your face. It makes me feel like a sparkley princess and it is currently my favourite part of my makeup routine at the moment.

Love this product!

Tips: This product can be layed up for different levels of glow :)

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
19th January, 2018
0 members found this review useful
Amazing!

This one my first ever highlighter and I’m still OBSESSED to this day! It’s a gorgeous colour and stays on my oily skin all day!

Tips: Using Mac fix+ helps to intensify the pigment!

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No