Vault

Max value reached

Adding this item would put you over your total vault limit of $250. please review your cart to stay under the limit.

Skinfood SPF 15 Moisturiser Review

Skinfood SPF 15 Moisturiser Review
Overall rating from 81 reviews so far:
3.9/5
Would use it again?
3.8/5
Did it do what it said it would?
4.1/5
Would recommend it to a friend?
3.7/5

Protects from UVA and UVB rays, with soothing aloe vera, manuka honey and tee tree oil.

Apply liberally to exposed skin 30 minutes before going into the sun. Reapply after exercise or contact with water.

A light moisturiser that protects from UVA & UVB rays with soothing aloe vera, manuka honey and tea tree oil.
The sun is one of the most damaging things to our skin. Protecting yourself is simply to do with Skinfood’s SPF15 Moisturiser. Using this product every morning, even if it’s cloudy out, takes seconds but will help save your skin from the sun as well as moisturise and hydrate.

Pack size 3.3fl.oz/100ml

Availability Supermarkets, Mass Merchants, selected Pharmacies 

 

Website www.skinfood.co.nz



RRP: $13.99

Write a review

Please sign in to write a review.

Not yet registered?

It's super simple and only takes 30 seconds.

Register now

How would you rate this product?

Skinfood SPF 15 Moisturiser Review

Skinfood SPF 15 Moisturiser Review

Reviews

Overall rating:
2.0/5
2nd February, 2019
0 members found this review useful
It smells good but not for me

I'd been wanting to try out this range for a while. The lip balm is good and I decided to try a cream next. I'd read better reviews on the light moisturiser but wanted to see if this would be a replacement for my Not So Natural Garnier day cream. Ignoring the somewhat mixed reviews of the SPF moisturiser I purchased, but was very dissatisfied.

At first I thought it seemed nice. A light herbally citrus scent and a creamy textured cream. When I dabbed a little on, it seemed ok.

Next day I was going out in the sun and to do chores, so applied a generous amount to my face before going out. It seemed thick and oily, like an old fashioned sunscreen before they went high tech and sheer. Not having time to do anything more, I gave it a few more pats and went out. My face felt sticky and hot like I'd applied a luxury night cream! I realised that I had probably put too much on, but the label does say apply generously and is after all for the purpose of blocking the sun.

I purposely put some on my chin, aka The Breakout Zone, and no zits! That's a plus. But too late, the damage was done, I was furious with this cream! I even looked up the brand to see if they had a Returns section! I have never bought a cream that smelled light but was a fail on first use. Usually I can tell a fail by the strong fragrance or 3 days later I start getting spots.

Next day I felt like I'd overreacted and used it on my neck and shoulders as a sunscreen only, but it's still pretty sticky and thick. I'd like to give it to someone who loves it as it's clearly wasted on me!

Tips: Apply a small amount to start. If you like luxuriously creamy creams, you may like this.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
1.0/5
31st October, 2018
0 members found this review useful
Wanted to love this

I really wanted to love this but after using it for a few weeks I decided to stop using it. My skin just was'nt feeling moisturised, and even though a little goes a long way, there is so much white residue left so you have to spend a few minutes really rubbing it in. It says natural based but there are a lot of ingredients in it that are definitely not natural. Sadly i'm disappointed in this product.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
11th July, 2018
0 members found this review useful
Skinfood SPF 15 Moisturiser

Love this moisturiser. When skinfood make a new product I am always excited to try them out. I didn't realise until I got home that this has such lovely ingredients like tea tree oil, Manuka honey, aloe Vera, avocado and lavender. My skin is acne prone so it's nice knowing there is tea tree oil in there. Not drying at all, actually it's very moisturising. I apply every morning before applying my BB cream or foundation and I love the smell! Another awesome product from skin food well done. Would love to see a SPF 50 cream.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
1.7/5
5th June, 2018
0 members found this review useful
I wanted to love this

I try to buy NZ made products where I can, so I really wanted to love this. Unfortunately, the smell really put me off it, and I found the cream left me feeling oily and slick, like my skin couldn't breathe.

I feel like this product is weirdly caught between being a face and a body product - it's too oily for my face, but not enough SPF for day use on my body. It's also in a too small tube to be body moisturiser, but the tube dispenses too much product for it to be a facial moisturiser.

All in all, I was pretty disappointed.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.0/5
3rd June, 2018
0 members found this review useful
Budget Friendly SPF Moisturiser

Another good product from Skinfood. Natural ingredients with the added bonus of an SPF. A nice light moisturiser that I would be happy for my children to use. Not too greasy with the right amount of moisture for normal skin.

Tips: Perfect for use under make up for extra sun protection.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
17th January, 2018
0 members found this review useful
A lovely light moisturiser perfect for winter use

Firstly, I prefer products with SPF of at least 30. That being said, during winter time, I have less need for sun protection and so, this is the perfect product. I love that it's made in New Zealand by a New Zealand company. It works great for my sensitive skin, and doesn't contain harmful ingredients. This Skinfood moisturiser has a lovely light scent and feel. It doesn't cast a white sheen on my skin, and is light enough to moisturise my face before foundation. It does what it says and doesn't cost the world.

Tips: You have to let the product absorb into your skin for a good few minutes before applying foundation. Also, it's slightly more affordable if you buy from Pak'n'Save! :)

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.3/5
2nd October, 2017
0 members found this review useful
Good, but not their best

I picked up a tube of Skinfood SPF15 Moistuiser from Countdown while getting my groceries at the supermarket.

It's packaged in a 100ml white plastic squeeze tube with a flip top lid and a cardboard box outer shell. The white moisturising day cream is a New Zealand made, natural based, paraben free moisturiser with an SPF15 to protect from UVA and UVB rays. It contains soothing aloe vera, manuka, honey, lavender oil, avocado oil and tea tree oil.

It's suitable for all skin types and spreads evenly across the skin, absorbing quickly to leave my skin feeling hydrated and nourished, without leaving any greasy, sticky or white residue. It has no added fragrance, so whatever faint scent it does have comes from the ingredients listed above.

I have oily skin and I find that this moisturiser is perfect. It's lightweight, doesn't leave my skin feeling greasy, it can be used under make-up without causing it to slip and it doesn't cause breakouts. I also tried Skinfood's Light Moisturiser (which doesn't have an SPF), and I much prefer that one; the scent is better and it feels nicer on my skin, but it does mean having to use a separate SPF.

I doubt I'd repurchase the SPF15 moisturiser again. It was good, but as I said, their Light Moisturiser feels (and smells) so much better on my skin.

Tips: Wait a few minutes after applying to let the moisturiser sink in well before applying make-up.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
3.7/5
2nd October, 2017
0 members found this review useful
A little goes a long way

The positives of this product are that it is affordable, easy to find, smells nice, is made from sustainable ingredients, isn't tested on animals and has SPF

For me, the only downside is that it is a bit film-y on my skin. I have very dry skin but found that I have to use this product very sparingly or it kind of just sits on the top of my skin. If I'm putting makeup over the top I have to wait quite a while to let the moisturiser sink in.

I might use it again in the future because even though it's not perfect, it's pretty good for the price and I really like Skinfood as a brand.

Tips: Would not recommend for very oily skin.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.0/5
18th July, 2017
0 members found this review useful
another winning product from Skinfood

I scored this in a Beautiful Christmas box last year :) (The 12 days one) I love this brand. Like, LOVE it. It's kiwi, it's cute, it's natural-ish, it's affordable and it's effective.

The SPF 15 moisturiser is another excellent offering from this company.

This is in the standard white-and-lime packaging, and a squeezy inverted tube bottle, the cap of which does get a little messy after a while - simply rise in hot water and wipe, and you're good to go again.

100ml goes a very long way, as although it's a very thick cream, it spreads and absorbs so well that you only really need a pea sized amount for face and neck.

The cream is off-white and very much of a sunscreen type consistency, with the overriding scent being lavender rather than the brand-characteristic lime we're used to. This is a departure from the norm for Skinfood that I'm not the biggest fan of - this is a day cream so why put a relaxing scent to it? I feel the lime would have been a better option.

This leaves my skin feeling nice and protected from the sun (i usually spray on a bit of beach-block as well if I'm going to be outside for any length of time). I don't break out, and because of the natural ingredients such as manuka honey and aloe vera, it actually feels nourishing as well.

Why not 5 stars? The scent's not perfect and I'd prefer a slightly thinner consistency. BUT I have a backup waiting in the wings, so that's a clear sign I'm a fan :)

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
1.3/5
16th May, 2017
0 members found this review useful
I really disliked this product

The skinfood brand has been a bit of a hit or miss for me. I either really love their products or in this case really don't!

The packaging of this is simple and is the same as all their other tubes. I like how they all look the same but it can be annoying if you are using two products at the same time. I was also using the cleanser while using this product and I had to make sure I kept them in their own space so I wouldn't mix up the tubes.

Skinfood products are pretty good prices and I got this in one of their $25 pack deals they do every month, so it was quite cheap. I like that it has good ingredients in it and that it is a NZ brand. You also get a big bottle, 100mls compared to the 30mls of a lot of brands so if you do like the product, you get a good deal!

The actual product is white and sort of thin in texture. It has a nice, light sort of herbal smell to it. Although it is light though, I find it quite heavy to put on my skin. It kind of feels like thick sunscreen. I have dry skin so heavier is usually ok with me but I found this hard to rub in. I used this over summer while it was hot and it mostly protected my skin but I did find I would sweat it off and get a little red. Most other lotions protect me well so I don't usually have that issue.

I couldn't quite bring myself to finish up the whole tube. I'm usually someone who will finish something even if I dislike it but I was just so over this one after using it for a few months. I would't use this again, and can't recommend it either.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No