Vault

Max value reached

Adding this item would put you over your total vault limit of $250. please review your cart to stay under the limit.

Skinfood Mud Masque Review

Skinfood Mud Masque Review
Overall rating from 247 reviews so far:
4.5/5
Would use it again?
4.4/5
Did it do what it said it would?
4.4/5
Would recommend it to a friend?
4.4/5

Works as a deep cleanser to soften and relax the skin leaving it light and fresh.

- Draws toxins & impurities from the skin

- Cleanses skin, leaving it soft & supple

- Clears clogged pores

Our masque is rich in natural minerals found in the volcanic muds of New Zealand. This masque works as a deep cleanser to soften and relax the skin. With natural Rotorua mud, spirulina, apricot oil, aloe vera and jojoba oil. The effects of using Skinfood’s Mud Masque are visible even after the first use, skin rejuvenating ingredients result in pores appearing smaller and your skin feels incredibly soft.

HOW TO APPLY: Apply an even layer onto cleansed skin. Leave for 5-10 minutes until dry and wipe off with a warm, damp cloth. Avoid eye area.

Website www.skinfood.co.nz

Write a review

Please sign in to write a review.

Not yet registered?

It's super simple and only takes 30 seconds.

Register now

How would you rate this product?

Skinfood Mud Masque Review

Skinfood Mud Masque Review

Reviews

Overall rating:
4.3/5
13th July, 2018
0 members found this review useful
Muddle

Love a good face mask.. even better if it's affordable and readily available which this one is. A bunch of us girls got together for a viewing party and of course snacks and skincare were involved. One item of which was this mask. We had mixed results us girls. But I have given it a really good go since then to see if I can use it up and get some results worth talking about.

For the price it's ok. It lasts a long time and is a bit of fun.

Quite tight on the skin. Applies a dark wet mud colour and dries quite quickly to a grey kind of mud colour, tightening as it goes.

It says it wipes away but I found it best to have a shower and scrub off with a flannel as it sets quite well to the skin. Also my toner removed mud the following day so I would believe it gets deep down into the pores and is slowly brought back upto to surface.

I found it drying for my skin type. I have combination skin that's easily subject to hormone fluctuations but following use my skin was quite dry. In saying this I think it would be perfect for a different skin type.

Did make my skin a little itchy and had a few red patches so I think my skin may have been a little sensitive to an ingredient or the drying process but nothing of major concern. I've had professional facials that give a similar result so no alarm bells there. Plus looking at the ingredients list it looks pretty good.

The result I did get was smooth and soft skin. But don't think it shrunk my pores. It's a bit of fun and for the price not a bad investment.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
4.0/5
8th May, 2018
0 members found this review useful
Get that fresh feeling

My husband bought this for me for my birthday. It was such a lovely thought, so I didn't want to tell him that I generally find mud masks too drying for my skin! So I wasn't expecting much when I tried the mask. I was really pleasantly surprised. While the mask did dry out my skin a little, it removed blackheads and purified my skin, leaving it looking much fresher. I applied a double moisturiser after using and that addressed the dryness issue. My skin looked fresh and glowing.

Tips: You don't need much, a think layer is enough

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
5.0/5
27th April, 2018
0 members found this review useful
Loved it!

I was given this a while ago by my mother and I have absolutely loved it. No matter how much I put on it never fell down my face and dropped like some of my other masks have. When I take off the mask my pores are very small and tiny.

There are only the two minor issues. For the majority of the time the mask is on you cannot move your face. Once it has started to harden, opening your mouth of any other movement like that can hurt because of the mud forming up. Because of this I would recommend doing the mask at a time where you can be by yourself and don’t need to talk to anyone, as that would hurt. The other problem is that it is very difficult to take off. Because the mud dries on your face you have to scrub quite harshly and for a while to get anything off, which may not be good for red skin.

Tips: Do the mask when you will be alone, and when washing it off use a warm cloth soaked in water!

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
3.0/5
8th April, 2018
0 members found this review useful
A little bit average

I used this in combination with the Skinfood scrub and unfortunately I didn't love either product. The ingredient list was appealing and I'd never used a mud mud masque so was interested to see how this worked with my skin. I had to use a lot of this product in order to get an even layer, literally felt like I used a good quarter of the bottle. The scent was appealing and it felt nice and soothing with no stinging or irritation but unfortunately I wasn't left with that after-mask glow that I love.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
5.0/5
24th January, 2018
0 members found this review useful
Great deep cleanse

This mud masks is one of those that I repurchase and at this very moment I have 2 in my mask drawer.

It has a great mixture of clays that make this mud draw out the impurities and trapped dirt to reveal a squeaky, super clean face. I have had my husband comment on how clear and bright my face looks, fresh as he says, after using this mask. Comments like that is a sure fire way of making a product reach a must have status for me.

Easy to apply from a soft squeeze tube which means you get all the product out of the package, dries down fast and washes away simply with a damp wash cloth, even when left on for double the sugggested time frame.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
4.7/5
22nd January, 2018
0 members found this review useful
Clear as Mud

I have been using this for a while now and really like it! It works well with my sensitive skin, it doesn’t cause any irritation/redness/itchiness at all! It does slightly sting a bit sometimes when I put it on, but this doesn’t really bother me! The tube is easy to use and control how much product comes out. The smell is kind of fresh and floral (not what I expected!) and I don’t mind this scent and it’s not too overpowering. I found that this applies in a relatively thin layer, and in the instructions it says to apply a thick layer, so I usually build it up to be more opaque (this is easy to build up and apply). It doesn’t take long to dry, probably around 10-15 mins and tightens as it dries. I found that my skin didn’t feel too tight or too dry. It is really easy to remove, I usually use a warm, damp flannel and it comes right off without scrubbing too hard or anything! My skins feels suuuuper soft and smooth after this! It also looks fresher and feels well cleansed. I find that it doesn’t do much for the blackheads around my nose, however that doesn’t bother me too much. I also love that it’s a NZ product with no parabens and that it’s so affordable and easy to find! I really like this and will definitely be continuing to use this!

Tips: Use a warm damp flannel to remove and it comes off so easily!

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
5.0/5
2nd December, 2017
0 members found this review useful
Mud, Glorious Mud!

I bought the "Skinfoodie Essentials" set that contained Cleans All, Mud Masque, Light Moisturiser, and Mud & Honey Body Bar.

Skinfood Mud Masque is packaged in a 100ml white plastic squeeze tube with a flip top lid and a cardboard box outer shell. The creamy brown clay paste is a New Zealand made, natural based, paraben free, and is rich in natural minerals found in the volcanic muds of Rotorua, New Zealand. It also contains Spirulina, apricot kernel oil, jojoba oil, lavender oil and aloe vera.

Skinfood Mud Masque works as a deep cleanser to soften and relax the skin, and it claims that it's skin rejuvenating ingredients result in pores appearing smaller and skin feels incredibly soft.

Having recently been to visit Rotorua for the first time, I was very glad to discover that the mud masque didn't smell anything like the natural hot bubbling mud pools that you see in and around Rotorua. For those who haven't yet experienced Rotorua yet, it can be quite an assault on the nose! It's very sulphurous. The mud masque has a very pleasant scent, it's not smelly at all.

As usual, I like to apply my face masks with a flat foundation brush, as this allows me to get a nice even layer. When applying this mud masque, don't be too stingy with the product application, it says on the box to apply a "thick even layer onto cleansed skin". The squeeze tube makes it really easy to dispense a pea-sized amount directly onto the flat foundation brush, before applying it in sections to my face.

In five to ten minutes, the mud starts to dry and can crack in places. This is normal when using a mud masque. If you have very oily skin, like mine, leave the masque on for an additional five minutes. The mud masque washes of easily with warm water and really does leave my skin feeling softer, smoother and decongested.

Once the mud is washed off, I like to apply a generous dollop of moisturiser to hydrate and nourish my skin.

Tips: Remember to moisturiser well after using a clay or mud mask.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
SmileyPisces
1st September, 2018

Added to my next-to-try list =)

Overall rating:
5.0/5
20th November, 2017
0 members found this review useful
Skinfood Mud Masque

I love using this mud mask so much that I even managed to talk my partner into trying it! :) Results are great, my skin feels really soft afterwards. I use this usually after the weekend as a refresher and its really inexpensive to replace.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
5.0/5
20th October, 2017
0 members found this review useful
Skinfood Mud Masque - Review

I decided to pick this mask up after several recommendations from a few lovely ladies on here. I have oily-combination skin, and in winter I typically get a few dry patches around my nose and chin. I had been suffering from one of those deep pimples, and this product definitely helped ease the pain from it and helped it disappear faster. It comes in the usual Skinfood packaging, a clean white squeezy tube, and contains 100ml of product. It retails for $13.99 and can be found at many pharmacies, supermarkets and other stores nationwide. I think that for the price, this mask is incredible and definitely worth a try.

This mask has a thin-medium consistency, and smells sort of orange-y. I apply this mask in a thin layer, making sure to avoid my eye area, and leave it to dry for 10-15 minutes - it is quite a tight feeling mask, so I definitely don't like leaving it on for too long although this is a good point because some mud masks I have tried have taken ages to dry and it's just quite annoying. When this mask dries, it shows the oil that is pulled out of your pores in the form of little dots all over your face/wherever you have pores. It is certainly very satisfying, and reminds me of the expensive Glam Glow masks! When I rinsed this off, my skin felt fresh and clean but not too dried out - and my dry patches were not aggravated! My pores appeared shrunken, which was good as well.

I would definitely recommend giving this mask a try if you are looking for a natural mud mask that isn't too expensive. It may not work for everyone, but for me it worked quite well and I would definitely repurchase. I have also seen Skinfood New Zealand products on sale for $10 occasionally at The Warehouse, so if you're looking for a way to try this for even cheaper I'd say keep an eye out there. Love this mask!

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
4.7/5
28th September, 2017
0 members found this review useful
This saved my skin after a 17-hour flight!

I got this product on a whim ages ago because it was on sale. Firstly, I love the fact that it smells like chocolate orange, even though the main ingredient is mud. Secondly, it works great for my sensitive skin and can be removed easily. I like that you can see it soaking up the oils once it has dried. I've had this product for a while now but I'm only reviewing it because it has worked great to combat my skin breaking out after a long flight! I had dry patches with the world's biggest pimple on my chin (dubbed The Chinalayas) and spots on my cheeks (which I never get) and this has calmed down the problem.

Tips: To remove air bubbles between the mud and your skin, massage a small dollop on your skin before adding a thicker layer on. Direct skin contact is the best way to soak up oils!

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.

THE BEAUTY VAULT IS BEING RESTOCKED!

Get reviewing and earn points to spend on amazing beauty products!

The more reviews you place, the more Beauty Points you'll earn...meaning the bigger the haul you can nab from The Beauty Vault!

CLICK HERE TO FIND OUT ALL YOU NEED TO KNOW ABOUT THE BEAUTY VAULT!