Vault

Max value reached

Adding this item would put you over your total vault limit of $250. please review your cart to stay under the limit.

Skinfood Mud Masque Review

Skinfood Mud Masque Review
Overall rating from 250 reviews so far:
4.4/5
Would use it again?
4.4/5
Did it do what it said it would?
4.4/5
Would recommend it to a friend?
4.4/5

Works as a deep cleanser to soften and relax the skin leaving it light and fresh.

- Draws toxins & impurities from the skin

- Cleanses skin, leaving it soft & supple

- Clears clogged pores

Our masque is rich in natural minerals found in the volcanic muds of New Zealand. This masque works as a deep cleanser to soften and relax the skin. With natural Rotorua mud, spirulina, apricot oil, aloe vera and jojoba oil. The effects of using Skinfood’s Mud Masque are visible even after the first use, skin rejuvenating ingredients result in pores appearing smaller and your skin feels incredibly soft.

HOW TO APPLY: Apply an even layer onto cleansed skin. Leave for 5-10 minutes until dry and wipe off with a warm, damp cloth. Avoid eye area.

Website www.skinfood.co.nz

Write a review

Please sign in to write a review.

Not yet registered?

It's super simple and only takes 30 seconds.

Register now

How would you rate this product?

Skinfood Mud Masque Review

Skinfood Mud Masque Review

Reviews

Overall rating:
3.7/5
13th August, 2018
0 members found this review useful
Affordable natural product

I bought this when I felt my skin was lacking a bit of oooomph. It was on sale at my local supermarket. I love that its NZ made with NZ mud! It leaves your skin feeling silky soft, and you don't need a lot. Sometimes I just use it on my T-Zone for a little pick me up! Its lasted me about 6 months.

Tips: A little goes a long way

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
4.0/5
4th August, 2018
0 members found this review useful
Skinfood? Absolutely

This brand is fantastic, I have never been disappointed with any of there products. This is a great value, decent mask that leaves your skin feeling soft and sparking clean. My 13 year old daughter suffers with a combination of acne and eczema and this mask has literally been the only one that doesn’t irritate her skin. The only reason I haven’t rated this 5 stars is because I prefer another brand as it works better with my skin tone but this is definitely one of the best masks I’ve tried and I will definitely buy it again. I love the fact that it’s in a tube as there is no mess and it’s really easy to apply with either a brush or fingers.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
5.0/5
29th July, 2018
0 members found this review useful
BEST MUD MASK

Absolutely LOVE this mud mask. I try and use this once a week as a part of my skincare regime. Product does everything it says.

I love that it comes in a squeezy bottle. Makes it really easy to apply with minimal mess. This mask smells AMAZING!! Not a strong scent but really refreshing.

Once the mask is on, it starts to harden pretty much straight away and has a nice cooling sensation. After you wipe it off results are instant. I noticed results even after the first use. Skin feels soft and pores were minimal. Literally felt like I had a new face

This stuff lasts for ages!! You can get so many masks out of it and for only $14 such a bargain!!

Tips: I like to apply an even layer all over my face and neck, let it sit for 10-15 mins. Then wash it off with a warm flannel and apply your favourite moisturiser!!

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
4.3/5
13th July, 2018
0 members found this review useful
Muddle

Love a good face mask.. even better if it's affordable and readily available which this one is. A bunch of us girls got together for a viewing party and of course snacks and skincare were involved. One item of which was this mask. We had mixed results us girls. But I have given it a really good go since then to see if I can use it up and get some results worth talking about.

For the price it's ok. It lasts a long time and is a bit of fun.

Quite tight on the skin. Applies a dark wet mud colour and dries quite quickly to a grey kind of mud colour, tightening as it goes.

It says it wipes away but I found it best to have a shower and scrub off with a flannel as it sets quite well to the skin. Also my toner removed mud the following day so I would believe it gets deep down into the pores and is slowly brought back upto to surface.

I found it drying for my skin type. I have combination skin that's easily subject to hormone fluctuations but following use my skin was quite dry. In saying this I think it would be perfect for a different skin type.

Did make my skin a little itchy and had a few red patches so I think my skin may have been a little sensitive to an ingredient or the drying process but nothing of major concern. I've had professional facials that give a similar result so no alarm bells there. Plus looking at the ingredients list it looks pretty good.

The result I did get was smooth and soft skin. But don't think it shrunk my pores. It's a bit of fun and for the price not a bad investment.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
4.0/5
8th May, 2018
0 members found this review useful
Get that fresh feeling

My husband bought this for me for my birthday. It was such a lovely thought, so I didn't want to tell him that I generally find mud masks too drying for my skin! So I wasn't expecting much when I tried the mask. I was really pleasantly surprised. While the mask did dry out my skin a little, it removed blackheads and purified my skin, leaving it looking much fresher. I applied a double moisturiser after using and that addressed the dryness issue. My skin looked fresh and glowing.

Tips: You don't need much, a think layer is enough

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
5.0/5
27th April, 2018
0 members found this review useful
Loved it!

I was given this a while ago by my mother and I have absolutely loved it. No matter how much I put on it never fell down my face and dropped like some of my other masks have. When I take off the mask my pores are very small and tiny.

There are only the two minor issues. For the majority of the time the mask is on you cannot move your face. Once it has started to harden, opening your mouth of any other movement like that can hurt because of the mud forming up. Because of this I would recommend doing the mask at a time where you can be by yourself and don’t need to talk to anyone, as that would hurt. The other problem is that it is very difficult to take off. Because the mud dries on your face you have to scrub quite harshly and for a while to get anything off, which may not be good for red skin.

Tips: Do the mask when you will be alone, and when washing it off use a warm cloth soaked in water!

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
3.0/5
8th April, 2018
0 members found this review useful
A little bit average

I used this in combination with the Skinfood scrub and unfortunately I didn't love either product. The ingredient list was appealing and I'd never used a mud mud masque so was interested to see how this worked with my skin. I had to use a lot of this product in order to get an even layer, literally felt like I used a good quarter of the bottle. The scent was appealing and it felt nice and soothing with no stinging or irritation but unfortunately I wasn't left with that after-mask glow that I love.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
5.0/5
24th January, 2018
0 members found this review useful
Great deep cleanse

This mud masks is one of those that I repurchase and at this very moment I have 2 in my mask drawer.

It has a great mixture of clays that make this mud draw out the impurities and trapped dirt to reveal a squeaky, super clean face. I have had my husband comment on how clear and bright my face looks, fresh as he says, after using this mask. Comments like that is a sure fire way of making a product reach a must have status for me.

Easy to apply from a soft squeeze tube which means you get all the product out of the package, dries down fast and washes away simply with a damp wash cloth, even when left on for double the sugggested time frame.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
4.7/5
22nd January, 2018
0 members found this review useful
Clear as Mud

I have been using this for a while now and really like it! It works well with my sensitive skin, it doesn’t cause any irritation/redness/itchiness at all! It does slightly sting a bit sometimes when I put it on, but this doesn’t really bother me! The tube is easy to use and control how much product comes out. The smell is kind of fresh and floral (not what I expected!) and I don’t mind this scent and it’s not too overpowering. I found that this applies in a relatively thin layer, and in the instructions it says to apply a thick layer, so I usually build it up to be more opaque (this is easy to build up and apply). It doesn’t take long to dry, probably around 10-15 mins and tightens as it dries. I found that my skin didn’t feel too tight or too dry. It is really easy to remove, I usually use a warm, damp flannel and it comes right off without scrubbing too hard or anything! My skins feels suuuuper soft and smooth after this! It also looks fresher and feels well cleansed. I find that it doesn’t do much for the blackheads around my nose, however that doesn’t bother me too much. I also love that it’s a NZ product with no parabens and that it’s so affordable and easy to find! I really like this and will definitely be continuing to use this!

Tips: Use a warm damp flannel to remove and it comes off so easily!

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
5.0/5
2nd December, 2017
0 members found this review useful
Mud, Glorious Mud!

I bought the "Skinfoodie Essentials" set that contained Cleans All, Mud Masque, Light Moisturiser, and Mud & Honey Body Bar.

Skinfood Mud Masque is packaged in a 100ml white plastic squeeze tube with a flip top lid and a cardboard box outer shell. The creamy brown clay paste is a New Zealand made, natural based, paraben free, and is rich in natural minerals found in the volcanic muds of Rotorua, New Zealand. It also contains Spirulina, apricot kernel oil, jojoba oil, lavender oil and aloe vera.

Skinfood Mud Masque works as a deep cleanser to soften and relax the skin, and it claims that it's skin rejuvenating ingredients result in pores appearing smaller and skin feels incredibly soft.

Having recently been to visit Rotorua for the first time, I was very glad to discover that the mud masque didn't smell anything like the natural hot bubbling mud pools that you see in and around Rotorua. For those who haven't yet experienced Rotorua yet, it can be quite an assault on the nose! It's very sulphurous. The mud masque has a very pleasant scent, it's not smelly at all.

As usual, I like to apply my face masks with a flat foundation brush, as this allows me to get a nice even layer. When applying this mud masque, don't be too stingy with the product application, it says on the box to apply a "thick even layer onto cleansed skin". The squeeze tube makes it really easy to dispense a pea-sized amount directly onto the flat foundation brush, before applying it in sections to my face.

In five to ten minutes, the mud starts to dry and can crack in places. This is normal when using a mud masque. If you have very oily skin, like mine, leave the masque on for an additional five minutes. The mud masque washes of easily with warm water and really does leave my skin feeling softer, smoother and decongested.

Once the mud is washed off, I like to apply a generous dollop of moisturiser to hydrate and nourish my skin.

Tips: Remember to moisturiser well after using a clay or mud mask.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
SmileyPisces
1st September, 2018

Added to my next-to-try list =)

L'OREAL REVIEWERS NEEDED!

We're putting together Trial Teams for several L'Oreal cosmetic products.

There are no catches to our Trial Teams - get selected, and we'll send you the full sized product for free. All you need to do is place a well-written and informative review!

Click the link to find out more - and put your hand up today!

CLICK HERE TO CHECK OUT THE LATEST L'OREAL TRIAL TEAM!