Vault

Max value reached

Adding this item would put you over your total vault limit of $250. please review your cart to stay under the limit.

Skinfood Mud Masque Review

Skinfood Mud Masque Review
Overall rating from 248 reviews so far:
4.5/5
Would use it again?
4.4/5
Did it do what it said it would?
4.4/5
Would recommend it to a friend?
4.4/5

Works as a deep cleanser to soften and relax the skin leaving it light and fresh.

- Draws toxins & impurities from the skin

- Cleanses skin, leaving it soft & supple

- Clears clogged pores

Our masque is rich in natural minerals found in the volcanic muds of New Zealand. This masque works as a deep cleanser to soften and relax the skin. With natural Rotorua mud, spirulina, apricot oil, aloe vera and jojoba oil. The effects of using Skinfood’s Mud Masque are visible even after the first use, skin rejuvenating ingredients result in pores appearing smaller and your skin feels incredibly soft.

HOW TO APPLY: Apply an even layer onto cleansed skin. Leave for 5-10 minutes until dry and wipe off with a warm, damp cloth. Avoid eye area.

Website www.skinfood.co.nz

Write a review

Please sign in to write a review.

Not yet registered?

It's super simple and only takes 30 seconds.

Register now

How would you rate this product?

Skinfood Mud Masque Review

Skinfood Mud Masque Review

Reviews

Overall rating:
4.0/5
15th July, 2014
0 members found this review useful
Yoda look alike ;)

I brought this on a whim on night as I am going through a 'skin care' phase lol and I am pleasantly surprised I actually love it, as I haven't had a good run with mud masques.

Although the scent can be a bit to much, I can look past that as its a great product that left my oily skin feeling amazing.

After removing it, it left my skin feeling amazing, but it did leave my skin slightly red.. like i had reacted to it. I have had this before with other mud products so maybe they just dont like me haha, but this one was only very subtle with the redness, and it wasnt itchy so, if someone can tell me whether a bit of redness is normal after a mud masque.. i would be greatful or advise me not to use it again :P

For the price of this product its a great affordable product that actually does what it says it does.

and oif you like star wars, once masque is applied and dried, you kinda look like Yoda :P

Tips: I found as I went to remove it was to hard to just rub off so I soaked a face cloth in warm water and pressed it all over my face to soften the clay again so its easier to remove, or else it pulls uncomfortably on your skin.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
4.7/5
14th July, 2014
2 members found this review useful
My new favourite!

This masque is everything I could want. It is totally affordable (one of the cheaper ones I've come across), without scrimping on quality, New Zealand owned and operated, and if you can't find it in stores, just buy it on the website (free delivery!).

It smells beautiful, dries really firm, and is pretty easy to apply (although I had to touch it up in parts where it wasn't thick enough). I made a bit of a mess with it, but it was easy to clean up.

There was a bit of redness when I washed it off, (I have very sensitive skin), but I moisturized after (using the skinfood light moisturizer), and my skin returned to normal within minutes. The masque is refreshing, and has cleansed my face so beautifully!

And I also want to mention how AMAZING their service is! I bought this online, the delivery was free, AND they sent me a whole selection of free testers!!! I will definitely be buying from them again...

Tips: If you have runaway hair like I do, use a headband (or if you buy this online they send you a fabric one for free)!. I used their Skinfood Light Moisturizer afterwards and my skin felt so soft and nice.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
missbellasmummy
30th October, 2014

thanks for the great review!! now i know which mask i will be buying next Xx

Thebeautycontext
28th August, 2014

Awesome review x sounds like an amazing mask! It will diffinetly be the next one i buy

Overall rating:
2.7/5
30th June, 2014
1 members found this review useful
A bit much for my sensitive skin.

One of the first things I noticed about this masque was the big amounts of essential oils in it because it made my eyes burn. I had to keep my eyes closed for a lot of the 10 mins because it was way too much. The second time I used it this bit wasn't so bad. The masque itself didn't have a fantastically great effect on my skin and I think it actually dried my skin out a bit much. It stung a little bit around my nose and other sensitive areas. I won't be using it again but I think it's just a bit much for my skin and will be rehoming it to someone who will hopefully love it.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
5.0/5
25th June, 2014
0 members found this review useful
Great Masque

I got this masque from my mother inlaw as she knows how obsessed I am with skincare and trying to keep everything natural etc. I love it! It's amazing how much oil etc it pulls from your pores. Happy with the results. I use this once a week and my skin loves me for it!

Tips: I cleanse my face beforehand then massage the Full of grace serum bar from Lush on my face before applying the masque. Once I have washed this off my skin is so soft and clean. AMAZING!

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
5.0/5
21st June, 2014
3 members found this review useful
Wow, wow, wow!!

This mud masque is unbelievable!! I couldn't believe how much icky stuff it pulled out of my face. I had the tiny dark spots covering most of my face. It was quite disturbing to know that all that icky stuff was in my pores!! Before using this masque, I had rather large and dark pores covering my entire nose, but after using this masque I have noticed such a huge difference to my skin, especially the pores on my nose. They're not as large as they used to be and they're not as dark and noticeable anymore, it's amazing!!! You can even feel it 'pulling' all the yucky stuff out, Every time I use it, it feels like my skin is pulling/twitching, it's a weird feeling but to me that means it's doing it's job. I love it :) I've already told two people about this masque and now they own it themselves :) A few more little details about this masque, it's incredibly easy to apply, and even easier to wash off, just use a warm flannel, It doesn't leave your skin feeling horribly dry afterwards either. Just follow up with your favourite moisturiser (mines the nourishing moisturiser by skinfood) and your skin is left feeling amazing.

Tips: For better results, cleanse your skin first. You can use any cleanser you like, but my favourite is the cleans all by skinfood x

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
itskaz_xo
21st August, 2014

Hopefully you love it as much as I do. It's really affordable and it works really well. You can even request a sample of it which is so handy. It's always a shame spending money on products that don't end up working for you x

Sarsk
14th August, 2014

This was so helpful! I've tried many mud masks and while they make my skin smooth I haven't been able to find one that really cleans deep and helps extract oil and dirt from the pores. Ill give this one a go for sure :)

Overall rating:
5.0/5
19th June, 2014
1 members found this review useful
Muddy brilliant

This is so far the best mud masque I have tried! Love the low cost of it too if your trying to keep to a budget you can still buy a really decent product. It smells great and best of all it reduced the redness in my skin, healed up my breakouts and left me with soft glowing skin! This one will be staying on the favourites shelf of my bathroom cupboard for sure! Love that skin food uses natural ingredients too and that's in NZ made!

Tips: If you woke up with pimples out of nowhere or red skin this is the mask you want to reach for!

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
5.0/5
4th June, 2014
4 members found this review useful
Love this mask

This was the first Skinfood product I tried and WOW I am impressed. I have sensitive, which is usually dry skin with some oiliness around my nose and breakouts in my t zone also.

The texture of this masque is so ridiculously smooth! It must be so finely milled because it feels divine to slather all over your face. I expected it to smell unpleasant as it is a mud masque but I was pleasantly surprised with a lovely natural floral scent. I found it super easy to get a thin layer over my entire face and found it lovely a relaxing to wear. As it dried it did pull my face a little but nothing like the aztec secret healing clay mask! It also didn't have dry dust flakes fall off as my face moved like I find happens with the Queen Helene Mint Julep mask (which I still love). I was seriously shocked when I saw the icky oil this mask had pulled out of my pores (especially considering I am not particularly oil). It was also really easy to wash of and revealed oh so soft skin beneath! I have used it numerous times and it has never irritated my sensitive skin and has always reduces the redness of my blemishes and helps clear them faster. Can't wait to see how this improves my skin longer term, surely it will reduce my breakout with the amount of gunk it removes from my skin!

This is definitely going to be a regular in my beauty regime! Definitely value for money too in my opinion. I would highly recommend this to all and am going to get this for a few family members as gifts as it is so lovely. Would also be a great gift for any overseas friends as it is a great natural NZ product! Am definitely going to hunt down some more Skinfood products to try out! :)

Tips: Cleanse face thoroughly before application.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
PaigeC
20th July, 2014

Awesome review, thanks. I've just gone to purchase some

Shmuckie
9th June, 2014

Oh this sounds perfect for what i have been looking for! Thanks for the great review, i will go hunt it down :)

Overall rating:
5.0/5
1st June, 2014
0 members found this review useful
Weekly product!

I got this mask as a gift and have been in love ever since. Its really thick and goes on easily, plus it dries really fast too, so it doesn't get on clothes etc. Perfect for oily/combination skin as it removes the skins oiliness. Really cheap for a good quality product!

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
4.3/5
25th April, 2014
3 members found this review useful
An affordable masque that works

I purchased this product to try and help clean up my pores and what an amazing job it has done so far! The formulation is smooth and smells really good. When it dries it does not crack as much as some other products which is great as I hate it when you make a facial expression and powder from the dried up masque gets all over everything!

When I masque dries you can see tiny little dark green spots where your pores are, it is literally sucking all the oil/debris out of your skin and back into the masque which is then easily removed with a wet facecloth.

I loved the way this left my skin feeling, smooth, clean but not squeaky clean. I will definitely repurchase and my blackheads and whiteheads are finally clearing up thanks to this amazing product!

Tips: Apply with an old foundation brush for a less messy application.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
PaigeC
20th July, 2014

Thanks for the idea about applying with an old foundation brush

Kaitlyn343
30th May, 2014

That's awesome how you can see the little dark green spots where you pores are.

tannygirl
3rd May, 2014

Thanks :-) I haven't had problem with powdery fall out with the masques I've tried so far but it's nice it's not going to be a problem with this masque.

Antonia
1st May, 2014

I also found after it leaves your skin as an amazing base for makeup when used with the skinfood nourishing moisturiser. now before i go out, i slather a fairly thick amount onto my t-zone and leave it for no more than 4 or 5 minutes! an amazing duo

sjwallisnz
30th April, 2014

Hi Tannygirl, it does crack when dry just not as much as other masques I have tried, also when it is dry you don't get a powdery fall out all over the place!

tannygirl
30th April, 2014

Thanks I would expect this product to crack once dried.

Overall rating:
4.3/5
23rd April, 2014
1 members found this review useful
Mud glorious mud

After reading all the Beauty Review tips for dealing with oily skin, I went out and bought the Skinfood Mud Masque from the local supermarket to give it a try.

I was pleasantly surprised. Unlike some other mud masks, it had a pleasant lavender and orange scent and a nice soft, smooth texture. It didn't make my skin feel dried out like some masks can, but it did feel a lot less oily and my skin texture felt better afterwards.

It is a bit messy to remove (I use dampened tissues to remove the initial coating) but well worth it for the feel afterwards.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
tannygirl
30th April, 2014

I like your title. Thanks for the description of the scent.

WIN A TOP RATED OLAY PRODUCT!

Last month we sent out the Olay Collagen Peptide 24 Serum and Moisturiser to reveiwers - the results are in and it's safe to say we'll be sneaking these into our trolleys when we're next buying groceries!

We're giving two of them away - all you need to do is tell us which product you'd most like to win...how easy is that?!

CLICK HERE TO ENTER!