Vault

Max value reached

Adding this item would put you over your total vault limit of $250. please review your cart to stay under the limit.

Skinfood Mud Masque Review

Skinfood Mud Masque Review
Overall rating from 247 reviews so far:
4.5/5
Would use it again?
4.4/5
Did it do what it said it would?
4.4/5
Would recommend it to a friend?
4.4/5

Works as a deep cleanser to soften and relax the skin leaving it light and fresh.

- Draws toxins & impurities from the skin

- Cleanses skin, leaving it soft & supple

- Clears clogged pores

Our masque is rich in natural minerals found in the volcanic muds of New Zealand. This masque works as a deep cleanser to soften and relax the skin. With natural Rotorua mud, spirulina, apricot oil, aloe vera and jojoba oil. The effects of using Skinfood’s Mud Masque are visible even after the first use, skin rejuvenating ingredients result in pores appearing smaller and your skin feels incredibly soft.

HOW TO APPLY: Apply an even layer onto cleansed skin. Leave for 5-10 minutes until dry and wipe off with a warm, damp cloth. Avoid eye area.

Website www.skinfood.co.nz

Write a review

Please sign in to write a review.

Not yet registered?

It's super simple and only takes 30 seconds.

Register now

How would you rate this product?

Skinfood Mud Masque Review

Skinfood Mud Masque Review

Reviews

Overall rating:
4.0/5
27th November, 2014
0 members found this review useful
Lovely Masque

First of all let me explain that i am not 100% sure on the purpose of this mask. I read the box and tube and can't seem to find any explanation besides it being 'cleansing' that aside I was pretty happy with this and will be repurchasing regularly

The mud went on smoothly and wasn't too thin or thick. It smelled nice but not too overpowering, and it dried fast and seemed to clean my skin deeper.

After washing off the masque my face felt soft and supple and CLEAN definitely clean. And i have VERY sensitive skin, and had no redness, burns or irritation so i was mega impressed.

My skin then had a big drink of moisturiser and i felt like i was going to have a good skin day it was great. And all for the price of $9 at the big bucket makeup sale. Impressed!!

Will be adding more skinfood products on my to try list

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
5.0/5
22nd November, 2014
0 members found this review useful
Apply and relax

I won a tube of Skinfood New Zealand mud masque thanks to Beauty Review and was eager to try it. At first I was surprised how fluid the mud was and was wondering how much would drip before doing its job. To my delight, nothing messy happened and the feeling of the mud masque on my face was very pleasant. The masque did the its job and my skin felt soft, clean, and relaxed. The price of the product is reasonable for a 100ml tube. The packaging fits and the cardboard can be recycled, which is great. I would recommend the masque to my friends. Not many reviewers on an English website may care and the next fact doesn't affect the quality of the product, but the French translation on the packaging has many mistakes :)

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
4.0/5
18th November, 2014
0 members found this review useful
Fan of mud mask

After reading many good reviews here, some blogs and friend's recommendation, I finally gave in and bought myself to try Skinfood's mud masque. It's a very affordable and can be either purchased online with free delivery or from supermarket. I managed to grab this from the local supermarket at a discounted price.

The packaging is slim and easy to use tube. The smell of the product is still not set in with me, I am not sure why I am finding the smell unbearable though many reviewers here have loved it. The minute I apply the mask on my face, I get strong sour smell (Spirulina I reckon). But the smell fades away once the mask starts to dry which is good.

I apply a thick layer of mask after cleansing my face, let it dry completely about 10-20 minutes and rinse it off with warm water or little milk and apply toner. The texture of the mask is very smooth and glides on easily to even on the skin.

The end result is what I love, a smooth flawless skin with a glow. I absolutely love this product and have also become a fan of this brand after trying few products..

Tips: Rinse off with a little milk to retain moisture in the skin.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
5.0/5
11th November, 2014
0 members found this review useful
SWEET SMELLING MUD

This mud mask is awsome, it has a nice citrus smell. The packaging is great but because they are all the same you need to read it first as you may apply the wrong one. Any way after cleansing with the cleans all I applied the mask at first it tinggled for about a minute or so but then settled down and felt like someone had put a cold flannel on my face, as it dried it tighted which most mud masks do, when I removed it I used a hot damp towel and my skin still felt tight but soft, not dry, there was abit of reddness on my checks but disapeared about an hour later, after I applied toner and moisturiser. I didn't notice any change in my pore size but then I wasen't really looking at that side of it. My face had a healthy glow to it, love this product it is definatly in myskin care routine.

Tips: The best way to take of the mask is to use a hot wet towel (not dripping) placed on your face and left to rest for about 2min then wipe it off.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
4.3/5
9th November, 2014
0 members found this review useful
JUST WOW!

I have never tried masks before but was excited to try after winning the Skinfood Mud Masque from BR. I used the Cleans All first to get rid of any dirt or oil and make up off my face and then applied the mask. It dries pretty fast and I love the fact you don't have to leave it on your face for too long. The feeling once it's dry is a bit yuck it feels like I have super glue on my face and it's pulling whenever I smile or move my face muscles. The smell is subtle but pleasant for me it smells of natural stuff rather than chemicals. I find it hard to differentiate the packaging considering they are identical looking so have to pay attention to the labels which I suppose is a good thing. I think looking at the prices it's very affordable which for me is a huge thing being on a budget. After washing the mask off I found my skin to feel so refreshed and like a whole new layer had emerged. It's helped with my dry skin big time and I will forever buy it now that I know I have found something that works for my dry sensitive skin! After using it for the third time though I did find that it made my skin sting in areas around my brows and chin. I found that uncomfortable but soldiered on and it still had the same result so thought it may just be my sensitive skin. My conclusion is that I can't do without it now, I love the feeling of nice skin too much to go backwards. Skinfood you are my number one right now!!!!

Tips: Use Cleans All first and a moisturizer afterwards to get that baby smooth skin!

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
5.0/5
14th October, 2014
0 members found this review useful
Soft As Baby's Bum...

Brought to you by nutrient rich Rotorua mud.

I popped this in my grocery cart about a month ago (because why wouldn't you want any other excuse to buy more makeup, skincare, etc than it accidentally falling into your cart?) and I am seriously impressed by it.

Skinfood is one of my new favourite, holy-grail brands and this product (I think?) is what ultimately converted me.

First off, the packaging is 100% the same as their other packaging - so read the label otherwise you might end up with a moisturiser. They're all about $10-12 and usually they're on sale at New World so you can get away with it too. But it's a sale! You know I can't walk away from a sale? How could you think that?! Just shh and go get yourself a chocolate, won't you? Oh, and while you're at it - I want one too.

Now, the actual review.

The colour of this mask is a light brownish colour that looks like it wants to play with pigmentation and colour match itself to your skintone. No lies. It dries to a grey-ish colour in about twenty to twenty five minutes (Who cares about their directions? Ten minutes for a mask, oh please!)

The smell is sooo good, I love it and I will admit that I can't stop sniffing it. It's a fruity, yummy smell.

When you wash it off it's as if you have new skin. It's so, so incredibly soft. I have a Skinfood moisturiser that I use afterwards and the combination is like it was made for each other (Yeah, okay so maybe it was, but let me pretend!)

My pores don't really appear smaller after using this, but my skin does feel super soft and it looks radiant.

Would I recommend this? Even just for the smell. Yes! What are you waiting for? Go and get it! You'll thank me later!

Tips: I'd recommend leaving it on for 20-30mins to let it dry completely. I have sensitive skin and that timeframe doesn't cause my skin to flare up or anything.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
5.0/5
8th October, 2014
0 members found this review useful
LOVE THE MUD

THIS IS MY HOLY GRAIL of all mud masks, after a friend suggesting this I did not hesitate to purchase and SO GLAD I did, applying the mask is easy enough , waiting for it to dry again is super easy but then you can literally see all the dirt and blackheads rising to the top of the pore (gross but so satisfying) . Wipe off with a hot towel and whalla ! your skin is lush, smooth and super clean :)

Tips: Apply a little xtra mask to dirt prone areas (T ZONE), this makes it nice and thick and pulls more dirt.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
5.0/5
6th October, 2014
0 members found this review useful
best for quality and price

i bought the skin food cleanser a couple of weeks ago and loved it so much that i decided to buy the mud masque yesterday to try. The texture is really rich and creamy and i like the fact that it's in a squeezy bottle (less mess). As per the instructions, I left it on for 10-15 minutes to 'dry' on my face, and washed it off with a warm damp cloth. It came ff easily and it didn't dry my skin out or tighten it like some face masques do. My skin felt really clean and clear of congestion and it felt really supple too :) will purchase again!

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
5.0/5
6th October, 2014
0 members found this review useful
Best smelling mud out!

The idea of putting mud on my face has never appealed to me but I wanted to give it a go. A friend suggested to try this one out.

As part of the purchase I received a skinfood headband to use - that was great. Stopped the mud going into my hair.

I immediately opened it to smell it. I was so happy that it didn't smell like mud. At a guess I would say it smells like lanolin cream.

Easy to apply, it's very cool sensation to begin with. Once it hardens (not long at all) it's very hard to smile and generally move your face muscles. I literally felt my skin getting tighter.

I usually put on the mud masque then do something for about 1/2 hour before I remove the product.

I found it difficult to remove the first couple tries because I felt like I had to scrub and scrub til my face was raw and sore as it wasn't coming off easy. After a couple go's I found the best way to do it is a very hot towel (hot as you can handle easily) and GENTLY wipe off the product. It leaves your skin feeling wonderful and brand new.

I have combination skin with a lot of dry patches. I felt immediately hydrated, my skin felt tighter and not to mention my face smelled delish.

Tips: Leave the masque on for as long as possible. Use a hot towel to remove.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
5.0/5
4th October, 2014
0 members found this review useful
Leaves my skin so soft!

I have been using this mask for a few years now and I love it! It goes on so easily and feels nice and tingly (in a good way) once dried I can see the little spots where it has removed the extra oil from the pores on my nose chin and forehead. Once removed my skin feels smooth and super clean and any spots I have appear less red and smaller and my skin has this extra glow to it for the next few days. A must have in my skincare routine!

Tips: Great to use the day before a big event to prep skin and have it looking its best

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.

THE BEAUTY VAULT IS BEING RESTOCKED!

Get reviewing and earn points to spend on amazing beauty products!

The more reviews you place, the more Beauty Points you'll earn...meaning the bigger the haul you can nab from The Beauty Vault!

CLICK HERE TO FIND OUT ALL YOU NEED TO KNOW ABOUT THE BEAUTY VAULT!