Vault

Max value reached

Adding this item would put you over your total vault limit of $250. please review your cart to stay under the limit.

Skinfood Mud Masque Review

Skinfood Mud Masque Review
Overall rating from 247 reviews so far:
4.5/5
Would use it again?
4.4/5
Did it do what it said it would?
4.4/5
Would recommend it to a friend?
4.4/5

Works as a deep cleanser to soften and relax the skin leaving it light and fresh.

- Draws toxins & impurities from the skin

- Cleanses skin, leaving it soft & supple

- Clears clogged pores

Our masque is rich in natural minerals found in the volcanic muds of New Zealand. This masque works as a deep cleanser to soften and relax the skin. With natural Rotorua mud, spirulina, apricot oil, aloe vera and jojoba oil. The effects of using Skinfood’s Mud Masque are visible even after the first use, skin rejuvenating ingredients result in pores appearing smaller and your skin feels incredibly soft.

HOW TO APPLY: Apply an even layer onto cleansed skin. Leave for 5-10 minutes until dry and wipe off with a warm, damp cloth. Avoid eye area.

Website www.skinfood.co.nz

Write a review

Please sign in to write a review.

Not yet registered?

It's super simple and only takes 30 seconds.

Register now

How would you rate this product?

Skinfood Mud Masque Review

Skinfood Mud Masque Review

Reviews

Overall rating:
4.7/5
4th February, 2015
0 members found this review useful
Cost effective and FACE effective

I actually picked this up due a review I saw online (thanks facebook) about how good this was. I'm not supposed to be shopping...but I justified it with the fact I needed a new face mark and this was only 13 dollars at countdown! ($11 on special) the mask goes on nice and smooth and has a nice texture. It smells nice as well which is a bonus but its not overly fragrant. One whinge I do have is that it makes my eyes water like crazy. But I'm pretty sure I'm not the only one this has happened too. It dried out easily and washed off without me having to scrub too hard. My skin felt nice and soft afterwards. I did break out a little after but this is to be expected as you are drawing gross yuckies OUT of your skin. All in all a great little mask and no doubt i'll pick it up again after I run out.

Tips: Keep it a little lower from your eyes than usual. It really does sting!

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
4.7/5
22nd January, 2015
0 members found this review useful
Awesome product!

This stuff went on super easy and it smells delish! I found that I only need a very small amount to cover my entire face. Once it started to dry little dots started to appear pulling dirt out of my very deep pores. After an easy wash off, my face felt incredibly smooth. There was a small difference in my pores but I feel as though through regular use they will improve. BIG FAN! :)

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
5.0/5
8th January, 2015
1 members found this review useful
Love this!

I have been using this for 3 weeks now (once a week), and I am really loving it. It's inexpensive, smells great (in my opinion, anyway) and actually works at drawing out the oils in my skin and leaving it soft.

After the first time I used it, I was so impressed that I forced it upon my boyfriend, as he gets quite noticeable blackheads all over his nose and I wanted to see if it would work for him too. Once he rinsed it off, I couldn't see a single blackhead. The pores were all still pretty visible but they looked super clean, which I was really impressed with.

I don't think I am very prone to blackheads as I usually have normal/dry skin, but it was really good to see that it worked on other skin types as well.

I will definitely keep using it and repurchase when I run out.

Tips: Don't put it too close to your eyes, otherwise it can make them water and burn a little.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
meimei
4th February, 2015

I totally get the stingy eyes too!!! UGH! But great mask.

Overall rating:
4.0/5
7th January, 2015
0 members found this review useful
Skin food mud masque

I bought this yesterday after seeing lots of ladies on a Facebook page raving about it. I purchased it from countdown on $12.99. I cleansed my face and then applied the mask. I kept away from the eye area as quite a dew ladies had said if its too near their eyes start stinging. The mask went on smoothly and was nice and cool which felt refreshing in this hot weather. It took about 20mins to properly dry and little dots appeared drawing out excess oil. I removed it with a warm flannel and my face felt fabulous! It was soft and smooth and even seemed brighter. I thought this mask was great value for money and would definitely repurchase.

Tips: Make sure you allow it to fully dry to get the best benefits.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
4.3/5
15th December, 2014
0 members found this review useful
Skinfood Mud Masque

I received a sample of this masque as a part of a prize I won leading up to Christmas. It was the first mask I've ever tried.

To be quite honest, I didn't like wearing it. I found it dried too fast whilst applying to my face, which I felt made it a lot harder to apply evenly and sufficiently. This also meant some parts were still wet whilst other parts were way too dry.

I also did not like the smell. I found it rather over-powering and that I did not like it. Whilst this may have just been a personal preference, I didn't like how my skin continued to smell like it even once I had washed my face and applied a moisturizer. Stuck with a smell you do not like = not good!

Another thing for me, which was both a pro and a con, was that when the masque dried my pores were so prominent! Now I personally did not like this as seeing lots of tiny holes makes me feel physically sick. I know this isn't the norm though, and that this is what the mask is designed to do - clean your face. I really like how it actually did what it said it was going to do, even though it made me feel uneasy seeing it.

I also liked how it left my skin super soft afterwards. I suffer from seemingly combination skin that leans towards the dry side, and after using this masque and applying moisturizer, it feels super soft. I'm really happy about this as it's often hard to achieve!

Overall, whilst I do not like the masque for personal reasons, I feel as if other people would really love it. I would definitely recommend it for a friend, though I'm not sure if I would personally use it again. It however did what it said it would, which I am totally stocked about!

Tips: Wash with a drenched warm face cloth. Dry your face, and then follow with a Skinfood moisturizer :)

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
5.0/5
12th December, 2014
0 members found this review useful
A must have

This product is amazing! It's almost unheard of that a cheap product turns out to be incredible. I paid $11 for it and couldn't be happier! It smells delicious and is very easy to apply and use. It pulled so many yuckies out of my many pores and made my skin feel very soft. I find it very satisfying to see all the impurities coming to the surface then washing them away. My boyfriend saw me using the masque and let me use the product with him and he also said it made his skin feel soft. My only complaints would be that it makes my eyes water and that the packaging is a wee bit boring but that's no biggie. I think I will be repurchasing this product over and over.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
5.0/5
10th December, 2014
1 members found this review useful
New Fave Masque for my Mask!

I loooove this! After hearing a lot of great stuff about it I had to buy and try.

Firstly it comes in a simple, clean no nonsense box. The tube is lovely and smooth. It's soft so you can be sure you can get every last drop of mud out of it.

The mud itself is from my home town Rotorua "yiyaaa!" lol. It is smoooth and creamy and the perfect consistency (not runny, not too thick); making applying it to your face that much easier. It has a fruity pleasant smell.

All I did was apply all over my face in a thin even layer and allow it to dry. For me, I got a tingly sensation when I applied it to my face. The trippy thing that really caught my eye about this masque is that I could actually SEE where the masque had absorbed the oil in my face!

I then washed my face with cold water and was left with soft clean skin.

I use this masque 1-3 times a week, just depending on how oily my face is. It's really good for ladies with combination to oily skin types.

Tips: Gently squeeze the tube so you don't squirt too much product out; like I did the first time I used it. Oops!

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
5.0/5
6th December, 2014
0 members found this review useful
Amazing Mud Masque for the Price

I have been using this for the past month and I'm impressed with how well it works and how good it is for the price. To start off I like how it's comprised almost completely of natural ingredients like Rotorua mud, kaolin, jojoba oil, apricot oil, sunflower seed oil, spirulina, kelp extract, lavender and orange oil, etc. It goes on so smoothly and as it dries you can see all the little oily dots where it sucked the oil out of your pores, so I feel it's doing it's job of cleaning out my pores. While it restricts movement when it dries, not as much as some other clay/mud masques. It has a earthy clay scent with a hint of orange, not bad for a product with no fragrance. I like that there's no fragrance in it either as unfragranced products are better for my skin. The mask dries fairly quickly which is handy if you don't have a lot of time and it has a nice creamy, smooth consistency when you apply it which is nice as it goes on much easy and I can use a foundation brush which I couldn't do with the last mud masque I had. It doesn't dry out my skin either but exfoliates it nicely. When I wipe it off my skin is left soft and smooth. I love that this retails for about $14 and has 100ml in the tube as most masques are more expensive and come in 50-60ml tubes and jars. I can't think of any cons other than it has some Polysorbate-20 so it's not all natural ingredients, but considering it's not one of the first ingredients on the list I don't mind. This has become my to-go mud masque and I plan to always have a tube and gift some to friends and family. If you're looking for a mud masque, I would very highly recommend this one before you go for the more luxury brands. Just see if this one checks the boxes for you before you splurge on a more pricey mud/clay masque because this one performed just as well as some of the more expensive ones I've used.

Tips: I like to steam my face for a few minutes before I apply this masque and I like to apply it with a foundation brush to get a nice even layer but fingers will also do. I also like to apply a nice serum and an overnight masque afterwards or do a nice moisturizing/revitalizing/replenishing/anti-aging masque afterwards since my skin will soak it up and have nice smooth glow afterwards.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
4.0/5
3rd December, 2014
1 members found this review useful
Goodbye Oily Pores

Again, another product I was introduced to through BR (tut tut this site has not been good for reducing my spending on beauty products). This product had great reviews, so good in fact, that I was almost scared to look at the price.. and I was shocked! A mask with reviews like this for $14.00, sounds too good to be true!!

Because I have sensitive skin 90% of the time, I emailed skin food and requested samples of the product to try before I brought and ill say it once. I love the company, they were so happy to send out samples, and added a few other samples in there as well!! Another thing I love about this company and the brand is that the product is paraben free, and based in NZ.

When I did buy the full size product, it came in a white rectangle box with the green logo to skinfood. It’s a simple design, but effective, although it would not have caught my eye if I was not on a mission to purchase it already. The product comes in a soft plastic white tube, which has the same green skinfood logo on it, and a flip top cap.

So this mask is a mud mask, but not the mud mask I expected. When I think mud, I think dirt, and the smell associated with that… well its not good. So I was pleasantly surprised when I smelt this product to find it actually smelt quite nice. It has a touch of orange, and smells almost organic, but in a nice way!! The ingredient list also mentions lavender, which I can’t really smell!! Reading this list taught me this mask actually has mud from Rotorua in it which I think is pretty cool!! The product looks like any mud mask, but it’s not too thick and I find it really easy to get out of the tube, and to spread over my face.

The first time I used this; I applied it to my whole face and let it dry! This was a cool part. When the mask dried, I could see all the oil it has absorbed from the skin, and it was awesome to see exactly what the mask was doing. I then used a flannel to remove it, followed by a rich moisturiser, and my face felt amazing. I t was so soft, and I just wanted to touch it! I even ran to my partner are made him touch my face as well just to see how soft it was!! It did make the more sensitive areas of my face (my cheeks) feel a little tight, but only because they are very sensitive. Now when I use this mask, I apply it to my t-zone which is a bit oilier, and saves my sensitive cheeks from getting upset.

Definitely worth trying the product, and it so cheap and easy to find (countdown or online are good places to start)!!

Tips: If you have sensitive skin like me, get in touch with skinfood and try arranging some samples so you can see how your skin reacts before committing to the product

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
lilmonmon
22nd January, 2015

Fantastic review, I'm definitely buying this now.

Overall rating:
5.0/5
28th November, 2014
0 members found this review useful
AMAZING

I had breakouts launching all over my face for months and couldn't seem to control it so was looking for a mask that would help and in THREE weeks i have noticed a HUGE difference! By using this product just once a week I have only had one new breakout and my face is less oily and pores are smaller!!

Tips: Keep doing your normal face routines and just add this to the mix and I keep it on for about 20-25 minutes!!!

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.

THE BEAUTY VAULT IS BEING RESTOCKED!

Get reviewing and earn points to spend on amazing beauty products!

The more reviews you place, the more Beauty Points you'll earn...meaning the bigger the haul you can nab from The Beauty Vault!

CLICK HERE TO FIND OUT ALL YOU NEED TO KNOW ABOUT THE BEAUTY VAULT!