Vault

Max value reached

Adding this item would put you over your total vault limit of $250. please review your cart to stay under the limit.

Skinfood Mud Masque Review

Skinfood Mud Masque Review
Overall rating from 247 reviews so far:
4.5/5
Would use it again?
4.4/5
Did it do what it said it would?
4.4/5
Would recommend it to a friend?
4.4/5

Works as a deep cleanser to soften and relax the skin leaving it light and fresh.

- Draws toxins & impurities from the skin

- Cleanses skin, leaving it soft & supple

- Clears clogged pores

Our masque is rich in natural minerals found in the volcanic muds of New Zealand. This masque works as a deep cleanser to soften and relax the skin. With natural Rotorua mud, spirulina, apricot oil, aloe vera and jojoba oil. The effects of using Skinfood’s Mud Masque are visible even after the first use, skin rejuvenating ingredients result in pores appearing smaller and your skin feels incredibly soft.

HOW TO APPLY: Apply an even layer onto cleansed skin. Leave for 5-10 minutes until dry and wipe off with a warm, damp cloth. Avoid eye area.

Website www.skinfood.co.nz

Write a review

Please sign in to write a review.

Not yet registered?

It's super simple and only takes 30 seconds.

Register now

How would you rate this product?

Skinfood Mud Masque Review

Skinfood Mud Masque Review

Reviews

Overall rating:
4.0/5
29th April, 2015
0 members found this review useful
I cried... :(

My first impressions of this product was not good, it seriously scared me to use a product that made my eyes water & sting so much, I had tears streaming down my face. There was no way that I was leaving this product on my face, I couldn't bare it so I removed it basically straight after I had put it on. I messaged Skinfood in regards to the stinging & they replied saying it was the sulphur in the mud that had effected my eyes & recommended I discontinue use if it was unbearable.

Some weeks later I asked my partner to test it to see if he had the same reaction, with success he didn't and I assumed the build up of sulphur had been removed during the first use so I attempted to try it again... I smeared it all over my face and to my surprise there were no tears, no stinging. I did like how thick & creamy this product was and a little bit goes a long way. So I left it for about 10 minutes, until it was tight on my face (which I couldn't stand so I wanted to remove it as quickly as possible), so I removed it using warm water and a face cloth. It was interesting to see the mud getting into my pores after it had dried, clearing all the gunk out. I was happy with the results, my skin was soft & smooth.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
2.3/5
26th April, 2015
0 members found this review useful
It's not for me

Mud / charcoal masque is one of million skincare products that I'm always up for to try. I'm currently using the Origins Clear Improvement Active Charcoal Mask (longest name ever!) and it's alright. It does a good job in making my face feel soft and smooth.

I found my Skinfood Mud Masque hiding away at the back of my drawer and decided to try it. The word mud masque got me all hyped and excited. I applied it in my face with my clean fingertips. It has a delightful fruity scent which is different from other mud masque I've tried in the past. However, 2 minutes after applying my eyes started to get sore and watery. First I thought it was from the new facial cleanser I was using. The next day, I gave the mud masque another go. Oh boy my eyes felt so sore, itchy, and watery. I think there is a specific ingredient in this masque that I'm allergic to or it could be the scent that irritated my eyes. On the bright side, I liked the way my face felt after washing it off. My face was so smooth, soft, and the size of my pores has gone down. Unfortunately, due to it stinging my eyes, I would not put this product to use. It might work for other people but not for me. :(

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
4.0/5
25th April, 2015
0 members found this review useful
Mud Masque

I was using a different mud masque for quite awhile, but I didn't like the fragrance. I picked this one up at Countdown to give it a go instead. The packaging is simple, but the bright green of the logo makes it stand out as clean and crisp. The product comes out easily, it almost has a sticky feel to it. I was happy to note that it didn't have a strong unnatural fragrance scent - it has a lavendar smell. It goes on really smoothly, and the oils stop it from feeling like it's really drying out your face. I find that it makes my eyes sting a little bit when its close to them, even just being on my nose and not my cheeks my eyes feel a bit irritated. But it's a good excuse to lie back and close my eyes, it doesn't feel irritating on my skin.

It takes 10-15 minutes to dry - it's a bit icky, but I love to see where the oily spots are after it dries. It is easy to wash off with warm water. I still need to follow up with a toner usually to get a light residue off, then I moisturise (which it suggests anyway) because it does make my skin feel a little tight and dry once removed.

I love that it's NZ made with Rotorua mud! But I always think when they put Natural on something I wont see a huge list of ingredients, this one surprised me how many things it had in it.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
4.7/5
24th April, 2015
0 members found this review useful
great affordable masque

This has got to be one of the better masques I've tried of late, there is just a small drawback in that it stings my eyes so I have to lie down and close my eyes when I use it. That's ok though as it gives me an excuse to lie down!

Everything about it is good, I like the non fussy packaging as it easy to squeeze, the smells nice and it's paraben free with less nasties than others I've used. Oh, and its NZ made.

I've been using a nice thick layer but I don't let it dry completely as I don't like my skin feeling tight, then just hopping into the shower to rinse it off. I feel it's less messy and quicker that way.

After use my skin feels softer and it appears to be helping lessen the oil production on my t zone.

Aside from stinging eyes I can't fault it.

I will repurchase when my BRBB one runs out as I think its pretty good value, this tube is going to last me months.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
4.3/5
23rd April, 2015
0 members found this review useful
Love it!

I had to purchase this after seeing all the great reviews online. I was pleased that my eyes didn't react as some people had experienced. I was worried it would dry my skin out but wow it felt like a babys bottom after, I couldn't stop touching my face as it was so soft!

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
5.0/5
22nd April, 2015
0 members found this review useful
I love this mask!

I won this from BR, and have been wearing it maybe 1-2 times per week. With sensitive skin, it definitely gives you a tiny bit of a burning feeling, but it's to be expected since pretty much anything does that for me. It hardens quite well, you do have to apply quite a thick layer of it on your face (not crazy thick though!). After washing it off, it leaves my skin feeling soft and smooth, abeit a bit red. I would use this product at night before bed, definitely not in the morning unless you want red skin!

Tips: Keep it on for at least 10 mins if you want visible and obvious results! And always moisturise afterwards. It is a moisturising mask, but probably not enough on its own.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
2.0/5
22nd April, 2015
0 members found this review useful
Mud Masque

It burns my eyes so bad that they water and it washes the product off. I make sure to place it well away from my eyes but that doesnt make a difference. Every time I use it, I get a pimple outbreak and it makes my eyes bloodshot and sore.

Tips: Keep it WELL away from your eyes and cleanse your face well after using it

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
3.0/5
21st April, 2015
0 members found this review useful
I really wanted to love this product !

I was super stoked when I got this in the beauty vault and couldn't wait to use it. I love the simple white packaging and that it is a NZ made product.

The product had a nice thick consistency to it and I found it very easy to spread across my face. Unfortunately this product didn't tend to agree with my eyes and after around 30 seconds my eyes were stinging and running so I removed the product only after around five minutes.

My skin felt soft afterwards and I found it very easy to remove but unfortunately the stinging eyes would prevent me from using it again. I may possibly just try it on my neck and hopefully as that is quite far away from my eyes it shouldn't cause much of an issue.

Tips: Due to the reaction I had I would suggest doing a small patch test to see how your skin / eyes react to it. My partner also used it and ended up red and swollen around the eyes.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
5.0/5
21st April, 2015
0 members found this review useful
Excellent!

I got this in the Beauty Review Beauty Box, and I absolutely love it! Nice and thick paste, loved the way it dried. Brought a lot of blackheads to the surface to be hygienically removed. I have oily skin, so I could see myself using this once a week to maintain great skin.

Did not experience the watery eyes or stinging that I've heard of in the past from others. Great smell, love it.

Tips: Apply a layer just a little bit thick, let sit for 10 minutes, then splash water on your face and use a warm wash cloth to remove.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
5.0/5
17th April, 2015
0 members found this review useful
Great

I have previously used the expensive glam glow mask and this kind of compares as you can see it draws out the oil in the pores. I love this mask, its a nice smooth mud with no clumps, does not sting or anything (glam glow one does on me)and definitely leaves my skin feeling soft and clean without being tight I use it once a week and it does not irritate my skin at all

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.

THE BEAUTY VAULT IS BEING RESTOCKED!

Get reviewing and earn points to spend on amazing beauty products!

The more reviews you place, the more Beauty Points you'll earn...meaning the bigger the haul you can nab from The Beauty Vault!

CLICK HERE TO FIND OUT ALL YOU NEED TO KNOW ABOUT THE BEAUTY VAULT!