Vault

Max value reached

Adding this item would put you over your total vault limit of $250. please review your cart to stay under the limit.

Skinfood Mud Masque Review

Skinfood Mud Masque Review
Overall rating from 247 reviews so far:
4.5/5
Would use it again?
4.4/5
Did it do what it said it would?
4.4/5
Would recommend it to a friend?
4.4/5

Works as a deep cleanser to soften and relax the skin leaving it light and fresh.

- Draws toxins & impurities from the skin

- Cleanses skin, leaving it soft & supple

- Clears clogged pores

Our masque is rich in natural minerals found in the volcanic muds of New Zealand. This masque works as a deep cleanser to soften and relax the skin. With natural Rotorua mud, spirulina, apricot oil, aloe vera and jojoba oil. The effects of using Skinfood’s Mud Masque are visible even after the first use, skin rejuvenating ingredients result in pores appearing smaller and your skin feels incredibly soft.

HOW TO APPLY: Apply an even layer onto cleansed skin. Leave for 5-10 minutes until dry and wipe off with a warm, damp cloth. Avoid eye area.

Website www.skinfood.co.nz

Write a review

Please sign in to write a review.

Not yet registered?

It's super simple and only takes 30 seconds.

Register now

How would you rate this product?

Skinfood Mud Masque Review

Skinfood Mud Masque Review

Reviews

Overall rating:
5.0/5
4th June, 2014
4 members found this review useful
Love this mask

This was the first Skinfood product I tried and WOW I am impressed. I have sensitive, which is usually dry skin with some oiliness around my nose and breakouts in my t zone also.

The texture of this masque is so ridiculously smooth! It must be so finely milled because it feels divine to slather all over your face. I expected it to smell unpleasant as it is a mud masque but I was pleasantly surprised with a lovely natural floral scent. I found it super easy to get a thin layer over my entire face and found it lovely a relaxing to wear. As it dried it did pull my face a little but nothing like the aztec secret healing clay mask! It also didn't have dry dust flakes fall off as my face moved like I find happens with the Queen Helene Mint Julep mask (which I still love). I was seriously shocked when I saw the icky oil this mask had pulled out of my pores (especially considering I am not particularly oil). It was also really easy to wash of and revealed oh so soft skin beneath! I have used it numerous times and it has never irritated my sensitive skin and has always reduces the redness of my blemishes and helps clear them faster. Can't wait to see how this improves my skin longer term, surely it will reduce my breakout with the amount of gunk it removes from my skin!

This is definitely going to be a regular in my beauty regime! Definitely value for money too in my opinion. I would highly recommend this to all and am going to get this for a few family members as gifts as it is so lovely. Would also be a great gift for any overseas friends as it is a great natural NZ product! Am definitely going to hunt down some more Skinfood products to try out! :)

Tips: Cleanse face thoroughly before application.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
PaigeC
20th July, 2014

Awesome review, thanks. I've just gone to purchase some

Shmuckie
9th June, 2014

Oh this sounds perfect for what i have been looking for! Thanks for the great review, i will go hunt it down :)

Overall rating:
4.3/5
25th April, 2014
3 members found this review useful
An affordable masque that works

I purchased this product to try and help clean up my pores and what an amazing job it has done so far! The formulation is smooth and smells really good. When it dries it does not crack as much as some other products which is great as I hate it when you make a facial expression and powder from the dried up masque gets all over everything!

When I masque dries you can see tiny little dark green spots where your pores are, it is literally sucking all the oil/debris out of your skin and back into the masque which is then easily removed with a wet facecloth.

I loved the way this left my skin feeling, smooth, clean but not squeaky clean. I will definitely repurchase and my blackheads and whiteheads are finally clearing up thanks to this amazing product!

Tips: Apply with an old foundation brush for a less messy application.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
PaigeC
20th July, 2014

Thanks for the idea about applying with an old foundation brush

Kaitlyn343
30th May, 2014

That's awesome how you can see the little dark green spots where you pores are.

tannygirl
3rd May, 2014

Thanks :-) I haven't had problem with powdery fall out with the masques I've tried so far but it's nice it's not going to be a problem with this masque.

Antonia
1st May, 2014

I also found after it leaves your skin as an amazing base for makeup when used with the skinfood nourishing moisturiser. now before i go out, i slather a fairly thick amount onto my t-zone and leave it for no more than 4 or 5 minutes! an amazing duo

sjwallisnz
30th April, 2014

Hi Tannygirl, it does crack when dry just not as much as other masques I have tried, also when it is dry you don't get a powdery fall out all over the place!

tannygirl
30th April, 2014

Thanks I would expect this product to crack once dried.

Overall rating:
5.0/5
21st June, 2014
3 members found this review useful
Wow, wow, wow!!

This mud masque is unbelievable!! I couldn't believe how much icky stuff it pulled out of my face. I had the tiny dark spots covering most of my face. It was quite disturbing to know that all that icky stuff was in my pores!! Before using this masque, I had rather large and dark pores covering my entire nose, but after using this masque I have noticed such a huge difference to my skin, especially the pores on my nose. They're not as large as they used to be and they're not as dark and noticeable anymore, it's amazing!!! You can even feel it 'pulling' all the yucky stuff out, Every time I use it, it feels like my skin is pulling/twitching, it's a weird feeling but to me that means it's doing it's job. I love it :) I've already told two people about this masque and now they own it themselves :) A few more little details about this masque, it's incredibly easy to apply, and even easier to wash off, just use a warm flannel, It doesn't leave your skin feeling horribly dry afterwards either. Just follow up with your favourite moisturiser (mines the nourishing moisturiser by skinfood) and your skin is left feeling amazing.

Tips: For better results, cleanse your skin first. You can use any cleanser you like, but my favourite is the cleans all by skinfood x

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
itskaz_xo
21st August, 2014

Hopefully you love it as much as I do. It's really affordable and it works really well. You can even request a sample of it which is so handy. It's always a shame spending money on products that don't end up working for you x

Sarsk
14th August, 2014

This was so helpful! I've tried many mud masks and while they make my skin smooth I haven't been able to find one that really cleans deep and helps extract oil and dirt from the pores. Ill give this one a go for sure :)

Overall rating:
5.0/5
6th September, 2013
2 members found this review useful
Review

I have been looking for a good face mask for ages now so i was really lucky to receive one from beauty review ! when you put it on is smells a bit weird, but that is expected in all mud masks.When this mask dries it has more of a citrus scent to it which is really nice and refreshing. with a lot of the mud masks i have tried out they feel too tight or too dry on my face, but this one was different and not too tight. afterward my skin felt really clear and smooth and i could tell the difference in the texture of my skin compared to before. Even though my skin is normal/combination and okay towards majority of products, i still have trouble finding a mud mask that doesn't sting on my skin, and although this product didn't mention anything about being for sensitive skin, i had no problems with it. I recommend it for everyone to try

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
tannygirl
30th April, 2014

Good review. Thanks for the warning in regards to the scent.

Reviewer
22nd September, 2013

Glad this shouldn't be a problem for sensitive skin :)

Overall rating:
4.0/5
9th March, 2014
2 members found this review useful
Food for your face + Scaring husband = Win!

I am new to using Skin food products and had only tried the single application mud masks that you buy from Postie plus so I was thrilled to give this one a go. I never intended to purchase this but when I was on my way to the checkout isle at my local supermarket they had these at the end of one of the isles and it was screaming my name (Funny how these things happen!)

After exfoliating my skin i use a brush to paint it on, i don't like the texture, the smell is a bit to get used to, it feels so refreshing and cool once its on.

The first time I used it I was waiting for it to harden I thought it would be funny to give my husband a fright, so I creeped up behind him while he was on his computer and leaned in to pretend to see what he was doing, he got the biggest fright of his life, I will never forget that day!

It doesnt take long to harden and firm up, try smiling when its hardened, its so funny!

I take my time wiping it off with a warm/hot flannel and moisturize with my Cetaphil moisturizing lotion.

I have noticed a big difference in my pores, they have shrunk significantly and my skins feels so smooth, I didn't feel the tightening feeling after using it, but the overall outcome is still great, I will be buying the moisturizer next week to use with the mud masque :)

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
4545
9th May, 2014

Great review! I love seeing peoples' reactions when they see me with a face mask on, haha!

tannygirl
30th April, 2014

Didn't know they had single packets at Postie's. Fun to see people's reaction sometimes. My bf's used to seeing me with a masque on so I can't scare him. Good review.

Overall rating:
4.7/5
14th July, 2014
2 members found this review useful
My new favourite!

This masque is everything I could want. It is totally affordable (one of the cheaper ones I've come across), without scrimping on quality, New Zealand owned and operated, and if you can't find it in stores, just buy it on the website (free delivery!).

It smells beautiful, dries really firm, and is pretty easy to apply (although I had to touch it up in parts where it wasn't thick enough). I made a bit of a mess with it, but it was easy to clean up.

There was a bit of redness when I washed it off, (I have very sensitive skin), but I moisturized after (using the skinfood light moisturizer), and my skin returned to normal within minutes. The masque is refreshing, and has cleansed my face so beautifully!

And I also want to mention how AMAZING their service is! I bought this online, the delivery was free, AND they sent me a whole selection of free testers!!! I will definitely be buying from them again...

Tips: If you have runaway hair like I do, use a headband (or if you buy this online they send you a fabric one for free)!. I used their Skinfood Light Moisturizer afterwards and my skin felt so soft and nice.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
missbellasmummy
30th October, 2014

thanks for the great review!! now i know which mask i will be buying next Xx

Thebeautycontext
28th August, 2014

Awesome review x sounds like an amazing mask! It will diffinetly be the next one i buy

Overall rating:
4.0/5
18th August, 2013
1 members found this review useful
Leaves skin clean & soft

I have combination skin (+ some sensitive spots) and I really like using this mask. It leaves my skin feeling very very soft and clean (without too much tightness on my cheeks as they are a bit dry).

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
samantha-tg
19th August, 2013

I must try this as I use all the other Skin Food products daily! I <3 Skin Food!!!!

raniwelsh
18th August, 2013

sounds good, I love mud masks!!!

Overall rating:
4.7/5
28th August, 2013
1 members found this review useful
Skinfood Mud Masque

I love the whole Skinfood range and so I knew that when I bought this it would be great. You can see the masque working at pulling oil and dirt from your pores! You get oily dots all over your nose! (Well - in my case anyway!) Its an easy masque to take off, I like not having to scrub hard to remove it! My skin always feels amazing afterwards its soft, clean and hydrated.

Tips: Remove with a warm flannel. You can get away with using a thin layer and still get the same results! Get it while its discounted (quite regularly ) from the supermarket!

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
tannygirl
30th April, 2014

Good review. It sounds gross when you see all these little dots were it's pulling oil out of the pores but I like it because I know it that way the masque is working.

Reviewer
22nd September, 2013

Thanks for the tip - glad to know it comes off easily too!

ree_nz
3rd September, 2013

Nice review - might just have to go out and grab some of this tomorrow!

Overall rating:
5.0/5
8th September, 2013
1 members found this review useful
New favorite!

Thank you BR for introducing me to this beauty. I always wanted to try a mud mask and this has not disappointed me. It applies even and smoothly. No tugging all! It dries in about 15 minutes. It definitely pulls out impurities and clears pores, made skin super soft and clean without over drying. I didn't reduce blackheads on my nose but definitely loosened them. It was so easy to remove them after this mask. I had a huge pimple on my cheek, the mask dried it in a day! Love it! For that price its a must have for me. I highly recommend it for both oily and dry skin.

Tips: Cleanse mildly before you put it on. Just a splash of water will do too. Over cleansing might cause dry skin later.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
tannygirl
30th April, 2014

I like that you stated how it helped in regards to blackheads and pimples. Great review.

Reviewer
22nd September, 2013

Thanks for the info about black heads and pores!

Overall rating:
5.0/5
8th September, 2013
1 members found this review useful
Skinfood Mud Masque = Skin Revival!

This is a great little product. I've been travelling for the last two weeks (multiple international flights, 1000's of kms of driving, three time zones etc) and my skin was looking really tired, dull and blotchy.

I applied the masque Sunday night after cleansing - the masque goes on easily and quickly and is the colour of, well, mud! After it was on, I made a cup of tea and put my feet up and relaxed for 10minutes until the mask had dried. Easy enough to wipe off - a warm, moist towel is ideal - no disposable cotton make up circles are going to cut it here.

The result? A big difference! My skin is brighter, less blotchy in colour and has a great "clean feeling. My face feels amazing after putting moisturiser on, and I would describe the finished result as a soft glow.

When it runs out - I'll be buying another tube.

Tips: Once on and starting to dry, the product has a "cool" feeling. If it's a cold night - make sure you have a jumper on! Don't worry - it doesn't freeze you or anything - but if you're like me and feel the cold, pop another layer on before you start.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
tannygirl
30th April, 2014

Thanks for the warning about the cold feeling. I get cold easily. Good in depth review.

Reviewer
22nd September, 2013

Thorough review, cheers! :)

THE BEAUTY VAULT IS BEING RESTOCKED!

Get reviewing and earn points to spend on amazing beauty products!

The more reviews you place, the more Beauty Points you'll earn...meaning the bigger the haul you can nab from The Beauty Vault!

CLICK HERE TO FIND OUT ALL YOU NEED TO KNOW ABOUT THE BEAUTY VAULT!