Vault

Max value reached

Adding this item would put you over your total vault limit of $250. please review your cart to stay under the limit.

Welcome to

Beauty Review

Want to be advised of trial teams we’re running, giveaways, great beauty offers and competitions? Sign up to receive our newsletter now, it’s easy.

La Roche Posay® Effaclar Foaming Gel & Duo Plus Reviews
Share with a friend
Would use it again? 4.0/5
Did it do what it said it would? 4.2/5
Would recommend it to a friend? 4.2/5

La Roche Posay® Effaclar Foaming Gel & Duo Plus Reviews

Overall rating:
4.2/5

Foaming Gel:

Gently purifies oily and acne-prone skin. Eliminates impurities and excess sebum while leaving the skin clean and fresh. Excellent tolerance. Non-skin drying formula. pH 5.5, soap-free, alcohol-free, colourant-free, paraben-free.

Duo Plus:

Significantly reduces severe imperfections and unclogs sebum-blocked pores. Helps prevent red or dark marks caused by acne. Non-skin drying formula. Fresh and non-greasy. Paraben-free, alcohol-free, colourant-free.

Pack size:  200ml and 40ml

RRP: $27.99 and $32.99

Availability: Selected pharmacies

Website: www.laroche-posay.co.nz

back

Found in:

Write a review

To allow us record accurate reviews we require you to register.

Looking to rate this product?

Please sign in or register.

Overall rating:
4.7/5
22nd July, 2018 at 10:20 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Ooo la La Roche Posay

I'm prone to the occasional breakout, usually around my hairline. My skin is combo.

I like the simple, salon packaging. I do wish there was more information on the packaging - especially for the Effaclar Duo Plus, as I think this could be a confusing product for some. I looked several times to find out what it was, before resorting to Google!

I've been using both products twice a day for over two weeks. The first week my skin purged, I had a couple more breakouts than usual, but they were short lived, and weren't 'angry', more just annoying.

The cleanser is perfect for my skin, so gentle and refreshing. I encountered no tight or dry feelings. So that's a win.

The Duo Plus is a really neat product, kind of like a cross between a primer and a moisturiser. It's not quite moisturising enough for me to use by itself, but teamed with a light lotion, I get the moisturising I need, PLUS the incredible benefits of the Duo Plus. I swear it is magic. My skin looks more even and clear and glows. I feel less oily around my t zone, and find my makeup lasts longer, requiring no touching up around my nose which is great.

I want to try more of the range now.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
4.3/5
20th July, 2018 at 10:09 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Products that work!

I reviewed these products after BR sent them to me, which I was super stoked about.

I’ve had great results using these products with clear and healthy feeling skin, without any break outs. I also love that the products prevent acne scarring as well which is great to hear.

The things I didn’t love about the cleanser were the small hole that makes it quite hard to squeeze the product out of and I personally don’t find the gel formula as satisfying as creams, scrubs or oil cleansers. I really like the serum but would say that it did have a little bit of a tight sensation on my skin when using it.

I would definitely recommend these products to anyone that gets breakouts - especially while having a breakout to reduce redness and risk of scarring. I feel as though the products really work and have left my skin feeling great.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
4.7/5
20th July, 2018 at 9:18 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
La Roche Posay Effaclar Foaming Gel and Duo Plus

These products work as a 2 step programme to effectively control oily and blemish prone skin types. The same fresh clean and green like fragrance is in both. The gel cleanser has a lathering foam which cleans without stripping the moisture balance and the Effaclar Duo Moisturiser hydrates without being overly greasy, in fact its light and mattifying, absorbs quickly into skin and feels like a balm. I like that there is only two products whihc keeps the routine simple yet effective.

After two weeks of using these products my complexion is clear, moisturised and my skin tone is even in colour, redness has reduced. My poor size is less obvious and shine free.

The product size is generous and lasts well, I dont feel like Im using too much.

Both products are paraben free which is important to me when choosing skincare, thats a tick from me!

Overall great price point, generous sized products, smells fresh and clean. Delivers on keeping skin in check, blemish free and enough hydration without the shine.

Tips: Incorporate the foaming cleanser in your morning shower routine and again at night for beautifully clean skin. Rinse with warm water. Pat skin dry with a towel and apply a peasized amount of Effaclar Duo (+) with fingertips all over face and neck.

After Effaclar Duo is applied wait 5mins and apply makeup if desired.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
5.0/5
20th July, 2018 at 9:11 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Perfect Combo for Combo Skin

I'm so happy I got to try these. I probably wouldn't have bought them as I sort of gave up on a product that could work for dry/oily/sensitive skin. The combo of these makes me skin so soft and smooth. Those little tiny bumps I get on the sides of my cheeks and face and on my forehead have gone and it's helped keep away any larger spots. I feel like the darker/uneven areas of my skin have faded and brightened. They don't make my skin feel tight or dry or cause any irritation or redness. I think the La Roche Posay Effaclar Foaming Gel & Duo Plus will also be perfect for my daughter who is a pre-teen and starting to get the odd spot and also has sensitive skin.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
3.0/5
20th July, 2018 at 8:29 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
La Roche Posay® Effaclar Foaming Gel & Duo Plus Re

I was fortunate to receive both of these products as apart of the trial team.

The foaming gel is a gel cleaser that comes in a squeeze tube, the Duo Plus has cream formual and also comes in a squeeze tube with a thin nozzle. Both products have a floral soap fragrence. I used aproximatetly a dollar coin sized amount of each product for my whole face.

I found the cleanser was a little drying on my skin and over all just average. I did like the Duo Plus, and think it did help a little with my skin texture. However I did not notice any significant reduction in oilyness, acne or other imperfections. I will use up the cleanser on my chest acne but I will not purchase this as I finf there are better cleansers availble at the supermarket. I did like the Duo Plus, and would consider purchasing it, hiwecer because it is so expensive and you get little product with minimal results I'm not sure if its worth it. I will see if it makes more of a difference over time.

Overall, I think these products worked well together, however I did not notice any significant results, which for the price of these products is disapointing. If you have minor oilyness and imperfections you may really like these products, but if you have moderate to severe oilyness and imperfections I do not thinknuoh would notice enough of a difference for it to be worth it.

Tips: If the cleanser is too drying on your face, it makes a nice body cleanser. Use the Duo Plus inbetween cleansing and moisturizing to help with texture.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
2.3/5
20th July, 2018 at 8:13 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Mixed feelings about this range.

I have mixed feelings about both of these products from La Roche-Posay I trialled. I think the product range would be better suited for just oily skin rather then oily or combination/sensitive skin as I found the purfying foaming gel very drying on my cheeks and it made my sensitivity worse in this area. It did seem to help the areas around my T-Zone with excess oil but this came at the expensive of my cheeks so unfortunately I will not continue to use this.

The Effaclar duo plus initially confused me as I wasn’t sure what it actually was! I decided to use it as a spot treatment (corrector) for mild acne on my cheeks and for blackheads on my nose rather then as a whole face product. I will continue to use up the Effaclar duo plus as it did help with acne but I probably would not repurchase once used up as it seems rather expensive for such a small tube.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
5.0/5
20th July, 2018 at 8:12 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
A product that does what it says it will

I was super excited to test these products because I have an annoying face. Not annoying in the sense you will look at me and get annoyed (well, maybe..) but annoying in the fact that I am 35 and still get pizza face every 21 to 28 days. I had never heard of this brand before but it sounded pretty fancy. And it’s French. I love French bread so I guess I’m kind of predisposed to like anything French. Both products came in minimal packaging which is always a positive, and were easy to use for each of the purposes they were designed for. The gel was in a decent sized squeezey bottle which was unassuming in the corner of the shower, while the cream was in a slimline tube that found it’s home next to my toothbrush. A slight issue on the packaging was the number of languages they tried to fit on it in a small font which made it tricky to find the English and decipher the instructions. Neither product smelled that good. The best way to describe it is dead petals but it wasn’t too overpowering as to ruin the experience. One day after using these products my face felt cleaner and more fresh. A couple of days after use I started to notice a remarkable difference in my skins texture and clarity - not only was my face softer my blackhead count was lower than it has been in 20 years!

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
3.0/5
20th July, 2018 at 7:57 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
La Roche Posay® Effaclar Foaming Gel & Duo Plus

I was excited to try these products because I have been curious to try this brand after I started seeing them in store and online.

I thought the cleanser was a really nice, simple cleanser for my oily skin. I liked the way my skin felt afterwards. I feel like it would have the tendency to be a bit drying if I used it twice a day, every day but I find it not too bad for a once a day use.

I want overly impressed with the Duo Plus, as I felt it wasn't hydrating enough to be a moisturizer yet it didn't perform very well as an acne treatment.

I still got some breakouts and didn't really notice any of the dark marks on my skin fading from using this.

I also found that I got quite dry around the creases in my nose when using this twice a day, so would perhaps not recommend using morning and night.

Overall, I would continue using them but not sure I would repurchase for the price.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
3.0/5
20th July, 2018 at 6:44 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
La Roche Posay Effaclar Foaming Gel & Duo Plus

I was very excited when I got into this trial team, as the products looked fancy and the description sounded like exactly what I needed. My skin can get very oily and I suffer from pimples regularly, but some products can dry my skin out and make it flakey and red.

I liked the packaging - nice and sleek like I expected. The Duo Plus product could have given slightly more specific instructions though! The cleanser is a great size, and even the moisturiser is quite generous as you don’t need a lot per application.

The two products certainly didn’t make my skin worse, however I didn’t notice any extreme positive differences unfortunately. And I found that with the Duo Plus product, I felt like I still had to use my normal acne treatment and most days I also had to use my normal moisturiser (or my skin would feel a little bit dry and tight)… plus I ended up using my normal primer in the morning to get a good make up base (even though the Duo Plus is meant to be the perfect base for makeup). So… in reality the Duo Plus was an extra step that didn’t really seem to do anything special.

I did notice that my skin wasn’t excessively oily by end of day, so that was a plus. But I’m not sure that it helped with any pimples - I had a few during the trial (and in different places than normal). Almost being at that time of the month may have contributed though! It did keep me relatively non-oily in the afternoons, but there was a bit of shine. It’s hard to tell if any product would really keep oil away though if that’s your skin type.

I think the range might be better suited for summer time - where shine can be at its peak but skin doesn’t dry out as badly. I’ll keep using the products, but I think that I might bring them back out once the weather starts heating up.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
4.7/5
20th July, 2018 at 6:29 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
La Roche Posay® Effaclar Foaming Gel & Duo Plus

La Roche Posay® Effaclar Foaming Gel & Duo Plus is a fabulous two product system for those with oily and/or problematic skin.

After two weeks of using both products twice daily, I have found a noticeable reduction in the size of long-term, under the skin blemishes around my jawline and chin. I have also noticed my skin feels smoother and is clear and even in skin tone. I also feel my enlarged pores are more refined in appearance.

Overall, I am thrilled with La Roche Posay® Effaclar Foaming Gel & Duo Plus and will continue to use both products as a topical treatment when my skin is extra oily or breaking out.

The only reason I will not be using La Roche Posay® Effaclar Foaming Gel & Duo Plus daily is that my mature skin is more combination than all over oily and is better suited to a skin care system designed specifically for aging skin.

I can't recommend both products enough!

Tips: Your skin may break out during the first week of use but persevere as it will quickly clear and settle down. You can also use an additional moisturiser along with the Effaclar Duo Plus if you feel in need of extra hydration.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

New?

to find out why you
should join New Zealand's largest beauty website

Click here

Beauty Poll

See all
Are You Currently Using MANUKA HONEY Beauty Products?

Are You Currently Using MANUKA HONEY Beauty Products?

I am - I'll tell you what in the comments!

view results

Review of the Day
emilyplum78
La Roche Posay Effaclar Foaming Gel and Duo Plus
These products work as a 2 step programme to effectively control oily and… more »