Vault

Max value reached

Adding this item would put you over your total vault limit of $250. please review your cart to stay under the limit.

Welcome to

Beauty Review

Want to be advised of trial teams we’re running, giveaways, great beauty offers and competitions? Sign up to receive our newsletter now, it’s easy.

Essano Clear Complexion Certified Organic Mist Toner Review
Share with a friend
Would use it again? 3.4/5
Did it do what it said it would? 3.7/5
Would recommend it to a friend? 3.5/5

Essano Clear Complexion Certified Organic Mist Toner Review

Overall rating:
3.6/5

Balance and refine skin with this light hydrating mist. Witch Hazel and Willow Bark work to clarify and refine pores, while soothing Green Tea and Chamomile calm and balance skin.

Pack Size:  120ml 

RRP:  $12.99

Website:  www.essano.co.nz

back

Found in:

Write a review

To allow us record accurate reviews we require you to register.

Looking to rate this product?

Please sign in or register.

Overall rating:
4.7/5
5th February, 2018 at 7:49 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Love this mist!

I have to admit I was sceptical and wasn’t expecting much after the last ( which was also the first I admit) mist toner I purchased. But I really feel despite its slightly dull packaging I love it! I really feel it makes my skin feel and look better! It has a light but refreshing scent and I think my skin just appears a little more Matt and pores less giant after I apply this. I really only bought it to spritz in the heat but I will definitely continue to purchase!

Tips: Best to hold a little further from face than normal for a light and even spray as over application might feel a little tacky and gluey

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
3.0/5
18th December, 2017 at 11:58 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Nice toner

I have only used a couple of toners in the past, and I haven't had good experiences with them. I thought that this toner would dry out my skin and make it feel really tight, but it didn't.

I really liked how this toner is in a spray bottle because it's way easier (and more eco friendly) than using cotton pads every day. It's really easy to use and doesn't dry out my skin whatsoever.

The only thing I don't like about this toner is the smell. It's not horrible, it's just weird and I can't put my finger on what it actually smells like. Although it doesn't linger and you can only smell it when you spray it, so that's a bonus.

Because I have been using these products as a system, I can't actually tell which product is doing what for my skin. However because this product contains witch hazel and chamomile, I would assume this product plays a big part in why my skin has cleared up so much while using this system. I will definitely keep using this product because it's so easy, and it's worth continuing to use it just because of the convenience.

Tips: Spray your face a couple of times morning and night after cleansing and before moisturising.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
4.0/5
18th December, 2017 at 11:57 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Mist Toner

I've never owned a toner before, and never really included using a toner in my skincare routine. I wasn't quite sure how to use it and what it does and I had nothing to compare it to. I used it before putting my makeup on, and after using moisturiser and cleanser.

I loved the smell of it, and it was really refreshing using this on my face. I also got really badly sunburnt on my shoulders and it helped take away the stinging of my sunburn (I don't know why and I don't think that's what it's meant for at all, but it worked for me haha!)

I probably wouldn't purchase again, just for the fact of me never using toner, but will continue to use this along with the rest of the set, as I noticed positive results while using this whole set! My skin feels and looks a lot smoother and less red!!

Tips: Apply before makeup

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
1.0/5
18th December, 2017 at 10:02 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Give this one a miss...

As someone with oily and blemished skin, I rely on toners to further clarify and soothe my skin. As the cleanser in this range was quiet gentle I was hoping this toner would add an extra bit of oomph.

This was very dissappointing....The mister on this bottle is terrible, it just squirts a bit of product onto the skin, rather than creating a mist. I had to use four sprays to get the main parts of my face and then rub it in.

I also the product to be quiet thick, which didn't work well with the mister and left my skin feeling sticky. It didn't really absorb until I added the moisturizer.

Normally with toners I find the help clean my pores and balance my skin. I don't feel like this did anything. Although my skin was less oily, I can't confidently contribute that to this product. I wouldn't use this again, and although it works well if you use the regime of products I wouldn't recommend this as a stand alone product.

Tips: If your set on trying this, decant it into a different mister bottle as the mister on this is terrible. Use with other products in the Essano Clear complexion range for best results.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

I wonder if you got a faulty bottle? I thought my mister was really nice!

Overall rating:
5.0/5
18th December, 2017 at 9:30 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Refreshing

I love how this range is organic.

The spray bottle has a great spray. I don’t find that I get big random droplets on my face. It’s quite even.

It feels super refreshing and it has a faint clean scent. It is perfect for these hot summer days when you need a quick refreshing spray!

My skin feels tight afterwards but with a bit of moisturiser it feels better

I really like this product. I feel like it helps to control oil while tightening my pores

Tips: Keep in the fridge for an extra cool blast

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
1.3/5
18th December, 2017 at 9:27 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Unfortunate reactions

I trialled this mist toner when BR sent me the whole Essano Clear Complexion range. Unfortunately, I cannot give a complete review of this product as the two times I used it my face went bright red and hot in some sort of reaction to it. As a result I gave it to a friend, as it's clearly not for me, and she loved it! There must just be one ingredient in it that is not in the other products in the range that my skin reacted badly with. The product smells lovely and worked well for my friend, so I'm sure it's fine for most people. I don't usually have allergic reactions to anything or have sensitive skin - just an unlucky one this time!

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
4.0/5
18th December, 2017 at 7:45 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Misty Fresh!

I've never been able to consistently use a toner, and I can't believe what I was missing out on! This toner made my skin feel fresh, clean, and revived! I have never been a huge fan of Essano products, so would have never bought this product for myself, but I am so glad I got to trial this product because it completely changed my mind!

What I think made this toner work for me better than other toners in the way that I could stick to using it, was its ease of use. All the other toners I've ever owned have been in bottles that I've had to use an cotton pad to swipe on. However, this one comes in a spray bottle which makes using it easy and immediate. The only issue I had with it is the spray is very strong so you have to hold it quite far from your face to get a light coverage which is what the bottle suggests.

It really made my skin feel revitalised, and after only a month I think I'm starting to see improvement in the balance of my skin and my oil production. Despite this, the toner itself did make my skin feel a little bit sticky and appear slightly shiny which meant I couldn't really see the benefit of reduced oil production unless I was wearing makeup as it didn't melt off as my makeup usually doesn't

Overall, I really enjoyed using this product as I think it has helped my skin and am definitely going to use every last drop!

Tips: Hold the bottle at an arm's length to get an even most across your face.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
5.0/5
18th December, 2017 at 5:59 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Essano Clear Complexion Certified Organic Mist Ton

Aleyah (15) loved using a spray toner instead of a wipe on toner. She said it was very refreshing and her pores did feel closed. She says it contributed to a less oily complexion. A spray toner is way easier to use.

She loved the fragrance and will definitely continue to use. She said it's also really good to spray your face in this hot summer weather. The packaging is very pretty and appealing, an easy to use smooth rounded bottle with pump action spray top.

Tips: You can use over make up too

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
3.3/5
18th December, 2017 at 5:13 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Middle of the road Mist

I have recently been integrating a mist toner into my usual skin routine, so was super excited to try this! This has a similar white and pink colour theme as the rest range, in a spray bottle. It was easy to get the bottle to spray (it wasn’t too stiff or hard to press or anything), except I found the droplets that came out to be too large- for me it wasn’t fine enough. The first time I used it, the product wasn’t distributed very evenly and I had areas where there was a lot of product compared to others. I found that holding the bottle further away (about arms length or a bit less) made the spray droplets finer and helped the distribute the product more evenly. That said, it felt really hydrating and refreshing! It doesn’t take too long to dry either, as I usually like to wait for it to try before putting on my next product. I couldn’t quite figure out the smell, I expected it to smell similar to the cleanser, however it smelt completely different. It smelt more chemically than the others, it had a bit of a weird smell that I couldn’t really out my finger on. I used this after cleansing and before serum, which I usually find works well for me. My skin is pretty sensitive but I didn’t get any reactions or redness from this product which was great! I didn’t find that it left a lot of residue on my skin- it seemed to absorb and wasn’t sticky when I went to apply the next product. While I did like this, I am not sure it is the best out there, but for $13 it’s not bad!

Tips: Hold about arms length away before spraying to get a finer mist

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
3.0/5
18th December, 2017 at 8:33 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Decent Toner

I like that the bottle easily allows you to identify what it is. It claims to be a mist toner, but isn't quite fine enough to be a mist, only misty at arm's length.

It smells quite strong and sweet, and seems to stay on the skin, but is not sticky. It is very hydrating though, and I feel that my skin is refreshed and less oily.

Overall, it is a decent toner, but I don't normally prioritise toners anyway, and this didn't work wonders for me so I probably wouldn't repurchase. I feel that there would be better toners, which smell less strongly, and have an even mist.

Tips: Hold at arm's length for mist! Otherwise it just drips down your face

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

New?

to find out why you
should join New Zealand's largest beauty website

Click here

Beauty Poll

See all
Are You Currently Using MANUKA HONEY Beauty Products?

Are You Currently Using MANUKA HONEY Beauty Products?

I am - I'll tell you what in the comments!

view results

Review of the Day
emilyplum78
La Roche Posay Effaclar Foaming Gel and Duo Plus
These products work as a 2 step programme to effectively control oily and… more »