Vault

Max value reached

Adding this item would put you over your total vault limit of $250. please review your cart to stay under the limit.

Olay Complete UV Lotion Sensitive Skin SPF30 Review

Olay Complete UV Lotion Sensitive Skin SPF30 Reviews
Overall rating from 39 reviews so far:
4.5/5
Would use it again?
4.4/5
Did it do what it said it would?
4.4/5
Would recommend it to a friend?
4.4/5

Olay Complete Defence SPF30+ (sensitive) is enriched with Olay moisturisers for daily hydration and SPF30+ UVA/UVB broad-spectrum protection, to protect against premature ageing and the damageing effects of daily UV exposure. Best of all, the unique Olay formula is light enough to wear every day! 

Its light, non-greasy formula with vitamin E, aloe and green tea extract absorbs quickly into your skin to replenish moisture, without leaving skin greasy. Its broad-spectrum UVA/UVB helps protect your skin against the sun's harmful rays, helping to prevent sun damage and premature skin Ageing. For maximum protection against the harmful effects of UV exposure, apply Complete Defence Daily UV Moisturising Lotion SPF30+ daily, all year round. 

Recommended by the Skin Cancer Foundation, New York. 

Pack Size 75ml

Availability New World, Countdown, Pak'nSave, Farmers

Website www.olay.co.nz



RRP: $14.99

Write a review

Please sign in to write a review.

Not yet registered?

It's super simple and only takes 30 seconds.

Register now

How would you rate this product?

Olay Complete UV Lotion Sensitive Skin SPF30 Reviews

Olay Complete UV Lotion Sensitive Skin SPF30 Review

Reviews

Overall rating:
3.3/5
22nd July, 2018
1 members found this review useful
Shine like the sun

Sunscreen is probably the only consistent thing in my life. I religiously apply sunscreen every morning as long as it's not raining outside. I was quite excited to review this, because the other Olay items I've used before were all pretty darn good!

To start off, the packaging is really cute, with a pump that can be twisted into a shut/locked position. This makes it perfect for the handbag so I can reapply on the go. I was a little surprised by how little product you get though, considering supermarket suncreen is way cheaper for much more volume.

The texture is on the thin side, so it spreads very easily. One pump is perfect for my face, but I like to put some on my neck too so I did an extra pump. It was to easy rub in and felt light when wearing it. It felt moisturing and had no unpleasant odor. But immediately I noticed my face looking extremely oily. Not like the usual 'glowing dewy skin', but full on lathered baby oil on my face kind of oily. My usual natio sunscreen also gives me a bit of unwanted shine, but not as bad as this. I tried patting it in a bit more, but nope, there's just this stubborn layer of shinyness that floats on top of my face. A little disgruntled, I let it sit for 5 minutes, hoping that it'll absorb in and look a bit more subtle. But in the end I had to use an oil blotting paper and then apply transluscent powder over top.

In terms of sun protection I'd assume it's doing its job. I always wear a hat when I'm out in direct sunlight and try avoid too much sun if possible (I burn like a vampire) so I can't actually vouch for whether it protects you from the rays of a mid-day sun. But for everyday use when you're only in the sun for short amounts of time this should be sufficient.

Overall this isn't too bad, but my current sunscreen is much less greasy looking and packs a better bang for your buck. So I wouldn't go out and purchase this.

Tips: The bottle is refillable! So when it runs out you can pump sunscreen from a big value bottle into it for taking on the gol

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
MareeB
28th July, 2018

Good thinking Charmmy-Kitty, I didn't think of that! It is a great bottle. Great review by the way :)

Overall rating:
4.0/5
27th July, 2018
1 members found this review useful
Olay Complete UV Lotion Sensitive Skin SPF30

I was fortunate to be chosen to review this product, just in time for mid-winter when my skin seems to be needing all the moisturising help it can get.

First up is the bottle it comes in, it’s a great size, it will slot nicely into your bag if necessary and the twist top on/off pump-action is great for travellers, no messy leaks to be found here. It has a very light scent, nothing to offend and not over-powering in any way. Pump action bottles always leave me indecisive, a) I know some people don’t like dipping their fingers day after day into pots, but at least you can get all the product out and there’s no wasteage, b) some pump action bottles are great at getting most of the product out of the bottom, some not so much. Unfortunately due to the time limit on testing this I can’t give an answer on this burning question.

It’s lovely to apply, it leaves an almost cooling sensation when applied to the skin and for me the big plus is that it absorbs really quickly, so only a few minutes waiting-around-time before applying primer/foundation etc. When not applying any makeup over the top, it does leave your skin feeling moisturised all day, great for the weekends when it’s a no make-up and pj zone in my house. The SPF30 is a big plus in my book, so I will definitely be looking at purchasing again.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Julieal
29th July, 2018

Yes I find a makeup free day too that this product is perfect

Overall rating:
4.3/5
28th July, 2018
1 members found this review useful
Olay Complete UV Lotion for Sensitive Skin

First impressions - pleasing shaped and sized bottle that would tuck easily into a handbag pocket , ready for top ups - holding lotion that absorbed quickly and easily and left my skin feeling soft not sticky. Although I am now in my 80s I still want/need to protect my fair skin but previous experiences with many SPF creams and lotions have always left a sticky feel and I have needed to resort to using SPF liquid foundations even when I don't feel the need for complete make-up. What joy - unless I am going anywhere special - I can now care for my face and neck with just one very fast and easy application. I felt some slight concern at reading the direction to apply lavishly (surely this small bottle would not last long?) but this was allayed when I found that 2 to 3 small squirts gave ample coverage. I certainly rate this product quite highly and it is only that it is now winter and I can't test it in strong sunlight that my total rating is not 100% It would be good to perhaps have a larger sized bottle available as well.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
MareeB
28th July, 2018

Great review!

Overall rating:
4.0/5
28th July, 2018
1 members found this review useful
Very Good Lotion

I was given this product to trial and was very pleased for two reasons - the first is that I love Olay and the second is that I'm on the lookout for a good SPF moisturiser with spring approaching.

This product comes in a cute plastic pump bottle with Olay branding. Simple, and easy to use, it is 75ml and great for purses, glove boxes or work desks.

The lotion itself is quite thick, which I like a lot. It absorbs quickly into my skin, which I also like, and doesn't leave any red or blotchy patches - another tick. It claims to be a light, non greasy formula, which it is, that has ingredients that absorb quickly into the skin to replenish moisture, without leaving skin greasy. I say this is completely true.

I already have a favorite day lotion that has never been topped. The primary feature that makes it unique to me, is the silky feel it leaves on my skin once applied. This product leaves a similar silky feeling, and my skin feels very soft after using it. I take the advice to 'use liberally' very seriously, as I have a tendency to use a lot of products more liberally than is recommended. I have dry skin though and don't want to leave any patch untended.

I like this lotion very much. I can't speak for whether or not the SPF30 does what it should, being in the south and being winter, but I'm glad to see a day lotion that has it. It is certainly gentle for sensitive skin too.

At $15, I think the price is very good. I do recommend it and think it has something for everyone.

Tips: Apply liberally to clean skin in the morning, and throughout the day if you're not wearing make-up!

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Overall rating:
5.0/5
28th July, 2018
0 members found this review useful
Olay Complete UV Sensitive skin SPF 39

I really like this stuff!. Unscented and coloured white, the consistency is thicker than a lotion but thinner than a cream. The bottle is a nice size and is a pump style. Two pumps are enough to cover my face and neck. This stuff feels moisturising and leaves no chalky looking residue and also no greasiness. My skin feels moisturised and protectes from the sun. With a great, affordable price point, I feel that this will be a great addition for summer skin.

Tips: So handy, versatile and cheap...use it, often.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Overall rating:
4.3/5
29th July, 2018
0 members found this review useful
No WOW factor but !!!

This product comes well packaged in a cute pump bottle enclosed in a carton with clear instructions ,benefits and ingredients and warnings on the outside of the box. I was really keen to try as I have very sensitive skin and am outside a lot in the garden so the fact that not only is this a moisturiser but has sun protection SPF30 appealed to me greatly. First application I overdid the application and also had not read the warning properly and ended up irritating my eyes however that was my fault as Warning on package clearly states may irritate eyes so do read first. The pump is easy to use and has a good lock on so great if you want to pop in your bag and the lotion is a nice texture with a very faint pleasant scent. With the directions apply liberally and massage in I overdid the first applications but with further use found 3 or 4 pumps sufficient to give plenty of product to massage into my neck and face. The initial feel was a little greasy but after a few minutes the product absorbed nicely into my skin but I would imagine with containing sunscreen this would be expected. With using every day I have found my skin has felt really nice and healthy looking with a very slight sheen which looks good and as I am very bad at appying sunscreen I feel this is a massive benefit over all. I use this moisturiser every day I am outside in the garden but if I am in a hurry to apply my makeup would use another moisturiser as this product needs a few minutes to absorb so hard to apply other make up straight away over top however this is a minor problem as I am sure if you were to apply sunscreen you would also have to allow time for absorption. Although not my favourite moisturiser this is a great everyday protection and at $15 for 75 ml well priced. I am also impressed Olay is a financial supporter of the Skin Cancer Society as this gives me more confidence in the sunscreen aspect of the product.

Tips: Read warning and be careful near eyes as advised.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Overall rating:
5.0/5
30th July, 2018
0 members found this review useful
Great light every day moisturiser

I really liked this moisturiser it had a light consistency that dried down quickly (2mins) which I prefer (I don't like moisturiser that still feels wet/greasy on your skin for awhile after application!). I like the twist top application nozzle, as I find this style best for travel as it's the least likely to open & explode through your bag which is always a plus. It has a pleasant fragrance- I wouldn't be able to tell you what the fragrance is though- & it doesn't hang around once it dries down you can't really smell it. I always find it hard to comment on the longevity of moisturisers because obviously you can't see them- but it left my skin feeling soft & supple all day- so I'd say it wears well. I love that it's SPF 30 because so many moisturisers are only SPF 15, it's also very good in terms of being good for sensitive skin my skin is quite reactive so I would notice it feeling stingy if it didn't sit well. Overall great product & great price!

Tips: No, pretty self explanatory!

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Overall rating:
4.3/5
30th July, 2018
1 members found this review useful
Nice & Light sun protection

I must have an SPF in my daily moisturiser, so I was excited to be selected to trial the Olay Complete UV Lotion - thanks BR!

The lotion comes in a lovely bottle with a pump dispenser. One pump of product is enough for coverage for my face, neck and I also used it on my hands.

The product is nice and light - the scent reminds me of a subtle sunscreen type of smell. Not overly perfumed which is good. Using around the eye area I also didn't get any product stinging that I sometimes do with a sunscreen product.

Applying the lotion, it definitely has characteristics of a face sunscreen (it goes on a little whiter than a moisturiser) - but it's not heavy and it doesn't leave that white sunscreen residue behind - it blends in instantly.

It applies really smoothly, and is very light on the skin and absorbs really quickly. You don't have to spend any extra time blending it into your skin. The finish is not greasy/shiny, just lightly moisturised.

Being so light, and non-greasy makeup applied over top wasn't an issue. My skin felt adequately nourished and protected.

I also mixed the lotion with a long wear foundation, that I'd found a little drying as just a foundation, and created a nice coverage BB cream using the lotion and it applied really nicely too!

It's a great lotion for the price. A good level of SPF protection. It would be full marks for this review if it was SPF50+ - that's a personal preference for my pale skin and our harsh sun!

Tips: Apply the lotion to your hands - they get the most sun exposure and tend to age fast!

Re-use the bottle with your favourite products.... it's cute, and a perfect size for the handbag or glove box

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
MareeB
30th July, 2018

Great tip to apply to your hands I mean - I didn't think of that!

MareeB
30th July, 2018

Great tip! and great review :)

Overall rating:
3.7/5
30th July, 2018
0 members found this review useful
Handy product!

I have used this product everyday since I recieved it, so for just under 2 weeks now :)

The packaging is a cute small bottle with a pump top - for easy, mess free application, it has a very slight smell - similar to that of sunscreen, but its not overpowering.

My skin is on the drier side so I use 1.5 pumps for a full face and neck application, sometimes 2 pumps if im feeling a littler drier than usual. The moisturiser goes on smoothly and blends in well, I do find the finish to feel a little tacky, so I like to go make a coffee or do something else before appying my foundation, when the moisturiser is left to settle I find my foundation applies beautifully with no streaks or other issues.

The only downside to this product for me was that I notice a stinging of the eyes when applied too closely, so I do try to avoid the eye area.

Tips: Apply down the next and onto chest area for added SPF coverage!

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Overall rating:
4.7/5
30th July, 2018
0 members found this review useful
Light and fragrance-free

I've used another Olay product similar to this before which I've had no trouble with, same packaging (unfortunately can't remember the name) so I have no trouble with it. It feels light to put on and none-greasy, no fragrance I could detect, although we only get 2 weeks to test this and it's in the middle of winter, so I can't vouch for its SPF component, TBA! Generally great for everyday use.

Tips: Simple to use, no hassle!

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Have You Registered With NZ's Biggest Beauty Guide?

We're always looking for great reviewers to send FREE, FULL SIZED Beauty Products to!

Register today, and help New Zealand never make a Bad Beauty Buy again!

Register Here!