Vault

Max value reached

Adding this item would put you over your total vault limit of $250. please review your cart to stay under the limit.

Braun July
Braun July

Olay Complete UV Lotion Sensitive Skin SPF30 Review

Olay Complete UV Lotion Sensitive Skin SPF30 Reviews
Overall rating from 40 reviews so far:
4.5/5
Would use it again?
4.5/5
Did it do what it said it would?
4.5/5
Would recommend it to a friend?
4.5/5

Olay Complete Defence SPF30+ (sensitive) is enriched with Olay moisturisers for daily hydration and SPF30+ UVA/UVB broad-spectrum protection, to protect against premature ageing and the damageing effects of daily UV exposure. Best of all, the unique Olay formula is light enough to wear every day! 

Its light, non-greasy formula with vitamin E, aloe and green tea extract absorbs quickly into your skin to replenish moisture, without leaving skin greasy. Its broad-spectrum UVA/UVB helps protect your skin against the sun's harmful rays, helping to prevent sun damage and premature skin Ageing. For maximum protection against the harmful effects of UV exposure, apply Complete Defence Daily UV Moisturising Lotion SPF30+ daily, all year round. 

Recommended by the Skin Cancer Foundation, New York. 

Pack Size 75ml

Availability New World, Countdown, Pak'nSave, Farmers

Website www.olay.co.nz



Write a review

Please sign in to write a review.

Not yet registered?

It's super simple and only takes 30 seconds.

Register now

How would you rate this product?

Olay Complete UV Lotion Sensitive Skin SPF30 Reviews

Olay Complete UV Lotion Sensitive Skin SPF30 Review

Reviews

Overall rating:
5.0/5
1st August, 2018
0 members found this review useful
a moisturiser like no other!

I really like this Olay’s complete defence moisturiser!

It really catered to my sensitive skin, having no breakouts after using it religiously - day and night! I like how it has an applicator which makes it very easy to use with its light consistency. This moisturiser is also very compact, quite easy to travel with. It also doesn’t have a strong smell to it which is more favourable to me. The SPF30 is just an added bonus! The price is reasonable for its great quality! Highly recommended!

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Overall rating:
4.7/5
1st August, 2018
0 members found this review useful
Olay Complete UV Lotion Sensitive Skin SPF30

Finally an SPF moisturiser that doesn't smell strongly like sunscreen! I'm very fair skinned and know I should wear a sunscreen based product year round, but the strong sunscreen smell of all the products I have come across has been enough to put me off each time. I'm grateful to have been able to trial this product and will definitely be buying it after my bottle runs out. Regarding the SPF factor, I thought it was only fair to provide a 4/5 rating for the "Did it do what it said it would" as it's winter and I can't accurately test if the SPF factor has worked or not, but in all other areas I have no complaints. I love the non-greasy feel of it on my skin, the easy/quick absorption times and it definitely hasn't clogged my pores as other products have done in the past - it's light enough to wear under my foundation without it feeling like it's weighing my face down which is great. I use three to four pumps of the product and it's plenty to do my face, neck and cleavage/chest, so it does go a long way. Overall I'm extremely happy with this product and won't hesitate to keep it in my beauty regime going forward.

Tips: I've been using an extra pump of the product on the backs of my hands as well... figured it won't hurt for them to be SPF'd either, especially coming into summer as our hands tend to get overlooked :)

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Overall rating:
3.0/5
1st August, 2018
0 members found this review useful
Moisturizer with SPF

The lotion comes in a pump lid type bottle and has very light texture that glides on the skin and easily absorbed without leaving a greasy feel. The products aren’t natural but worked well for my sensitive skin and I didn’t end up with breakouts. I was really happy that it contained SPF 30 and approved by the cancer foundation. I must admit I don’t always apply sunscreen after moisturizing,so to have this 2 in 1 product that actually worked was really good. Single pump was enough for me, and worked really well with makeup as well. I actually preferred this over my primer so and extra tick from me. The pack size is good and easily to have in your bag and is really affordable. Certainly recommend it to people with dry and sensitive skin.

Tips: Ideal for dry skin and people who want a daily light moisturizer with sun protection.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Overall rating:
5.0/5
1st August, 2018
0 members found this review useful
One Word. WOW.

My daughter is constantly nagging me about wearing sunscreen. I know I should. I work with the eldery and so many of them are suffering from skin cancer - its a real epidemic here in NZ. And yet, I confess, I hate wearing sunscreen. In fact I only do so during summer, on those really hot days.

To make my beauty crime worse - I have sensitive skin that is prone to redness. And yet I can't get over hating sunscreen on my face. The greasy, oily feeling, The residue. The smell.

The Olay UV Lotion is a generous factor 30 and is marketed for sensitive skin. It says its moisturising, but as I've yet to find a sunscreen that seems to absorb, I confess. I wasn't expecting much.

But inside this cute little pump bottle lies the sunscreen holy grail. This is quite literally a high protection sunscreen, in a beautifully formulated moisturiser. Its creamy, but quite thin, so it spreads far, and you don't need to slip, slap, slop it on, to get a decent coverage. In saying that, as it was a trial for sunscreen, I also wasn't stingy with the product. One pump just seems to go really far. 2 pumps was a generous amount for my face and neck.

It doesn't smell overly sunscreen-y. Another benefit.

Winter is being quite kind down south - we're having t-shirt weather days and the sun is really quite strong at times. Probably due to the fact my skin hasn't been abused badly by the weather - I found this product more than hydrating enough for me to use solo as my daily moisturiser. In colder, more bitter conditions, I'd probably need to add in an extra moisturising layer.

But I will be repurchasing this and I will continue to use daily - rain or shine.

Daughter stop nagging now.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Overall rating:
5.0/5
1st August, 2018
0 members found this review useful
Sensitive and sensible sun protection

I was picked to trial this by BR on a trial team. Looking after your skin is so important and one of the best things you can do is protect it from the sun. I am ashamed to admit that even with all the effort I put into my skincare I still wasn't regularly using sunblock on my face. I have a thing about sunblock, to be quick I really dislike it on my skin, especially my face! This product has changed all of that for me. It is a nice moisturiser that you almost don't know has SPF 30 in ti. The consistency and texture of the product is exactly what you expect from a moisturiser. There is a slight scent to the product but, and this is important, it doesn't smell like sunblock! It goes nicely onto my skin and sinks in well. As claimed it does not feel greasy on my skin and I tend to have more oily skin to begin with. I usually have a settling in period with any new skincare product, especially moisturisers, but I haven't had the usual breakout and unsettled skin with this one. My skin quite likes it and it's perfect timing for summer to get myself in the routine of wearing sunblock on my face everyday, not just in summer! The packaging of this product is a functional plastic pump bottle. It dispenses the right amount of product onto your finger and you don't have to put your fingers in the product like if it was in a jar. I've really enjoyed using this product, it's been great for sensitive skin and I am going to continue using it in the future.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Overall rating:
5.0/5
1st August, 2018
0 members found this review useful
Really Nice!

Comes in a nice cute wee bottle with a pump nozzle that turns to turn on and off. Nice and compact size to just chuck in your handbag or makeup bag. The product feels nice applied on, dries quick doesn’t feel sticky. For something that has a spf 30, there’s no major shine like sunscreens have. For someone whose skin can be sensitive, I haven’t had any reactions using this. My skin is a lot nicer and youthful looking since I’ve been using this. I will definitely buy in future. Such a nice facil moisturiser. I love it!

Tips: Apply daily for best results. Apply prior to any makeup application as a base, or for moisture.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Overall rating:
3.7/5
1st August, 2018
0 members found this review useful
I wanted to love it!

I was so excited to be selected for this trial, being in my *cough* 40's sunscreen was never something that I grew up incorporating into my beauty routine much to my regret :( Now that I'm a grown up I've tried several face sunscreens that always seemed to make my face either break out, look like an oil slick or both! Olay Complete UV Lotion gets close but still the search still continues. I love the packaging of the product, huuuuge fan fan of a pump bottle so you get what you need without having to scoop product out with your fingers! The lotion itself is a good thickness, I could detect a slight sunscreen fragrance but that's probably my hypersensitive nose! I used two pumps for my face and neck, added another if my skin felt very dry and that was plenty so the smaller than expected bottle will last quite a while. This is where it falls down for me unfortunately. The lotion sat quite heavy and shiny on my face and didn't absorb very well. If I applied any less my face felt dry so it's a very fine line! I got into the habit of applying the lotion then going and having breakfast so whatever hadn't absorbed after breakfast could be blotted away before applying my face for the day. This worked well but it's not something that I could do everyday as I like my sleep too much! That's really the only thing that would stop my repurchasing this product as the size of the bottle and the idea of the product are ideal for me!

Tips: Keep it in your handbag for summer days where a quick spf top up may be needed!

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Overall rating:
5.0/5
31st July, 2018
0 members found this review useful
Great for winter

I needed a SPF rated moisturiser for winter and most only have a SPF rating of 15 - too low for those wintry days with sunny afternoons. This product is a lightweight solution, offering a nice medium rating of SPF 30 for protection whilst not being heavy or oily. It came in a standard Olay pump bottle which I really like as you squeeze only a little product at a time to avoid waste, and it can lock into place so perfect for travelling. It doesn't smell much like anything, so suitable for my sensitive skin. It does what it says it does without the frills.

Tips: I put this on under makeup but I always wait at least 6 minutes, which is the recommended absorption time for the sunscreen to stay put.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Overall rating:
3.0/5
31st July, 2018
0 members found this review useful
Olay Complete UV Lotion Sensitive Skin SPF30

BR sent me this product to review which is nice as my current every day skin care has since stopped being easy to source. This product is designed with sensitive skin in mind and I found when I used it I had no irritation and it is not strongly perfumed like other Olay products. I find it is perhaps almost a cream than a lotion it is quite thick but not over heavy it says in the description it is not greasy which it is actually a wee bit but as I said not heavy I think it is still a cream than a lotion though. I decided to research the things in this product to find out for myself mainly if it can fight my crows feet & wrinkles effectivley. I found: Salicylic acid is in one of the active additives in the chemical composition of this product (namely part of the sunscreen additive Homosalate) which means this Olay product may be good for acne prone skin as salicylic acid is found in most acne fighting products. When I saw the name "olay complete defense" I thought this was going to be an all in one product "to fight the 7 signs of aging" as they have advertised in their other products. I soon realized that this Olay product seems to really just be a sun screen moisturizer. It says it is recommended by the skin cancer foundation but the product is made in Thailand then distributed to Australia so I am not sure the origin of the skin cancer foundation. Elsewhere on the box it says OLAY is a financial supporter of the New York skin cancer foundation for its recommendation. This is perhaps a conflict of interest because are paid to recommend the product so to me AI am a little unsure of the validity of the recommendation although it is nice that they are honest about it.This product falls under the company P&G I notice a lot of products I have used have the P&G icon so I decided to check them out. P&G is made up of many brands which was interesting to lean. For example Head and shoulders, Herbal essence, Gillette. Pantene ProV OralB and Bruan. They even make Vicks, ClearBlue pregnancy tests and Pampers nappies/ baby care products. Although they listed active ingredients and preservatives on the packaging I am not sure if they actually list everything in the product or not. The pump container can be closed and the plastic bottle is not going to be heavy or break in your bag it could also be recycled so that is pleasing. This product gets points for supposedly having a high SPF of 30, Aloe extract which will help calm sooth heal the skin and green tea an anti-oxidant which could help prevent aging, brighten and repaid sun damage as well as sooth the skin. After doing my research and finding that this product is not as anti-aging focused / multi functional as I was hoping for, I am not sure if it is something I would buy. However if you are looking for a nice day moisturizer that does not have a heavy scent, for sensitive skin and may sooth already flared up skin this could be for you.

Tips: A few words of caution the sunscreen additive Homosalate in this product although an organic compound, can mess with your endocrine system be careful and aware about chemicals in sunscreens. They have been found in breast milk and have effects on hormones. Check out studies done by googling sun screen chemicals.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Overall rating:
4.0/5
31st July, 2018
0 members found this review useful
Packing a punch

This little product packs a little bit of punch! What I mean by that is that I had low expectations of a drugstore SPF daily moisturiser. For me, I need a lot of moisturiser and this has a lot to do with this time of year. It's winter and my skin is super hydrated. I think that in summer, when I need an SPF that packs power on the daily, this is going to be my jam. In summer I'm not so dehydrated from going to air conditioned offices to heated cars and back again. Instead I'll be enjoying the heat and my skin will be in great shape and this moisturiser will be perfect. If I compare to the Aveeno daily moisturiser 30spf then this feels less thick, but it feels more creamy if that makes sense. If I had to pick between the two then Olay would win every time.

I don't want to over promise on this one, but given that I'm in the midst of the winter dryness desert I can only estimate that this product is going to be awesome in the summer. And because it's available in the supermarkets it's super accessible and won't cost the earth. Also for someone who is medium deep skin toned like me, this won't give you a white cast to the skin. Yes!!!!

By the way, I've tested this under makeup and it's a great smooth canvas for the makeup to go over.

Tips: In winter, add a drop of rosehip oil to make it super hydrating to your winter skin :)

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

HAVE YOU SIGNED UP YET?!

We're eliminating Bad Beauty Buys...one review at a time!

It's so easy and fun to join in with NZ's biggest beauty guide!

(1) SIGN UP - (2) Earn Beauty Points for every beauty product you review - (3) Exchange your points for FREE beauty products!

Sign Up Today!