Vault

Max value reached

Adding this item would put you over your total vault limit of $250. please review your cart to stay under the limit.

Welcome to

Beauty Review

Want to be advised of trial teams we’re running, giveaways, great beauty offers and competitions? Sign up to receive our newsletter now, it’s easy.

Essano Clear Complexion Oil Control Moisturiser Review
Share with a friend
Would use it again? 4.3/5
Did it do what it said it would? 4.2/5
Would recommend it to a friend? 4.1/5

Essano Clear Complexion Oil Control Moisturiser Review

Overall rating:
4.3/5

This light, fast absorbing lotion is perfectly balanced to provide essential hydration and oil control for a shine-free, matte finish, naturally.   Innovative Probiotics stimulate skin renewal and deliver optimal skin balance.  Combined with skin-loving nutrients including Green Tea, Chamomile and Rosemary, this lotion is the ideal solution for oily, young or congested skin. 

SCIENTIFICALLY FORMULATED TO: 
• Balance oil production
• Revive and regenerate the skin
• Restore skins natural health and beauty
 

Pack Size:  75ml

RRP:  $19.99

Website:  www.essano.co.nz

back

Found in:

Write a review

To allow us record accurate reviews we require you to register.

Looking to rate this product?

Please sign in or register.

Overall rating:
5.0/5
22nd February, 2018 at 11:56 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
My new favourite moisturiser!

Love this gel moisturiser! The scent is reminiscent of fresh pear, sugar and soft vanilla. Gel spreads nicely and absorbs into skin very quickly. My skin is noticeably less oily after using the whole range (currently minus cleanser) after showering, this product paired with the serum would be perfect for dryer skins after exfoliation or drying acne creams. Gentle around the eyes, no watering! My skin is looking really good since starting to use these products and I don't even use them every day! Excellent range. Very satisfied.

Tips: Apply after the serum for an extra moisture boost or alone for normal/oily skin types. Reduces excess sebum production well when used a few times a week.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
5th February, 2018 at 7:57 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
New favourite thing!

Was dubious as so many other oil control or mattifying moisturisers ( and I have a cupboard full of them) really do nothing for my oilslick of a face but this product really helped control my oil! I get hot,sweaty and oily at my work and usually a few hours in feel like I need to shower my face! With this product I really felt it was the most under control my oil production has ever been. Well priced and will definitely buy again,

Tips: Little goes a long way with this great gel-cream

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
3.0/5
23rd December, 2017 at 9:29 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
'Natural' means nothing!

Honestly, there's not much to say about this! It's a moisturiser, a little too thin for my skin's dry patches, but it'll be nice and light for super hot days. It does feel a touch too watery to lock in any moisture on the skin, but seeing as it's designed for oily skin then this probably won't be an issue for most people. I never buy products marketed solely on the fact that they're ~natural~ and no ~harsh chemical sulphates~ because literally everything is a chemical. This product isn't any more special than other moisturisers I've tried. The only thing I haven't seen yet in a moisturiser is the inclusion of probiotic lysate (Lactobacillus ferment,) which is actually beneficial and based in solid science, and makes sense. Yay science!

My skin felt soft after use but definitely not moisturised, and needed rehydration throughout the day - so it wasn't my favourite. I much prefer my Clean and Clear moisturiser, but I'll finish the tube of this as the days get hotter.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
4.3/5
18th December, 2017 at 11:47 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Fantastic moisturiser

I think this product might be my favourite part of the whole collection. I wasn't sure that I would like a gel moisturiser, but I found it to be really nourishing.

It makes my skin feel really soft, and isn't greasy. You don't need to use much which is great, it spreads out so easily and sinks in fast. I've used cream moisturisers the most in the past, so the formula of a gel moisturiser was really different. I expected it to be awful and drying but it was the complete opposite.

After applying it in the morning, at the end of the day my skin is still really soft and moisturised - even after a long day at work.

My skin is so much smoother after using it every day, and I have so much less acne than I did before I started using these products. I think that this moisturiser is one that has helped the most, and I will continue to buy this when I run out of my current one. I've even planned to buy some of these products as Christmas gifts!

Tips: Apply a small amount and spread it on your face and neck, morning and night.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
3.3/5
18th December, 2017 at 10:17 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Decent Moisturiser

I have been using a Cetaphil moisturiser prior to this one and it leaves my skin hydrated, but also sticky and shiny. I found the promise of a hydrating moisturiser with a matte finish incredibly promising as this is just the kind of product I have been looking for.

The moisturiser is brilliant in the way it is light and non-greasy. Once applied it is readily absorbed into the skin without leaving too much of a greasy residue which I found was a great improvement on my previous moisturiser.

I did find that it didn't really make my skin look matte, but I used it after the toner which could be the reason why. It also isn't a great base under makeup as applying primer and foundation over the top makes it rub off so I also used it at night.

Overall, this is a pretty good moisturiser, and I am definitely going to use it until it's finished as it gets the job done and doesn't make my skin feel as greasy as my last moisturiser. However, I wasn't overwhelmed with its matte-making abilities so will probably not buy it again.

Tips: Don't rub it in too hard as it is very easily absorbed, just lightly swipe it across your skin for the best effect.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
3.0/5
18th December, 2017 at 9:43 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
A really nice moisturiser

This moisturizer was really nice, although it wasn't anything spectacular, I think its a nice moisturizer that is easily available and I would use this again.

The moisturizer comes in a basic squeeze tube. But it matches the rest of the line and is quiet pretty.

The moisturizer itself is a thick gel formula, I found that did need a little more of this than my typical moisturizer. This was really lightweight on the skin and did absorb quickly. I found my skin was sufficiently moisturized and it did help control my oil. Overall I think this is a very nice moisturizer and recommend it to anyone who is looking for a good supermarket moisturizer.

Tips: For best results use with the rest of the Essano clear complexion line. Would also work nicely as a stand alone product

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
3.0/5
18th December, 2017 at 9:37 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Great moisturiser with an interesting texture

I trialled this moisturiser when BR gave me the whole Essano Clear Complexion range to try!

This product has an interesting scent (fruity baby food is how I've described it to friends) and an interesting (almost lumpy) texture. That might not be for everyone but I actually really like it. It's definitely different from other moisturisers that I've used.

I like to use a moisturiser under my makeup each day. This moisturiser is really good for that as it doesn't stick to my foundation or clump like I've had with other brands. I will say that when it's sinking into your skin, it does give off a little bit of that "tight" feeling, but it has only been a fleeting feeling for me and otherwise it's felt great all day long!

I would recommend this moisturiser as a great everyday moisturiser that is made up of great ingredients. :)

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
5.0/5
18th December, 2017 at 9:24 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Moisture

I love how this range is organic.

The moisturiser helps to make my skin feel nice and hydrated while moisturising and controlling oil. I have sensitive skin and it hasn’t made me break out or react which is good!

It doesn’t really have a smell to it so it is good for sensitive skin as some perfumes can be irritating.

A little goes a long way and it soaks quite quickly into my skin.

I definitely will keep using this!

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
5.0/5
18th December, 2017 at 6:18 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Essano Clear Complexion Oil Control Moisturiser

Aleyah (15) has loved using the Essano Clear Complexion range. This moisturiser has seriously helped with her crazy hormonal skin.

Her skin is no longer super oily and red. Breakouts are minimal now.

Again no scent, a slim easy to squeeze tube , could be a little bigger , soaks in nicely keeping her skin hydrated throughout the day.

I would prefer it have a spf as well as Teens can be terrible at protecting their faces from the sun.

I think this product is the star of the show , very calming and soothing. Aleyahs skin has improved so much and we've tried so many for her skin , most just agrivated it.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
3.0/5
18th December, 2017 at 5:06 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Not so moisturising

I love natural products, as they usually seem to work with my sensitive skin, and am always on the hunt for more, so this product was right up my alley. The packaging is similar to those in the range- white and pink with some silver. This came in a tube and was easy to open/close and control the amount of product that came out. The smell, again was not similar to any of the others in the range, a sweet vanilla-ish scent and more subtle than the serum. The texture was really smooth, it wasn’t a creamy type of moisturizer, it was more like a mix of a cream and a gel kind of consistency. It spread really easily and smoothly and absorbed quickly. However, I didn’t find that this added much moisture to my skin- after it had absorbed my skin still felt a bit dry or like it needed something else to hydrate it. My skin is more dry than oily though, so this may be why my skin felt like this and I probably need a more hydrating or nourishing moisturizer. That said, my skin did feel smooth, it just didn’t feel quite moisturized if that makes sense. I did find that the places I do get oily (like my T-zone) were less oily after using this for the past 4 weeks. My skin is also sensitive and I found that I didn’t get any adverse reactions or irritations! I have found my skin to be clearer and I have had less breakouts since using this! As I do have more dry skin, this may not be the moisturizer for my skin type, but it has helped contribute to making my skin clearer!

Tips: Probably not as effective on dry skin!

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

New?

to find out why you
should join New Zealand's largest beauty website

Click here

Beauty Poll

See all
Are You Currently Using MANUKA HONEY Beauty Products?

Are You Currently Using MANUKA HONEY Beauty Products?

I'm not - what's the buzz? Should I bee?

view results

Review of the Day
Wilko
Delicious hair care!
I just loved how you can use this product 3 different ways, a normal conditioner, a leave in treatment… more »