Vault

Max value reached

Adding this item would put you over your total vault limit of $250. please review your cart to stay under the limit.

Welcome to

Beauty Review

Want to be advised of trial teams we’re running, giveaways, great beauty offers and competitions? Sign up to receive our newsletter now, it’s easy.

Goodness Break-up Make-up Balm Review
Share with a friend
Would use it again? 4.2/5
Did it do what it said it would? 4.3/5
Would recommend it to a friend? 4.2/5

Goodness Break-up Make-up Balm Review

Overall rating:
4.2/5

Goodness Break-up Make-up Balm is a slick-quickie at removing all sorts of make-up. 

With all the goodness of chia seed, coconut and avocado oils, your skin will be oh-so-clean and super soft.

  • ​Vegan friendly. Lightweight, non-greasy 
  • Natural botanical goodness (non nonsense included) 
  • With chia seed oil’s winning 3:1 ratio of omega 3 to omega 6

Availability:  Select Farmers stores

RRP:  $19.99

Website:  www.farmers.co.nz

back

Found in:

Write a review

To allow us record accurate reviews we require you to register.

Looking to rate this product?

Please sign in or register.

Overall rating:
2.0/5
10th June, 2018 at 10:00 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Sadly Not a Fan

I had high hopes for this as I had fallen in love with one of its sister products - Chia Seed Oil. Sadly I could not fall in love with this product. Here's why:

Exceptionally greasy - The texture of this balm is just so greasy and thick that I felt like I was putting car grease or something on my face.

Irritation - This majorly irritated my eyes to the point it was painful. I do have super sensitive eyes but this was supposed to be a gentle eye makeup remover balm. It made my eyes super watery and blurry and I only applied a small amount. I would not recommend using to take off mascara or eyeliner if this is a sensitive area for you.

It did remove most of my makeup and it did feel clean afterwards. But I just felt Vaseline would have done the same job and for maybe a smaller price tag.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
6th June, 2018 at 7:01 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Love this makeup remover!

This makeup removing balm is so easy to use and a little goes a long way! It smells amazing and it feels so moisturising on the skin. It is gentle on the eyes and literally melts off your makeup, it even removes stubborn liquid lipsticks! You just rub it in all over your face and then wipe it off with a warm wash cloth or a makeup wipe and you’ll be left with a makeup free face. I love that this is full of natural extracts that are really good for your skin and it’s vegan friendly which is fantastic.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
2.0/5
3rd June, 2018 at 3:17 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Goodness Make up Remover

I saw all the fabulous reviews about this balm so I had to give this baby a try . After trying the trilogy balm I wanted to give this one a try .

I loved the packaging of this make up balm tin . It’s bright coloured and easy to identify amongst my other beauty products.

Consistency is a thick yellow coloured balm . It reminds me of a grainy balm that has a strong lavender and mixed herbs scent . It’s bold and strong.

I apply this to my full face of make up . I use a hot flannel to help lift off my make up . My foundation and eye shadow all come off with a breeze. My liquid eye liner and eye liner and mascara unfortunately did not budge. After multiple times trying all failed. I used my cleansing oil to get the remaining make up off.

After using it I was just a little bit disappointed that it didn’t take all my make up off . I can’t see myself repurchasing this one. I need one remover that it all not multiple removers.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.3/5
25th May, 2018 at 5:53 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Makes a beauty chore a treat

I tried this after seeing great reviews of this product everywhere and I am so pleased I did! I thought this balm sounded like a bit more effort that I wanted to go to at bedtime (having to rub in, then wipe off with a face cloth). But after using it once, I was converted. It is a whole new experience, compared to using a cold product that is wiped over the skin with a cotton pad or similar.

It smells lovely - floral and herby (very natural smelling), the balm softens and warms in your fingers and feels amazing on the skin. I love being able to rub it in to eyelids and eyelashes with abandon - it feels very freeing! Using a warm face cloth to remove feels like a treat for the skin.

My skin feels amazing afterward, in fact I feel like I don't want to apply anything else afterward, because I don't want to lose the lovely feel.

I've used this for about a week, every night, so will have to see how long the tin lasts (it's about $20 for the tin, and you use a small fingernail-sized amount of product each time), but I think it will be worth the money, in terms of results/effectiveness and loveliness to use!

I love that what used to be a beauty chore for me is now a treat!

Tips: It won't completely remove your most stubborn waterproof mascara, but will come pretty close. If you don't like the feel of anything under your fingernails, use the back of your fingernail to scoop out of the tin.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
12th May, 2018 at 3:15 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Melts matte lipstick and stay put eyeliner!

I don't use this everyday, as I don't wear a lot of makeup and can just use cleanser. But on days/nights where I'm wearing the best eyeliner ever (E.L.F) or matte lipstick, there's no way that cleanser can take them off.

I have no idea how, but the break-up balm just melts the product away. You gently rub it on (dry skin is fine) and use a warm cloth to wipe it off. I then cleanse as normal and I'm good to go!

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.7/5
3rd January, 2018 at 7:15 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Oh my goodness!

It'll be a cold day in hell for me to give up my Clinique Take the Day Off Balm, but it did snow on Mt Hutt in the middle of summer, so here we are.

The scent reminds me of the day spa and this certainly gets ALL of the makeup off your face, and its so luxurious using a warm flannel to remove it and all the makeup. It melts even matte lipsticks, stubborn eyeshadows and I'm sure its soooo good it could erase your internet browsing history (maybe not that good...).

My only gripe is that in warmer weather, in an ensuite that gets afternoon sun, it starts to melt and that does bug me because I prefer it at the more solid end of the spectrum.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.3/5
25th November, 2017 at 3:38 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
I'm not breaking up with this one

I got this from one of the Rewards Vaults, lucky me! I use it probably once or twice a week when I'm feeling pretty lazy with my cleansing routine late at night. I just find this less hassle to use than other cleansers. Another bonus is it's great to take away with you - no risk of it spilling all through your back, as has sadly happened with some other products in my experience! This is so easy to slather on and massage in to the skin for a bit. I love the smell and it feels super nourishing on the skin. I then wash it off either with warm water or a cleansing wipe - it really does work efficiently at getting rid of all the makeup and grime. My skin always feels really soft and clean afterwards.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
15th October, 2017 at 9:11 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Great product!

I received this Makeup Remover Balm from the beauty vault and was so happy with it, there is nothing bad I can say about this product, it works so well! Firstly I love the cute little tin it comes in with the screw top lid, it's really easy to open and close, and there is quite alot of product in there, so definitely a great price. I only needed a very small amount of balm on my finger, it just melts in my hands and is so easy to rub onto my face and neck. I love how it takes off eye makeup aswell and is so gentle with no irritation. Once it is all rubbed in I get a warm damp face cloth and wipe it off, it's so easy! I even double checked that it had removed all my makeup by using some Micellar water, and yes it had removed all of it. The smell of the Goodness Break-up Make-up Balm is so nice, lots of natural oils in it that feels great putting it on my skin and leaves my face feeling so soft and smooth. The great thing about it is its putting good oils onto your skin and not stripping it like alot of product can do, and I have not once had any breakouts from it. Will definitely be purchasing again when I run out.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
21st September, 2017 at 10:55 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Pure Goodness!

This is SUCH a lovely makeup remover! Everything about this product is honestly so nice. It's quite well priced, and comes in the cutest little tin. The balm reminds me of firm honey in a way — you only need a tiny amount and it melts really easily on your skin. It's super easy to smooth into your face, and removes all makeup effortlessly. Plus this company doesn't test on animals, which is super great!

I think I do still prefer Ultrabland by Lush though — it's my holy grail makeup remover and nothing seems to be quite as nourishing to use. But this is a close contender.

Tips: I like to splash my face and eyes with warm water first, just to loosen up my makeup. Particularly my mascara. After applying this balm I then wipe it all off using a warm, damp flannel. Works like a dream.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
1.7/5
19th September, 2017 at 11:52 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
30% positive 70% negative

Received this as part of the recent Beauty Vault. I was so excited as I heard/seen people rave about it online. However I was underwhelmed.

This product comes in a little tin like pottle with a screw top lid. Aesthetically it looks really nice. Smells wonderful, organic like it is made with all natural ingredients. I like it, not overpowering.

Having since used it on a regular basis in the evening, I find I don't like scraping the product out with my nails. I have them semi long and the product gets underneath my nail I just don't like it.

Using the recommended amount (a finger nail size) I found it would wash off most of my make up not all of it (mascara). It was also really greasy, which I wasn't expecting. Didn't appreciate that. I found the product wouldn't come off no matter how much I washed my face and ended up using a facial scrub to remove the product completely. I found it annoying that I would have to have a second step in my make up removal process when I have used make up removal wipes, micellar water and they remove it all first time.

This probably seems mostly negative but it had some cool points. I thought it was so cool when it melted down in my hand, how clever is that changing substance. Also since there is 80ml of product I feel like this product will last me atleast 6 months if not longer. Being vegan ticks a big box, I love that in a product.

Overall, it's a shame I generally don't like it. It's not quick, it is greasy and does not remove all sorts of make up. This was a miss for me.

Tips: Does not remove easily, a facial scrub helps a lot to get this product off your face.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

I considered it but, i'll be honest I am lazy. I don't want to do any more steps than I have to. I just like a product to go on and come off with no hassles

Have you tried using a warm, damp face cloth to wipe the product off with? That's what I use and it works great!

New?

to find out why you
should join New Zealand's largest beauty website

Click here

Beauty Poll

See all
Are You in the Market for a new Hair Dryer?

Are You in the Market for a new Hair Dryer?

I am actually...how did you know?!

view results

Review of the Day
caz
Amazing regime
Love these two products!! Hair is hydrated which is something I’ve always struggled with in winter.… more »