Vault

Max value reached

Adding this item would put you over your total vault limit of $250. please review your cart to stay under the limit.

Garnier SkinActive Pure Charcoal Tissue Mask with Black Algae Review

Garnier SkinActive Pure Charcoal Tissue Mask with Black Algae Review
Overall rating from 25 reviews so far:
4.2/5
Would use it again?
4.2/5
Did it do what it said it would?
4.1/5
Would recommend it to a friend?
4.2/5

Garnier Pure Charcoal Tissue Masks are the new generation of tissue mask inspired from Asia. Its truly innovative black tissue is infused with charcoal to draw out stubborn dirt, oil and impurities from the skin.

With a paraben-free formula enriched with Black Algae extract, it purifies, refines pores and refines skin texture while leaving skin hydrated.

Suitable for all skin types, even sensitive.

Availability Leading supermarkets, variety stores and pharmacies

Website Garnier Facebook Page



Write a review

Please sign in to write a review.

Not yet registered?

It's super simple and only takes 30 seconds.

Register now

How would you rate this product?

Garnier SkinActive Pure Charcoal Tissue Mask with Black Algae Review

Garnier SkinActive Pure Charcoal Tissue Mask with Black Algae Review

Reviews

Overall rating:
4.7/5
8th February, 2020
2 members found this review useful
Garnier SkinActive Pure Charcoal Tissue Mask

I'd originally received the Garnier SkinActive Pure Charcoal tissue mask in a beauty subscription box. I love a good sheet mask so was very excited to try this one and it did not disappoint. In fact, I was so impressed that I went out and bought every type of Garnier's new tissue mask range.

While the Charcoal mask is probably my third favourite of the range, it definitely does everything advertised and is loaded with serum which leaves your skin feeling absolutely amazing and refreshed.

There is so much serum in the package that I typically use the mask, throw it out, and then use the leftover serum in the package later that day just to keep my skin feeling extra plumped and refreshed. Highly recommend!

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
3.0/5
7th February, 2020
2 members found this review useful
Hydrating

This product made my skin feel very clean and refreshed. Due to the fact that I only had one mask, it is hard to access what the full benefits of this face mask would be, as it states on the packaging for best results use 3 times a week. However, after one application, my skin felt more hydrated. I am unsure if I would use this product again, as I would need to be buying three of them a week to have the best results. The product fit my face well and didn't fall off during application. The only thing I found, was that I was having to move it around my eyes quite a bit because it felt too close to be eyes in some areas. They may have to allow for more area for eyes to decrease this issue. I liked that the smell of the product wasn't overwhelming. I can't see myself using these on a weekly basis. The mask made somewhat of an impact, but probably not enough to keep buying them. I found that at the end when I tried to rub in the excess of the mask, it didn't absorb very well. I was felt feeling relaxed and refreshed after I used it.

Tips: Ensure you clean your face thoroughly before application for best results.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Overall rating:
5.0/5
5th February, 2020
2 members found this review useful
Soak it up ladies!

I love masks and have a really soft spot for tissue masks - I'll often pick one up when I'm doing the food shop. It's an inexpensive treat.

I've never had a black tissue mask before - it looks like its made from seaweed - it isnt! It is absolutely soaked in serum, with lots of excess goodness to use on your neck, boobs, etc.

It was really easy to get on your face and very generous size. The eye, nose and mouth holes line up well.

I left it on for a whole episode of The Witcher, so about an hour. I then used a cotton pad to distribute the left of serum and leave my face ready for bed.

The next morning my skin was very clear and super soft. My blackheads were pretty much non-visible. It's a great mix this mask - hydrating AND it clears impurities.

Would recommend and will be picking another up with the shop!

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Overall rating:
1.0/5
5th February, 2020
1 members found this review useful
Garner SkinActive Pure Charcoal Mask

Please don't use my review as a base to buy this product this was just my own personal experience. I would have to say for a first time experience with tissue mask I'm not really impressed or a fan. I will start with getting it out of the packet, trying to unfold it and hoping not to break it in the process is not a fun experience at all. I don't really like the feel of it and trying to place it on my face was even a mission I got the tissue in my eye twice, maybe that was my own fault on applying it. I didn't really like the feeling of the tissue paper sitting on my face it didn't really feel like it was doing much but I sat there for the recommended time til it was time to get it off. I remove the excess product off my face as again I didn't like the feeling off it I'm guessing I was one of the unlucky people it doesn't work on because I really didn't see much off a difference in my skin or did hydrate it for 24 hours but seeing a difference is want I would of preferred. Over I wouldn't use this again just from what I experienced but its doesn't mean I want stop using garnier products.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Overall rating:
3.3/5
4th February, 2020
1 members found this review useful
Garnier SkinActive Pure Charcoal Tissue Mask with

Opening the sleeve containing the mask was easy just tear accross no scissors or knife required. Unfolding the black mask was tricky though. The mask liquid is clear. To get the best out of the product, I prepped my face and neck by exfoliating. I also put the mask in the fridge to chill it. A nice cool mask on the face in the heat is so good. I felt no irritation. Algae are powerhouse of nutrients, minerals that can help draw toxins from the skin, antioxidants and peptides. It is a miracle ingredient full of incredible therapeutic benefits for skin. It conditions, hydrates, softens and detoxifies the skin, replenishing essential vitamins and minerals and prevents free radical damage. I have never heard of black algae before so I did a bit of research there are lots of good things online about algae such as marine algae but finding stuff specifically relating to black algae I needed to do more hunting for. It apparently helps to draw out impurities and refine pores but this is the claim on the back of the packet I couldn't find much else specific to black algae. Activated charcoal in this is a popular way to exfoliate and deep clean pores the charcoal binds to oil and dirt trapped in skin pores and pull it and bacteria and skin impurities like poisons from pollution out out to the surface it has anti bacterial and disinfect properties. Some people even eat it! There is also salicylic acid in this mask so this helps to treat acne and pineapple extract in this product helps to loosen dead skin cells & clarify. Hyaluronic acid prevents your skin from water loss keeping your skin hydrated thus plump and supple thus reducing the look of aging lines and wrinkles having hydrated skin via good levels of hyaluronic acid allows for increased healthier new skin cell growth & maintenance. Hyaluronic acid is naturally in the body most of it in skin but age, sun exposure, pollution tanning and smoking means less of it leading to dry malnourished skin this is why using a mask or product like this will help replenish and moisture your skin for a healthier look and feel. It also calms redness and may help with some skin irritations like dermatitis. My skin feels good after using this and individual packet the mask came in made it ideal for travel. The mask is very mildly scented. I have no complaints except I'm not sure what "black" algae does. When I googled what it was it came up with how to get rid of it like from your pool and that it is toxic. I'm guessing the black algae relates to the black charcoal. It says on the packet the company are trying to help recycle so that's a plus and product is paraben free. I can't comment on the claim.of 24hour hydration as this product actually didn't arrive to me untill the day my review for it was due! Thank you for choosing me to review the product BR!

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Overall rating:
5.0/5
4th February, 2020
2 members found this review useful
Makes skin feel super clean without drying it out!

First off, the packaging is nice and simple and details how to use the product really easily with a nice and clear infographic. When you first take it out of the package, you can tell the mask has a lot of product in it as it is quite heavy. When applying, it goes to the shape of your face well - it is easy to mould to your features. It doesn’t fall, peel or slip off the skin at all, it sticks really well. Don’t be scared when you look in the mirror haha black face masks are always a little bit weird looking. The scent is really gentle and clean, it’s not strong or overpowering at all. It feels nice and cooling on the skin. The liquid solution itself doesn’t linger on your skin for ages, it absorbs into your skin quickly so you don't have to wait around while it dries. It feels amazingly smooth and soft once it absorbs. The mask stays a bit damp during the 15 minutes you are meant to leave it on for, it doesn’t dry out too much. It continues to feel nice and not burning during the 15 mins. It would be good for sensitive skin I think. Your skin feels very clean after it has dried, but also hydrated and you can tell there is product on it. I think it does a really good job of drawing out dirt and impurities while staying hydrated. I have oily skin and it hasn’t made me extra oily or anything! It would be good to use after a long day of wearing heavy makeup.

Tips: Tie your hair up before using the mask so it doesn’t stick to it :-)

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Overall rating:
4.0/5
4th February, 2020
1 members found this review useful
lovely

This made my skin feel so soft and hydrated after just the one use! I went out and bought a couple the day after I tried it. At first getting it out of the packaging was abit weird as it was so slimey, but thats what you get with a sheet mask I guess lol

Tips: I put mine in the fridge for a couple of hours. Felt absolutely incredible on my face during this summer heat.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Overall rating:
4.3/5
4th February, 2020
0 members found this review useful
Lovely and refreshing

With the sweltering heat my skin has been a little worse for wear so when this arrived I popped it into the fridge to make sure it was extra cold before applying to my face.

The mask itself is really large which is great because although I love face masks I often find they are too small for my face! (Which is quite small).

I also liked it had extra essence at the bottom which I put on my hands and neck after.

I left the mask on for 20 mins and noticed that my skin looked plump and bright which I really liked. It also soothed my hot summer skin!

All in all I would try more from the range.

Tips: If it's hot weather try popping the mask in the fridge for extra coolness

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Overall rating:
4.7/5
4th February, 2020
1 members found this review useful
Hydration in a sheet

I absolutely loved this. I usually have combination skin, however lately my skin has been extremely dry, this mask was like a godsend, my skin soaked it all up and almost immediately felt refreshed, it still felt amazing a day later. There wasn't a strong scent that I noticed, the mask itself was easy to apply, I didnt even use a mirror although I did find it a little diffucult to unfold initially. It immediately felt cooling and soothing and i really didnt want to take it off. I am definitely adding this to my beauty regime.

Tips: Once it's time to remove the mask I like to fold it up and then use the excess product to rub into my neck.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Overall rating:
4.7/5
4th February, 2020
1 members found this review useful
Great Hydration!

This mask was awesome! I was definitely sceptical when I read that it would stay on without me having to stay put, because other masks I've used have slid straight off my face the second I stood up. However, this mask went on easily, and stayed on so well that I managed to get a whole bunch of chores on while I was wearing it!

Another issue I normally have with sheet masks is that I have quite a small face so I find them really uncomfortable to fit. I had absolutely no problems with this mask, and once I smoothed it onto the right places, it stayed there.

I left the mask on for longer than the recommended 15 minutes and thought it had great results! My skin felt a little sticky so I just massaged in the extra product and it absorbed really quickly. I thought my skin looked plumper and brighter, and it lasted through to the next day.

I'm not sure if the charcoal actually did much as my pores didn't look or feel particularly different afterwards, but I wasn't too fussed because the rest of my skin felt so great.

Overall, I would recommend this mask if you want to give your skin a lovely hydrating boost, and make it look and feel smooth as!

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

HAVE YOU SIGNED UP YET?!

We're eliminating Bad Beauty Buys...one review at a time!

It's so easy and fun to join in with NZ's biggest beauty guide!

(1) SIGN UP - (2) Earn Beauty Points for every beauty product you review - (3) Exchange your points for FREE beauty products!

Sign Up Today!