Vault

Max value reached

Adding this item would put you over your total vault limit of $250. please review your cart to stay under the limit.

Welcome to

Beauty Review

Want to be advised of trial teams we’re running, giveaways, great beauty offers and competitions? Sign up to receive our newsletter now, it’s easy.

The Beauty Vault - Aug
The Beauty Vault - Aug
Garnier Pure Active Charcoal 3 In 1 Mask Review
Share with a friend
Would use it again? 4.0/5
Did it do what it said it would? 4.0/5
Would recommend it to a friend? 4.0/5

Garnier Pure Active Charcoal 3 In 1 Mask Review

Overall rating:
4.0/5

 

Use Garnier® Pure Active Intensive Charcoal 3-in-1 innovative formula as a wash, scrub and mask to visibly reduce blackheads and prevent their reappearance.
This innovative formula can be used as a wash, scrub and mask to visibly reduce even the most resistant blackheads and help to prevent their reappearance:*
1. Wash: concentrated in active Salicylic Acid it purifies skin intensely and removes dirt and impurities.
2. Scrub: it contains natural exfoliating particles to unclog pores and visibly reduce resistant blackheads.
3. Mask: enriched in ultra-absorbing vegetal charcoal and blueberry extract to neutralize shine while leaving skin comfortable and smooth.

 

Pack Size:  150ml 

RRP:  $13.99 

Availability:  Groceries, Pharmacies and Discount Department Stores

Website:  www.garnier.co.nz

back

Found in:

Write a review

To allow us record accurate reviews we require you to register.

Looking to rate this product?

Please sign in or register.

Overall rating:
4.0/5
10th August, 2018 at 11:44 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Garnier 3 in 1 Mask

First of all, this product claims to be for people with oily skin that is prone to pimples and blackheads, as it will help reduce them and prevent reoccurrence. I have oily skin that is prone to both, and I definitely found that both pimples and blackheads became much less frequent as I kept using it. It didn't do anything in terms of reducing oiliness, but it seems to be more focused on reducing breakouts.

The packaging is fairly standard, the exact same as some other Garnier scrubs and masks. You get heaps of product for the price, so it is definitely worth it.

In terms of consistency, it is quite thick and the charcoal in it makes it stain face cloths, so be careful if using one to remove it. You don't need too much product when using it as a wash or scrub, but I found I needed a little more when applying it as a mask. It also took a little longer than 5 minutes to dry so I tended to leave it on for a little longer.

The fragrance is quite strong but it's hard to describe, maybe almost a little like aftershave. I found it to be a little off-putting the first few times I used it, but I got used to it.

Overall, although it has a couple downsides, like the staining and the fragrance, I think the fact that it does what it says, and the fact you get so much product for quite a low price, it is most definitely worth it. I'd definitely recommend it to anyone with oily skin that is prone to pimples and blackheads.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
5.0/5
7th August, 2018 at 8:35 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Amazing..

This product is the best... did what it said it would do by clearing up the oils that my skin produced and clearing up my current family of blackheads on my chin and nose. I washed my face twice a day and have noticed a big change..my face is clearer and feels clearer.. i used it as a mask a few times but preferred it as a face wash.

Tips: Dont leave it on to long and offen as can dye the hairs on face black..

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
5.0/5
6th August, 2018 at 6:44 pm
1 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
As good as the label says!

Garnier charcoal face wash / scrub / mask

My first impression of the packaging were that there was a lot of information, it seemed crowded and complicated but I sat down and read the whole label, it has some pretty big claims - neutralising shine being the main point to spark my I interest, my skin can get quite oily, especially my forehead and chin.

This product is black and inky and has a slightly bitter sweet odour, I was a little apprehensive it would stain my skin but my worries were unfounded.

The product states it can be used as a wash, scrub and face mask, I decided to use it as a face mask once every 3 days for 9 days. I applied all over my face, gently massaging in with my finger tips and left to dry for 5-10 minutes, it is quite gritty. In this time I could feel it tightening quite quickly and by the 7th minuite it was completely dry and very tight, not at all unpleasant, it felt like it was actually doing something. I felt no discomfort.

After washing off the product my skin felt fresh and smooth. The next day, I noticed my makeup applied smoother and my acne had significantly calmed down, in particular I had a couple of blind pimples on my chin and they were no longer painful and had a head on them - like the mask had drawn them out. By the third day my blemishes had virtually gone, I eagerly reapplied the mask that night.

My skin has only gotten better with every day, the effects of the shine control lasts about 2.5 days before my skin gets oily again.

As a mask, I cannot recommend this product more, my skin is the best it's been in years and I have now started using daily in the shower to enhance the effects. If you have oily blemish prone skin, try this product! Especially for this price point and volume, it is unbelievably good value for money and it actually works. 5 stars!

Tips: Let it dry on your face completely.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Great review. I wondered how good this would be!

Overall rating:
3.7/5
31st July, 2018 at 1:25 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Charcoal Scrub

This was a nice gentle scrub with the added bonus of charcoal. It felt great on my skin, not too drying. Haven't used it for very long so not sure how effective it is yet, but I'm excited to see results. The charcoal smells a bit and tends to stain light coloured flannels though!

Tips: Don't use a light coloured flannel to wash it off lol

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
5.0/5
30th July, 2018 at 6:24 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Blackheads be gone!

This product more than delivered as promised. I used as a wash twice weekly and a mask once a week, I have blackheads over my nose and chin area so ensured I was especially generous in these areas. This product is minty fresh and definitely reduced the number of blackheads u currently have and seems to have stopped any new ones popping up.

After use my skin felt soft and looked refreshed I had no redness whatsoever, it was however quite messy and I found the shower the nest place to use it..I made the mistake of using it over the sink and made quite a mess due to its black colour so spent more time cleaning the sink then I did cleaning my face.

I love this product and will be buying more once finished thanks for the introduction!

Tips: I found as a mask I needed to leave it on for 10 minutes to get it to.dry proprrly

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
4.7/5
30th July, 2018 at 12:50 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Yes it help

I have been using this for just for 20 days now as a a daily for face wash and mask it is helped to minimise blackheads I will definitely keep using it. And clear up redness.

Tips: Add water when using as mask

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
3.3/5
30th July, 2018 at 9:01 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
3 in 1

I am always on the lookout for a new product that will help improve my skin and I’m and all for “one product does it all” so I was super excited to try this new face wash.

I first tried this out as a mask and it worked amazingly, it made my face tingle a little and that always makes me happy as it makes me believe that the product is working. I loved the way my skin felt afterwards, smooth and clean. Black heads were slightly less noticeable. The product itself has a chemical type scent, not too strong but it is noticeable. Once applied, the mask dried up pretty quickly which is a bonus as I don’t always have time to wait for masks to dry. When washing it off, I scrubbed it into my skin using circular motions and this helped exfoliate my skin, maybe even remove more blackheads. So all in all it works as a good mask and scrub.

I like a daily face wash that can remove all my makeup and I don’t have to do double the work to take my makeup off. Whilst this face wash did remove my makeup, I found it a little harsh for every day use. The tiny sand like particles were a little rough to be using every day. I also found it difficult to remove eye makeup with this face wash as the particles would get into my eyes. Again even as a face wash, it did leave my skin smooth and clean however mentioned, it was just a bit too harsh for every day.

If you are looking for one product to use as a mask and a scrub to get rid of blackheads then I would recommend this but maybe not so much as a daily face wash.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
4.3/5
29th July, 2018 at 5:25 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Great drugstore blackhead solution!

There are three ways to use this scrub 1: as a wash-probably my least favourite way to use this product as I find it slightly too abrasive (my skin can be sensitive and goes red) also because while my t zone is oily I find my cheeks are pretty normal and don’t need it! 2 scrub which works well and definitely helps with minimising pores and blackheads 3 mask my favourite way! I would apply this throughout my t zone and on any texture and would always notice an instant difference! Also I might add I’ve used this so much and it hasn’t even made a dent! A little goes a long way. The only thing I don’t like it the size of the beads because I’m scared they’re going to get into my eyes. Definitely would recommend for someone with oily skin, large pores or blackheads because it does the trick and for the price it’s even better!

Tips: It gets messy so beware! If you don’t like tingly sensations this has a slight one

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
3.0/5
29th July, 2018 at 2:57 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Not sold

Can't say that I overly enjoyed this. Everything about it sounds great, I'm a huge fan of charcoal so it sounded ideal. It dried my skin out a bit too much for my liking so maybe would be suited to someone with really oily skin. After the first few washes I did find that I had quite a major breakout, larger than I've had for a long time.

I wasn't a huge fan of the smell. It smelt a lot like many mens products do, which is fine, it was just really quite strong.

I did like the mask aspect of it however, so may continue using it just as a weekly mask instead of a daily wash.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
4.0/5
29th July, 2018 at 12:58 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Garner Pure Active Charcoal 3 in 1 Mask review

I primarily used this product as a face wash every day in the morning. Initially I found that it tingled a bit on first application, which was a slight concern as my skin can be a bit sensitive sometimes, however that mostly went away after a few uses and I didn’t experience any irritation. While it was an effective morning cleanser, if a little drying, I found that it didn’t do an amazing job removing make-up at night.

As a scrub I found this gentle enough for every day use, and as a mask it did a reasonable job of pulling out the excess oil which was nice!

After using this every day for a couple of weeks, I noticed that my skin was a little bit less oily than usual, however I haven’t noticed any visible reduction in stubborn blackheads yet. Overall this is a nice product for reducing oil, however if you have combo skin like me, make sure to use a decent moisturiser on your drier areas when you hop out of the shower!

Tips: Make sure you double-cleanse if you’re using this as a make-up remover, and if you have combo skin make sure to moisturise your drier areas properly after use!

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

New?

to find out why you
should join New Zealand's largest beauty website

Click here

Beauty Poll

See all
Does your foundation last all day?

Does your foundation last all day?

No, I have to touch up at least once during the day!

view results

Review of the Day
dani7331
Gentle Gel
I really like this gel cleanser. I have always been a fan of the Micellar water, so it was exciting to try something… more »