Vault

Max value reached

Adding this item would put you over your total vault limit of $250. please review your cart to stay under the limit.

Welcome to

Beauty Review

Want to be advised of trial teams we’re running, giveaways, great beauty offers and competitions? Sign up to receive our newsletter now, it’s easy.

Neutrogena Acne Wash
Share with a friend
Would use it again? 2.4/5
Did it do what it said it would? 2.7/5
Would recommend it to a friend? 2.4/5

Neutrogena Oil Free Acne Wash

Overall rating:
2.5/5

A highly effective cleanser for acne-prone skin. It penetrates deep into pores to help prevent future breakouts by removing dirt, oil and pimple-causing bacteria.It also contains aloe and chamomile extracts to help soothe and condition skin,leaving it deeply cleansed without over-drying or irritation.

Not suitable for dry or sensitive skin.

Pack Size: 177ml

RRP: $14.95

Availability: Supermarkets, selected Pharmacies, The Warehouse, Farmers

Website: www.neutrogena.co.nz

 

 


back

Found in:

Write a review

To allow us record accurate reviews we require you to register.

Looking to rate this product?

Please sign in or register.

Overall rating:
2.7/5
12th April, 2014 at 7:21 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Could be so much better

I found this cleanser at the supermarket and decided to give it a go as it said that helps prevent breakouts and is soothing to skin. I found that it really dried out my skin even though I was using a moisturizer with it and that it didn't really prevent break outs. It was nice for cleaning my face as it lathered well and smelt okay but ended up disappointing me.

Tips: I think it didn't work for me due to my very sensitive skin, give it a try because we all have different skin types.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.0/5
10th April, 2014 at 8:47 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Neutrogena Oil Free Acne Wash

I really liked this cleanser, I found it pretty effective with my oily, acne-prone skin. The cleanser comes in an easy-to-use pump bottle, which is great for controlling how much product you use so you don't over-do it. It has a typical 'cleanser' smell, not overly unpleasant or nice. The gel lathers easily so you can work it in, and leaves your skin feeling clean and fresh. I found this worked well at keeping oil at bay, in saying that I wouldn't recommend this to anyone who has dry or sensitive skin at all because this effect may be too drying for you.

Tips: Help combat the drying effect by using this once a day, and another cleanser the other time. Make sure you moisturise afterwards!

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
2.7/5
4th April, 2014 at 3:07 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Left my Skin Dry

I'm prone to hormonal acne flare-ups, so I'm always looking for a good cleanser. I washed with Neutrogena Oil Free Acne Wash for about a month and found that while my skin stayed relatively clear, it also became drier. The wash also did not prevent the cystic kind of acne caused by hormonal fluctuations. I'm back to using milder cleansers, along with a Vitamin A derivative (Retin-A).

Tips: This may work for you if your skin tends towards the oily side.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.3/5
17th March, 2014 at 1:05 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Keep going back

I have been using this product for a few years now and when I have tried other products I am usually disappointed and keep coming back to this one. I find it gentle and effective, not overly drying yet gives a good deep clean without abrasiveness. The scent isn't overly appealing but it isn't offensive either. I have used this in the shower on my back and chest when pregnant as I had a few hormonal spot emerge and it works a treat.

Tips: If you find this product dries your skin too much try foaming it in your hands before applying and after you have rinsed off splash your face again with cold water to ensure all traces are removed. Or you can try just using it once a week for a good deep clean with no hassles

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
3.3/5
16th March, 2014 at 9:34 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Good for oily skin

I have oily skin and this was a good formula and consistency. It keeps the acne at bay and it didn't dry out my skin. It has a nice scent and it lasts about half a year.

Tips: To remove stubborn make up (long lasting) I suggest washing face twice. Using a toner afterwards helps with the tightening feeling of the face before putting on a moisturiser.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
3.3/5
15th March, 2014 at 12:48 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Pretty good, can be a bit harsh

I quite liked this product for the most part, it kept the worst of my acne at bay most of the time, but could be a little harsh at times. Every now and then it would make my skin feel all burny and sensitive and eventually I stopped using it.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
3.3/5
28th February, 2014 at 2:20 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
No reason why not

I used to use this when I was a teenager and had a real problem with oily skin, this helped significantly but the neutrogena brand can be a little expensive, not that I have compared it to any other brand this is just from my poor person point of view. I dont use it anymore and probably wont use it again but mainly because I no longer have the problems it helps. If you need a cleanser, try it

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
2.3/5
30th January, 2014 at 4:28 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Pros and Cons

I used this cleanser when I had quite bad skin - to be fair it did really clear up my skin quite fast.

The only downside was that it made my skin SO dry - my skin was constantly flaking off - even when I moisturised all throughout the day.

It did not look or feel nice at all!

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
2.0/5
28th January, 2014 at 2:20 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Very drying

After using this on my face it leaves the whole thing tight and uncomfortable. Extremely drying, that's about all it does. Contains salicylic acid, but considering you don't leave this on your face, it's not exactly very effective. I wouldn't use this again whatsoever.

Tips: Might be helpful for those with extremely oily skin?

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
1.0/5
25th January, 2014 at 11:01 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
VERY DRYING

I used this product in my twenties, when I suffered from horrible acne outbreaks. This face wash was good at cleansing but left my skin super dry and stripped of it's natural moisture which wasn't very helpful in what it claims to do.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

New?

to find out why you
should join New Zealand's largest beauty website

Click here

Beauty Poll

See all
Hot or Not? Are You Here for Mismatched Nails?

Hot or Not? Are You Here for Mismatched Nails?

Yes! They're a match made in heaven!

view results

Review of the Day
sarahellaoverton
Not so easy to use
I love Tailor products, so I was excited to try this one. However, I was disappointed. I found the product… more »