Vault

Max value reached

Adding this item would put you over your total vault limit of $250. please review your cart to stay under the limit.

Welcome to

Beauty Review

Want to be advised of trial teams we’re running, giveaways, great beauty offers and competitions? Sign up to receive our newsletter now, it’s easy.

The Beauty Vault - Aug
The Beauty Vault - Aug
La Roche Posay® Effaclar Foaming Gel Reviews
Share with a friend
Would use it again? 4.1/5
Did it do what it said it would? 4.5/5
Would recommend it to a friend? 4.3/5

La Roche Posay® Effaclar Foaming Gel Reviews

Overall rating:
4.3/5

Gently purifies oily and acne-prone skin. Eliminates impurities and excess sebum while leaving the skin clean and fresh. Excellent tolerance. Non-skin drying formula. pH 5.5, soap-free, alcohol-free, colourant-free, paraben-free.

Pack size:  200ml

RRP: $27.99

Availability: Selected pharmacies

Website: www.laroche-posay.co.nz

back

Found in:

Write a review

To allow us record accurate reviews we require you to register.

Looking to rate this product?

Please sign in or register.

Overall rating:
5.0/5
19th August, 2018 at 4:35 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
A new holy grail

I have combination skin, dry at the edges and oily in the middle. The oiliness means I definitely look for a gentle but thorough cleanser, and this definitely does the job. I notice that my skin is incredibly soft after use, but does not feel stripped the way some cleansers have left it in the past. I have noticed it also doesn’t irritate my breakouts and does help clear them up. This also unclogs the pores in my nose really well. I’m on my third bottle and will repurchase once this one is done.

Tips: This is gentle enough to double cleanse with! I like to make sure I’ve gone over my T-zone twice when washing my face since that’s my trouble area and it really gets it all out.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
31st July, 2018 at 2:04 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
La Roche Posay Effaclar Foaming Gel

I really enjoyed this product!

The packing is in a tube style. It's solid, good quality and an attractive blue. It looks similar to my salon products. The cap is nice and secure. When squeezing product out, it comes out slowly through a small hole so no overload and wasted product - you don't need much!

A little product gives a good lather and made my face feel nice and clean without feeling tight or stripped.

I have sensitive skin when it comes to cleanser and I found this really comfortable.

It is not heavily scented and feels nice and fresh. I felt my skin had a nice glow after using - I really loved this cleanser and will absolutely buy again!

Tips: A little goes a long way!

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
5.0/5
26th July, 2018 at 11:25 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
In Love With This Product

I have reviewed quite a few face washes in my time and to be honest this has been the best one I have used in quite a long time! First off, I'm an oily individual - my face creates quite a bit of oil and by the end of the day the amount of oil that appears on the surface of my face - you could use it to do some cooking. It's pretty gross. I have noticed that since using this face wash (and the moisturiser that goes along with it) my face is not creating much oil at all. My make up by the end of the day has stayed on as well...definitely an added bonus.

In terms of the face wash itself, a little goes a long way. I am using the tiniest bit of product and it foams up quite a bit. It's a little bit drying but to be honest I feel that this is beneficial as it helps control the natural oils on your skin. There is a slight scent, hard to describe. It's not overpowering, it sort of has a "clean" smell to it. Not chemically, just an average facial cleaner smell I guess. Because you don't need much I can see this is going to last a rather long time. In the past couple of weeks I haven't even used a quarter of it - and I've been using it two times a day.

Will I use it again? Heck yeah! It ticks all the boxes to be a standout facial cleanser that has definitely made its way into my beauty routine. I will be using it again for sure!!!!

Tips: Don't need much product at all to clean your face

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
4.7/5
22nd July, 2018 at 10:24 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
So, so clean!

This gel cleanser is exactly that! A thick, clear gel, that lathers well, and leaves your skin feeling clean.

I wear a full face of makeup daily, and usually double cleanse but I've found I can cleanse once with this gel and a washcloth, and remove all makeup bar my mascara (Eye of Horus - it sticks well!)

I didn't experience any irritation which I was relieved at, its always worrying trying new products, my skin can become inflamed and sore.

I think this is a great cleanser, and it definitely fills my needs. It'd be perfect for a teenager, as I don't think its too harsh, but it is combative against oil and acne.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
4.0/5
20th July, 2018 at 9:00 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
La Roche Posay Effaclar Foaming Gel

This product is a foaming facial cleanser for oily sensitive skin types. The package is a generous 200ml size which makes it cost effective and affordable to replace. The fragrance is fresh and green smelling, with a light foam that gently removes all traces of oil and ski debris. My complexion felt clean after rinsing foam off with water but not thirsty. My skin after using for 2weeks is clear of acne breakouts and and my pores appear clear. Definitely recommend for anyone who loves the clean feeling of using a foaming based cleanser. There are no parabens, Zinc Pidolate is the active ingredient which works to purify the skin and help remove excess oil.

Tips: Squeeze out about a slightly larger than pea-sized amount and lather in fingertips, apply in circular motions all over face and neck, avoiding eyes and rinse with warm water. Perfect for use in the shower.

Use morning and night for cleansing face and follow with La Roche Posay Effaclar Duo(+)

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
5.0/5
20th July, 2018 at 8:51 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Feels clean, not tight

While I never suffered from oily skin in the past, as I've gotten older my skin has gotten greasier in places. I get the odd spot from time to time which I never used to either. This makes it tricky having some dry areas and some oily along with sensitive skin. Most products more suited to oily skin tend to dry my skin out, leaving it red and tight feeling. Roche Posay Effaclar did not do that. It left my skin looking clean and fresh and has really helped balance my skin out with no irritation. I was worried it was going to be overkill for me as I don't really have a huge oil or spot problem but it's great, I alternate it with my regular skin cleansers and it seems to really be helping. The product has more of a medicinal smell I think that most cleansers but no different to other cleansers of its kind and it is not a bad smell. It lathers nicely, I would call it a soft feeling as you wash your face and it leaves the skin soft with no residue feel. I found I didn't need to use a lot of it as a little went a long way.

Tips: Remove make up using make up remover or your regular make up cleanser and then cleanse your face with Effaclar foaming gel.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
3.7/5
20th July, 2018 at 8:25 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
La Roche Posey Cleanser

I'm always a bit skeptical when something claims to eliminate excess sebum, simply because in my experience it's never really worked. Though I must say this product was pleasantly surprising - I found that my skin remained relatively matte throughout the day, especially on my nose.

Gel cleansers are my go to typically, as I find anything else is not as effective on me. Foaming cleansers dry my skin out and aren't great for makeup removal, likewise cream cleansers are great for makeup removal on me and they tend to make my skin oilier. So the concept of a cleanser that was both a gel and foaming one at that was quite intriguing. My past experience with foaming cleansers did leave me with somewhat low expectations, but this product ticked all the boxes for what I look for in a cleanser.

• it smelt nice - it has a faint scent which is quite sweet smelling. I can't quite pinpoint the exact smell. • you can be frugal with it - a little does go along way with this and even though it's a decent sized product, for someone like me who cleanses twice when washing their face (2 cleanses twice a day = 4), this quickly adds up. So knowing a product is going to last makes it worthwhile. • aesthetically pleasing - the packaging isn't anything groundbreaking, but it's simple yet eye catching, especially the shade of blue used. It's also opaque at the top and gradually becomes transparent which is real handy in being able to see how much is left in the tube. • affordable - even though I was sent this as a trial product, I'd happily repurchase. It's RRP at $27.99 and it may seem hefty at first, but it's a 200ml product that even with frequent use, will still last a decent amount of time. I've used mine religiously for almost 2 weeks now (that's 54 washes) and have only used about 2 centimetres of product. • effectiveness - initially there were some breakouts, which is to be expected when trying something new and your skin needs to adjust. Since then, I've noticed that my skin stays matte for at least 12 hours, with my usual products I'm shiny by lunch. My skin is also smoother and I have noticed a difference in texture - legitimately my skin has never felt softer. I also have issues with hyperpigmentation and some mild acne scarring and I've seen that these aren't as noticeable, so I hope that over a long period of time they will fade. • gentle on my skin - like aforementioned, I've not had great results with foaming cleansers, so the fact that this didn't dry my skin out and made my skin feel parched was a plus. I have a VERY dry patch of skin on my left eye that haunts me persistently and I didn't find this aggravated it or accentuated it at all.

Although 2 weeks isn't an awfully long time to devote to a product before giving an opinion, I'd gladly say that within this 2 weeks that this product had proved it's potential and worth. I'd be more than willing to add this to my daily regime and can definitely see this becoming a go to product.

Tips: You don't need too much product at all, a pea size amount will suffice.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
5.0/5
20th July, 2018 at 8:11 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
My new best friend

I had never heard of La Roche-Posey before which told me one thing: this wasn’t one of those $10 supermarket face washes that I usually gravitate towards. This was the good stuff! The packaging was minimal which I liked but being visually challenged I did find the labeling hard to read especially with the steam of the shower further clouding my sight. However, I quickly worked out how to use it - wet face, lather, rinse. Someone call Mensa. It is also a decent sized bottle which means it will last a while. The smell of this product took me back to 1995 when I would steal petals off my granny’s flowers to make perfume and unsuccessfully try to sell it to her neighbours. My perfume career didn’t take off because my petal perfume didn’t smell that good - nor did this product. But it was nice to regress to a more simple time for a few minutes every day. As for how the gel worked - I was pleasantly surprised. I have challenging skin and have made my way through various gels, soaps and scrubs over the years to no avail. Immediately after using the gel my face felt cleaner, softer and clearer. After a few days I started to notice a remarkable difference in the quality of my skin - less spots and blackheads. This is one product I WILL buy again.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
1.7/5
20th July, 2018 at 7:58 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
La Roche Posay® Effaclar Foaming Gel

I was fortunate to receive this product as a part of the trial team.

This cleanser has a gel formula that has a standard gel consistency (similar to a gel body wash). When mixed with water it foams up into a nice lather, I use about a dollar coin size for my whole face. It comes in a squeezy tube, but it is quiet large and you do get a lot of product.

This product does have a fragrence. It isn't overpowering but definetly has a fragrence similar to that of floral/rose soap. It didn't bother me but if you are sensitive to fragrence you may not like this product.

It did leave my skin feeling clean, however I did not notice any real difference in my oilyness or presence of acne. I did find that it did make my skin feel tight and dry directly after use, so I would not recomend this for dry skin.

This is an ok cleanser, it does the job but I have defiently used better ones from the supermarket and for a much cheaper price. I will continue to use this as a body cleanser (I get some blemishes on my chest as well) but will not continue to use this on my face. As it was too harsh on my skin amd didn't really make a difference I would not purchase this, frankly I expect more from a $27 cleanser. I would not recomend this over several supermarket ones.

Tips: If you find this product a bit too drying, try it as a body cleanser. T works quiet nicely on areas such as the chest.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
4.0/5
20th July, 2018 at 7:32 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Overall a pretty decent cleanser

This gel cleanser comes in a generous size, so I feel like you are getting quite good value for money. I like the squeezy tube but found the opening too small which made it hard to get the product out.

The gel cleanser has a nice light texture, a slight fragrance (nothing too offensive) and I thought it foamed up well.

It left my skin feeling really clean but not too tight like some cleansers can. I really liked how my skin felt after using that, soft and smooth.

It did a really good job controlling my oily t-zone and I think it definitely helped reduce the number of breakouts I was getting.

Overall, I think it is quite a good cleanser and I am impressive with the oil control it gave me.

Tips: I feel like it could be quite drying if you used it twice a day, every day. I would suggest once a day would be enough.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

New?

to find out why you
should join New Zealand's largest beauty website

Click here

Beauty Poll

See all
Does your foundation last all day?

Does your foundation last all day?

No, I have to touch up at least once during the day!

view results

Review of the Day
dani7331
Gentle Gel
I really like this gel cleanser. I have always been a fan of the Micellar water, so it was exciting to try something… more »