Vault

Max value reached

Adding this item would put you over your total vault limit of $250. please review your cart to stay under the limit.

Welcome to

Beauty Review

Want to be advised of trial teams we’re running, giveaways, great beauty offers and competitions? Sign up to receive our newsletter now, it’s easy.

Garnier Micellar Cleansing Water Review
Share with a friend
Would use it again? 4.3/5
Did it do what it said it would? 4.3/5
Would recommend it to a friend? 4.3/5

Garnier Micellar Cleansing Water Review

Overall rating:
4.4/5

Garnier Micellar Cleansing Water Review

Like a magnet, the cleansing agents capture and lift away dirt from the skin. 

No need to rub to remove impurities and make-up. 

The Result: Perfectly cleansed and refreshed skin without rubbing or rinsing.

Micellar Cleansing Water comes in a generous 400ml format for up to 200 uses*

Pack Size: 400 ml / 125ml

RRP: $12.99 / $6.99

Availability: Countdown, Farmers, Selected pharmacies and online

Website: www.garnier.co.nz

back

Found in:

Write a review

To allow us record accurate reviews we require you to register.

Looking to rate this product?

Please sign in or register.

Overall rating:
4.0/5
12th April, 2015 at 9:39 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Might be Holy water for some, but not for me

After hearing the mostly amazing reviews of the Garnier Miceller water, its no wonder this product has been on my radar and my wish list for almost a year. I was always tempted to purchase it online, but never did so when this product became readily available in New Zealand; of course I had to try it.

First impressions? Well it comes in a massive bottle which is made from a clear plastic, and has a pretty pink lid on top. The packaging is simplistic and understated, but I actually quite like it. The see through bottle lets you see the liquid inside that some are referring to as ‘holy water’, and I suppose I get the reference because it does just look like water in regards to colour and consistency. On first look, it seems like mine had fine particles floating through it which looked like dust of something. Not sure what it actually was though. I thought I would also mention just how foamy this cleanser is, and the reason I found that out was because I dropped it, and the whole air space of the bottle filled up with a bubbly solution.

The first time I used this; I just applied it to a cotton pad and then wipes the pad over my face and oh.my.gosh. I was shocked to see how much makeup came off. In fact, I actually ended up using 3 or 4 wipes to get all the makeup off, but I was so impressed. I do follow this with cleaning my face just with warm water because the thought of leaving cleanser on my face doesn’t make sense to me. This quickly became the product I reached for at night, until about 3 days after when my skin started breaking out like crazy. A bit of background about my skin, about from being sensitive, its pretty well behaved with blemishes mostly being confined to my t-zone. Or so it was until I stated using this product and my skin became bumpy everywhere. Not great. This product is great at removing makeup, but my skin just doesn’t like it. I will finish the bottle off because now I used it with a cotton bud to remove mascara and makeup mistakes when I get ready and it work really well for that purpose without my skin getting upset. Definitely worth a try, because if your skin agrees with this, I think you’ve just found a new favourite product.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
11th April, 2015 at 1:38 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
all time greatness

This is a great cleanser as well as make up remover for my sensitive skin. My now go to product and I will never give it up! I love that it doesn't make your skin feel oily or slimy afterwards. Soothes my skin after a long day without too much rubbing or scrubbing

Tips: Use generously. Wet two cotton pads and press onto each eye and wiggle gentle before wiping product away.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.0/5
9th April, 2015 at 12:18 pm
1 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Bit over hyped but is a good product not amazing

I brought this under all the hype about how it is a dupe for Bioderma. I use this before I cleanse my face with a Swissper cotton pad to remove most of my makeup. It does a good job of getting my face makeup off and brows before cleansing but for eye makeup such as strong mascaras and eyeliners it is a little hard to get off, eyeshadow it takes off easy. Since having short straight asian eyelashes I use mainly waterproof mascara and this just doesn't do the job for me I always have to go in with my Neutrogena eye makeup remover to get it off, which sucks because I thought this could be my holy grail one stop product to removing my makeup and strong mascara but sadly it doesn't. Apart from that I like how it is very gentle, and really preps my skin before getting the last remittance of makeup off my skin

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
8th April, 2015 at 8:07 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Makeup remover for non waterproof formulas

I absolutely love this on the face as it takes away all my makeup and even I f I go in with a makeup wipe later, there will be nothing left. I use around 10 drops on each cotton pad and I use either 2 or 3 cotton pads and that gets rid of all my face makeup. However I wear water proof mascara almost every day and this definitely does not do the job, which I'm not complaining as it does not say that it will. However if you are expecting this to take of water proof makeup, you will be disappointed. I love the packaging of this as it reminds me of their 2 in 1 face and eyes makeup remover which I loved dearly. This price is also good as countdown recently had a deal and it was only $9!

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.7/5
7th April, 2015 at 9:39 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Worth trying!

As with many other products, I gave in to the hype and bought myself a bottle of this micellar water. I’m glad I did, because I have been using it almost daily.

It comes in a cute 400ml bottle with a pink lid and pink accents. Very pretty! And it claims to last for 200 uses, which is probably quite possible as I have used it probably over 20 times already and hardly any has gone.

I usually use this to remove my makeup before cleansing, or just at the end of a long day (or night) when I can’t really be bothered properly washing my face. I just squirt a small amount onto a cotton pad and wipe it around my face. It usually takes about 2 pads to fully remove all my makeup. Makeup comes of easily without hard rubbing or pulling, it just wipes right off. I love that I don't have to rinse it off afterwards.

Waterproof eye makeup however is another story. It’s not very effective at removing my They’re Real! Mascara so I usually end up using a separate product to remove eye makeup.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
6th April, 2015 at 5:48 pm
1 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Best Make Up Remover... In The Wooorld (orld orld)

Generally, I use a separate make up remover to remove my eye make up. But over the weekend, while I was travelling, this was put to the test. And it passed.

I used to take off my eye make up, use a make up wipe for my face, cleanse my face with Cetaphil and then while I was toning, my cotton ball would come away with make up on it. I didn't care at the time, because hey, at least the toner was taking my make up off.

Now it's a whole new story. I use these big cotton rounds from KMart for both my eye make up remover and this Micellar Water (or just the water). One side of the pad for each eye, then both sides of the pad to do my whole face. Once I get to toning time, THERE IS NO MAKE UP ON MY FACE. NONE. At all. Once my Neutrogena eye make up remover runs out I think I'll just be using this for everything, because with that I'd sometimes still have panda eyes the next day, with this, I didn't. I love this stuff, at first I thought it was expensive, but I think this bottle will last me a really really long time. I love it! I really do.

Tips: Pour some into a container when you're travelling, this huge bottle takes up a TON of space!

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

it is amazing! love love love!

Overall rating:
1.3/5
6th April, 2015 at 10:23 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Disapointed

I followed the hype about this and was sadly very disappointed. Apparently 2ml will clean your whole face....Not. To clean my face I go through about 8 cotton pads with a decent amount of product on each one, every time I wipe my face more make up comes off until I give up and reach for my make up removing wipes to finish the job. It gets off some eye make up but not all. Im always left with smudged mascara left over under my eyes. I usually have normal to dry skin but since using this my face is now an oil slick. Not only that I have some nasty pimples as a result. I used this for around 2 weeks hoping my skin would adjust but now Im just over it. I will give the half a bottle I have left to a friend maybe they will like it more than I did.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
4th April, 2015 at 9:40 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Worth the hype?

My mum actually bought this back from Sydney for me to try (she got me 3 bottles!) so I was super excited to try it out. It left my face feeling clean and refreshed, it doesn't have a scent which is good too. The only bad thing I would say is that I feel I used a LOT of cotton pads to take off my makeup. I'm not sure if it was because of the quality of the pads or not, but that was the only bad thing I have to say.

Tips: Works amazing to clean brushes too! Just pour a little into a cup, swirl the dirty brush around and then clean on palm of hand under running water :)

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
3rd April, 2015 at 7:51 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Make up remover

I'd heard a lot about on line and this made me give it a try. I love the way it takes everything off and leaves you skin welling freshly washed. It really affordable and does exactlly what it says it would. I recently got out of hospital and this was a great product to use here. I could clean my skin without getting out of bed. My skin felt fresh and clean. It's a great product and lived up to the hype.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.7/5
3rd April, 2015 at 1:44 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Garnier Micellar water

A clear bottle with a pink pop top lid. 400 ml (great size) Clear liquid oily looking and bubbles. states that it has 200 uses from bottle. No scent. Water consistency and has no oily residue at all. I like to shake it and it bubbles up like a soap. I soak cotton pads and have learnt the more the better, as in, more pads. You only need a few squirms onto the pads and they absorb up the water. Then swiping over face starting at the eyes 1 pad each eye ensure to use both sides then continue on with the rest of the face. It doesn't scratch the face or feel harsh, it does tingle in the eye area and it removes makeup easily. However it doesn't get all of my mascara off. And still need to redo my eyes again with buds and wipes. This product is amazing and leaves you feeling clean. I've used it daily and it hasn't had any side effects no drying, breakouts and still a lot of liquid left. A bit bummed about the mascara not fully removing but still satisfied with product and am certain I'll get a lot of use from this bottle.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

New?

to find out why you
should join New Zealand's largest beauty website

Click here

Beauty Poll

See all
Do You Need Gentle but EFFECTIVE Skincare?

Do You Need Gentle but EFFECTIVE Skincare?

Yes, my skin is sensitive but troubled...

view results

Review of the Day
caz
Amazing regime
Love these two products!! Hair is hydrated which is something I’ve always struggled with in winter.… more »