Vault

Max value reached

Adding this item would put you over your total vault limit of $250. please review your cart to stay under the limit.

Schwarzkopf LIVE Colour Boost Shampoo Review

Schwarzkopf LIVE Colour Boost Shampoo Review
Overall rating from 41 reviews so far:
3.9/5
Would use it again?
4.0/5
Did it do what it said it would?
3.6/5
Would recommend it to a friend?
4.0/5

Schwarzkopf LIVE Colour is a hair colour range that offers ammonia-free, intense, vibrant colour. Suitable for shimmering highlights or rich all-over colour, LIVE Colour is an enriching colour mask formulated with pro-vitamin B5 that conditions and adds radiant shine to hair in one easy step.

Website

Write a review

Please sign in to write a review.

Not yet registered?

It's super simple and only takes 30 seconds.

Register now

How would you rate this product?

Schwarzkopf LIVE Colour Boost Shampoo Review

Schwarzkopf LIVE Colour Boost Shampoo Review

Reviews

Overall rating:
4.3/5
26th January, 2021
0 members found this review useful
Fun and effective

I bought the Silver and the Pink in these. I really like them. Great value and fun to temporarily change the colour of your hair. The silver is particuarly good at 'toning' blonde tones

Both shades the shampoo is very intense looking in colour. The pink is bright pink, and the Silver is a black/green shade. Like others I applied this to dry hair, rather than shampoo'ing. Left for about 5-10 minutes.

I used the Silver on my brassy blonde tones and it very effectively took some of the yellow away and left me with a more ash shade. I applied the pink, and it turned my brassy tones a nice chestnut/dark auburn shade.

On my daughters naturally light auburn hair, the pink gave her a really pretty rose gold look.

They are temporary, and continued use I think I'd find them quite drying, but they are effective, and followed with a good conditioner, my hair felt great. They didn't leave any residue colour after a few washes with regular shampoo. Price and performance - they're really great!

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
4.0/5
4th July, 2020
0 members found this review useful
Silver Shampoo - Shockingly effective

I have bleached blonde hair and thought I'd give the silver one a go to tone my hair a bit and see if it created a cool ashy affect, and it sure does! The shampoo comes in a simple white squeezy tube with a black lid. There is only 150mL of product which is a very small amount for the price but to be fair, a small amount of this is potent so it doesn't run out very quickly. It really depends on how much hair you have and how often you would use this, I only use this once a week or once every two weeks so it lasts a while. The product itself appears black/very dark green in colour and is quite a runny liquid. Although the colour appears terrifying to put on blonde hair and is offputting, it doesn't stain the hair or produce dark results. Whenever I've used this my hair appears brighter and less yellow, with a lovely silvery ashiness to the blonde, which is such a nice look. A little goes a long way and it doesn't need to be left on for long to work well and it washes out well. It's so effective it even made my brown regrowth ashier, and I think it'd have great effects on grey hair too, not just blonde. The shampoo has a pleasant smell, just a typical salon like shampoo fragrance but lovely all the same. I think this is an affordable wee gem to buy to play around with existing hair colour and change the tone or vibe of it, although this isn't what I would generally use regularly to maintain a hair colour (I still use purple shampoo normallu). I definitely would use it again whenever I am feeling like adding ashiness to my blonde hair. This isn't harsh at all and doesn't upset my roots so I think it's gentle enough for many dyed hair people to use, I'd just recommend checking with your hairdresser first to ensure it won't interact badly with the colour already in your hair.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
4.3/5
1st December, 2019
0 members found this review useful
Schwarzkopf Pink Colour Boost shampoo

I got one of these in the last Vault haul. My hair is pixie cut and silver. The colour can get boring, so I thought these colour boost shampoos would be a temporary change. I really lole it. The shampoo itself is bright pink. Instructions say to add to wet hair, but i apply to my hair dry. This works well for me. I leave it for the recommended 3 - 5 minutes and then add water and lather up. Once rinsed and dried, my hair has a soft pastelly colour that will last for about two shampoos. The colour is a bit odd. Not quite pink, not quite purple...but it is nice and I always get complimented on my hair when I have used this.

Tips: Not really a tip, more of a request. Schwarzkopf...where is the blue of this range?

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
5.0/5
22nd September, 2019
0 members found this review useful
Schwarzkopf Live Silver shampoo

As I started going white grey from a very early age I have been dyeing my hair dark brown for over 20 years. Finally having had enough of the two to three weekly touch up I decided its time to just embrace the grey. Now, I know we all try and defeat the signs of aging at every cost but I have finally had enough and lifted as much of the dark brown out of my hair as I could and I am now growing out the grey/white hair.

So, beauty vault opened and I puchased this shampoo to see what the result will be, I mean can't get any worse right?

So I opened the tube and squeezed some out on my hand and thought....OMW, this stuff is almost black in colour, what am I doing to my hair? Well, sucked it up,applied the shampoo and VOILA!. To my surprise the white colour was even more prominent and shiny than before. This shampoo smells nice and works well!

Will buy again and recommend

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
5.0/5
4th June, 2019
0 members found this review useful
Totally worth it!!

Love it! I've used it twice and can definitely see the difference! I paid $200 for the same results from the hairdressers only for it to wash out in 2 washes! Would definitely recommend to others!!

Tips: l put it through twice in each wash

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Overall rating:
2.0/5
20th May, 2019
0 members found this review useful
Didn't work for me, but...

The Schwarzkopf LIVE Colour Boost Shampoo silver did not work on my hair, however it may work wonderfully for people who do have silver hair. My hair is naturally blonde, with even light blonde highlights and when I used the shampoo (three different times for varying lengths of leave in time) nothing changed. However, the shampoo worked well in terms of lather and as a normal shampoo. I think this shampoo may be better suited to people who have had their hair done silver at a salon and then just use this as a way to lengthen the treatment. I would be interested in seeing other people's experiences, especially those who had silver hair already.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Overall rating:
3.0/5
20th May, 2019
0 members found this review useful
Mixed feelings on this one

My hair is normally red all over but with my regrowth coming in fast I thought I would give it a whirl and try some purple in the roots. I bleached a patch of my roots so that I could see the change in the blonde part and also used it over top of the red to see if it made an impact on that too, seeing as it's bleached under the red.

I really do love the appearance of the Schwarzkopf Colour Boost Shampoo. It reminds of when the brand Fudge was a huge brand in the late 90s, early 2000s. It's edgy and funky and would call to people young and old. Like I said above, I tried the purple shampoo to see if I could give my hair a different look. I started out by bleaching a side patch of my roots 5 days before hand to make sure it had time to settle in and give my scalp a rest.

Upon opening I take deep sniffs, but smell nothing note worthy. I was hoping it would have a nice floral or fresh smell. The texture reminds me of the thick, globby paint that was at kindy or school. A friend and I were discussing this and we both agreed that it is a bit weird that a colour boost is a shampoo rather than a conditioner. To me a shampoo is to wash something out and to clean it, not add colour. I think it would have worked alot better as a conditioner. It actually makes my hair quite tangled in true shampoo style. The colour is actually quite vibrant in the tube which is surprising. I was expecting something much lighter I guess. What is actually really pleasing is that there is no ammonia in this shampoo which is great news for my scalp. It stings with ammonia based dyes. I used a $2 coin size of the product and massage it in to the bleached part. I figure I would concentrate on this for a few days then see what impact the remainder of the hair would have.

It lathers up nicely, just how I like. I leave it in for 5 minutes to get a better effect and rinse thoroughly until the water runs clear, as the directions state. It surprises me to see the wash out is actually more lavender in appearance but it could be from the flubbles. Upon inspection I can definitely notice a difference. My roots are now a mauve/purple which is quite cool as opposed to dark brown. It was a gradual process because the colour isn't as vibrant as the tube makes out that it is. In saying that it would make sense seeing that it is shampoo and not a conditioner.type product. Once I had used it for 5 washes I moved on to the rest of my hair. It now has a mauve fade out to red effect.

I can't say I love it but I imagine being used on a full blonde canvas it would be magical. It would be a very easy and cool way to colour your hair without the harsh dyes and the dyeing process which can be lengthy and expensive because of the constant fading. I don't think it's for me because I prefer a dramatic change not just a gradual change. But I definitely think the idea is a great one.

Tips: Use your normal shampoo beforehand because I feel it doesn't clean your hair even though it has the word shampoo in the name.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Overall rating:
4.3/5
18th May, 2019
0 members found this review useful
Smokey pink result used on dark blonde hair

PINK on dark blonde hair

The colour boost shampoo was super easy to use. It comes in a squeeze tube with simple clear instructions on how to use it and what to expect from different starting hair colours.

I opted not to wear gloves and had no issues. The product itself is a nice consistency, not too thick or runny. It has a pleasant smell and left my hair feeling soft.

I left it on for the full 5 minutes. I opted not to condition and just smoothed through some argan oil while I dried it.

I have recently coloured my hair a dark blonde and it was looking a pretty brassy. The colour boost shampoo worked as a toner and has made the colour look really lovely.

The colour result from the pink colour boost shampoo was a pretty soft smokey pink hue. The type of colour that would be amazing when you want pink hair, but have to met dress standards so can't go all out pink. You can really see the pink tone when it catches the light. Such a pretty colour!

Tips: Great for toning brassy tones.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Overall rating:
4.0/5
14th May, 2019
0 members found this review useful
Colour boost shampoo

I trailed the purple colour boost shampoo. I’ve used Schwartzkoft products in the past and I’ve found them to be good quality every time. I found the product to be in a smaller sized tube than I though and if used 2-3 times per week, it would quickly need to be repurchased. Each time I washed my hair I used this shampoo. I found that the colour was more vibrant when I applied it to dry hair rather than wet hair. When applied to wet hair the purple colour was pale, almost lilac with hints of pinks. I’ve had bright vibrant hair in the past and I think this coloured shampoo would be great and helping to maintain the colour.

Tips: Use regularly when shampooing hair.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Overall rating:
4.0/5
14th May, 2019
0 members found this review useful
Gorgeous quick easy colour

First impressions on this product were good, the instructions for use were clear and simple and it looked and smelled pleasant. The instructions said it could be used on either wet hair or shampooed hair. The first time I tried it on wet hair. The colour took to my roots and with a few pink streaks going down. The colour was lovely and I received comments that it looked good but it was not visible enough for my liking. I used it again the next time I shampooed my hair, this worked much better as it was much more evenly spread and obvious, it still took to some parts of my hair better than others but was much closer to an all over pastel pink. I was very happy. I have not washed it out yet so time will tell how it lasts and how it looks when washing out. But I will most likey use this product again and look forward to trying some of the other colours.

Tips: Use on just shampooed hair.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.