Vault

Max value reached

Adding this item would put you over your total vault limit of $250. please review your cart to stay under the limit.

Colour Specialist
Colour Specialist

Schwarzkopf LIVE Colour Boost Shampoo Review

Schwarzkopf LIVE Colour Boost Shampoo Review
Overall rating from 37 reviews so far:
3.8/5
Would use it again?
3.9/5
Did it do what it said it would?
3.6/5
Would recommend it to a friend?
3.9/5

Schwarzkopf LIVE Colour is a hair colour range that offers ammonia-free, intense, vibrant colour. Suitable for shimmering highlights or rich all-over colour, LIVE Colour is an enriching colour mask formulated with pro-vitamin B5 that conditions and adds radiant shine to hair in one easy step.

Pack Size: 150ml

Availability  Supermarkets, Farmers, selected pharmacies

Website www.style-studio.co.nz

RRP: $14.99

Write a review

Please sign in to write a review.

Not yet registered?

It's super simple and only takes 30 seconds.

Register now

How would you rate this product?

Schwarzkopf LIVE Colour Boost Shampoo Review

Schwarzkopf LIVE Colour Boost Shampoo Review

Reviews

Overall rating:
5.0/5
4th June, 2019
0 members found this review useful
Totally worth it!!

Love it! I've used it twice and can definitely see the difference! I paid $200 for the same results from the hairdressers only for it to wash out in 2 washes! Would definitely recommend to others!!

Tips: l put it through twice in each wash

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Overall rating:
2.0/5
20th May, 2019
0 members found this review useful
Didn't work for me, but...

The Schwarzkopf LIVE Colour Boost Shampoo silver did not work on my hair, however it may work wonderfully for people who do have silver hair. My hair is naturally blonde, with even light blonde highlights and when I used the shampoo (three different times for varying lengths of leave in time) nothing changed. However, the shampoo worked well in terms of lather and as a normal shampoo. I think this shampoo may be better suited to people who have had their hair done silver at a salon and then just use this as a way to lengthen the treatment. I would be interested in seeing other people's experiences, especially those who had silver hair already.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Overall rating:
3.0/5
20th May, 2019
0 members found this review useful
Mixed feelings on this one

My hair is normally red all over but with my regrowth coming in fast I thought I would give it a whirl and try some purple in the roots. I bleached a patch of my roots so that I could see the change in the blonde part and also used it over top of the red to see if it made an impact on that too, seeing as it's bleached under the red.

I really do love the appearance of the Schwarzkopf Colour Boost Shampoo. It reminds of when the brand Fudge was a huge brand in the late 90s, early 2000s. It's edgy and funky and would call to people young and old. Like I said above, I tried the purple shampoo to see if I could give my hair a different look. I started out by bleaching a side patch of my roots 5 days before hand to make sure it had time to settle in and give my scalp a rest.

Upon opening I take deep sniffs, but smell nothing note worthy. I was hoping it would have a nice floral or fresh smell. The texture reminds me of the thick, globby paint that was at kindy or school. A friend and I were discussing this and we both agreed that it is a bit weird that a colour boost is a shampoo rather than a conditioner. To me a shampoo is to wash something out and to clean it, not add colour. I think it would have worked alot better as a conditioner. It actually makes my hair quite tangled in true shampoo style. The colour is actually quite vibrant in the tube which is surprising. I was expecting something much lighter I guess. What is actually really pleasing is that there is no ammonia in this shampoo which is great news for my scalp. It stings with ammonia based dyes. I used a $2 coin size of the product and massage it in to the bleached part. I figure I would concentrate on this for a few days then see what impact the remainder of the hair would have.

It lathers up nicely, just how I like. I leave it in for 5 minutes to get a better effect and rinse thoroughly until the water runs clear, as the directions state. It surprises me to see the wash out is actually more lavender in appearance but it could be from the flubbles. Upon inspection I can definitely notice a difference. My roots are now a mauve/purple which is quite cool as opposed to dark brown. It was a gradual process because the colour isn't as vibrant as the tube makes out that it is. In saying that it would make sense seeing that it is shampoo and not a conditioner.type product. Once I had used it for 5 washes I moved on to the rest of my hair. It now has a mauve fade out to red effect.

I can't say I love it but I imagine being used on a full blonde canvas it would be magical. It would be a very easy and cool way to colour your hair without the harsh dyes and the dyeing process which can be lengthy and expensive because of the constant fading. I don't think it's for me because I prefer a dramatic change not just a gradual change. But I definitely think the idea is a great one.

Tips: Use your normal shampoo beforehand because I feel it doesn't clean your hair even though it has the word shampoo in the name.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Overall rating:
4.3/5
18th May, 2019
0 members found this review useful
Smokey pink result used on dark blonde hair

PINK on dark blonde hair

The colour boost shampoo was super easy to use. It comes in a squeeze tube with simple clear instructions on how to use it and what to expect from different starting hair colours.

I opted not to wear gloves and had no issues. The product itself is a nice consistency, not too thick or runny. It has a pleasant smell and left my hair feeling soft.

I left it on for the full 5 minutes. I opted not to condition and just smoothed through some argan oil while I dried it.

I have recently coloured my hair a dark blonde and it was looking a pretty brassy. The colour boost shampoo worked as a toner and has made the colour look really lovely.

The colour result from the pink colour boost shampoo was a pretty soft smokey pink hue. The type of colour that would be amazing when you want pink hair, but have to met dress standards so can't go all out pink. You can really see the pink tone when it catches the light. Such a pretty colour!

Tips: Great for toning brassy tones.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Overall rating:
4.0/5
14th May, 2019
0 members found this review useful
Colour boost shampoo

I trailed the purple colour boost shampoo. I’ve used Schwartzkoft products in the past and I’ve found them to be good quality every time. I found the product to be in a smaller sized tube than I though and if used 2-3 times per week, it would quickly need to be repurchased. Each time I washed my hair I used this shampoo. I found that the colour was more vibrant when I applied it to dry hair rather than wet hair. When applied to wet hair the purple colour was pale, almost lilac with hints of pinks. I’ve had bright vibrant hair in the past and I think this coloured shampoo would be great and helping to maintain the colour.

Tips: Use regularly when shampooing hair.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Overall rating:
4.0/5
14th May, 2019
0 members found this review useful
Gorgeous quick easy colour

First impressions on this product were good, the instructions for use were clear and simple and it looked and smelled pleasant. The instructions said it could be used on either wet hair or shampooed hair. The first time I tried it on wet hair. The colour took to my roots and with a few pink streaks going down. The colour was lovely and I received comments that it looked good but it was not visible enough for my liking. I used it again the next time I shampooed my hair, this worked much better as it was much more evenly spread and obvious, it still took to some parts of my hair better than others but was much closer to an all over pastel pink. I was very happy. I have not washed it out yet so time will tell how it lasts and how it looks when washing out. But I will most likey use this product again and look forward to trying some of the other colours.

Tips: Use on just shampooed hair.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Overall rating:
5.0/5
13th May, 2019
0 members found this review useful
Hair colour at it's full potential

Schwarzkopf Live Colour Boost shampoo does exactly what it's meant to do. It REVIVES that dull washed out colour that you wish stayed in for longer. This is the answer we have all been waiting for!

I had previously used Schwarzkopf Live colours before. I used the magenta colour on my previously highlighted hair. I was worried that this product would go darker than my original colour because it was purple but it stuck to the magenta colour and made it brighter than I had originally thought.

This product smells amazing and comes in an easy to use tube that is resealable. When using the product it came out easily and wasn't too runny. I tried it on both wet and dry hair. I found that the dry hair worked better than the wet. The colour came out much brighter.

I have continued to use this product each time I have needed to wash my hair. Each time it has kept the colour bright and vibrant. It makes your hair feel so soft. To apply, I used my hands, as I didn't have any gloves. I was surprised that there was no staining at all! I even used it in the bath and came out unscathed.

All in all this product is amazing and super easy to use. I would definitely recommend it to others. I have been searching for something like this for a long time as I am busy with my job and find colouring my hair a time consuming and full on process. I will be buying again! Thanks Beauty Review team!

Tips: Use Schwarzkof Live Colour Boost shampoo every time you need to wash your hair to keep it bright and vibrant.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Overall rating:
2.3/5
12th May, 2019
0 members found this review useful
Not Wowed

I really wanted to like this product - I have vibrantly coloured hair (purple, pink, yellow, turquoise and yellow) - that is very high maintenance, so a colour shampoo at a reasonable price and readily available (I buy all of my colours online, some from overseas) was exciting!

My hair has a lot of regrowth (and if I’m honest, some greys), and rather than bleach then redye it, I thought I’d try this first to see if it tints my natural (dull dark blonde) hair colour. My yellow had faded to a golden blonde, so I had high hopes it would take on a light purple tint. I hadn’t washed my hair for almost two weeks (I use a dry shampoo in between washes to extend the life of my colours).

Instructions suggest wearing gloves, but I didn’t, and unlike a dye, it left no staining on my hands, even though the shampoo is a very deep purple. I separated my hair, and used my regular shampoo on the turquoise section of my hair, but used the LIVE Colour Boost on the purple (main colour), red, yellow and green in my hair. I squeezed out about as much as I would my normal shampoo, but when I applied it, my porous hair sucked it up and I had to apply more. I left it in for around 3-5 minutes (as directed) before rinsing. I don’t know if the water ran purple when rinsing because of my original hair dye or the shampoo, but it didn’t take long to rinse clear. I then applied my regular conditioner like normal.

Because I have to bleach my hair to get the vibrant colours I like, my hair is very damaged and I usually use salon products only to help protect and condition my hair. While the shampoo seemed to clean my hair fairly well, my hair isn’t as soft and conditioned as it would normally feel after my usual products.

Then the colour. Because my purple colour was still quite vibrant, I haven’t noticed any colour change in that. It didn’t tint my natural regrowth (or the greys). The yellow/blonde section of my hair has a few tinted purple strands, but barely noticeable, and the Live Colour Boost shampoo did not effect the red or green sections of my hair at all.

I will probably use this again when my colour is faded a little more, just to give it another chance, but I don’t think it’s suited to hair that is usually as vibrantly coloured as mine, so I probably wouldn’t purchase again. Given the amount I had to use, I dont think this would be a terribly cheap way to maintain a colour, salon products would cost around the same with a better result?

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Overall rating:
3.7/5
12th May, 2019
0 members found this review useful
the best?

i was #blessed to win a chance to trial this via instagram. i quite like my hair and if there's a product to maintain, or at least prolong, the color before i have to do an all over color, i'm all over it like spikes on a hedgehog.

the color is a gorgeous deep pink. like. if i could have a hair color, i'd straight up choose that. it's a clear opaque, if that makes sense. it's a solid pink color yep but you can still see through it. the tube actually recommends you wear waterproof gloves in the shower, it's yet to stain my hands though so i don't bother with anything.

application is easy enough, just split my hair down the middle, wet the pink side and shampoo as normal but now with a twist! i despise having to wait 5 minutes to rinse it, i don't like wasting water. sure i could just turn the shower off, but i'm not standing and drip drying for 5 minutes either just to get wet again!

i thought a shampoo color booster is rather bizarre, usually shampoo takes the color out of my hair so i was interested and pleased to note it did neither, and had very little washout itself. as a shampoo it's absolute garbage, my hair felt greasy, like i hadn't rinsed the shampoo out, like it was just a dye but bubblier. i've never had any lucky with schwarzkopf shampoos so i wasn't surprised to find that this side was a dud.

as for the coloring side, sure it works. my pink appears darker than it was, the tips that were going white have been slightly recolored, and i think with constant use i should be able to maintain the pink for longer. if youre reading this now, there will be a picture on the photo wall, if you're from the future, hiiiii!

i used this shampoo three different ways - on dry hair, on unwashed hair, and on shampooed hair. i think the best result for me was on shampooed hair, as my hair felt slightly cleaner and less gross. so yeah, it works as a color booster. just not as a shampoo. i would have preferred a conditioner version, and depending on the price i would be willing to pay more for it as well. thanks BR :-)

Tips: if youre worried about it staining your hands the tube says to wear waterproof gloves. otherwise i dont think the staining is all that bad and once you've washed your body it's practically gone!

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Overall rating:
4.7/5
11th May, 2019
0 members found this review useful
Use on dry hair and be amazed!

When this arrived, I decided to play with it, before using the dye. I followed the instructions, and yes it made my hair pastel, but I was a little underwhelmed. It was more like a pink rinse (you know like the old ladies used to have on Corrie!)

I decided to play some more, and after waiting for a few days, I applied this to dry hair, and left it for about half an hour. The result was beautiful. Bubblegum pink and I was really impressed by how even it was!

I honestly think this shampoo is the bomb - when used on dry hair. I trialed the LIVE colour as well, but will actually just continue to use this to maintain the pink I like.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.