Vault

Max value reached

Adding this item would put you over your total vault limit of $250. please review your cart to stay under the limit.

Glam Pro Lash
Glam Pro Lash

Rimmel Stay Matte Pressed Powder Review

Rimmel Stay Matte Pressed Powder Review
Overall rating from 295 reviews so far:
4.6/5
Would use it again?
4.6/5
Did it do what it said it would?
4.5/5
Would recommend it to a friend?
4.5/5

Up to 5 hours natural shine control with natural minerals. Helps minimise the appearance of pores. Dermatologically tested.

Availability: Farmers, Selected department stores, Selected Pharmacies, Online

Website: http://us.rimmellondon.com



RRP: $14.99

Write a review

Please sign in to write a review.

Not yet registered?

It's super simple and only takes 30 seconds.

Register now

How would you rate this product?

Rimmel Stay Matte Pressed Powder Review

Rimmel Stay Matte Pressed Powder Review

Reviews

Overall rating:
4.7/5
4th February, 2015
2 members found this review useful
Great Price For A Great Product

This is the kind of product that I use until the very last crumbly bits and then eagerly delve into the new one I have waiting in line! It's such a great setting powder for my foundation and the finish is great! That being said, I have recently discovered Maybelline's Matte Maker pressed powder and the finish is ever so slightly better. I say this because I feel that the Rimmel Stay Matte Pressed Powder has a very light shimmer in it (you may not think this at all), where as the Maybelline one is true matte (in my opinion) and it applies more even as well! But as far as the Rimmal Stay Matte Pressed Powder goes, it was the first Matte Pressed Powder that I owned and I have loved it very much and I would still recommend it to a friend without a doubt. Amazing value for your money!

Tips: Using a large fluffy brush or a kabuki brush etc, dust an even amount of Rimmel Stay Matte Pressed Powder onto the brush, tap off any excess and then pat lightly onto your face. Start from the center and move outwards. At the edges use ,light circular motions to buff out all the edges to prevent a cakey look or a foundation line!

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.7/5
15th January, 2015
0 members found this review useful
Cheap and effective

I bought this after hearing and reading endless great reviews. I use it everyday, applying in with a powder brush all over my face. I occasionally reapply later in the day. I find that it makes my skin matte, but not cakey looking.

My only gripe is the packaging. The lid is a clear bit of plastic that just pulls off - it does not twist on or anything - meaning that it is quite flimsy and prone to breaking. I have cracks in the lid even though I am careful with it.

I do find that you hit pan quite quickly on this, but then it takes a long time to use the rest of the powder.

It's so good that I bought three backups when they were on sale on Asos.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.0/5
28th December, 2014
0 members found this review useful
Rimmel Stay Matte Pressed Powder

This is perfect for setting your foundation or turning it to a nicer matte finish. I dust it on and do an extra layer around my nose to set my foundation so it doesnt slide. Very light weight and doesnt cake up or flake off on me, which is a plus. Sometimes if im in a rush ill use it just on my face without makeup to take away some of the oil/shine to have a more fresher look. I paid $8 on trademe so well worth it. Its a must in my beauty kit.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
16th December, 2014
1 members found this review useful
Pressed Powder

My holy grail of powders. Apart from the fact my son loves to eat it, this product is flawless. It sets my foundation no problem, doesn't appear chalky, is the perfect shade. Just love love love it. I use a general powder brush and apply after foundation and it seems to last all day. It doesn't appear chalky if applied twice, easily blends into the skin if worn alone otherwise it absorbs into the foundation giving a matte almost make-up-less appearance. Personally i like to apply a lot, as in i swirl the brush with the product each time i go to set a new area which ends up being about 8-10 times and then gently buff off any excess product. Definitely something worth trying if you haven't found a decent powder or something with a cheap price tag as this definitely lasts longer than some other powders ive brought that are between $25-$30. I do have dry skin so my face is pretty matte anyway but it stops any unwanted shine from the foundation.

Tips: Definitely apply with a brush and wait a couple minutes to set then buff off excess to stop caking or an unnatural looking finish.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.3/5
12th December, 2014
0 members found this review useful
does the job!

I use my Rommel stay matte over my Mac mineral skin finish when I feel like a change. I love the product but it can sometimes leave my face with an uneven matte effect. Yes its on the title, but I'll only use a small amount and it will look like cake! But this is only sometimes and depends on the brush I use, overall a good product for controlling the shine in my tzone and does exactly what it says.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.3/5
12th December, 2014
1 members found this review useful
Finally a powder that can handle my oily skin

I own this in the shade 003 Peach Glow which is a perfect match for my skin. Normally whenever I try to find a powder it makes me look ghostly pale or cakey orange, but this is such a perfect match for me; it looks completely natural and you cannot detect I'm wearing powder, which is the whole point, isn't it? The packaging isn't very good for putting in your handbag or travelling as the lid slips off quite easily. The powder has a cute fleur-de-lis design on it which was a nice touch. The powder has a slight perfumey scent to it, which I'm not used to in a powder, but I like it as some of my past powders have had an awful chemical smell that annoys me all day, whereas this one's scent goes unnoticed to me when I am wearing it. The powder blends really well over my bare skin and over my foundation and it really does keep my skin matte. I have very oily skin and in the past, whenever I've used powder I'd still end up with a shiny face by lunch time, but the Stay Matte powder completely prevents that. I can safely wear it all day without a hint of oiliness or shine. However, this certainly does not stay matte over my BB cream. When I used this on top of my BB cream the powder caked and did not stay matte at all, but I don't mind very much as I mainly use powder over foundation. I would definitely repurchase this because it keeps my make-up matte for a pretty low price.

Tips: Don't use over BB cream, as the powder doesn't stay matte over top of it.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
2nd December, 2014
0 members found this review useful
Great price, great product

The casing is simple and clean, you can easily see the product and how much you have left. The price is very good for the amount of product you get, and it lasts very well. I have been using mine for about 6 weeks now and it barely looks used.

I dont like my make-up to look heavy, I love the flawless 'no-make-up' look and this product is great for that.

I use the shade 001 Transparent and it is perfect for wearing on top of my foundation and/or concealers to take away any shine or excess 'greasiness' so when I put on blush and eye shadows I have a solid base that lasts all day.

Tips: I lightly apply this on top of my foundation/concealer to set before adding on blusher etc.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.3/5
3rd November, 2014
0 members found this review useful
Rimmel Stay Matte Pressed Powder

I purchased this after seeing many great reviews. It definitely stays Matte! I have found it sets my foundation really well also. I did find that it wore off esp on my nose and chin, which was interesting as my skin is more dry than oily. But for the price it did what it said it was going to do and because its so affordable I would purchase again.

Tips: For the price you may aswell give it a go!

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
19th October, 2014
0 members found this review useful
My Go To Mattifier

Hearing a lot about this, I wasn't disappointed when I finally picked some up. I intentionally bought the translucent shade so that I could apply it as a separate setting powder, or finishing step, over top of my daily coloured powder. I usually just apply it to my T Zone and it's perfect!

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
12th October, 2014
0 members found this review useful
Holy Grail

I absolutely, 100% ADORE this product! My T-zone has the tendency to get quite oily, but not with Rimmel Stay Matte on the case. I have this in the shade "translucent" which actually is translucent (say whaaaaat???) and it is the perfect finishing touch to my face no matter where I'm going or what I'm doing. I just swirl a fluffy powder brush around in it, give the brush a tap to get rid of the excess then buff it all over my face. Oh, and did I mention that it's one of the cheaper powders on the market? Cause it is - score! 11/10 recommend you buy it!

Tips: None at all, this stuff is perfection. I just want to roll around in it haha

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No