Vault

Max value reached

Adding this item would put you over your total vault limit of $250. please review your cart to stay under the limit.

Rimmel Stay Matte Pressed Powder Review

Rimmel Stay Matte Pressed Powder Review
Overall rating from 304 reviews so far:
4.6/5
Would use it again?
4.6/5
Did it do what it said it would?
4.5/5
Would recommend it to a friend?
4.5/5

Up to 5 hours natural shine control with natural minerals. Helps minimise the appearance of pores. Dermatologically tested.

Availability: Farmers, Selected department stores, Selected Pharmacies, Online

Website: http://us.rimmellondon.com



RRP: $14.99

Write a review

Please sign in to write a review.

Not yet registered?

It's super simple and only takes 30 seconds.

Register now

How would you rate this product?

Rimmel Stay Matte Pressed Powder Review

Rimmel Stay Matte Pressed Powder Review

Reviews

Overall rating:
4.0/5
24th June, 2015
0 members found this review useful
Great value for money

I got this powder because I wanted an alternative to my more expensive one and I decided to get it in translucent. I have been using it over Rimmel liquid foundation to set it and reduce shine and it does a really good job. I also have just brushed this powder on on it's own to give a light coverage and it performs really well. I do have to reapply a wee swipe of powder more frequently that the more expensive brand I use but you know what at less then a third of the price who cares? By only negative about this product is the packaging. Basically if the lid breaks I'm stuffed. This is, overall, a great powder which even in the translucent shade (can you even class translucent as a 'shade'?) has a better coverage than you would expect!

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
5.0/5
28th May, 2015
0 members found this review useful
Holy grail powder

I have been using Rimmel's stay matte for the past five months and decided to purchase it because of all the great things I have heard about it.

I picked this up in the shade translucent because I have quite a pale complexion and also didn't want a powder that would give me more coverage.

My skin type is normal so I don't have to worry about where to concentrate the product. This definitely does help my base last all day without sliding around or wearing off. This powder also doesn't cake up either which is great to use when wanting a flawless face.

I like the packaging it's simple and all you have to do is twist the plastic top off and your ready to go. It also had the Rimmel logo engraved in the powder which was quite a lovely touch. It is also slim which is great for traveling.

I will definitely repurchase this item as it is the best powder I have ever used.

Tips: I use a kabuki brush to apply this to pat my foundation or bb cream. A little product goes a long way and you want to pat it over your face rather than buff as you could move around the liquid foundation/bb cream.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
5.0/5
12th May, 2015
0 members found this review useful
Awesome product!

I love this pressed powder has been my go to for about 3 years now.. I switch between the translucent if I'm using a full coverage foundation or the peach glow if my foundation is on the sheer side. It really does do what it's going to say it does it locks my makeup and keeps me matte all day. Also for the price point it's great lasts quite a long time. I apply mine with a brush and push it into my skin, I have used a sponge before and I think a brush is just a bit more efficient and you don't use as much product. I normally purchase mine from Kmart or farmers I believe the price is the same at both stores.

Tips: If you have problems with caking use a setting spray or a hydrating most over top as its not that finely milled

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
2.7/5
10th May, 2015
0 members found this review useful
Not sure if translucent or non-existent!

This was my first ever finishing powder. I bought it as I have quite oily skin so needed something to set my foundation and stop it running off my face! I bought the translucent shade.

The packaging is ok, I wouldn't be very confident putting it in my bag for touch ups through the day - the lid would possibly come off or crack. It's fine if you're keeping it at home though.

I've tried applying it with both a sponge and a powder brush. When using the sponge it will go on the sponge but not transfer to my face. When I use the brush I can't even see it on the brush and can't actually tell if it's even on my face at all.

I haven't noticed any particular effects from this powder. It doesn't prolong my makeup, but doesn't shorten it or make it look any worse either.

I won't be repurchasing this, and will probably re-gift it to my teenage niece.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
5.0/5
8th May, 2015
0 members found this review useful
Loved IT

I've used this many times. I think i'm on my third one now! I love it! I use the transparent colour rather than tinted. It keeps my makeup in place and gives me a matte finish.

Tips: It's easily broken when dropped! I know from experience. Don't use too much - it can look cakey.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
5.0/5
25th April, 2015
0 members found this review useful
Awesome on its own or to set foundation

This powder is so natural-looking. A light dusting on bare skin will brighten up your complexion. Applied over foundation, it will set and reduce shine.

It is fragranced so if you're sensitive to fragrances it may not be for you.

For such a low price, it's an excellent product.

Tips: Dust on the T-zone after applying liquid foundation to maintain a dewy look without looking shiny.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
4.0/5
15th April, 2015
0 members found this review useful
Stay Matte - Stay in my Drawer

This gave a nice matte coverage that lasted maybe four hours tops before I need to touch up. This was the first finishing powder I bought after every vlogger I follow was using it and I figured it had to be good if they were recommending it. My only gripe is the packaging isn't fantastic. I've broken a couple of lids and sometimes they don't stay on. But otherwise, this does a great job of helping you, stay matte!

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
worldofsooziewong
13th May, 2015

I remember the packaging breaking on Rimmel powder when I used to buy it in the 80s! You think they would have sorted it out by now, lol.

Overall rating:
5.0/5
15th April, 2015
0 members found this review useful
Rimmel Stay matte

This is actually my first finishing matte powder I've purchased and I'm not disappointed.

Firstly the packaging is compact and has a crown stamped on the the powder itself. Now who doesn't want be a Queen or rather who isn't a Queen. I know this symbol is more to do with the country of production but hey why not.

This is a pressed powder, I have translucent. Making it compatible whatever coverage I wear.

It's a breeze to pick up onto your setting or powder brush and you can build up the amount each swipe. I was astonished how easy it is to use. It is definitely matte and sits on your face making your concealer and foundation look flawless, it also covers your pores. As I have a oily tzone and noticeable pores. Again left me amazed. It sets your face for a full day. After wearing for a full day my makeup doesn't look uneven or worn off. I have had to do dishes in a industrial kitchen and the heat did show up some shine but not significantly noticeable and I didn't mind having to do a touch up.

I am really liking this pressed powder and what's more it's inexpensive to purchase.

Tips: Use in combination with Rimmel stay matte foundation. Pick up the powder and tap off before applying to your skin. Try not to over powder to avoid the caking look.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
3.3/5
8th April, 2015
0 members found this review useful
Tiny glitter

I really like this product from first glance and first couple of uses. But once I got to half way I started to notice pecks of glitter and reflection on different lighting, at first I thought it was some hair spray that had got on my face but turns out there are tiny bits of glitter, almost barley noticeable, in the powder. It doesn't annoy me too much but be aware for anyone who doesn't want this.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
5.0/5
2nd March, 2015
0 members found this review useful
Amazing

This was the first setting powder I ever tried, so have never compared it as I have repurchased every time. Love this powder, it does not look powdery and sets my makeup perfectly. Lasts me a good 6 months so I definitely say its worth the money, although it is very cheap any way

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.

Have You Registered With NZ's Biggest Beauty Guide?

We're always looking for great reviewers to send FREE, FULL SIZED Beauty Products to!

Register today, and help New Zealand never make a Bad Beauty Buy again!

Register Here!