Vault

Max value reached

Adding this item would put you over your total vault limit of $250. please review your cart to stay under the limit.

Rimmel Stay Matte Pressed Powder Review

Rimmel Stay Matte Pressed Powder Review
Overall rating from 303 reviews so far:
4.6/5
Would use it again?
4.6/5
Did it do what it said it would?
4.5/5
Would recommend it to a friend?
4.5/5

Up to 5 hours natural shine control with natural minerals. Helps minimise the appearance of pores. Dermatologically tested.

Availability: Farmers, Selected department stores, Selected Pharmacies, Online

Website: http://us.rimmellondon.com



RRP: $14.99

Write a review

Please sign in to write a review.

Not yet registered?

It's super simple and only takes 30 seconds.

Register now

How would you rate this product?

Rimmel Stay Matte Pressed Powder Review

Rimmel Stay Matte Pressed Powder Review

Reviews

Overall rating:
4.0/5
24th December, 2015
1 members found this review useful
Good But Not Amazing

I got the Rimmel Stay Matte Pressed Powder to go with my Rimmel Foundation.

Picking a pressed powder was an interesting experience as the shade 001 of the powder was transluscent whereas 001 of the foundation was ivory, so I ended up getting 003 in the powder and 001 in the foundation as they were the best colour match. So I would have liked to have seen both an ivory foundation and powder that I instantly knew matched.

When applying the pressed powder it spread smoothly and evenly across the skin, leaving nearly no stray powder unlike loose powder. However unlike loose powder I also didn't get much product or colour. It did however instantly mattify the skin and lock in the foundation for the whole day.

That this powder made my foundation last significantly longer is the one reason I would buy it again.

I felt the packaging was very cheap but I did like the Rimmel logo in the powder.

I don't get too many shine issues, but I believe it would help this too.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
5.0/5
17th December, 2015
0 members found this review useful
Perfect and amazing price!!!

I had heard alot of raves about this product and at the price I thought why not try it? It is a fantastc product that doesnt leave you looking dry or cakey and sets your makeup fantasticly! The product its self applies easily with a large fluffy brush or a kabuki brush. It also lasts quite a while! The packaging is quite cheap which is the only downfall as I always seem to crack the lid, but at that price point I can forgive it haha!

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
5.0/5
1st December, 2015
0 members found this review useful
A Staple!

This powder is such an essential in my beauty bag. I often get oily around my eyelids and forehead and Rimmel Stay Matte Pressed Powder in Transparent works well to mattify my oily areas without added colour - which is exactly what I want to achieve. I'm not one on spending tonnes of money on transparent powders and Stay Matte does the job and does it well (and is super cheap - I get mine from ASOS!). The pricing in New Zealand, though a bit steep, is still better than other powders which are overly priced yet achieves the same thing. Again, I suggest getting yours from ASOS.com who hold a variety of the shades and sell if for around $8 (plus is always on sale). The powder is very effective and doesn't look like powder when applied on the skin. In fact, it blends effortlessly and disappears completely - only leaving a matte effect on the required parts of my face.

I find that my makeup also stays put (and matte!) throughout the day with very little required touch ups (if ever!). This will depend on how oily your face gets as this will vary among different people.

Overall: love LOVE this powder! I use it every day and endlessly hit pan!

Tips: Don't forget that putting on powder doesn't have to be the end of your makeup routine! If you feel like your face lacks dimension when completely matte, then go ahead and carve your face with bronzer, blusher and all sorts!

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
4.7/5
16th November, 2015
0 members found this review useful
Mattify Me!

Rimmel Stay Matte is an oil-absorbing pressed powder that leaves you with a shine-free complexion for up to 5 hours. Dermatologically tested, this powder also claims to help to minimize the appearance of large pores.

The simple plastic packaging has a twist-off transparent lid with an opaque base and the overall size is slim, making it easy to slip into a handbag for touch-ups during the day or to take on holiday.

I have oily skin, so I used this all over my face to set my foundation and not just on my T-zone and this powder definitely helps to keep my skin looking matte for longer. After applying my foundation or BB cream, I'll set it with Rimmel Stay Matte Pressed Powder on a beauty blender or cosmetic sponge. To touch up later in the day I use it sparingly on a powder brush, as powder can start to look thick and cakey if too much is applied or if there are too many layers.

Tips: The lid may eventually become loose with long-term use. If you're going to pop this in your handbag, place a hair tie around it to make sure that it stays closed. It also means you have a hair tie handy if you ever need one.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
4.3/5
21st October, 2015
0 members found this review useful
Recommend to anyone

This is such a great product for the price you pay as a little goes a long way. I will be purchasing another very soon. It's great for setting both liquid and mineral foundation to keep the shine away and softens the look. However, if you apply too much, it can become cakey looking. In terms of packaging, the lid cracked and I had to tape it together (not sure if this happens to other people)

Tips: - Start off on your T-zone as thats where you will need it the most and then lightly dust over the rest of the face.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
4.7/5
21st October, 2015
0 members found this review useful
Great little powder

This is a great product for setting foundation with, it is super affordable and lightweight so doesnt make you look cakey. I do find I hit the pan a bit quicker with this than with other powders but for less than $20 a pop im not complaining!

Tips: Only negative is it doesnt have a mirror :(

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
4.7/5
22nd September, 2015
0 members found this review useful
I am officially converted!

I recently changed my foundation to get a more affordable one for saving reasons. I was talked in to getting a setting powder which happened to be the Rimmel Stay Matte Pressed Powder. I am not normally a fan of pressed powder and the word MATTE scared the daylights out of me. I was assured that this was what the retail assistant wore and that it was the best so in my shopping basket this went. $16.95 is very fair and affordable ans not much money to lose if I don't like it.

I like a dewy finish on my foundation so when I went to use this over top to set it I was hoping it wouldn't make it too matte and make my dry skin appear patchy and even drier. I love that the compact comes with the Rimmel crown logo stamped in to the powder like their other products have. It gives it that much more appeal to me. It's a translucent powder so doesn't add colour or fade to my skin. I use a big poofy powder brush and swirl it gently over the compact. I tap the brush to allow excess to fall away and so that I don't layer my face in powder. I stipple it on making sure I get all of my face.

This powder makes my foundation last all day long with no red cheeks showing through hallelujah! I was scared it would cling to my dry patches but happy happy joy joy it doesn't yay! It doesn't make my skin appear matte at all which is weird considering the name of it. This lasts so long and I am not even denting the compact yet after using it everyday for over four weeks. I actually find that it evens completes my makeup look by making it appear flawless and complete! I am totally converted and will now be giving my setting spray a rest for a bit! A new kid is in town and it's my new fave.

Tips: Stipple it on to get it even and make your face appear flawless.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
5.0/5
19th July, 2015
0 members found this review useful
My favourite setting powder

This has to be my holy grail when it comes to setting powder. I use the shade 001 transparent. The powder is fine so it doesn't go on cakey and I find one layer will really nicely set my foundation giving a matte finish, I don't like to apply too much as it can leave a white cast if you go overboard. I find this really helps the other products on my face to last throughout the day. I think this product is more suited to oily skin.

The one down fall of thus product is the packing. It is cheap and plasticy and I find my lid always cracks so it's not a product I can throw in the make up bag and take with me when I go out. But hey you can't just a book by its cover right and the product is great.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
3.0/5
14th July, 2015
0 members found this review useful
Just your usual setting powder

I have used this powder a few times in my years of makeup, It has been available since i was a teenager. I find it is fantastic as a setting-powder but i wouldn't use it on it's own It smooths my foundation, covers my imperfections, and mattifys it for a nice smooth coverage. I didn't find it was too cakey, but there isn't enough of it haha! Too soon did I hit pan. But luckily the purchase price was reasonable and the warehouse stocks this and often they have 25% off so that's the time to buy this! I would repurchase this

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
4.0/5
24th June, 2015
0 members found this review useful
Great value for money

I got this powder because I wanted an alternative to my more expensive one and I decided to get it in translucent. I have been using it over Rimmel liquid foundation to set it and reduce shine and it does a really good job. I also have just brushed this powder on on it's own to give a light coverage and it performs really well. I do have to reapply a wee swipe of powder more frequently that the more expensive brand I use but you know what at less then a third of the price who cares? By only negative about this product is the packaging. Basically if the lid breaks I'm stuffed. This is, overall, a great powder which even in the translucent shade (can you even class translucent as a 'shade'?) has a better coverage than you would expect!

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.

Have You Registered With NZ's Biggest Beauty Guide?

We're always looking for great reviewers to send FREE, FULL SIZED Beauty Products to!

Register today, and help New Zealand never make a Bad Beauty Buy again!

Register Here!