Vault

Max value reached

Adding this item would put you over your total vault limit of $250. please review your cart to stay under the limit.

Miraculous Facial Oil
Miraculous Facial Oil

Revlon ColorStay Full Cover Foundation Review

Revlon ColorStay Full Cover Foundation Review
Overall rating from 33 reviews so far:
4.2/5
Would use it again?
4.2/5
Did it do what it said it would?
4.1/5
Would recommend it to a friend?
4.1/5

ColorStay Full Cover™ Foundation for a full coverage matte finish. Lasts up to 24 hours. Comfortable wear that moves with your skin, won’t cake you up or weight you down. Easy to apply and blends seamlessly.

• Matte full coverage that doesn’t look cakey or feel heavy
• Lasts up to 24 hours
• In a tube for easy, on-the-go application

 

Availability Farmers, selected pharmacies and online

Website www.revlonanz.com



RRP: $38.00

Write a review

Please sign in to write a review.

Not yet registered?

It's super simple and only takes 30 seconds.

Register now

How would you rate this product?

Revlon ColorStay Full Cover Foundation Review

Revlon ColorStay Full Cover Foundation Review

Reviews

Overall rating:
4.0/5
22nd September, 2018
0 members found this review useful
Puts the stay in ColourStay

ColourStay liquid foundation for oily/combo skin is my holy grail so I was keen to try this ColourStay. The texture is more moussey, similar to the old "Whipped" version that came in a screwtop jar. Being a moussey texture it is easier to apply with a brush, a sponge is harder to blend but if you are like me and prefer a sponge I would spread the foundation over the face and then quickly dab and blend out. The sponge gives a more medium to full coverage, and trying to evenly build the coverage with this texture was a bit challenging.

I find the finish looks quite heavy but doesn't feel too heavy and didn't cake up much. While I didn't wear it 24 hours, it lasted well when wearing it even after 12 hours. I had oils come through (which always happens) but not too badly , and the foundation didn't break up. It definitely lasted well and stayed quite matte. It performed well with no primer, but I'd be careful on that which primer you use as a tacky one would make blending even harder. It is a matte finish but didn't exacerbate any of my dry patches.

I like the squeeze bottle as it makes it easier to control the amount of product you get out. Buff 150 was a great match, it's nice that they have light enough foundations for my winter shade as foundations don't always and there's even lighter available.

Tips: Dries down quickly so spread quickly and blend fast. Brush will give more coverage and more bendable than a sponge.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Overall rating:
4.7/5
22nd September, 2018
0 members found this review useful
My new go to foundation

Finally, a new drugstore makeup that has a high end formula! I really like the consistency of the new Revlon Colorstay Full Cover Foundation because it dries matte. It is important for a combination-oily skin like me to use that kind of foundation to prevent being oily throughout the day. I also like that it comes with a tube packaging not a glass one since it is easier for me to put it inside my pouch and I can also easily bring it whenever I travel. For the smell, it actually doesn't smell anything to me so this one is really good for people who's sensitive to smell.

Regarding the coverage, honestly I can't say that this is a full coverage foundation. I'd say that this is a medium to full coverage but I like it anyway. This is way better than the 16hrs revlon colorstay foundation. The longetivity says it lasts upto 24 hrs but it only lasted to me for maybe around 14hrs, but who needs a 24hrs foundation anyway? I usually wash my face after work to prevent acne so this is really good for me.

Overall I would definitely recommend it and will fully switch to this foundation!

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Overall rating:
5.0/5
22nd September, 2018
1 members found this review useful
New Favourite Foundation!

I was quite skeptical first trying this as I was worried it would be like the old Colorstay formula but this foundation is AMAZING!!

My shade in this is medium beige and the formula is quite a thick almost mousse like consistency. I applied this with a brush and beauty blender and both worked a treat. It goes on flawlessly and stays on ALL day! I would put this on with my other makeup (concealer, contour etc) and by 5pm it would still be looking great with no patchiness.

I will definitely be purchasing this again.

Recommend this for oily skin types as my skin type is oily and it stays perfectly matte all day with no breakthrough oiliness. Also.. I wore this before going for a 2 hour walk and run and it stayed on the whole time. Will leave picture for proof!

Tips: Use primer underneath foundation for maximum long wearing results

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Overall rating:
2.0/5
22nd September, 2018
0 members found this review useful
Not a big fan.

Firstly, the I love that it’s in a tube, so you can squeeze every bit out. I choose the shade Ivory. Now I trialed this without a primer and with. I didn’t really notice a difference in the appearance of the application, or longevity. I think the primer may have lasted slightly longer. I used my beauty blender to apply. The first thing I noticed was is the shade was a bit lighter than the Ivory Foundation of another brand I use, so I could’ve gone a shade darker (or even mixed the lighter and darker together). Once applied, It gave a good coverage, could hide the odd blemish. But I could see where my obvious pores on my face were (even when I used a primer). My dry patches were ten times more noticeable, and I felt it looked Cakey. Bonus is, it felt light weight. It didn’t last up to 24hours, it was more like 6 hours, it pretty much wore off before it was bedtime. However in saying that, I never used a setting spray, or powder. It was however easy to apply, and did give a good coverage, and felt light weight. I’m just not a huge fan of the cakey look.

Tips: Use a primer as a base, and a setting spray so it lasts longer.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Overall rating:
3.7/5
22nd September, 2018
0 members found this review useful
ColorStay?

I was very excited to try this foundation as I was looking for a new foundation that I could wear every day. I had a look online for to find the right shade but unfortunately they don’t have a comprehensive shade range and they don’t say what the undertones etc. are. As suggested, I popped into farmers for a colour match and I’m so glad I did. The girl matched me to a tee and that shade was no where near where I was headed online! The packaging is quite different to your average foundation packaging, it comes in a tube. I actually liked this as it makes it easy to carry it in your makeup bag. It’s also easy to apply directly to your face - just dab on spots and apply with a brush. The foundation itself is a thick consistency however it is easy to blend and it is buildable. It claims to be full coverage but I would say this is more medium coverage and you would need to build it up to get a good full coverage. It is long lasting, I have worn it for 8 hours with minimal fading. It can feel a little greasy but a this can be combated with a good powder.

All in all, it’s a great foundation for everyday and I would purchase this again.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Overall rating:
5.0/5
22nd September, 2018
0 members found this review useful
Matte is for me!

I absolutely love this foundation. Somehow over the years I seem to have forgotten all about matte foundation and I'm not quite sure how that happened but thankfully I managed to be part of this trial. The Revlon Colourstay full cover foundation comes in a handy little plastic tube which is perfect to keep in your makeup bag/handbag if you need to take it out with you; much more convenient than glass bottle containers. The colour blends in to my skin really nicely and doesn't feel thick or heavy, but it still gives a really good coverage of foundation. It also doesn't look cakey or over done which is quite a tricky combination to achieve. It feels quite nice on my skin which is a bonus as sometimes full coverage means it feels like your skin can't breathe, but this feels good as well as looking good which means I have now found my new favourite foundation at a really reasonable price.

Tips: Try it out for yourself at Farmers.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Overall rating:
3.7/5
22nd September, 2018
0 members found this review useful
Great colour match

Overall this was a good foundation. Firstly I’ll start off by saying I usually prefer a more liquidy foundation almost watery but still want it to be matte which is quite hard to find. So no surprises that this is quite a thick foundation almost like a moose consistency. It was relatively easy to blend but I’d definitely use a brush as using a sponge seems to require so much more product as it soaks up a lot of the product. The finish is really nice, I love a matte finish and if you do too then this is a great foundation to try out. I did find that it didn’t last any better or worse than other matte foundations of similar consistency so I’d say it’s about middle of the line in comparison to others.

The shade I got which was 150 suited me really well which is lucky! Its a neutral undertone but ever so slightly yellow which matches me perfectly. however there is a bit of oxidisation but doesn’t take too long to oxidise so you’ll see the correct colour after a few minutes.

The coverage was also just how I like it. It isn’t completely full coverage but I feel like you’d 100% be able to build it up quite a bit, just be careful of the potential of it being slightly cakey especially if you’re not blending it on setting it properly

Overall I would use it again, however wouldn’t be a go to which is completely a personal preference as I prefer slightly watery foundations that feel a bit lighter.

Tips: Use with a brush then go in with a damp beauty sponge after

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Overall rating:
4.7/5
22nd September, 2018
0 members found this review useful
Pleasantly Surprised

This foundation has some pretty great claims - full coverage, matte finish, no caking, seamless blend and application AND a 24 hour wear time. I tend to agree with these claims for the most part.

Personally, I would say this is a medium buildable coverage (which I prefer). The formula is a thicker mousse like consistency which makes the texture of your skin look really smooth, and it does blend seamlessly. I would also say this foundation is more of a demi matte finish.

The one thing I wouldn’t agree with is the wear time.. I have a super oily t-zone and I found this foundation would start breaking up around my nose and forehead where I get the most oily around the 6 hour mark - which is still pretty good for me! I definitely think this foundation would work best for normal or dry skin types.

The packaging itself is super cute and I love the idea of a squeezy tube!

All in all, I still prefer the Revlon Colourstay for combo/oily skin however I was pretty happy with the coverage and finish of this foundation and would happily reach for it again for times when I don’t need my foundation to last for 6+ hours.

Tips: Use a beauty sponge to apply for a more seamless finish, it’s a little thick and tricky to blend with a brush.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Overall rating:
2.0/5
22nd September, 2018
0 members found this review useful
Disappointed!

I've been using Revlon colorstay in sand beige since for the last 20 odd years- so had my heart set this was going to be incredible.

Sadly, I was really disapppointed. The product claims to be up to 24hr wear, with no caking or fading, lightweight and seamless blending.

The tube is cute, but the texture was almost foamy like a mousse. It applied easily with a sponge but was no means full cover and required concealer and additional application. It seemed to take forever to 'set' and left my face feeling dewy and sticky. It also needed much more blending than my previous Revlon product. Perhaps this is the 'matte' ingredient that doesn't suit me in this formula. I'll be sticking to my original colorstay and wouldn't purchase this in future

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Overall rating:
4.3/5
21st September, 2018
0 members found this review useful
Pleasantly Surprised

I really did enjoy wearing this foundation. It was lightweight yet gave a pretty good coverage. I was apprehensive re the matte finish being older but it wasn't an issue. The longevity of the foundation was really good. I normally check my makeup midday and with this one there was no need to touch up. Similarly at the end of the day it still looked really newly applied so the claims around this were true. I really liked the fact it didn't look like a full cover foundation in that it was light and blended in really well. The only negative I have is that there is no SPF. This is a must for me as I like the added protection. The tube/packaging had both positive and negative aspects for me. On the plus side it was super easy to pop in my handbag and I found it easy to dispense the product from it. On the negative side the tube does appear small so I'm unsure how long it will last. These were relatively minor issues and overall I loved this foundation and would use it again.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.