Vault

Max value reached

Adding this item would put you over your total vault limit of $250. please review your cart to stay under the limit.

Recoverederm Day Cream
Recoverederm Day Cream

Braun Silk-expert Pro 5 PL5137 IPL Reviews

Braun Silk-expert Pro 5 PL5137 IPL Reviews
Overall rating from 21 reviews so far:
4.8/5
Would use it again?
4.9/5
Did it do what it said it would?
4.7/5
Would recommend it to a friend?
4.8/5
  • Recommended by Skin Health Alliance – Dermatologically accredited and skin safe by a leading international skin health organization
  • 3 comfort modes – Normal, gentle or extra gentle setting.
  • 400,000 flashes. 10 intensity levels – 400,000 flashes (+30% vs previous Silk-expert 5) deliver an equivalent of 22 years of treatment.
  • The safest IPL thanks to SensoAdapt™ technology.¹ – Skin tone varies across your body, so the SensoAdapt™ sensor (with UV protection) continuously reads the skin tone and adapts the flash intensity for the safest & most effective permanent visible hair removal.
  • Precision head – The precision head allows you to tackle smaller or trickier areas like face, bikini and underarms.
  • Fast gliding and stamp mode – The gliding mode triggers more flashes for the fastest treatment, ideal for large body parts, while the stamp mode provides a more precise treatment suitable for smaller and sensitive areas.
  • The fastest IPL. Treat both legs in less than 5 minutes at the lowest energy level. 2 times faster than the previous Silk-expert 5.

What’s in the box?

  • Braun Expert Pro 5 device
  • Precision head
  • Power Cable
  • Venus Extra Smooth Swirl razor
  • Printed beauty pouch

Availability Farmers, Noel leeming, Harvey Norman, JB HiFI

Website www.braun.net.nz

Write a review

Please sign in to write a review.

Not yet registered?

It's super simple and only takes 30 seconds.

Register now

How would you rate this product?

Braun Silk-expert Pro 5 PL5137 IPL Reviews

Braun Silk-expert Pro 5 PL5137 IPL Reviews

Reviews

Overall rating:
4.3/5
26th July, 2020
0 members found this review useful
Damn Genetics - Battle of the Bearded Lady

My darling fiancé purchased this as a mother’s days present (bless) and I was SO excited to start using it on my face. I had major concerns around the fact I would need to shave the problematic areas of my face prior to use, which is absolutely required prior to using IPL (I asked around for double triple quadruple confirmation that it was actually necessary) but to be honest, turns out shaving is actually faster and easier than standing in front of the mirror for 20 minutes every day trying to find those pesky hairs. YES the hairs grow back coarser BUT, and this is important, the device does what it is meant to!! My upper lip hair has definitely reduced and the left side of my chin is finally starting to slow down, the right side not so much but I think this is largely due to the roots being quite fair and the hair being thick as. I have used this on my legs & armpits also and definitely seeing a difference - consistency IS KEY!! Pick a day each week to give yourself the treatment, full body shouldn’t take more than 40 minutes, that includes shaving and IPL. It’s a good investment, but I do feel results have the potential to vary widely.

Tips: Be consistent - kick the kids out, send him to the pub for an hour - pick the same day each week to complete the treatment and stick to it. There is a logic behind this, something about the natural hair growth cycle(s) - all comes with the pack :)

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
5.0/5
4th June, 2020
0 members found this review useful
Wish I had brought this ages ago!!

I had seen these machines around but didn't want to spend a heap of money on something I wasn't sure would actually work. Then it came on special at Farmers and I took the plunge. I should have done this ages ago and saved thousands on salon treatments!

I used this on my arms, it isn't painful at all and results started showing within 4 weeks, I was using it weekly. Now I'm using in on my arms every 3 weeks (or when i remember) and just zapping the few stubborn hairs that need it. It states not to use this in the summer when you may be tanned, but I started right in the middle of January with tanned skin and it worked fine. I'm naturally pale with dark hair. Also use this on other areas of my body, including my face, and there's no pain at all.

Overall, it is fast and easy to use and the powercord is super long, which is a must, and while the results may be slightly slower than professional salon treatments, the price and convenience of it totally outweigh this one small con.

Tips: Their app is useless, i just kept a small diary and recorded the areas, dates and strength each time.

I also purchased dark UV safety glasses from Mitre10 to protect my eyes.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
3.0/5
29th January, 2020
1 members found this review useful
Braun Silk Expert.

I found the Braun Silk Expert very easy to use, although I did find it slightly painful! You really have to regularly use this product to see results, I am still in the process of trying to achieve hair-free legs! I will definitely keep using the product.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Overall rating:
4.3/5
22nd January, 2020
1 members found this review useful
Chic design, affordable but chic aftermath!

I decided to wait until I had a good three weeks of use done- and I've noticed an incredible difference in this time (I planned to trial initially for 12 weeks!). The Braun Silk-Expert Pro 5 works wonders, and the pain is interestingly not too bad, and you can choose which setting fits your threshold more. I have to say I was a little sceptical- I have dark hair, so I expected a lot of pain, but I decided to calm my nerves by watching YouTube video tutorials first (highly recommend if you are nervous!). My hair growth has minimised drastically and shaving is not something I need to worry about as often. I have avoided professional IPL in the past because of the tedious and long process, and fear of pain! This gives me the option of laser hair removal in the comfort of my own home, and in three weeks I've seen results.

The case it came in is very chic and the design of the actual Braun silk expert is chic! If I were to take a pick between this and another based on its overall look and functionality, I would always go for this one (I know it's superficial, but the branding and aesthetic of a product really matters !).

Tips: -Spot treating smaller areas works better slowly and in front of a mirror -Watch YouTube videos to calm nerves first

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Overall rating:
5.0/5
16th December, 2019
0 members found this review useful
Unexpectedly amazing

I started using this amazing device totally hoping it would work but feeling very unsure. I have always struggled with ingrown hairs and hate summer time so in the past I’ve spent thousands of dollars on laser at in-store clinic with great results (but it’s been incredibly pricey and painful).

I chose to use the Braun IPL every Monday (it pays to be consistent) and after three sessions started to see results. The device is really easy to use, quick and the pain is definitely bearable.

After three sessions my hair started growing back much slower and patchy and I imagine after 10 sessions I would see a massive reduction.

So happy to use this product and would def recommend to anyone!

Tips: My hot tip is make sure you look away or wear sunglasses as the light is very bright and also maybe mark out sections on the larger areas, like legs, so that you don’t miss any spots

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Overall rating:
5.0/5
15th December, 2019
2 members found this review useful
Braun Silk-expert Pro 5 IPL - Not what I expected!

I spent close to $3,000 a few years ago getting laser hair removal from a well established clinic. I had sessions every 8 weeks for a year and the pain was unbearable, but it did work and was the best investment Ive made.

Given the cost and the time invested in my last treatment I simply did not expect the Braun Silk Expert Pro 5 to be as effective as it was. So far it has won on cost, pain and effectiveness.

Its a third of the cost of my last treatment which was only for a few areas. With the Pro 5 I can use on all remaining areas and top up when/if necessary. Well worth the investment.

Pain - like I mentioned, my clinic treatment was unbearable. I was expecting the Pro 5 to be similar level of pain especially if it was to be as effective as my clinic treatment. There are three settings, I started at one and within seconds dialled it up to three. I have a very low pain threshold (almost pass out getting blood taken) and this is absolutely fine. The more dense and thick the hair is in particular areas the more it hurts but the zap is so quick its over in less than a second.

It is quick and easy. A minute on my under arms and a few minutes on my thighs. You can either hold and drag across larger areas or pulse/zap pressing on the more sensitive areas like under arms.

Ive used this four weekends in a row now and have already seen at least half the under arm hair disappear. I can see there are patches that are still there so I need to zap in tighter sections. But at least I can see that its actually working!

Absolutely recommend! Think of the money you will save on waxing and the inconvenience of all those appointments or having to shave every few days.

Tips: Start on setting one then work your way up to three.

Pulse under the arms, its a niggly area to drag. Plus I found the pulsing more bearable for that denser part.

Keep it consistent, I chose to do it every Sunday night, easy to remember and Im always home on a Sunday night!

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
itskaz_xo
10th February, 2020

What an awesome review! Have you kept up with using it every week? If so, have you noticed more of a difference? I am seriously considering purchasing one. I have fair skin with black hairs that continuously grow :(

Overall rating:
5.0/5
14th December, 2019
0 members found this review useful
Can see hair growth decreasing

I have used the device 4 times and I can already see a dramatic reduction in hair growth, about 60%. I can tell after the next 6 sessions I will have minimal if any hair growth. The device is so easy to use as you can hold the button and continuously glide which makes doing large areas like your legs relatively quick. It is a very simple design and makes it very easy to use.

Tips: Write it in your diary weekly so you can stay consistent and keep to your schedule to ensure maximal results.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Overall rating:
5.0/5
11th December, 2019
0 members found this review useful
At-home IPL

I'm a regular at the waxing bar - I get my armpits and legs waxed about every 6 weeks. I've never really delved into other ways to remove hair, I'm not sure why, I guess waxing just did enough to keep me happy.

Until now! The IPL has been a revelation, I won't be returning to the waxing bar...maybe I should send them a Dear John letter. It's not you...it's just...I've found something better.

The Braun unit is easy to use and hold, and comes in a lovely zip up case. I like that they included a great quality razor too - covering all bases.

I found the process quick to pick up and get used to, there wasn't really a learning curve, other than to be methodical. I use the glide method and mainly stick to the larger head.

The growth of my leg hair slowed during week one, it was incredible. Ive been treating my legs weekly and I'm due to do them tomorrow - as I can only feel the most minor fuzz growing back.

Is it painful? Hmm, not really. You feel a bit of heat, but it's bearable - I've been using it on the highest settings for both legs and armpits.

When I consider negatives, the only one that really springs to mind is the cost - but as soon as you weigh up the initial outlay to the convenience, effectiveness, comfort and results you get, well, it blows waxing out of the water.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
SmileyPisces
15th December, 2019

Great review! =)

Overall rating:
5.0/5
11th December, 2019
1 members found this review useful
Braun Silk-expert Pro 5 PL5137 IPL

Firstly, thank you Beauty Review for choosing me to part of this awesome trial.

I just have to say WOW! This is an amazing machine, amazing. To start with it comes in a beautiful zipped case in white and gold, very classy. You unzip the case and inside there is a gorgeous machine that promises so much (or less hair), a precision head, power cable and a Venus Extra Smooth Swirl razor and a very informative instruction booklet.

The first thing I wanted to do was have a play with this device but I thought "safety first" and read the instructions.

It all seemed quite easy so I thought I would have a go.

I had a shower and shaved my legs and underarms in preperation for my journey to end my hairy legs and underarms. The device is easy to hold, it is shaped well for your hands. I am in awe as to how quick this is to use. I did one leg in about 5 minutes or so. Make sure when shaving not to miss any hairs, if you do miss one or two when you zap them it is a bit smelly, burning hair dosent smell that good. The process is not painful, I guess you could describe it as the old rubber band flick, probably not even that bad to be honest. I learned there are two ways to use this device. You can either glide or stamp. Gliding is basically continually flashing so you run up or down your leg in one go. Stamping is more precise as in doing one flash at a time, this is useful when doing small or awkward areas like underarms or bikini area. You may also like to use the smaller head attatchment for these areas. I repeated the treatment on my legs weekly and armpits fortnightly and I am super happy with the results. There are different power settings for different parts of your body, also if you want to be a bit more gentle. I used full power on my legs, and just low power for my underarms.

This machine is an absolute game changer in the home hair removal system, Braun have nailed it in my opinion.

I love the fact that this machine can be used by anybody. It can be shared by family members easily, without any health or hygiene concerns, so if you had actually bought it you would be getting great value for your money.

Tips: The flash is super bright so try not to look at it, if you cant help yourself, wear sunglasses

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Kimrose
16th December, 2019

Sure will Macs, so far its awesome

Macs
15th December, 2019

Keep me posted on this please . I’m sick of shaving .

Overall rating:
5.0/5
8th December, 2019
0 members found this review useful
Amazing!

Beauty Review and Braun - THANK YOU.

The Braun IPL is beautifully presented and comes with a zip up storage bag that's patterned with a 1920s style pattern. The handset, booklet, cord and extra head fit perfectly.

The handset is light and very ergonomic to hold - even when you're zapping hard to reach areas. It feels of great quality and I felt confident using it.

I've been using this weekly on my legs and armpits. There are ten levels of zap, and 3 comfort settings. For my legs I use the highest, for my pits, the middle. It's not painful, its just a bit hot. And if you zap the same area twice in a row it is a bit uncomfortable, but nothing totally awful.

I found it easy to use in glide mode. The flash is quite bright, and despite mockage from my husband, I wear sunglasses while using it.

My hair growth has slowed dramatically since using this product. As it's my first time with IPL, and from what I've read, I'll need to do regular treatments more often to start, before needing to do it less and less. On week six, I've noticed great sparse patches of hair as well as hair that is very slow to grow. I've also found this is incredible for zapping away ingrown hairs.

The smaller headset is perfect for around the ankles and behind your knees, and for more precise pit-zapping.

I was surprised by how quick it is - I can do both legs and armpits in under 10 minutes!

I will continue for another month with weekly treatments and reassess but as it stands I am FLOORED by how good this is.

Tips: Wear sunglasses.

Download the app to schedule your sessions.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

YOU CAN SHOP THE BEAUTY VAULT WHENEVER YOU LIKE!

The Beauty Vault is now open every day so you can earn Beauty Points and exchange them for full sized products whenever you like!

Beauty Review: REGISTER - WRITE REVIEWS - GET REWARDED!

Click here to SHOP!