Vault

Max value reached

Adding this item would put you over your total vault limit of $250. please review your cart to stay under the limit.

NZ Scrub a Dub Dub Sugar Scrub Review

NZ Scrub a Dub Dub Sugar Scrub Review
Overall rating from 23 reviews so far:
4.5/5
Would use it again?
4.5/5
Did it do what it said it would?
4.5/5
Would recommend it to a friend?
4.5/5

NZ Scrub a Dub Dub sugar scrubs are made by an autistic child and a bit of help from mum. The profits go towards his extra curricular activities. 

We make your delicious sugar scrub just for you. We use blends of coconut, olive, avocado oils and sugars to vastly improve the effects. You will successfully scrape off excess dead skin and clean out blocked pores without leaving the skin feeling irritated. The natural soothing natures of the oil combined with the grainy, exfoliating sugars blend perfectly and leave your skin with an even color, closed pores and a soft texture.

The biggest problem you will find with NZ SCRUB A DUB DUB products is picking which fragrance you are most in love with. Vanilla was the original one we had started with but given there are so many yummy smelling fragrances we just couldn’t stop at there. Currently we have coconut cream, citrus, love potion, rose, sex on the beach, candy floss, lavender, chocolate fudge, eucalyptus, fruit salad,  peppermint, chai tea, blueberry muffin, strawberry and champagne and coffee sugar scrubs.

Price $15

Availability Online

Website NZ Scrub a Dub Dub / NZ Scrub a Dub Dub FB

Write a review

Please sign in to write a review.

Not yet registered?

It's super simple and only takes 30 seconds.

Register now

How would you rate this product?

NZ Scrub a Dub Dub Sugar Scrub Review

NZ Scrub a Dub Dub Sugar Scrub Review

Reviews

Overall rating:
4.7/5
16th February, 2017
0 members found this review useful
Candy floss <3

I was lucky enough to score this body scrub in a BR vault. Normally I would never choose a flavour like Candy Floss, but I had heard good things about this brand so I was keen to give them a go - and it turns out the scent was amazing!!

First up the packaging. It came in a really sturdy tub that screws open so it is easy to open but won't open accidentally in the shower. It comes with a cute little wooden spoon so it is easy to scoop some out. The tub was also tied up with string and had a little label attached. Top marks for packaging!

However, my one problem with this scrub was that they recommended leaving it somewhere cool, even the fridge. Initially I tried this and it kept the texture solid and consistent, but it also meant I never remembered to take it to the shower! In the end I ignored their advice and just kept it in the shower, even though that meant the texture got all melty and runny.

As I mentioned above, the smell was delicious. It was such a treat rubbing this into my skin. The sugar did a great job exfoliating and I was left with lovely moisturised skin from all the oils in the scrub. A real treat to use.

So the downside of this is you need to keep it in the fridge - no good if you're scatterbrained like me! The upside is... well, everything else!

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
2.0/5
8th February, 2017
0 members found this review useful
Greasy Scrub

Over the Christmas period I entered a competition from Nz Scrub a dub dub on Facebook. I was lucky enough to win a glass jar full of this scrub. I love scrubs especially for summer to use in between using a tanner.

Firstly the packaging was so cute. I had a cute jar with a cute muffin case as a hat on the lid. I like that there was a spoon provided with this scrub. I got Coconut. It does smell like lushious coconuts. The texture of this scrub when chilled in the fridge is quite solid like butter. But when left out it turns into a sugar slurry.

When left in the fridge I scoop a bit out. Use a knife or something stronger to get it out. This scrub feels a bit rough on my skin . I think it needs refinement. Anyway it left this greasy residue on my body felt icky and weird.

One glass jar got me three full body scrubs in the shower . Which I used genourously . It smells great , looks good but just wasn't a fan of that greasy feeling in the shower. I wouldn't buy this one. It's a no from me.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
5.0/5
3rd July, 2016
0 members found this review useful
Scrubalicious

After reading another fab review from Shazatron then seeing her haul on Instagram I had to do it, I had to place an order! The website is easy to use and it gives you the choice of a glass or plastic jar. I wasn't too sure on how the glass would travel so I opted for plastic. It was delivered within a couple of days which is great for impatient people like me.

The scrub comes in a clear plastic tub, it's almost wider than it is high so it's easy to scoop the product out. It has a small wooden spoon on top of the scrub which is great as it is rather hard to scoop out.

The pink coloured scrub smells delish. It's not overly sweet like I was expecting it's more of a mild, creamy strawberry scent it's yum!

I scoop out a spoonful and scrub it round my bod. The sugar granules are very coarse and I feel like I'm going to rip my skin to shreds but it felt amazing. I do love the coarser scrubs though and I haven't really used a harsh scrub for a while. I love it though it makes my skin feel alive again and like my blood is circulating!

This scrub is packed with loads of oil and when you wash it off you can see the water bead and run off your skin. When I dry myself I just pat my skin dry so I don't rub off all the good oil.

I notice after using this scrub I don't need to moisturise as much sometimes even until the morning.

Will buy this again and I'm like looking forward to trying more flavours.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
nzscrubadubdub
4th July, 2016

-Bex- if you decide you would like it finer, we can do that just let us know when you place our order and we can change the blend of sugars we use which we use in your scrub. Because we make to order we try to make our scrub perfect for each customer

Overall rating:
2.0/5
1st July, 2016
0 members found this review useful
Noo.

I originally thought this product was ok - nice smell and kind of refreshing. It came in a cute container that was kind of quaint and old fashioned.

Soon after opening it, it went hard and brown. I screwed the lid on tight after using it but it mustn't be airtight. I dumped a whole lot into the bath to use it up but it stayed in a bunch of hard lumps and didn't dissolve. When I let the water out I had brush the lumps down the plughole.

Sugar scrubs are clearly not for me. I won't ever buy another one.

I will not repurchase this product.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
MareeB
4th July, 2016

I'm really unhappy that you've replied to my review.

nzscrubadubdub
4th July, 2016

Hi MareeB, I haven't found our shower floor slipper yet any excess I hose away before continuing my shower. Another customer puts a small towel down when scrubbing and then pushes it to the side.

Overall rating:
5.0/5
26th June, 2016
0 members found this review useful
NZ Scrub a Dub Dub Sugar Scrub

Like a lot of us here, I managed to secure this in the last vault. I had had my eye on it for ages so I was over the moon when it arrived.

Facial and body scrubs are my favourite beauty things to use so I was keen to try this.

Candy Floss, now who dosent love this fragrance?

I unscrewed the lid of the pot and oh boy! The most amazing scent hit me, love.

I first tried this on my dry skin before I hopped into the shower. The little measuring spoon included was very helpful as I dislike getting things under my nails.

It was a lovely oily scrub, it felt amazingly moisturising. I used it on my arms and legs and I felt it was very thorough. I then got into the shower and washed it off and I have never had a more amazing result from a scrub ever.

I do prefer to use scrubs outside of the shower as you dont seem to loose too much down the drain.

I will definitely be buying more of this scrub and will try another flavour as well.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
4.3/5
20th June, 2016
1 members found this review useful
shower candy!

I picked this up in the most recent Beauty Review vault, and was super excited to try it...i love my scrubs.

I wasn't sure what to expect, really, but I love the back story and my thing with scrubs is 'If you don't like it, you can still use it on your feet!! :)

I like it.

I have the 'Candy Floss' scent of NZ Scrub a Dub Dub Sugar Scrub - and it's delicious. It's not a full on candy scent (like Lush's Snow Fairy' - more of a subtle, soft sweetness like candy floss - or icing!

The scrub is a generous size and comes in a solid screw top pottle I can already see myself reusing in future. They thoughtfully include a wee wooden spoon with which to extract product - genius.

The scrub is pale pink, with an inconsistency of shade that lends itself to the rustic 'home made' label - and which I actually like. The grains of sugar are easily visible as you scoop this up.

There are a lot of oils in this and it leaves a lot of oil on my hands - but this emulsifies off with a bit of hot water, and wipes away on a towel. Oily hands is a pet hate for me so I always take this off my hands again, but it's nice on my legs, arms, feet etc. I use this as a quick manicure scrub, or in the shower - do so BEFORE you turn on the water though (or outside the shower standing on a towel, then step in to the shower) as it washes away pretty quickly and you want to get a good scrub happening first. The grains are quite rough, so scrub gently :)

I would like to see more labelling - there isn't an ingredients label, any indication of expiration, or anything you'd normally expect, which - if you're purchasing a product - is pretty standard.

Would I buy it again? Yep. I'd like to try other scents too - and I love that this is supporting a NZ family who are finding a creative, productive activity for an autistic child.

Tips: give it a go! like I said above.... any body scrub you dislike still makes a pretty great foot scrub, so.....

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
trudijoy
1st July, 2016

I always need foot scrub, Maree

MareeB
1st July, 2016

Good point Trudi -that's a good tip - I might use the other ones I got for foot scrubs.

Overall rating:
5.0/5
17th June, 2016
0 members found this review useful
Best scrub!

I picked this scrub from the last Beauty Vault and couldn't wait to try it. As soon as I received it I opened it up and had a sniff, it smells amazing!! I actually cant stop smelling it when i see it sitting there in my bathroom.. Candy floss fragrance, a sweet but also creamy smell to it, smelt good enough to eat! The packaging it came in is a round clear tub with a screw top see through lid and a cute wooden spoon inside to get the scrub out with. It came with instructions on a tag which I thought was really well thought out. When I dug my spoon into the scrub it was a crunchy texture, firm but not too hard to get out. The scrub stuck together nicely and worked like magic at exfoliating my skin, leaving my skin so soft and moisturized from the oils in the scrub. It just melts away in your hands as you rub it on and leaves the sugary scrub behind to do the rest. The candy floss scent lasted for quite awhile too. To me it's one of those products that makes your day. A gorgeous product that you really appreciate, I can't wait to puchase again! Maybe even try a different fragrance next time. I definitely recommend this product and to be NZ made is even better!

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
4.7/5
13th June, 2016
1 members found this review useful
Lovely surprise!

I bought this is the last beauty vault because I had heard about this brand and been curious. I was in such a shopping frenzy I didn't even think about the flavour until after the fact - 'candy floss? So not me! Have I made a mistake??'

Well I DIDN'T make a mistake! This scrub is DELICIOUS! The packaging is great - a sturdy pot with a screw-on lid, with a wee wooden spoon inside to scoop out the scrub. The texture is wonderful - creamy but grainy, and easy to massage onto your skin. The scent is NOT overpowering and sickly sweet as I feared, but is instead just enough to make you love using the product.

Should you try this product? YES! Bonus points for being such a cool backstory to this little company!

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
charly
13th June, 2016

Good timing trudijoy!

trudijoy
13th June, 2016

YAY mine arrived today and I'm so SO keen to try it.... and as luck would have it I ran out of scrub yesterday :D #fortuitous

Overall rating:
5.0/5
7th June, 2016
1 members found this review useful
Yum A Dub Scrub

I’d seen this scrub around on BR accompanied by positive reviews, and when I saw it in the vault it was on the wish list. I’m so glad that I was able to snap up this scrub in the vault as it was a fast favorite, I absolutely loved from the first time I tried it.

The flavor/scent that I received is candyfloss. The scent is so smooth, not overly sweet, and the scent lingers faintly on my skin throughout the day after using in the morning.

This scrub is creamy and grainy in appearance, and turns lusciously oily when rubbed into wet skin. It’s gently exfoliating, and hugely hydrating, leaving your skin covered in a beautiful softening oily coat. The oiliness is fairly water resistant and absorbs into the skin fairly quickly after towel-drying, I haven’t noticed it rub off or seep into my clothing after dressing, it seems that my skin loves to drink it up!

The packaging is a good sturdy plastic pottle, it’s not going to break or crack if you drop it, and comes with a little wooden spoon. I find that about 6 small scoops is enough scrub for my whole body, using one at a time, scrubbing a section at a time starting at my feet and working up. There’s enough product for about 8-10 washes.

This is a great quality scrub, especially great for winter as it’s so hydrating that there’s no need to moisturize post-shower. Quality, and the amount of product in the tub considered, I think that the price is pretty fair, and I’d love to get some more!

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
5.0/5
30th May, 2016
3 members found this review useful
O.M.G!

Since receiving this from the most recent vault, I have not been able to stop saying OMG every time I see this product. The texture, the smell, the little spoon, the way it makes my skin feel after using it. I've only used coffee scrubs in my life, but I am now totally a convert to fruity scrubs! I have this scrub in the scent Candy Floss, and it is fantastic, now let me tell you why...

The pot the scrub comes in is plastic with a screw top lid, adorned with a brown piece of string which makes it look quite rustic. Attached to the string are instructions on how the owner/creator uses the scrub, which I think is just awesome and a lovely added touch.

I unscrewed the lid and was greeted with the most delicious smell, which made my stomach start grumbling. The cute little spoon made my eyes turn into hearts, mini spoons are awesome. I put the spoon into the pale pink pot of delicious and delighted in hearing the squelch it made as it cut through the buttery sugary mix.

I immediately went to the shower and scooped some of the scrub out. The consistency is like butter and sugar fluffed together, but then the butter melts and leaves your skin coated in sugar and delicious oils. It left my skin feeling silky and soft and so unbelievably smooth and smelling amazing. This scrub is the bomb, and I'll gladly repurchase this little gem!

Tips: I tried using this before shaving but I found that the oils clogged my razor, so I don't think I'd try that again. However, this scrub used a day before shaving or even after shaving and wow wow WOW! I'm in love! You can also use this two ways - before getting into the shower, or turning the shower off midway and using the scrub on a wet body. The latter is a very gentle scrub in comparison to the dry scrub, so perfect for those with sensitive skin!

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
MareeB
1st July, 2016

It's yummy eh Shaz?

Macs
2nd June, 2016

Sounds amazing. Definitely on my wishlist. Wonderful review.

Have You Registered With NZ's Biggest Beauty Guide?

We're always looking for great reviewers to send FREE, FULL SIZED Beauty Products to!

Register today, and help New Zealand never make a Bad Beauty Buy again!

Register Here!