Vault

Max value reached

Adding this item would put you over your total vault limit of $250. please review your cart to stay under the limit.

MoonCup Menstrual Cup

MoonCup Menstrual Cup
Overall rating from 33 reviews so far:
4.8/5
Would use it again?
4.8/5
Did it do what it said it would?
4.8/5
Would recommend it to a friend?
4.8/5

The Mooncup is a reusable menstrual cup, around two inches long and made from soft medical grade silicone.

It is worn internally a lot lower than a tampon but, while tampons and pads absorb menstrual fluid, the Mooncup collects it.

This means it doesn’t cause dryness or irritation, and also that it collects far more (three times as much as a tampon!).

Because the Mooncup is reusable, you only need one so it saves you money and helps the environment, too.

The Mooncup is designed to be folded and inserted into the vagina, then removed, rinsed and reinserted up to every 8 hours. A light seal is formed with your vaginal walls, allowing menstrual fluid to pass into the Mooncup without leakage or odour. This seal is released for removal, allowing you to empty the contents, rinse or wipe and reinsert. Comfortable, convenient and safe the Mooncup can be used overnight and when travelling, swimming or exercising.

Available in 2 sizes.

Pack Size  1 cup and storage bag

 

Availability  Green Beans, Poppy Pads and Selected retail outlets

Website www.mooncup.co.uk



Write a review

Please sign in to write a review.

Not yet registered?

It's super simple and only takes 30 seconds.

Register now

How would you rate this product?

MoonCup Menstrual Cup

MoonCup Menstrual Cup

Reviews

Overall rating:
5.0/5
22nd July, 2015
2 members found this review useful
Best friend

I love love love my moon cup and think every lady should have one. It was a little tricky at first but now after having and using my moon cup for 8 years, I'll never go back to using tampons. They are brilliant for travel too as you don't need to change as often as s tampon because they hold twice as much. ( safe to leave in up to 10 hours ) and as simple as removing and rising with some water until you get somewhere to give a good clean. ( some toilets over seas are not very clean ) so this is a must buy for all women!! Saves on the pocket too! No more buying tampons!!!

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
5.0/5
18th July, 2015
1 members found this review useful
Amazing!

This is actually one of the best purchases I have ever made. So many pros! It's easy to use, comfortable and there's no wrappers! It's great if you are on holiday. I lead an active life, and with this I am able to participate in my sports without having to worry, and feeling a lot more comfortable about going to a male bathroom when training! Won't ever give this up!

Tips: Boil it in water to sanitise it :) You can try it out before you need it because it does take practice. You can even use it from light to heavy, because it has no fibres it can be used in between cycles if you spot.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
5.0/5
17th July, 2015
1 members found this review useful
Soon to be fully converted!

Well, where to start? There was a lot of talk about menstrual cups on a facebook forum that I was avidly following as I HATE pads and tampons are just a total nuisance.

After due consideration, and reading a whole lot of info on the web, weighing up pros and cons, reading other users' reviews etc, decided why the hell not?

BEFORE using, make sure you read the instructions and be well aware that it's not always rainbows and butterflies... It can be quite difficult to insert it properly, and even when inserted properly, it can be quite difficult to tell that it is inserted properly as foreign objects in a body orifice can be rather... err... dissimilar!

I think that all highschools (or even middle schools) should be handing out pamphlets on these during the puberty talks!

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
5.0/5
17th June, 2015
2 members found this review useful
Best Invention Ever!

I will admit I was sceptical before trying it but I am now a convert and will never go back. It takes a few cycles to get the hang of it but once you have it sussed it's great. I never have to worry about leakage or having to change it as often as tampons. Plus you can use it overnight with no worries! I also really like that you can use it no matter how heavy or light your cycle is, so is great for the start and end of your cycle when you can't use tampons anyway. I highly recommend it, it's a massive cost saving and you won't regret it.

Tips: Give yourself 2-3 months to get the hang of it.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Julieal
31st August, 2015

amazing -I had never heard of them and they sound so practical

Overall rating:
5.0/5
28th April, 2015
5 members found this review useful
New best friend

I LOVE my moon cup, there are so many pros and very little cons. It has made having a period a lot less stressful and easier as i no longer have to carry around tampons in every bag and worry I may not have enough. Now I only have my moon cup. They're so much better for the environment and a LOT cheaper on the wallet, as one will last you a long time if you look after is properly. I only take mine out and empty it 2-3 times a day (morning, lunch, bedtime). It holds a lot more blood than a tampon so its likely you wont need to change it more than twice a day unless you have a heavy flow. To clean I just rinse it with hot water after emptying it, if i need to empty it in a public bathroom i empty it and wipe it with toilet paper and reinsert, waiting to rinse it when I get home. At the end of my period i clean it thoroughly with hot water and antibacterial soap.

Tips: Read the instructions and spend a while familiarise yourself with inserting it and having it sit in the right place (use water based lube to help with insertion). Take your time to cut the stem so its the right length for you. In the beginning wearing a liner or pad with it would be a good idea as it can take a while to get the hang of it and get it to seal properly. Once you have got the hang of it, its worry free.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
5.0/5
6th April, 2015
2 members found this review useful
Why didn't I know about this sooner!

Great product, why don't they sell these in the supermarket! Advertising these more would be great for the country. Took a while to get use to inserting,p and removing. After a few goes I finally was able to not feel it and be 100% comfortable, as my flow is some what heavier than normal I am needing to change more often but other than that it has been successful and a great purchase

Tips: Trying out before cycle to become familiar and confident with inserting and removing would be helpful as it dose take a few goes

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
5.0/5
10th February, 2015
1 members found this review useful
cant believe ive wasted so much money

After seeing all your reviews on the mooncup I thought id give it a go myself.... Hold me back... I've been bragging to everyone that will listen. I was so nervous to try it as a few of you have said it took some time to get used to but I found it as easy as a tampon. Yes in the shower was brilliant advice but I found it was necessary for me. It never leaked and even though miss flow was really heavy it was still maintained well. I will keep shouting from the roof tops about this one as its worth its weight in gold wahoo

Tips: I did try before I was due and it worked first time so Id keep on that advice Just in case.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
5.0/5
3rd November, 2014
2 members found this review useful
Total Convert!

I bought this product because I saw all the rave reviews on this website. At first the idea of a moon cup totally grossed me out. But I decided to suck it up and try it out anyway. It was a little difficult at first to use it properly; I found I was putting it in too far, more like a tampon, and found it difficult to get out again. But after a few false starts I have now taken to it like a duck to water. It is so easy to use and so much better than tampons and pads. It saves so much money (not to mention the environment) and I found it means I get less cramps too! Will def be recommending this to friends and family.

Tips: Read the instructions thoroughly and take a few tests runs BEFORE you get your period, just to get use to it first. Don't give up if it doesn't seem to work at first, it will if you use it properly and learn to put it in right.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
5.0/5
29th September, 2014
12 members found this review useful
Eco-Friendly Menstrual Cycle

I found out about the MoonCup in 2005, when I read a magazine article called “Go Green with your Menstrual Cycle”. The fact that it could hold more blood than a tampon immediately had me interested, as I’ve suffered with very heavy, long periods for years.

I ordered one a few days later and used my MoonCup for just over 7 years. I absolutely loved it! I’d empty mine 3-4 times per day - morning, lunchtime, later afternoon before gym session and then again before bed. No more sneaking tampons to the loo, no more tampon fluff getting stuck where it shouldn’t, no more monthly thrush and no more worrying about leakage! In the 7 years, I think it only leaked 3 or 4 times. Once because I didn’t check the seal properly and the other times because I got stuck in meetings and it got too full!

In the beginning, it took a little getting used to, but I found that rubbing a little KY Jelly (personal water-based lubricant) around the rim made insertion much less painful, especially in the beginning and on the first day of my period. I ended up cutting the stem right down to 5mm, as it was too uncomfortable for me. I’d remove my cup by grabbing the base (where the stem joins the cup) with my thumb and forefinger, squeeze it slightly to break the seal and pull it out that way.

The MoonCup was really easy to use and allowed me to be more in tune with my own body. Cleaning it was a breeze and it could wiped out with toilet paper and reinserted if I was in a public restroom and then rinsed with hot water each evening and the next morning, at home.

When rinsing it, I’d use hot water out the tap and rinse both the inside and outside of the cup, as well as the little grooves under the rim. Then fill the cup up with water, place my palm over the top, tip it upside down and then squeeze the cup (make sure you’re over the basin, bath or in the shower), so that water flows through the little holes on the sides. This will flush the holes, cleaning them and making sure that the cup seals properly.

Tips: Use a little lubricant on the rim for easy insertion. Rinse with water only during period. At the end of my period I would rinse my MoonCup and use an old toothbrush and some antibacterial soap to really clean all the little lines and grooves around the rim. A toothpick can be used to push soap through the little holes and get any residue out. Rinse well under running water, before popping it into some cold water with Milton diluted in it (the stuff used to sterilise babies bottles). Leave it for as long as the instructions state. Remove from Milton water, pat it dry on a clean towel (or use kitchen paper) and store in the little cloth bag ready for next month.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
melly650
26th October, 2014

This is such a detailed, great review! I've been looking at this for a couple of months... Definitely going to buy it now.

Overall rating:
5.0/5
7th September, 2014
4 members found this review useful
Never thought I'd use something like this...

Like many people I just assumed tampons and pads were the be all and end all of menstrual care and never thought about any other options. When I heard about menstrual cups the environmentally friendly aspect really appealed to me but I was definitely concerned about making it work for me. I took the plunge and bought one. At first I found it impossible to use, it was just too painful. I persevered and continued trying and eventually, with a change in folding technique, I was able to use it successfully. I find the mooncup comfortable and I do not need to empty it as often as changing tampons. Although the cleaning and disinfecting takes more effort than disposable products, if you are eco-friendly you won't mind at all. I use this in conjunction with washable, re-usable pads at night for a completely disposables-free cycle.

Tips: There are online communities/websites dedicated to in-depth information and tips for cup users, lots of advice is available if you need it :)

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.

HAVE YOU SIGNED UP YET?!

We're eliminating Bad Beauty Buys...one review at a time!

It's so easy and fun to join in with NZ's biggest beauty guide!

(1) SIGN UP - (2) Earn Beauty Points for every beauty product you review - (3) Exchange your points for FREE beauty products!

Sign Up Today!