Vault

Max value reached

Adding this item would put you over your total vault limit of $250. please review your cart to stay under the limit.

MoonCup Menstrual Cup

MoonCup Menstrual Cup
Overall rating from 33 reviews so far:
4.8/5
Would use it again?
4.8/5
Did it do what it said it would?
4.8/5
Would recommend it to a friend?
4.8/5

The Mooncup is a reusable menstrual cup, around two inches long and made from soft medical grade silicone.

It is worn internally a lot lower than a tampon but, while tampons and pads absorb menstrual fluid, the Mooncup collects it.

This means it doesn’t cause dryness or irritation, and also that it collects far more (three times as much as a tampon!).

Because the Mooncup is reusable, you only need one so it saves you money and helps the environment, too.

The Mooncup is designed to be folded and inserted into the vagina, then removed, rinsed and reinserted up to every 8 hours. A light seal is formed with your vaginal walls, allowing menstrual fluid to pass into the Mooncup without leakage or odour. This seal is released for removal, allowing you to empty the contents, rinse or wipe and reinsert. Comfortable, convenient and safe the Mooncup can be used overnight and when travelling, swimming or exercising.

Available in 2 sizes.

Pack Size  1 cup and storage bag

 

Availability  Green Beans, Poppy Pads and Selected retail outlets

Website www.mooncup.co.uk



Write a review

Please sign in to write a review.

Not yet registered?

It's super simple and only takes 30 seconds.

Register now

How would you rate this product?

MoonCup Menstrual Cup

MoonCup Menstrual Cup

Reviews

Overall rating:
5.0/5
31st December, 2013
3 members found this review useful
Moon Cup

I had been wanting to try this for awhile so last month when I realized too late that I had bought wingless pads, decided to go ahead and buy one. I found it quite comfortable to wear and very economical. It does take some practice and you need to be kind of flexible bending over forward. I would recommend using pads as well when you're starting to use it especially if it's your more "heavy" days. But I'm so glad I got one.

Tips: I don't know if it's just me but I found it easier to remove with my right hand if I inserted it with my left, so I would recommend inserting or removing it, whichever is less challenging for you, with your less dominant hand so you can reach it easier with your more dominant hand. And shorter fingernails when you're first getting accustomed to using one might be a bit easier on you. Also they recommend in the instruction pamphlet that you start using on the last two days of your "monthly" as it's easier to start using it then if you're a beginner.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
MickChick
3rd June, 2018

This is really helpful. Thanks :)

msmeets
2nd January, 2014

Yes i have been keen to try this, thanks for your review

100_percent_ash
1st January, 2014

Very keen to try one of these thanks for the review

Overall rating:
5.0/5
4th January, 2014
9 members found this review useful
The best investment you can make this year

It takes a few goes to get putting it in the right place but once you get it you will never go back to tampons - this thing can hold so much more than even a super super plus and is so much more enviro-friendly, cost effective in the long run and better for your health - no more synthetic materials, bleaches, dioxins or fibres being left in your body. I am trying to convert everyone I know but some people are very daunted by the thought of these. It actually makes the whole process alot more comfortable and less painful each month especially for one who deals with endo and other issues. Once its in you actually can't feel it. So worth the money.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Iloveperfumes
2nd April, 2014

Soap in the shower works great and just soak in boiling water and tea tree at the end of cycle. Yes it will leak if it doesn't open all the way when put in but once I got the hang of it it works perfectly without a leak each time. It holds heaps!

nemesisroxx
2nd April, 2014

another question... how do you clean it? Is body wash okay?? I am sooo keen to try!

nemesisroxx
2nd April, 2014

Wow I'm quite keen to try!! Sorry for the personal question but did it ever leak? That's one thing that would worry me.. leaking :-s

dmnelson71
7th February, 2014

I was on the fence about this but I need something new. I've found I'm allergic to most pads and tampons. Can't wait to try this, thanks

chocolate1
2nd February, 2014

Thanks for your review, might have to give it go.

raniwelsh
30th January, 2014

These sound great, will have to keep my eye out for one

PeterPan
12th January, 2014

I am very intrigues about these and am keen on giving one a go as they seem like a lot less hassle than other products and less wastage so better for environment too.

Overall rating:
5.0/5
18th February, 2014
5 members found this review useful
So far so good

I have only had the chance to use mine once as i have still only had one period since having my son, but it was so nice not to have to use pads or tampons! Like the others said it takes a few goes to get it in the right position, but there are instructions that help. It is also fantastic that it is helping reduce waste and helping towards saving the environment, plus it means you dont have yucky used pads and tampons to deal with :/ Im almost looking forward to my next period so i can try it again!!! even after only one cycle i love it and want to try get every other woman i know to try it!! it only take a couple of cycles before it has already saved you money too!

Tips: The first time you use it keep nails short, always make sure your hands are clean, and just while you are getting used to using it maybe wear a panty liner for extra protection :) well worth the money!!

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Suriya
12th August, 2014

I really need this cup in my life! I hope they sell in new Zealand shops

scannellbean
26th June, 2014

Andreaireland all of my research shows that TSS is totally ruled out by cup use :)

andreaireland
27th February, 2014

Wow I've never even heard of this product. But what a great idea. And super environmentally friendly. I am intrigued. Does it completely rule out the risk if TSS or is there still a small risk? Do you have to disinfect it before reuse?

SK
24th February, 2014

I have never heard of this product or anything similar. What a crazy yet economical idea. Im definately intrigued! Il have to investigate more and maybe try it out. Great review by the way.

Overall rating:
5.0/5
2nd March, 2014
8 members found this review useful
Bought

I have bought the mooncup, and used the once and so far so good. It was really weird for me at first to be using it but you just do it! I had really looked at it and everything before I used it, just to get the feel etc and yeah. Not really much else to say about it! It does what it should, and in the long run saves money!

Tips: Shop around and get a good product and price, don't be put off on the price, remember it IS a ONCE off.

I had been told to clean out in the shower so you don't have to feel "fear" of dripping and be easier to clean.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
yayme04
4th May, 2014

I got mine from green beans online :-)

nicole2772
8th April, 2014

wow had never even heard of this but am definitely keen to give it a go as i have PCOS and can get my Monthly literally for Months and it costs a small fortune. can you tell me where to purchase it please?

jaimee83
4th April, 2014

Whoa...funny I was just wondering if someone had invented something like this. Its well overdue. Thank you for trying and reviewing this....I'm going to get one as soon as I find them! Help save the environment ladies!

Overall rating:
5.0/5
23rd April, 2014
1 members found this review useful
Game changing!

I was hesitant, but this has saved me so much in the six months I've been using it! If you have lengthy periods, this is definitely worth it.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
5.0/5
28th April, 2014
11 members found this review useful
I love my moon cup

I have had my moon cup for years and in terms of sanitary products, this had paid for itself over and beyond. In fact, now that I have had a baby and am due to change sizes I am excited to get to buy a new one once my menstrual cycle starts again.

Of course, when I first read about it I thought it was a bit hippyish, woo-woo and kinda gross but after using it for so long I can safely say I will never go back to pads/tampons unless absolutely necessary (ie. right after childbirth). There is a bit of a learning curve with this and at the beginning I struggled with the folding of the cup and insertion.

It is best to try using it in a relaxed manner and if it doesn't go in right the first few times, try again later as being tense doesn't help! And by tense, I mean tense down there! Try in the shower, or squatting in the shower.

Once you get the hang of insertion, you have to try and pull it out without creating a gory blood soaked horror scene. Try again in the shower and once you feel confident just over the toilet.

At home I would normally tip the contents in the toilet and then rinse under a tap before reinsertion.

I normally have very heavy periods and the only times I have leaked is overnight so will sometimes double up with a liner to catch leaks otherwise leaking is much less than with tampons.

After my period is done, I normally boil the moon cup for at least 5 minutes.

Now that I have been regularly using my moon cup, it has over the years gotten a bit discoloured. This does not effect it's function but I am looking forward to a new one.

Overall, it can be a bit scary getting used to it but once you get the hang of it, it is easy peasy. Not to mention you are saving money and the environment. Every little bit helps.

Tips: When out and about use toilets that have sinks inside the cubical. Otherwise the general public will not appreciate seeing you dump your menstrual waste down the sink. Also, if you're going to dump your menstrual waste in the toilet, make sure you double flush...

The cup has measuring lines so it is handy to keep an eye out on volumes, particularly on those heavy days. You get a great sense of how your body works... But the doctors do raise an eyebrow when you are able to tell them in mLs how heavy your periods are!

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
100_percent_ash
28th May, 2014

I'm giggling so much imagining emptying in public! Loving all the great reviews this has, I too thought it was hippyish but once my periods return I'll definitely be investing in one the savings alone are worth it

Overall rating:
4.7/5
28th April, 2014
9 members found this review useful
Eases Period Pain

I have had my mooncup about 4 years now. When I first got it I was struggling to insert and remove it, now I wouldn't be without it. I have PCOS so have very heavy painful periods, with this the pain is greatly reduced, I am no longer spending the first day curled up with a hot water bottle and hoping for the pain killers to work, instead a couple of Panadol does the trick and I can get on with my day. It also has cut down the length of my cycle form 7 days to 4.

I do find it a bit gross to empty if I let it get too full. I need to empty it once during the day as well as when I wake up and again before bed, although if you don't have heavy periods just morning and night might be enough. When emptying I just pour it straight into the toilet,and wipe with toilet paper before reinserting. When I'm in the shower I give it a good wash. I use Milton sterilising tablets at the end of my cycle to get rid of any nasties before next time.

Tips: If you put a couple of squares of toilet paper in the loo before emptying it means you wont need to flush twice

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Sarsk
23rd August, 2014

I have terrible period pains, made worse by my copper IUD, so your review is music to my ears! Tampons increase period pain for me, which means I have to use pads on my heaviest days and I find them miserable. I'll have to check out these MoonCups!

Sylvia
25th July, 2014

Thank you so much for this review! I also get really heavy periods with bad pain for the first couple of days, so I'm going to look into this. The thought of using it scares me a bit but if it helps with pain I'm definitely giving it a go!

erinjessicups
1st June, 2014

Thanks for your review!! I also have PCOS and have huge troubles with it. I will most definitely try one now!

HouseOdBanana
7th May, 2014

Thank you for the review! I am happy to hear that it helps with period pains!

Overall rating:
5.0/5
2nd June, 2014
5 members found this review useful
Interesting!

So, I'd heard of these a few years back, and finally got my paws on one after being fed up with having to buy supply's every month. The promise of lasting for years sounds pretty good to me.

Its quite a firm yet smooth feeling silicone, like a bell shape. Obviously you put the "bell" in upside down though ;) Its a little tricky to insert in the right place at first, keeping in mind it sits lower than a tampon, and you've got to work a little quickly once you've folded it, popped it in & let go, it pops back into shape instantly and the seal is formed. Once its in you really don't feel it, its so easy to forget your wearing it - except the little stem that sticks out to help with removal, it kept poking me in the wrong place and was really quite annoying to walk or sit down. But silly me then I remembered it stated in the directions that you can trim the stem to suit you, and then it felt much better! I took about half of it off after a couple of attempts at a small trim - I didn't want to take too much off after all.

No leakage - none at all, even with my first time wearing this, its seal is really brilliant! and it holds LOADS, I never even got it half full in a whole day! - then again I don't usually have extremely heavy bleeds. It is a little tricky to take out though, you need to get 2 fingers up there then squeeze it and break the seal, and it is a little uncomfortable to pull out, but nothing us ladies cannot handle ;), it isn't as bad as it sounds! And not as bad as a trying to yank out a semi dry tampon!(ugh!!) Give it a quick rinse or wipe with paper if there's no tap available and pop it right back in, super duper convenient! Best time to do this is in the shower where you can practice, it helps if you can put one leg up on something and kind of squat, slightly bearing down till you can break the seal & grab it. At the end of my cycle I just wash it with hot soapy water and smear tea tree oil on it to store it (in the cute little bag it came with), then give it a quick rinse when I next need it. I love my mooncup, I'm so happy I finally got myself one and will never look back! Saves your wallet and the environment (makes me sick thinking about all that "stuff" billions of women have to dispose of every month) So this gets a huge thumbs up from me!

Tips: Yes its odd to use at first, but it doesn't take long to get the hang of it. Try it in first and then decide on where to trim the stem - don't try and leave the house until your comfortable with the stem length (trust me on this lol), you shouldn't be able to feel it at all. You may find it easier to soften it up with hot water before first use too, but don't burn yourself!

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Sarsk
23rd August, 2014

Thanks for your review :) answered all the questions I had buzzing around in my head

Overall rating:
5.0/5
4th June, 2014
4 members found this review useful
Changed my life!

Until I bought a Moon Cup, I always felt uneasy during my period. Worried I was going to leak onto my jean, or worse - furniture! Those days were gone once I got my cup. It took a few days to get used to it, and I had to cut the stem almost entirely off, but once I did it was great! I nearly would forget I had my period because it wasn't affecting my life at all. I could sleep the entire night with no leaks or discomfort. People are sometimes worried about changing it in public but as you can go 12 hours without emptying it I didn't need to do that very often. You can just wipe it out with toilet paper if you're out, and then give it a proper wash when you get home. The environmental impacts of disposable menstrual items are huge, and using a cup is a great way to reduce the waste you send to landfill. It definitely saves money over a fairly short space of time, as well as meaning you never have to make an emergency dash for tampons.

I bought the size 1, and was 20 at the time, and have never been pregnant, and felt no discomfort using it once I had it in the right place.

Tips: Try inserting it in the shower at first.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Sarsk
23rd August, 2014

Great tip! Wouldn't have thought of that myself :)

Overall rating:
5.0/5
10th June, 2014
7 members found this review useful
Never going back

The mooncup definitely took some persevering. It took a couple of months to get the hang of and feel comfortable in the fact that I could trust it, but it was worth every second! I will never go back to tampons after using the mooncup, everyone that I talk to about the mooncup says that they think its gross, but that's how I feel about tampons having used it. I'm very happy in the fact that I am no longer putting bleached cotton in places it should not go and that I never have to experience that dried out feeling I used to get with tampons. I had issues with the stem being uncomfortable when I first started wearing it, so I would cut it down a little bit each time I wore it, as I didn't want to cut it too short. Eventually the whole stem was gone and it was no longer uncomfortable (It still works fine with no stem! I just squeeze the base to pull it out) Being a university student it also helps not having to buy tampons every month, I save a lot of money so the $40 I spent on this was really worth it!

Tips: This product is amazing so don't be put off by the fact that it takes a bit of getting used to, yes its a learning curve but totally worth it in the end. If you're worried for the first couple of months just wear a pad :)

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Jennie-nelson
9th September, 2014

I bought mine online from a NZ store, but I recently found it on feel unique for cheaper :) have a browse on the internet though, there's quite a lot of different options, different types of cups etc. xx

Sylvia
31st July, 2014

After reading all of these reviews I'm definitely wanting to purchase one of these (a bit nervous about actually using it, but it sounds worth a learning curve!). Did you find yours online or instore somewhere? :) xx

HAVE YOU SIGNED UP YET?!

We're eliminating Bad Beauty Buys...one review at a time!

It's so easy and fun to join in with NZ's biggest beauty guide!

(1) SIGN UP - (2) Earn Beauty Points for every beauty product you review - (3) Exchange your points for FREE beauty products!

Sign Up Today!