Vault

Max value reached

Adding this item would put you over your total vault limit of $250. please review your cart to stay under the limit.

Braun Xmas
Braun Xmas

MoonCup Menstrual Cup

MoonCup Menstrual Cup
Overall rating from 33 reviews so far:
4.8/5
Would use it again?
4.8/5
Did it do what it said it would?
4.8/5
Would recommend it to a friend?
4.8/5

The Mooncup is a reusable menstrual cup, around two inches long and made from soft medical grade silicone.

It is worn internally a lot lower than a tampon but, while tampons and pads absorb menstrual fluid, the Mooncup collects it.

This means it doesn’t cause dryness or irritation, and also that it collects far more (three times as much as a tampon!).

Because the Mooncup is reusable, you only need one so it saves you money and helps the environment, too.

The Mooncup is designed to be folded and inserted into the vagina, then removed, rinsed and reinserted up to every 8 hours. A light seal is formed with your vaginal walls, allowing menstrual fluid to pass into the Mooncup without leakage or odour. This seal is released for removal, allowing you to empty the contents, rinse or wipe and reinsert. Comfortable, convenient and safe the Mooncup can be used overnight and when travelling, swimming or exercising.

Available in 2 sizes.

Pack Size  1 cup and storage bag

 

Availability  Green Beans, Poppy Pads and Selected retail outlets

Website www.mooncup.co.uk



RRP: $48.00

Write a review

Please sign in to write a review.

Not yet registered?

It's super simple and only takes 30 seconds.

Register now

How would you rate this product?

MoonCup Menstrual Cup

MoonCup Menstrual Cup

Reviews

Overall rating:
5.0/5
31st December, 2013
3 members found this review useful
Moon Cup

I had been wanting to try this for awhile so last month when I realized too late that I had bought wingless pads, decided to go ahead and buy one. I found it quite comfortable to wear and very economical. It does take some practice and you need to be kind of flexible bending over forward. I would recommend using pads as well when you're starting to use it especially if it's your more "heavy" days. But I'm so glad I got one.

Tips: I don't know if it's just me but I found it easier to remove with my right hand if I inserted it with my left, so I would recommend inserting or removing it, whichever is less challenging for you, with your less dominant hand so you can reach it easier with your more dominant hand. And shorter fingernails when you're first getting accustomed to using one might be a bit easier on you. Also they recommend in the instruction pamphlet that you start using on the last two days of your "monthly" as it's easier to start using it then if you're a beginner.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
MickChick
3rd June, 2018

This is really helpful. Thanks :)

msmeets
2nd January, 2014

Yes i have been keen to try this, thanks for your review

100_percent_ash
1st January, 2014

Very keen to try one of these thanks for the review

Overall rating:
5.0/5
28th April, 2014
11 members found this review useful
I love my moon cup

I have had my moon cup for years and in terms of sanitary products, this had paid for itself over and beyond. In fact, now that I have had a baby and am due to change sizes I am excited to get to buy a new one once my menstrual cycle starts again.

Of course, when I first read about it I thought it was a bit hippyish, woo-woo and kinda gross but after using it for so long I can safely say I will never go back to pads/tampons unless absolutely necessary (ie. right after childbirth). There is a bit of a learning curve with this and at the beginning I struggled with the folding of the cup and insertion.

It is best to try using it in a relaxed manner and if it doesn't go in right the first few times, try again later as being tense doesn't help! And by tense, I mean tense down there! Try in the shower, or squatting in the shower.

Once you get the hang of insertion, you have to try and pull it out without creating a gory blood soaked horror scene. Try again in the shower and once you feel confident just over the toilet.

At home I would normally tip the contents in the toilet and then rinse under a tap before reinsertion.

I normally have very heavy periods and the only times I have leaked is overnight so will sometimes double up with a liner to catch leaks otherwise leaking is much less than with tampons.

After my period is done, I normally boil the moon cup for at least 5 minutes.

Now that I have been regularly using my moon cup, it has over the years gotten a bit discoloured. This does not effect it's function but I am looking forward to a new one.

Overall, it can be a bit scary getting used to it but once you get the hang of it, it is easy peasy. Not to mention you are saving money and the environment. Every little bit helps.

Tips: When out and about use toilets that have sinks inside the cubical. Otherwise the general public will not appreciate seeing you dump your menstrual waste down the sink. Also, if you're going to dump your menstrual waste in the toilet, make sure you double flush...

The cup has measuring lines so it is handy to keep an eye out on volumes, particularly on those heavy days. You get a great sense of how your body works... But the doctors do raise an eyebrow when you are able to tell them in mLs how heavy your periods are!

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
100_percent_ash
28th May, 2014

I'm giggling so much imagining emptying in public! Loving all the great reviews this has, I too thought it was hippyish but once my periods return I'll definitely be investing in one the savings alone are worth it

Overall rating:
4.7/5
28th April, 2014
9 members found this review useful
Eases Period Pain

I have had my mooncup about 4 years now. When I first got it I was struggling to insert and remove it, now I wouldn't be without it. I have PCOS so have very heavy painful periods, with this the pain is greatly reduced, I am no longer spending the first day curled up with a hot water bottle and hoping for the pain killers to work, instead a couple of Panadol does the trick and I can get on with my day. It also has cut down the length of my cycle form 7 days to 4.

I do find it a bit gross to empty if I let it get too full. I need to empty it once during the day as well as when I wake up and again before bed, although if you don't have heavy periods just morning and night might be enough. When emptying I just pour it straight into the toilet,and wipe with toilet paper before reinserting. When I'm in the shower I give it a good wash. I use Milton sterilising tablets at the end of my cycle to get rid of any nasties before next time.

Tips: If you put a couple of squares of toilet paper in the loo before emptying it means you wont need to flush twice

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Sarsk
23rd August, 2014

I have terrible period pains, made worse by my copper IUD, so your review is music to my ears! Tampons increase period pain for me, which means I have to use pads on my heaviest days and I find them miserable. I'll have to check out these MoonCups!

Sylvia
25th July, 2014

Thank you so much for this review! I also get really heavy periods with bad pain for the first couple of days, so I'm going to look into this. The thought of using it scares me a bit but if it helps with pain I'm definitely giving it a go!

erinjessicups
1st June, 2014

Thanks for your review!! I also have PCOS and have huge troubles with it. I will most definitely try one now!

HouseOdBanana
7th May, 2014

Thank you for the review! I am happy to hear that it helps with period pains!

Overall rating:
5.0/5
10th June, 2014
7 members found this review useful
Never going back

The mooncup definitely took some persevering. It took a couple of months to get the hang of and feel comfortable in the fact that I could trust it, but it was worth every second! I will never go back to tampons after using the mooncup, everyone that I talk to about the mooncup says that they think its gross, but that's how I feel about tampons having used it. I'm very happy in the fact that I am no longer putting bleached cotton in places it should not go and that I never have to experience that dried out feeling I used to get with tampons. I had issues with the stem being uncomfortable when I first started wearing it, so I would cut it down a little bit each time I wore it, as I didn't want to cut it too short. Eventually the whole stem was gone and it was no longer uncomfortable (It still works fine with no stem! I just squeeze the base to pull it out) Being a university student it also helps not having to buy tampons every month, I save a lot of money so the $40 I spent on this was really worth it!

Tips: This product is amazing so don't be put off by the fact that it takes a bit of getting used to, yes its a learning curve but totally worth it in the end. If you're worried for the first couple of months just wear a pad :)

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Jennie-nelson
9th September, 2014

I bought mine online from a NZ store, but I recently found it on feel unique for cheaper :) have a browse on the internet though, there's quite a lot of different options, different types of cups etc. xx

Sylvia
31st July, 2014

After reading all of these reviews I'm definitely wanting to purchase one of these (a bit nervous about actually using it, but it sounds worth a learning curve!). Did you find yours online or instore somewhere? :) xx

Overall rating:
5.0/5
5th September, 2014
1 members found this review useful
I will never go back

I'm totally converted! This is the best investment I have made! I have super heavy pediods and tampons cost me a fortune so I decided to get a mooncup to try, at first I had a few issues trying to insert it, and because of this it was uncomfortable and leaked, but I persevered and now have no problems at all! In the instructions there and two "folds" but if you look on youtube there are a ton of a other ways which might be helpful if you do have issues. It holds more than a super tampon which means less changes, and when you're out there's no embarrassing moments trying to sneak a tampon to the toilet and then wondering where to dispose of it, aswell as rinsing them you can use toilet paper to wipe them out if you can't get to a sink inconspicuously! I also love that this in an eco friendly option so less waste going into landfills and no chemicals going into my bod!

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
29th September, 2014
12 members found this review useful
Eco-Friendly Menstrual Cycle

I found out about the MoonCup in 2005, when I read a magazine article called “Go Green with your Menstrual Cycle”. The fact that it could hold more blood than a tampon immediately had me interested, as I’ve suffered with very heavy, long periods for years.

I ordered one a few days later and used my MoonCup for just over 7 years. I absolutely loved it! I’d empty mine 3-4 times per day - morning, lunchtime, later afternoon before gym session and then again before bed. No more sneaking tampons to the loo, no more tampon fluff getting stuck where it shouldn’t, no more monthly thrush and no more worrying about leakage! In the 7 years, I think it only leaked 3 or 4 times. Once because I didn’t check the seal properly and the other times because I got stuck in meetings and it got too full!

In the beginning, it took a little getting used to, but I found that rubbing a little KY Jelly (personal water-based lubricant) around the rim made insertion much less painful, especially in the beginning and on the first day of my period. I ended up cutting the stem right down to 5mm, as it was too uncomfortable for me. I’d remove my cup by grabbing the base (where the stem joins the cup) with my thumb and forefinger, squeeze it slightly to break the seal and pull it out that way.

The MoonCup was really easy to use and allowed me to be more in tune with my own body. Cleaning it was a breeze and it could wiped out with toilet paper and reinserted if I was in a public restroom and then rinsed with hot water each evening and the next morning, at home.

When rinsing it, I’d use hot water out the tap and rinse both the inside and outside of the cup, as well as the little grooves under the rim. Then fill the cup up with water, place my palm over the top, tip it upside down and then squeeze the cup (make sure you’re over the basin, bath or in the shower), so that water flows through the little holes on the sides. This will flush the holes, cleaning them and making sure that the cup seals properly.

Tips: Use a little lubricant on the rim for easy insertion. Rinse with water only during period. At the end of my period I would rinse my MoonCup and use an old toothbrush and some antibacterial soap to really clean all the little lines and grooves around the rim. A toothpick can be used to push soap through the little holes and get any residue out. Rinse well under running water, before popping it into some cold water with Milton diluted in it (the stuff used to sterilise babies bottles). Leave it for as long as the instructions state. Remove from Milton water, pat it dry on a clean towel (or use kitchen paper) and store in the little cloth bag ready for next month.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
melly650
26th October, 2014

This is such a detailed, great review! I've been looking at this for a couple of months... Definitely going to buy it now.

Overall rating:
5.0/5
6th April, 2015
2 members found this review useful
Why didn't I know about this sooner!

Great product, why don't they sell these in the supermarket! Advertising these more would be great for the country. Took a while to get use to inserting,p and removing. After a few goes I finally was able to not feel it and be 100% comfortable, as my flow is some what heavier than normal I am needing to change more often but other than that it has been successful and a great purchase

Tips: Trying out before cycle to become familiar and confident with inserting and removing would be helpful as it dose take a few goes

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
17th July, 2015
1 members found this review useful
Soon to be fully converted!

Well, where to start? There was a lot of talk about menstrual cups on a facebook forum that I was avidly following as I HATE pads and tampons are just a total nuisance.

After due consideration, and reading a whole lot of info on the web, weighing up pros and cons, reading other users' reviews etc, decided why the hell not?

BEFORE using, make sure you read the instructions and be well aware that it's not always rainbows and butterflies... It can be quite difficult to insert it properly, and even when inserted properly, it can be quite difficult to tell that it is inserted properly as foreign objects in a body orifice can be rather... err... dissimilar!

I think that all highschools (or even middle schools) should be handing out pamphlets on these during the puberty talks!

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
22nd July, 2015
2 members found this review useful
Best friend

I love love love my moon cup and think every lady should have one. It was a little tricky at first but now after having and using my moon cup for 8 years, I'll never go back to using tampons. They are brilliant for travel too as you don't need to change as often as s tampon because they hold twice as much. ( safe to leave in up to 10 hours ) and as simple as removing and rising with some water until you get somewhere to give a good clean. ( some toilets over seas are not very clean ) so this is a must buy for all women!! Saves on the pocket too! No more buying tampons!!!

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
15th June, 2016
1 members found this review useful
What are you waiting for?!

Why did it take me so long to actually get one?! I've done so much research over the past year or so on these and kept getting put off over the "squeamish" factor. I finally bit the bullet and did it and why did I wait?! With two sizes, make sure you select the right one for you. It is nowhere near as hard or as difficult as some reviews say. In fact, it was way easier than I thought. I think I psyched myself out about it. It was easy to use, easy to remove and I've had no leaks. It's super comfortable and yes, the first time you empty it is a bit awkward, but seriously, you'll get over it and have a better appreciation of your body.

A money saver, an environmental saver (because think about, all the tampons and pads end up in landfills, ICK!), easy to use and so much better for your body. I think these should be promoted and advertised sooooo much more than they are. Get it!

Tips: Read the instructions and RELAX.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No

CHECK OUT THE BEAUTY VAULT PREVIEW!

The Beauty Vault opens this weekend!

You can have a sneak peek at just some of the products you'll be able to grab this weekend in the Beauty Vault Preview!

Click Here to go to the Beauty Vault Preview!