Vault

Max value reached

Adding this item would put you over your total vault limit of $250. please review your cart to stay under the limit.

July Beauty Boxes
July Beauty Boxes

MoonCup Menstrual Cup

MoonCup Menstrual Cup
Overall rating from 32 reviews so far:
4.8/5
Would use it again?
4.8/5
Did it do what it said it would?
4.8/5
Would recommend it to a friend?
4.8/5

The Mooncup is a reusable menstrual cup, around two inches long and made from soft medical grade silicone.

It is worn internally a lot lower than a tampon but, while tampons and pads absorb menstrual fluid, the Mooncup collects it.

This means it doesn’t cause dryness or irritation, and also that it collects far more (three times as much as a tampon!).

Because the Mooncup is reusable, you only need one so it saves you money and helps the environment, too.

The Mooncup is designed to be folded and inserted into the vagina, then removed, rinsed and reinserted up to every 8 hours. A light seal is formed with your vaginal walls, allowing menstrual fluid to pass into the Mooncup without leakage or odour. This seal is released for removal, allowing you to empty the contents, rinse or wipe and reinsert. Comfortable, convenient and safe the Mooncup can be used overnight and when travelling, swimming or exercising.

Available in 2 sizes.

Pack Size  1 cup and storage bag

 

Availability  Green Beans, Poppy Pads and Selected retail outlets

Website www.mooncup.co.uk



RRP: $48.00

Write a review

Please sign in to write a review.

Not yet registered?

It's super simple and only takes 30 seconds.

Register now

How would you rate this product?

MoonCup Menstrual Cup

MoonCup Menstrual Cup

Reviews

Overall rating:
5.0/5
9th March, 2019
0 members found this review useful
A liberating and positive change

The menstrual cup thing wasn't my 'thing' until I won one - another brand. I loved the concept, and my body and me hate tampons and the like, so this seemed like a great alternative. After failing with the one I won - I did my research to find one that had fabulous reviews to give it one last go before giving it a miss, and I'm so glad I did. I found MoonCup, it works and I haven't looked back.

I purchased the MoonCup and it arrived in a box, with great instructions and a cute pouch for storing the cup when not in use. Using any cup is a bit of a 'fiddle' at first, and it absolutely takes time to work it out - but I highly recommend reading the instructions that come with the moon cup because they're awesome. If all else fails there's loads of tips and tricks on the internet for getting a menstrual cup to work for you.

This cup is super comfortable once in (I can only compare to one other brand), It's firm to insert, and what makes it really fantastic is that its silicon is really firm, so sits tight once inserted so I know there's little risk of leaking as long as I've inserted it correctly (it takes practice and understanding the direction all the body parts point, to point the cup in the right direction as well). The important thing with inserting the cup is to relax - it's something I have to consciously tell myself sometimes.

I have a very crazy heavy cycle and can honestly say the MoonCup made coping with that so much easier and less stressful. I'm no longer in tears as I deal with the heavy period. I couldn't and wouldn't go back to icky tampons and pads. I feel better for the change, and feel better the planet is better for my change.

Tips: Healthpost were the cheapest when I shopped for mine. There's two sized cups so read their guidelines to pick the right size for you - it's super easy to work out which is the one for you.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
7th May, 2018
0 members found this review useful
Moon Cup

Absolutely love my moon cup! Could never go back to using pads and tampons again. It is super comfortable and reusable!

Tips: Practice inserting before you get your period, or wear a panty liner incase of leakage the first few times

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
13th January, 2018
1 members found this review useful
So glad I tried this out!

Honestly this took a lot of getting used to, and I had to wear liners the first week I used this, because it leaked a bit ( I obviously wasn't putting it in correctly) but, by my second time round, it was an absolute breeze. Once I figured it all out, the best way for me to fold it, position it etc, dealing with periods became so much easier!

I love that I no longer need to go out and buy pads or tampons, or have to think about how many I need to take with me, or worry when my period surprises me early and I haven't got anything for it. What I love most is that I don't have to change it as often as a tampon when my period is light, and I can wear it overnight!

The main thing I've heard people ask about is emptying it when you're not at home ( eg. uni, work etc); I usually have a bottle of water with me and can subtly rinse it into the toilet, or just wipe it clean with toilet paper. If your hands are clean, and you don't handle it too much/drop it, it'll be perfectly fine and safe! To sterilise, just chuck it in some boiling water for 5 mins when you get home.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
1.0/5
22nd September, 2017
0 members found this review useful
Foreign Body

I'm going to be honest. I was scared of this product. The size is bigger than what I was expecting, roughly fits in the palm of your hand. It's rubbery and is not as squishy as I thought it would have to be, it's more like a Tupperware muffin cup (lol). I've never been crazy about the concept of putting something inside my body, but do appreciate the simplicity of tampons and cleanliness they create. This mooncup proved to be a problem, I literally didn't know how to insert it. I had to watch YouTube videos on tips and tricks but none of them helped. I failed dramatically at this, but have seen others LOVE it!

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
15th June, 2016
1 members found this review useful
What are you waiting for?!

Why did it take me so long to actually get one?! I've done so much research over the past year or so on these and kept getting put off over the "squeamish" factor. I finally bit the bullet and did it and why did I wait?! With two sizes, make sure you select the right one for you. It is nowhere near as hard or as difficult as some reviews say. In fact, it was way easier than I thought. I think I psyched myself out about it. It was easy to use, easy to remove and I've had no leaks. It's super comfortable and yes, the first time you empty it is a bit awkward, but seriously, you'll get over it and have a better appreciation of your body.

A money saver, an environmental saver (because think about, all the tampons and pads end up in landfills, ICK!), easy to use and so much better for your body. I think these should be promoted and advertised sooooo much more than they are. Get it!

Tips: Read the instructions and RELAX.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
22nd July, 2015
2 members found this review useful
Best friend

I love love love my moon cup and think every lady should have one. It was a little tricky at first but now after having and using my moon cup for 8 years, I'll never go back to using tampons. They are brilliant for travel too as you don't need to change as often as s tampon because they hold twice as much. ( safe to leave in up to 10 hours ) and as simple as removing and rising with some water until you get somewhere to give a good clean. ( some toilets over seas are not very clean ) so this is a must buy for all women!! Saves on the pocket too! No more buying tampons!!!

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
17th July, 2015
1 members found this review useful
Soon to be fully converted!

Well, where to start? There was a lot of talk about menstrual cups on a facebook forum that I was avidly following as I HATE pads and tampons are just a total nuisance.

After due consideration, and reading a whole lot of info on the web, weighing up pros and cons, reading other users' reviews etc, decided why the hell not?

BEFORE using, make sure you read the instructions and be well aware that it's not always rainbows and butterflies... It can be quite difficult to insert it properly, and even when inserted properly, it can be quite difficult to tell that it is inserted properly as foreign objects in a body orifice can be rather... err... dissimilar!

I think that all highschools (or even middle schools) should be handing out pamphlets on these during the puberty talks!

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
6th April, 2015
2 members found this review useful
Why didn't I know about this sooner!

Great product, why don't they sell these in the supermarket! Advertising these more would be great for the country. Took a while to get use to inserting,p and removing. After a few goes I finally was able to not feel it and be 100% comfortable, as my flow is some what heavier than normal I am needing to change more often but other than that it has been successful and a great purchase

Tips: Trying out before cycle to become familiar and confident with inserting and removing would be helpful as it dose take a few goes

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
29th September, 2014
12 members found this review useful
Eco-Friendly Menstrual Cycle

I found out about the MoonCup in 2005, when I read a magazine article called “Go Green with your Menstrual Cycle”. The fact that it could hold more blood than a tampon immediately had me interested, as I’ve suffered with very heavy, long periods for years.

I ordered one a few days later and used my MoonCup for just over 7 years. I absolutely loved it! I’d empty mine 3-4 times per day - morning, lunchtime, later afternoon before gym session and then again before bed. No more sneaking tampons to the loo, no more tampon fluff getting stuck where it shouldn’t, no more monthly thrush and no more worrying about leakage! In the 7 years, I think it only leaked 3 or 4 times. Once because I didn’t check the seal properly and the other times because I got stuck in meetings and it got too full!

In the beginning, it took a little getting used to, but I found that rubbing a little KY Jelly (personal water-based lubricant) around the rim made insertion much less painful, especially in the beginning and on the first day of my period. I ended up cutting the stem right down to 5mm, as it was too uncomfortable for me. I’d remove my cup by grabbing the base (where the stem joins the cup) with my thumb and forefinger, squeeze it slightly to break the seal and pull it out that way.

The MoonCup was really easy to use and allowed me to be more in tune with my own body. Cleaning it was a breeze and it could wiped out with toilet paper and reinserted if I was in a public restroom and then rinsed with hot water each evening and the next morning, at home.

When rinsing it, I’d use hot water out the tap and rinse both the inside and outside of the cup, as well as the little grooves under the rim. Then fill the cup up with water, place my palm over the top, tip it upside down and then squeeze the cup (make sure you’re over the basin, bath or in the shower), so that water flows through the little holes on the sides. This will flush the holes, cleaning them and making sure that the cup seals properly.

Tips: Use a little lubricant on the rim for easy insertion. Rinse with water only during period. At the end of my period I would rinse my MoonCup and use an old toothbrush and some antibacterial soap to really clean all the little lines and grooves around the rim. A toothpick can be used to push soap through the little holes and get any residue out. Rinse well under running water, before popping it into some cold water with Milton diluted in it (the stuff used to sterilise babies bottles). Leave it for as long as the instructions state. Remove from Milton water, pat it dry on a clean towel (or use kitchen paper) and store in the little cloth bag ready for next month.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
melly650
26th October, 2014

This is such a detailed, great review! I've been looking at this for a couple of months... Definitely going to buy it now.

Overall rating:
5.0/5
5th September, 2014
1 members found this review useful
I will never go back

I'm totally converted! This is the best investment I have made! I have super heavy pediods and tampons cost me a fortune so I decided to get a mooncup to try, at first I had a few issues trying to insert it, and because of this it was uncomfortable and leaked, but I persevered and now have no problems at all! In the instructions there and two "folds" but if you look on youtube there are a ton of a other ways which might be helpful if you do have issues. It holds more than a super tampon which means less changes, and when you're out there's no embarrassing moments trying to sneak a tampon to the toilet and then wondering where to dispose of it, aswell as rinsing them you can use toilet paper to wipe them out if you can't get to a sink inconspicuously! I also love that this in an eco friendly option so less waste going into landfills and no chemicals going into my bod!

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No