Vault

Max value reached

Adding this item would put you over your total vault limit of $250. please review your cart to stay under the limit.

Moisture Mist Beauty Cake Foundation Review

Moisture Mist Beauty Cake Foundation Review
Overall rating from 348 reviews so far:
4.0/5
Would use it again?
4.0/5
Did it do what it said it would?
4.0/5
Would recommend it to a friend?
4.0/5

A compact foundation that can be applied wet or dry to provide optimal coverage and a natural finish.

・Employs Advanced Luminous Technology to promote a makeup look that is beautifully smooth and radiant.
・Minimizes the visibility of pores and subtly covers fine lines and imperfections for a flawless appearance.
・Glides on luxuriously to give skin perfect, even coverage and a creamy powderless feeling.
・Contains Multi-Nutrient Factor, an advanced moisturizer and energizer.
・NON-COMEDOGENIC.

TO USE
・Apply with a dry or slightly moistened sponge after skincare, smoothing on evenly from the center of the face outward. 

Without water For greater coverage and convenient touch-ups.
With water For sheer coverage and a light fresh feeling.

 

Availability Farmers stores, selected pharmacies and Online

Website www.moisturemist.co.nz




RRP: $37.00

Write a review

Please sign in to write a review.

Not yet registered?

It's super simple and only takes 30 seconds.

Register now

How would you rate this product?

Moisture Mist Beauty Cake Foundation Review

Moisture Mist Beauty Cake Foundation Review

Reviews

Overall rating:
5.0/5
27th September, 2015
0 members found this review useful
Limited Edition Beauty Cake

I was so excited to get this trial I had not used this in about 15 yrs and wanted to see if it was still looked as good as it did then. So it came in a nice pink and white box with a circle on the front so you can see the compact and a red ribbon to pull to slide the compact out. The compact is really pretty creamy white with gold lining around the out side and a pretty print of NZ with splashed colour. It has a clip you push to open to reveal a mirror and the foundation. It also comes with a sponge and a grey rubbery purse with holes in the back to keep the sponge in. So I got the colour 156 honey and it is a near perfect match for my skin. I found this gave really nice coverage light and fresh and very natural it covered my red veins I also found it lasted all day. I used the sponge damp and build up how much coverage you need very easy to use. I definitely will purchase another one when I run out! The limited edition case is gorgeous

Tips: I found it easier to apply with a damp sponge.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Overall rating:
3.7/5
22nd September, 2015
2 members found this review useful
Honey - it's you not me

I was lucky enough to get on the trial team for this product! I was excited as I love foundations but I haven't had much luck with Moisture Mist in the past. I find their products to often be quite old fashioned. Also the name 'Beauty Cake' kind of put me off. I love cake, but I really don’t like my foundation cakey. But at the same time I was determined to come at this review from a more unbiased point of view. I got this in the shade Honey which is the lightest they do.

The packaging of the compact that this comes in is absolutely gorgeous and my favorite Moisture Mist product that I have ever tried (Limited Edition designed by Michael Tompsett). It is white plastic with a cool artistic design of NZ on top. The compact closes solidly with an extremely satisfying click. When you open this there is a tiny wee rim of gold around the edge which I think is a lovely touch. Also though with this product you can take out the powder and replace it when empty. I think this is fantastic as you can keep the LE packaging. The sponge that comes with it is fine, tear shaped which is great for getting around the nose and eyes, and antibacterial. Comes with its own wee grey case which is cool. But why couldn't they put the sponge in with the compact. I don't want to take both things with me for touch ups on the go! I want it all in one!

The foundation smells like talc, at least you don’t notice the old lady smell on your face. Also worth noting is that this doesn't have SPF in it. So the first time I tried this was a bit of a fail. It seemed like no matter how much I pressed the sponge in the powder hardly anything would pick up. So after that wee fail I decided to research how to use it. On the Moisture Mist website they have a wee video on how to use. They advise to use the sponge damp and pick up the beauty cake in circular motions then apply to the skin. This annoys me as I apply my makeup in my bedroom so it is annoying to go dampen my sponge. First time I tried this technique my sponge was too damp, I was starting to wonder how anyone used this at all. But once I got the sponge at the right dampness I was away. You really need to dig the sponge in though, and you have to drag across your skin to get the color on. I thought this shade would be too dark for me but it is actually really nice. The coverage of this is also really nice, natural medium coverage and not cakey at all! Perfect for when you want to cover some parts of your face but not all of it. Wear time wasn't too bad, lasted close to a full work day (8hrs) but at the 7hr mark I started to notice some wear (I did set this with a wee bit of powder).

I think that this would be a great foundation to take when you are travelling if you don't want too many liquid products. It is a bit crap for taking on the go during the day as I wouldn't want the damp sponge in my handbag. I won't be using this for everyday as it takes a bit more work to apply than my normal liquid, but overall I do like it.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
SandyGedge
27th September, 2015

Oh no hun! You've been far to generous to me ;-) xxx I am trying to be good and do project pan before opening/purchasing anything else so I know I'll have this one day hehe

kirstyj
24th September, 2015

Thanks Sandy! I would send it your way to try but I don't think it would be your shade :(

SandyGedge
24th September, 2015

Great review hun and I'm happy you were picked for this trial too :) I have been lusting after this for a long time but am wanting to get through my other foundations first! I wonder if i'll also get annoyed with having to wet the sponge too!?!

Farmers-Wife
22nd September, 2015

I won't be buying this. Loved your review

Overall rating:
1.0/5
21st September, 2015
0 members found this review useful
I really wanted to like this!

I have wanted to try this foundation since I was 13. I'm not even kidding! My nana had it in her bathroom cupboard and I always used to open it up and have a look and it smelled so amazing but I could never figure out exactly what it was used for. Fast forward a couple of years and I found myself an avid fan of the Moisture Mist Stick Foundation. It had amazing coverage and it did exactly what I wanted it to so I never got around to buying the beauty cake.

As the years went by I still found myself glancing at this wee compact whenever I was in Farmers but still I never purchase it. I'm sure you can imagine my happiness when I was selected for the trial team!

First things first the limited edition packaging is beautiful! I wish Moisture Mist would update their standard packaging. I feel as though it's aimed at the older generation which is fine but it has always put me off buying more from them. The white compact with the NZ logo would definitely be very popular if it was across the whole range I'm sure!

The foundation came in a wee box with a product guide, sponge applicator and sponge holder with breathing holes so it doesn't get moldy. The instructions said to wet the sponge and then squeeze out the excess water. The wetter the sponge the lighter the application and the dryer the sponge the heavier the application. I prefer a full coverage face so I first tried the foundation without any water at all - needless to say I couldn't get any product onto the sponge whatsoever - clearly wetting the sponge is essential. BUT even with a damp sponge I found it so darn difficult to get any product out of the compact, it's so hard and really really compacted in there. After what seemed like a lifetime my sponge looked like it had a decent amount of foundation on it and I proceeded to apply it to my face. But nothing came off. The sponge had taken all my foundation for itself! I tried and tried to make this work but I just can't. I honestly can't understand how this is New Zealand's "favourite foundation" - I love Moisture Mist but I really didn't like this product.

Tips: I have no tips but if someone could share some with me it would be much appreciated!

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Overall rating:
5.0/5
19th September, 2015
0 members found this review useful
Great coverage

Was so excited when this arrived in the post. The packaging was fantastic. Lovely and pinky red. The beauty cake was in the top of the box and the sponge underneath with a little bag. It also comes with a little booklet called 'essential product guide'. which has all the products and information about when to use and how to use.

This is the first time I have used a foundation that wasn't liquid. I was a bit dubious at first wondering how a powdery foundation would give coverage. I tried it first with a very damp sponge for light coverage and was really surprised at how well it covered. Great for day time/work etc.I also enjoyed applying the foundation with a sponge! (no messy fingers!). Feels a bit unusual at first as my face felt quite damp. I didn't wait long enough to apply my bronzer.... lesson learnt! My face was too damp and I ended up with dark patches of brown. I then washed my face and tried the foundation with a damp sponge. This gave awesome coverage. And as I had a couple of spots I was able to apply more on the spot and blend in. Was really pleased with this product and would definitely use it again. Thanks Beauty Review for letting me trial this product.

Tips: Make sure your face is completely dry before applying a bronzer or blusher.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Overall rating:
5.0/5
16th September, 2015
0 members found this review useful
Best Foundation I have used so far

I like the coverage and the finish. I find its easily layered on areas I might need a bit more coverage on without feeling like my face is packed on with makeup.

Tips: Make sure your face is moisturised about half an hour before using it

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
3.7/5
21st August, 2015
1 members found this review useful
Beauty Cake

Growing up (high school years) i used this day in and day out. It was mostly great. The only thing i didn't like about it was some days it really did look like cake icing on my face after a while. almost like it had curdled on my face... (mainly in my oily arears) also, you have to replace the sponge as it tentds to smell funky after a while (even though i washed it all the time) i always worried i smelt like a dirty damn cloth some days. but other than these days, it lasted rather well. I have an unused beauty cake at home, but i just can't bring myself to using it just yet. i'm still in two mind sets. Maybe one day..

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
1.7/5
14th July, 2015
1 members found this review useful
Not for me

I took a risk and moved from my normal liquid pump bottle foundation to try a matte compact. As fun as the change was I soon realised this product was not for me. You need to have time on your side when applying it as if you want a thicker coverage you will need to build it up. I personally found it too heavy for me. It really did cake on to my face and not really work gently with my skin. I found that it dried my skin out. I used it for a while and now it sits in the bottom of my makeup drawer. Perhaps if you have skin that is very blotchy this may be good?

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
4.0/5
22nd June, 2015
1 members found this review useful
Moisture Mist

I have used this foundation for years. Easy to apply and provides a medium coverage. Good for NZ envirnoment.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
5.0/5
6th June, 2015
1 members found this review useful
NZ Icon

The best part about this foundation in my opinion is how travel friendly it is. I don't use it only a daily basis anymore (I did for years) but I carry it with me in my handbag at all times for touch ups. I also find the moisture mist sponge you buy along side it stays nice and damp in its pouch for quite some time, adding to the travel friendliness. This foundation applies beautifully with a damp sponge and is sheer to heavy coverage depending how you use it. I love that! It also has a smooth and flawless finish. My only negative about this product is I find it wears quickly, especially around my mouth and jawline. All in all though such a handy item to have and so easy to use. Prefect for beginners through to makeup pros.

Tips: Try damping sponge with warm water instead of cold. It makes for a nicer, smoother application.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
3.0/5
12th May, 2015
0 members found this review useful
Off And On ; And Still On The Fence

I used this foundation in my teenage years for a few years.. it was GREAT! super easy and no fuss to fix up during the day...

I brought it again last year and have only reached for it a few times as i feel its just not the coverage i need, as if applied more the a little i found it caked in areas, Also i found this to be very drying of the skin.

This would be a great foundation for people who are wanting a light coverage that is quick and easy.

Tips: buy the sponge that goes with the foundation as it goes well with application of the moisture mist foundation rather then other sponges. Replace the spounge frequently & wash it as it can get a bit of a funny smell too it

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.

Have You Registered With NZ's Biggest Beauty Guide?

We're always looking for great reviewers to send FREE, FULL SIZED Beauty Products to!

Register today, and help New Zealand never make a Bad Beauty Buy again!

Register Here!