Vault

Max value reached

Adding this item would put you over your total vault limit of $250. please review your cart to stay under the limit.

Welcome to

Beauty Review

Want to be advised of trial teams we’re running, giveaways, great beauty offers and competitions? Sign up to receive our newsletter now, it’s easy.

Mellow Cosmetics Tinted Brow Gel Review
Mellow Cosmetics Tinted Brow Gel ReviewMellow Cosmetics Tinted Brow Gel Review
Mellow Cosmetics Tinted Brow Gel Review
Share with a friend
Would use it again? 4.2/5
Did it do what it said it would? 4.3/5
Would recommend it to a friend? 4.4/5

Mellow Cosmetics Tinted Brow Gel Review

Overall rating:
4.3/5

Achieve effortlessly tamed and tinted brows with Mellow's Tinted Brow Gel. A lightweight non-sticky gel formula with a mini brush applicator that allows you to finish and maintain a perfectly groomed eyebrow with no mess. Perfect to use over powder or pencil. Make a statement with your brows that will make you proud of!

Avaliable in dark brown and light brown

RRP: $16.00

Availability: Farmers

Website: www.mellowcosmetics.com

back

Found in:

Write a review

To allow us record accurate reviews we require you to register.

Looking to rate this product?

Please sign in or register.

Overall rating:
3.0/5
20th August, 2018 at 9:45 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Not A Winner

I have got into my brow game and so I wanted to love this product. In reality, there are others I love better.

The mascara style brow gel is dark brown and liquidy. A lot of product gathers on the brush, which means to get the amount of product your want on your brows you often have to wipe a lot of excess off the brush and then quickly off your brows before it dries. Blotting your eyebrows like lips is a real thing with this product.

I also found the brush was quite long which limited how much control I had over it. I prefer a smaller spoolie brush and as a result I've started using another brush with this gel.

In terms of longevity, this brow gel easily lasts all day. But is also easier than mascara to remove.

All in all, the quality is good, but the brush needs some improvement.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
3.7/5
19th August, 2018 at 10:43 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Let down by the applicator

This is a great brow gel- I have mine in dark brown (and it is in fact dark brown) which sets my brows well and lasts all day. However the brush applicator imo is too big and not accurate enough. Additionally it holds too much product so I find I have to scrape quite a bit off the end of the brush before applying. For this reason I would probably not repurchase

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.3/5
19th April, 2018 at 7:18 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Luff It!

I got this product in a BR vault, as I didn't own a brow gel let alone a tinted one! Now I do, and while I won't buy another one in my lifetime, I'm quite glad I have this one. I have the shade Dark Brown, as that was the shade given out.

The packaging is quite luxurious with its black tube and gold lid. I really like seeing it on display and its also easy to spot among my beauty mess. It's also very similar to a mascara tube, but luckily I haven't gotten the two mixed up yet!

The brush is small, but not unlike the shape of a regular run of the mill mascara brush. I also like that the brush and handle run the length of the tube as it means I can get all the product at the bottom, if I ever get that far!

One thing I strongly dislike about this product is how wet it is. Because of the wetness a lot of product remains on the brush, and short of wiping it all off and wasting it there is no easy way to get it all off. Unless of course, scraping the brush against the tube is your kind of thing.

Negatives aside, I really like it. I apply it at the ends or points of my brows and work my way back, so the ends are darker than the start. It blends out easily too (I run a soft eyebrow spoolie through them to soften them, I don't like harsh bold brows). I also think this size tube is quite generous just for brows (though perhaps it's perfect for those of us who do it every day).

This stuff keeps my brows in place but not so that I can't wriggle the hairy caterpillars around when I need to, and it provides enough coloring that I don't bother to fill my brows in with a pencil. Good product, definitely worth checking out.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
22nd February, 2018 at 11:07 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Beautiful Bold Brows

I randomly selected this brow gel in the last beauty vault. I love using brows gels for those times where I want extra volume or better form in my brow shape.

Packaging comes in a black tube similar to mascara. Be careful not to get them mixed up I almost have.

Consistency is a dark brown color. Texture is smooth with no clumps. No scent at all .

Application is very straight forward just apply it your brows. It goes on like a breeze. Easy simple to apply.

Result was beautiful emphasised eye brows. They stay like that all day long. No fade even in hot condition.

Overall I think it’s worth buying this one again. I believe this product could last over a year. A little goes a long way .

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
20th January, 2018 at 2:42 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
highbrow product without the price tag

I got this at Farmers as part of a "buy one get one half price" deal, and I am stoked. I got the dark brown, I have mid-brunette hair, and it is quite dark but I just apply lightly and comb through with a lash spoolie. It is that easy. Just like a mascara in appearance so easy to get lost/confused in makeup bag/drawers. I put it with my other brow and eye pencils and this lessens the confusion.

Tips: Be light with your hand and definitely use a brow brush/spoolie to soften as it can look harsh.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
17th January, 2018 at 9:26 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Super Pigmented Brow Gel

This is such a great price and is perfect for quick makeup days. I wear this on a daily basis when I dont have time to do my brows but want a bit of help. It is very pigmented and a great formula. Easy to clean up if you make a mistake! Happy to repurchase!!

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
10th December, 2017 at 8:52 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Love

I found this brilliant in the past I just used to use a pencil and a bit of hairspray just to make sure they stay in place but this stuff not only tends to so that it also makes them look flawless Once you get the hang of it.

When you open the box there is a tube about the same size as a lipgloss it has a small mascara type wand. I find it a lot easier to apply if I first wipe it on the edges less is more right as you can always go back in.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
30th July, 2017 at 12:24 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Best brow gel on the market!

Brow gels would be one of the hardest beauty products I've had to search for, over the years I've purchased many after watching and reading reviews but sadly they've all been a miss for me. My eyebrow hairs are thick but scarce and tinted brow gels either emphasis that lack of hair or make my eyebrow hairs look like fuzzy caterpillars so I've always opted for clear brow gel until a few months ago.

The lovely owner Ima at Mellow cosmetics had sent me a PR package containing a few of her new products, the tinted brow gel was one of these. I have a large collection of Mellow Cosmetics which helped expand my love for Mellow even more.

The brow gel comes in a dark mascara type tube, the colour I was sent was Dark brown. I like how the tops of the wands are gold so they're easy for me to see in my container of various makeup products. The wand has a small tip and slowly gets bigger towards the inner of the wand.

There are 2 ways I like to use the brow gel.

The first way is my daily routine where I wipe the excess product from the wand and brush the product from the front of my eyebrows pushing them upwards. With the type of wand it is, I can mimic little hairs which make me look like I have eyebrows, the small tip of the brush allows me to be more precise in applying this in the areas that I have no hairs, this takes 5 minutes and looks very natural, after that I use a wipe to sharpen the edges and Im good to go.

The second way is when I do a full face of makeup, after I've drawn on my eyebrows with brow pomade I go in after with the brow gel to blend the pomade and brush the hairs down.

I will be purchasing a few more of these, I am very happy with this product.

Tips: Wipe the excess tinted gel from the brush before applying to your brows.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
2.7/5
19th July, 2017 at 11:08 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Too dark - light brown = dark chocolate brown

I got this brow gel from the Nudes 2 BBBE box and unfortunately the light brown is too dark for me. I have a mix of mid and light blonde (dyed) hair, with some parts being close to platinum. That being said, I would still say that the light brown gel isn't that light to begin with, more a dark chocolate colour. The tube is very similar to a mascara tube, with a twisting-bristled wand. When I first pulled the wand out of the tube the gel stuck to the length of it in blobs, so I had to be very careful while holding it. The gel was quite thick and because of the blobbiness on the wand it brushed onto my eyebrows quite thick as well. I did like the size of the brush, as the bristles were well spaced and stiff enough to seem like they'll last well and comb through hairs well. Other than the colour being darker than expected and the messyness on the wand, the gel did do what it said it would. It also is a reasonable price and the product would last a while.

Tips: Might need to clean the wand and remove excess gel before applying, or will get blobs of colour in your brows.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.7/5
17th July, 2017 at 9:08 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
MC Brow Gel- Touch of Color + Brows Stay in Place

I bought this over the Black Friday sales when Mellow was having a discount along with some of their liquid lippies that I had been ooohing and ahhhing over but was waiting for a sale. I bought this in the shade dark brown. Dark brown I would describe as a cool toned chocolate brown, like a taupe chocolate brown. The wand is smaller than a mascara wand but not that small. Now this gel is great for holding my brow hairs in place and going for a natural look. My brows stay in place even when I work out. I like to pair this with a fine tipped brow pencil or a bit of brow powder and then run a bit of this through my brows for a really natural but really well groomed, healthy brow look. My brows feel soft and not crunchy but they stay in place even if I work out. If this color of brow gel is a good shade for you, this is an excellent product you get plenty of product in this tube which is fantastic. The only cons I can think of with this product is like most mascara wands when you pull it out of the tube you probably have too much product. If I were to apply it straight onto my brows I'd the gel clumped on some of my brow hairs, which doesn't look good or natural. I solve this problem by wiping the wand on a tissue prior to combing the wand through my brows. I would definitely repurchase this brow gel. At the time of this review they only have two shades. If one of the two shades is a good match for you then I would highly recommend you give this a try.

Tips: I get the best results when I pair this with my Eye of Horus brow pencils but any brow pencil will do. First I fill in any gaps with my fine tip brow pencil, pull the wand out of the tube wipe off the excess on a clean tissue, run the wand through my brows lightly. And then I immediately take a clean spoolie brush and comb my brows to set them in place, it also sort distributes the gel evenly through my brow hairs so they stay in place. The end result is dark, well groomed, fuller looking brows but it looks very natural. Farmers now stocks Mellow Cosmetics so it's great to pop in and test the shades and see if one is a good match for you.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

New?

to find out why you
should join New Zealand's largest beauty website

Click here

Beauty Poll

See all
Hot or Not? Are You Here for Mismatched Nails?

Hot or Not? Are You Here for Mismatched Nails?

Yes! They're a match made in heaven!

view results

Review of the Day
sarahellaoverton
Not so easy to use
I love Tailor products, so I was excited to try this one. However, I was disappointed. I found the product… more »