Vault

Max value reached

Adding this item would put you over your total vault limit of $250. please review your cart to stay under the limit.

Maybelline Super Stay 24 HR Colour Lipstick Review

Maybelline Super Stay 24 Wear Review
Overall rating from 32 reviews so far:
2.8/5
Would use it again?
2.7/5
Did it do what it said it would?
3.0/5
Would recommend it to a friend?
2.6/5

Maybelline Super Stay 24 Wear Review

No other longwearing lipstick lasts longer. Period.
Our Micro-Flex formula glides on and looks gorgeous all day.
In 30 long-lasting shades

 

Availbility  Selected supermarkets, pharmacies and Farmers stores

Website www.maybelline.co.nz



RRP: $23.99

Write a review

Please sign in to write a review.

Not yet registered?

It's super simple and only takes 30 seconds.

Register now

How would you rate this product?

Maybelline Super Stay 24 Wear Review

Maybelline Super Stay 24 HR Colour Lipstick Review

Reviews

Overall rating:
3.0/5
23rd January, 2020
0 members found this review useful
Maybe from maybelline

I brought quite a bit of maybelline product after?? Before?? Xmas.. I can’t remember now but recently anyways and this was one of the products I liked the look and sound of.

I was impressed by their matte stay inks so had high hopes for this but it didn’t live up to my full expectations. It’s only an ok.

Applies nicely and sets ok. It’s colour at one end and gloss at other end. I quite like the idea as the other inks I’ve used but maybelline can be quite drying so something to add moisture is a nice touch and stops sticking.

There’s some nice colours but I didn’t actually realise it had sparkles when I purchased and I must admit I don’t often wear sparkly things on my lips so I feel I dont suit this. But if you love sparkles give this a go.

You apply colour let dry and then apply the clear coating so does take a bit of time as can be hard to tell when fully dry as it’s a slightly sticky formula.

It wears ok mine stayed on for a few hours but definitely not 24hr it looked ok but was wearing down fast in the inner lip and needed reapplication so. It did last a while though on the outer lip and needed removal with a babywipe but I was worried about my appearance with the inner lip wearing away so I don’t know if I will be racing back to use this. Others might have better luck.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
2.3/5
19th January, 2020
0 members found this review useful
More like 24 minutes

The lipstick on the inner side of my lips wore away pretty quickly which meant re-applying ever 1-2 hours. The rest of the lipstick wore well but began to crack on the outer corners after a few hours of wear. Will transfer and rub off if eating/drinking. Also stained the skin around my lips when I accidentally over drew my lips which took a lot of harsh scrubbing to remove.

Tips: If you are a singer I do not recommend this product as you'll have to re-apply the product constantly around your inner lips.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.0/5
16th August, 2019
0 members found this review useful
Long Lasting Lipstick

I purchased a red coloured lipstick and it certainly lived up to it's name. It applied nicely, came with a brush to apply and was a liquid consistency. On the other end was another brush and a clear liquid, almost like a lip balm or top coat but i always used this side first to moisturise my lips before applying the colour. When using a make up wipe to remove it had stained my lips red, but wasn't overly noticeable. I definitely will use it again when i want my lipstick to last all night.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
1.0/5
14th December, 2018
0 members found this review useful
The Worst

I tried this few years ago before better long lasting lipsticks came out. There were few different shades and I chose a red one. So one side was the shade and the other side was the top coat to make it long lasting.

The colour glided on nicely, but it was wasn't very moisturising. Then I applied the top coat, that didn't dry very well and my lips get sticking together. It was the worst feeling and I never tried it again after that. I recall throwing it out.

There are so many better lipsticks out there now, I definitely won't be using this again.

Tips: Exfoliate lips before using.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
2.3/5
12th December, 2018
0 members found this review useful
Not a fan

Okay so yes, this does what it says. It lasts. The colour lasts so well that it is actually a bit hard to remove.

My issue with this lipstick, and the reason that I wont be purchasing it again, is that it really dried my lips out.

The colour I had also went on really really dark. I guess this is a preference thing, and some people might love it, but it just isn't for me.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
8th October, 2017
0 members found this review useful
Maybelline Super Stay

I wore this lipstick on my wedding day, I was in such a rush to find something and didn't want to spend too much on a long lasting lipstick. The shade was 005 Perpetual Plum, such a gorgeous colour! I found it really easy to apply the liquid lipstick, it has a curved brush that made it super easy. The consistency is really good with very tiny sparkles in it. You have to wait for it completely dry before you can put your lips together. Then you apply the clear gloss which is at the other end of the lipstick. The gloss really locks in the colour and makes it have a nice shine to it. I went a couple of hours without having to apply the gloss, but when I felt my lips were getting dry I applied it, ate food and drunk lots and it stayed on that whole time. I was so impressed! I can't remember how many times I applied the gloss but I woke up the next day and my lipstick was still on! Definitely would love to try more shades of this lipstick.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
1.7/5
4th July, 2016
0 members found this review useful
Very drying

Great product if you want a lipstick which lasts all day. I used it for a few weeks but then my lips became very dry. I loved the fact that I didn't have to re apply but in the end I didn't like the way my lips felt. I think you are meant to keep applying the gloss but then the lipstick becomes a bit flakey

Tips: I wouldn't recommend it unless you alternate with a moisturising lipstick

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
9th June, 2016
0 members found this review useful
Super stay

I absolutely love the Maybelline Super Stay lipstick. This product is super long lasting even with using the smallest amount of product, and it doesn't go patchy throughout the day which for me is really important. I love that it includes a lip balm to keep your lips hydrated as the lipstick itself can be a little drying if you don't apply balm. The formula is quick drying and doesn't leave a tacky feeling on your lips. The lipstick is pleasant smelling and with a huge range of colours, there is something for everyone. I will definitely be adding to my collection of these.

Tips: Always make sure you apply the lip balm a few times throughout the day so your lips don't dry out and crack. Also be careful when applying because this lipstick truly does live up to its name and stain your skin.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
2.7/5
1st October, 2015
0 members found this review useful
Not long lasting, impractical

I own this product in the shade 770, a berry coloured shimmer. The product comes in a simple silver dual-ended cylinder, with gloss on one end and balm on the other. The lid for the balm does not sit tight and easily comes off in my makeup bag which is inconvenient.

The packaging says to apply the gloss first, then the balm for long lasting wear. The gloss has a pleasant fruity scent and applies with a sponge applicator. The colour is a very lovely shade on my lips. Once the lip gloss is dry, you are supposed to apply the balm. This is where the product falls flat for me. The balm is white, and inevitably it gets covered in the gloss when you apply it, and it makes my lips feel very dry and doesn't really increase the longevity of the colour. The gloss lasts just as long on its own. The product does not last longer than an hour at the most on my lips, so it doesn't live up to the promises of 24 hour wear on the packaging.

Overall, I would not repurchase this as the gloss barely lasting, and cheaper lip glosses last longer with much less hassle.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
3.3/5
3rd August, 2015
0 members found this review useful
An Adventure

My relationship with this product has been complicated. I brought it because it had some great reviews for being a long lasting lipstick and I needed one of those for work. Well it does last well, but only if you apply it perfectly and don't move your lips too much. See the potential problem?

So to start with, this is a two step lipstick. It's in a white tube with the lip colour at one end and the balm at the other. And in white packaging. Are they tempting you to accidently stain it? When you apply the colour make sure you have the colour end downwards because it is liquid in there.

The liquid colour is applied by a sponge applicator. You need to hold your lips slightly open and paint them. Unlike a bullet lipstick this one you have to create and paint the shape completely yourself and one slightly out of place stroke can mean disaster. You also have to paint your lips quickly because then the colour starts drying and then it can come off if you accidently swipe over it. I also found the top lip was a lot harder to get right than the bottom lip.

Now once you've got it on, resist the urge to smack your lips together like normal, doing so will screw up the lip colour you just applied and you will have to start again. And now you have to wait for it to dry. They say 2 minutes, I do 5 to be on the safe side. Once it is completely dry, slather on the balm end or any lip balm. Note the balm end can come loose.

If you have survived this and your lip colour doesn't start to peel, congratulations you deserve a medal. But for most of us the lip colour will start to peel at the worst time and you have to scrub your lips clean and do it again because touch ups can look a bit funny.

So in conclusion, a long lasting lipstick, but possibly not worth the nightmare that is involved applying and wearing it.

Tips: Practice applying it and wearing it before you go out in public. It is amazing how many things can go wrong with this lipstick.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No

REVIEWERS NEEDED!

We need reviewers to put the Garnier Micellar Rose Water Clean & Glow to the test!


The innovative cleanser is combining forces with one of the original beauty essentials. Will it be more amazing than the bestselling and Top Rated Garnier Micellar Water?

We need you to help us find out!

Put Your Hand Up Here!