Vault

Max value reached

Adding this item would put you over your total vault limit of $250. please review your cart to stay under the limit.

Manic Panic Classic Formula

Manic Panic Classic Formula
Overall rating from 58 reviews so far:
4.0/5
Would use it again?
3.9/5
Did it do what it said it would?
4.0/5
Would recommend it to a friend?
4.0/5

Manic Panic Classic Formula semi-permanent cream hair colour. Available in 37 shades.

Some shades glow under black light.

There is also a Pastel-izer / Mixer available in the Classic Formula.

Manic Panic Classic Hair Colour made from vegan ingredients, PDD free and is NOT tested on animals. 

Pack Size 118 ml

 

Availability  Sinister Boutique, Various Retail outlets and Online,

Website  www.sinister.co.nz



RRP: $24.90

Write a review

Please sign in to write a review.

Not yet registered?

It's super simple and only takes 30 seconds.

Register now

How would you rate this product?

Manic Panic Classic Formula

Manic Panic Classic Formula

Reviews

Overall rating:
2.0/5
23rd February, 2020
0 members found this review useful
Pretty but doesn't have staying power

Manic panic was the first dye I used, for a teenager, it was easily accessible and awesome. But as soon as my hair got wet, it would run, which was painful in winter. The colour range is great, and the colours are gorgeous, but they fade super fast unfortunately.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
5.0/5
22nd December, 2019
0 members found this review useful
Great dyes

I love these dyes. I've used a few of the colours and they've all been great. I don't really dye my hair any colours anymore so i have a dark purple that i mix with conditioner to tone my hair and it works great and lasts ages.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
5.0/5
17th April, 2019
0 members found this review useful
Gorgeous colours

Great range of shades and lovely vibrant colours. The pinks and reds especially fade really nicely into more pastel shades. These are also great to mix together to create the exact shade you want.

Tips: Mix your own colours. I always mix mine with some conditioner added.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
2.7/5
9th March, 2019
0 members found this review useful
Vibrant colour, but didn’t last long

Easy to apply, especially as you don’t need to mix it. Initial colour was vibrant and true, however even on my pre-bleached hair, colours didn’t last long (noticeable colour loss after 2nd and subsequent washing - even using a sulphate-Free salon only colour lock shampoo & conditioner). I straighten my hair almost daily, and noticed colour loss with the heat from my GHD’s.

Ok if you don’t need coloured hair for a long period of time, but I wouldn’t recommend for a long-term colour

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
5.0/5
14th December, 2018
0 members found this review useful
surprisingly pleased

Finally I bought a color of this brand that I actually wanted to use, orange. Upon receiving it, I decided that the tub was bloody tiny for the price, so the pay off better be worth it. Luckily, it is.

I have 2 colors from this brand, a teal and an orange, but I've only opened the teal. I was surprised to see how jelly like the formula is, which is what made me extra skeptical in the first place. I dipped my brush in several times just to get a feel for it, and then I slapped in in my hair (brushed it calmly). I was pleased to note no harsh smell, I thought it was rather pleasant myself.

Leaving it to sit for several hours is preferable for me, but I've had excellent results just mixing it with conditioner and using it in the shower as an orange "shampoo" if you will (because its conditioner... not shampoo...). I just used that in place of my regular conditioner, and it brightened the whole color right back up.

I have shampooed my hair more than I usually would, yet it's still holding up. It has faded in some places, but I also have a feeling that's where I placed a different brand of orange so I can't be entirely sure. But it's doing well. With or without my touch ups. So it's fair to say that I shouldn't judge dye by their textures. I really enjoyed using this dye, and I'll be buying more in future.

Tips: mix with conditioner for a quick shower touch up! and use exit mold or janola to remove stains :-)

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
4.0/5
11th December, 2018
0 members found this review useful
Loved it!

I used Manic Panic as my first attempt at fashion coloured hair. It took a while to apply as I didnt want to miss a spot, and it was thicker than normal hair dye.

No major complaints about the product itself. No harsh smell. Colour looked great.

Downside it that it stains everything it touches during the dying process, and then once you rocking your bright hair - it fades crazy fast.

Was fun to give this brand a try, but will stick to different brand in the future.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
5.0/5
11th December, 2017
0 members found this review useful
Awsome bright colours

Love there bright colours have used a few of the purples and red, last quite well and washout well too colour gets more pastel like :)

Tips: Washes fades quick try to keep hair clean with dry shampoo so colour last longer wash hair 1-2x week

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
5.0/5
11th December, 2017
0 members found this review useful
Always a yes for manic panic!

I have used many of the Manic Panic colours over the years and have always enjoyed good results. The formula is easy to go on and smells great. It is kind to hair and leaves hair in a better condition however the results can fade quite quickly. One of my favourite colours is the Atomic Turquoise and it tends to have more staying power. The fade usually isn't too bad as pastels are quite nice and there is plenty of scope to play with colours and make your own by mixing from their large range. Great colours for mermaid hair and as it conditions so well it makes hair lovely and shiny. A great selling point for me is that it's not tested on animals either. An all round YES from me for Manic Panic!!!

Tips: Get empty jars and mix your own colours but make sure the jars are resealable so you can keep some for reapplying during washes. Put some colour in your daily conditioner to maintain colour brightness. For best colour results make sure there are no orange hues in the hair once bleached!!!

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
5.0/5
20th July, 2017
0 members found this review useful
Manic Panic Classic Formula - Ultra Violet

Im a huge fan of mabic panic i just started using it recently, you have a reasonable amount of colours to choose from i chose the ulta violet colour. Any ways i highly recommend just like with any coloured dyes cover your area your going to use cover with paper towels or even news paper this stuff can stain so also chuck a old top on and some gloves. Now i didnt apply it straight to my hair i placed a little in a container then diluted it heaps with some conditioner, i only did this to make it lighter a was going for a pale pastely tone. If you are going to dilute it you can get a diluted pale white from manic panic and mix abit of the violet to it abit at a time til you like the colour i ran out of this so i had to opt for the conditioner mix it does the same but if you do this way make sure the conditioner you use is free of oils and silicone. Swarzkopf and tresseme have a range of these conditioners. Anyways after ive diluted it i section my hair into fours so straight down the middle apply it from top to the back on my roots then split and section from the top of my head to my ear i then apply it to my roots in this then is in four sections i then carry on applying bit by bit in each section making sure its really satured once im done i do go ask someone for help just in case ive missed a couple bits then i leave that from 30mins to an hour. Like after dryed styled and admired the colour the like i mentioned i was going for a pale look and i cracked it lol but yeh im a huge fan because the size of the pot im able to do this look a few times if i use conditioner as diluter but im definitely going to buy this in the future.

Tips: Always was your hair with cold water and you dont want the hair cuticle opening and let out the colour. And try not to was hair alot as this will let colour out too.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
4.0/5
4th May, 2017
0 members found this review useful
Ultra Violet

I have used a few of these different coloured pots in my time but the most recent was an ultra violet that I put onto my natural dark blonde hair after using Manic Panic lightening kit so it was onto an almost white base, this made the colour a pretty pastel violet shade that sat in my hair for about 2 weeks until it had faded completely out leaving my white hair behind oh and dark roots, not a great look.

1 pot was not enough for my shoulder length, thick hair so I had to use 2 pots and even then I think I could have used half of another to get a more even look as the colour itself is quite thick and doesn't spread easily, well it does spread easy over the floor, walls, clothing, skin, etc.. however this was nothing a little bleach and damp cloth didn't clear up after I had finished putting the colour in.

Tips: As much as you cover up you will get this everywhere it is the nature of the beast, be prepared with damp cloths and towels you don't mind ruining (I always keep a set for dying my hair only) and have some bleach of mold out to get off of surfaces especially baths and sinks which can be porous.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.

Have You Registered With NZ's Biggest Beauty Guide?

We're always looking for great reviewers to send FREE, FULL SIZED Beauty Products to!

Register today, and help New Zealand never make a Bad Beauty Buy again!

Register Here!