Vault

Max value reached

Adding this item would put you over your total vault limit of $250. please review your cart to stay under the limit.

L'Oreal Paris Magic Retouch Precision Reviews

L'Oreal Paris Magic Retouch Precision Reviews
Overall rating from 31 reviews so far:
4.0/5
Would use it again?
3.7/5
Did it do what it said it would?
4.3/5
Would recommend it to a friend?
4.0/5

Magic Retouch brings a new innovation - our instant root concealer precision brush that creates an easy application for those stubborn scattered grey hairs.

The formula blends with your hair colour and lasts until shampooed out. The product is transfer-proof, water and heat resistant.

Availability Farmers, Selected pharmacies and online

Website www.lorealparis.co.nz

RRP: $20.99

Write a review

Please sign in to write a review.

Not yet registered?

It's super simple and only takes 30 seconds.

Register now

How would you rate this product?

L'Oreal Paris Magic Retouch Precision Reviews

L'Oreal Paris Magic Retouch Precision Reviews

Reviews

Overall rating:
3.0/5
14th October, 2019
0 members found this review useful
Just not convinced

Great concept but tricky to get right

I have a few stray grey hairs and also I have some leftover lightened pieces of hair throughout my hair that I thought I could easily touch up with this product and blend in to make my hair look more of an even colour all over. Alas, (while the concept of the product is great, practical and there is a definite need for it), I found the product tricky to use and get right. It was hard to apply to stray hairs and when I used it on my random light pieces even though I tried blending in by brushing through I still was not happy with the colour and I found it to be too noticeable and not natural looking. It was hard to get the coverage right and I preferred to apply it once I had put my hair into the style I wanted, but then I found the brush kept accidentally pulling on random hairs or bunching the hair.

Tips: I feel like this is a product I need more time to play around and practice with.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Overall rating:
4.0/5
10th October, 2019
0 members found this review useful
Hidden greys

I am increasingly getting more and more pesky grey hairs popping up. I dye my hair to cover them, but in between dye jobs there are scattered grey hairs that stick out like sore thumbs against my dark brown hair. Enter a solution to hide them - L'Oreal Paris Magic Retouch Precision Brush.

It comes in a surprisingly plain turquoise mascara like applicator tube. The brush is more like a flat comb, rather than a mascara brush - which is handy for being precise with applying it but also the added bonus of not mistaking it for actual mascara. It is quite easy to apply after a few practice runs to perfect the technique.

The colour was a good match and it was a nice consistency. It didn't leave my hair sticky or clumpy and looked quite natural. It said what it said it would do in terms of lasting until it was shampooed out.

It would take ages to cover all my greys, but we can't expect miracles here. But it covers some of the major stand out ones.

Tips: Takes longer than 5 minutes to dry, so give it a quick blow dry and a comb

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Overall rating:
5.0/5
9th October, 2019
0 members found this review useful
Great for those with a few greys!

This product is perfect for those with a few grey strands, if you're over 10-15% grey you're probably going to want a more permanent solution.

I found it easy to apply, and really unnoticable once dry - its not like the horror of spray-on hair for bald men! It'd be perfect for evenings out, and weekends away as its small enough to fit in your bag.

I would definitely recommend it to those with a small amount of greys - if you have a lot of greys this would be great in a cover-up emergency, but wouldn't be a great long-term solution.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Overall rating:
5.0/5
9th October, 2019
0 members found this review useful
So simple!

This simple hair mascara solves the grey strand problem! I stopped colouring my hair years ago, and I love my natural shade, but the grey coming through is a bit annoying.

I found this very easy to use, I just applied it over my greys, It covered them immediately. It didn't come off until I shampooed, and even then I didn't notice any pigment in the shower.

Recommend to those with grey strands they'd rather not see!

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Overall rating:
4.7/5
7th October, 2019
0 members found this review useful
Great product

I really liked this one from L’Oreal. When I first put it on, it was like putting gel in my hair - it looked wet and was sticky. Luckily I read the instructions re combing and waiting. After doing this, my hair looked fine and you couldn’t tell I was wearing it.

Pro’s: colour match was spot on. You couldn’t see the product at all! Grey coverage was 100% so I was extremely happy with that. It’s reasonably easy to apply, and the instructions are very clear.

Con’s: really only one downside is that you have to comb the product through. So if you’ve put your hair up and spot any lingering ‘sparkles’, you wouldn’t be able to just do a touch up with your hair up. You would need to take it down, use the product and start again.

Overall, I really liked this and will be using it during the between salon visits weeks.

Tips: Follow the instructions :)

I would also suggest a fine tooth comb. I have a wide one and I think the fine comb would do a much better job at moving the product through.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Overall rating:
2.7/5
6th October, 2019
0 members found this review useful
Not for me

I had high hopes for the product, however, it didn’t work for my very curly mane. The colour was great for my hair - I had dark brown. However, I couldn’t comb it through my hair without ending up like Diana Ross! I tried leaving it as is, without combing, and kind of smudging it into my hair, but it would end up looking like I had applied too much gel in that area. I tried using a very very minimal amount, but then that wouldn’t be enough coverage for my greys. I feel this would be great for someone with fine, straight hair. But for my thick curly hair, i couldn’t get it to work in a way that I felt confident that no one would notice I had used hair mascara. However, I did find it great as a eyebrow gel...found this out by accident, as I had ran out of mine. I put a little bit on an old spooly, combed it through my brows and it gave me a bit of colour but also held them in place great! It was an awesome fluke!

Tips: While I wouldn’t recommend going out and buying this for an eyebrow gel, it does work great as one if you’re in a pinch - put a little on an old spooly, brush through brows and you’re done!

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Overall rating:
4.7/5
6th October, 2019
0 members found this review useful
Definitely one of the best I have tried!!

I have tried a few Instant grey retouchers/concealers but I think this might have to be the one! I am so impressed with it and how it covers well and actually stayed on longer than expected.

The instructions were easy to follow and the brush is a stiff plastic and not like an actual mascara brush which I actually found better. The product was so easy to apply and I found the next day if I didn't wash my hair in the shower it actually still stayed coloured and didn't need a touch up which for me made life easy!

It didn't take any longer than my usual hair routine before leaving home to do which was great.

Tips: definitely make sure you brush/comb your hair to distribute evenly otherwise it will go hard like hairspray would.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Overall rating:
5.0/5
6th October, 2019
0 members found this review useful
Sister Product of Magic Touch Spray

This is also a great product but a bit different to its sister product that comes in the spray.

This comes in a mascara tube with a mascara type wand that is flat with little bristles that you use to apply to your hair.

This product I would say is more for little touch ups and not for a large area like the spray. You use this on the hairs on your forehead as opposed to your scalp.

It's easy to apply as long as you follow the instructions of having your hair dry and tied back.

It definitely is great for those wee touchups, does the job at covering your greys and there is no product fall out when you touch your hair as long as you do not rub it. Make sure to let this dry and don't add too much product to your hair or it will feel crusty like it would if you used hair spray.

All in all a great product however I would imagine this won't last you as long because it is in a small tube as opposed to a large spray can.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Overall rating:
5.0/5
6th October, 2019
0 members found this review useful
Covers sliver/grey hairs and lasts!

This is a fantastic product that really works! I seem to have one small patch of silvery greys and the odd one scattered that I noticed a few years ago when I was pregnant. I am really impressed with how well the Magic Retouch Precision blends, covers and matches my hair colour! I used dark brown and found it very easy to apply, it wasn’t clumpy and the wand was a good length and I was able to smooth it on evenly. It dried really quickly with a short blast of the hair dryer. I found it lasted days and was so convenient to use. It had a lovely shimmer to it and didn’t have a strong smell. Overall I would recommend this product to anyone wanting to cover greys/regrowth and will definitely be using this again!

Tips: Part hair thinly and smooth through with the wand until it blends evenly. Use hair dryer to dry quickly.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Overall rating:
3.3/5
6th October, 2019
0 members found this review useful
Could be a littlw tricky to match

I found this product a little tricky. I went for dark blonde to use but a different shade probably wouldve suited better but in saying that i have highlights so i could get away with it. Found it a little on the clumpy side so was a little hard to apply smoothly but when i did get it right it covered those wispy little greys that we all see so easily in the mirror well. I think once you have mastered a smooth application and have the right shade it would go really well so i will persevere and work out the best way to apply

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.