Vault

Max value reached

Adding this item would put you over your total vault limit of $250. please review your cart to stay under the limit.

Braun Xmas
Braun Xmas

MAC Pro Longwear Paint Pot Review

MAC Pro Longwear Paint Pot Review
Overall rating from 85 reviews so far:
4.7/5
Would use it again?
4.7/5
Did it do what it said it would?
4.6/5
Would recommend it to a friend?
4.7/5

A highly pigmented eye colour that goes on creamy but dries to an intense, vibrant finish. Long-wearing, colourfast. Creates seamless coverage without weight or caking. Blends smoothly over the lids. Cream-based, can be mixed with M·A·C shadows and liners.

Availability Select Department Stores, Farmers and M.A.C Britomart, M.A.C Riccarton, M.A.C St Lukes, M.A.C Ponsonby, M.A.C Botany. Online at farmers.co.nz and smithandcaugheys.co.nz

Website www.maccosmetics.co.nz

RRP: $48.00

Write a review

Please sign in to write a review.

Not yet registered?

It's super simple and only takes 30 seconds.

Register now

How would you rate this product?

MAC Pro Longwear Paint Pot Review

MAC Pro Longwear Paint Pot Review

Reviews

Overall rating:
5.0/5
5th November, 2019
0 members found this review useful
A must have product

I absolutely love this primer, once you have tried it you will find it hard not to keep repurchasing. It glides onto your eyelid, I like to use my finger, but it applies well with a brush too. It creates an awesome neutral base and covers over any spider veins, redness or imperfections. It gives a great base for eyeshadow and makes the colours more vibrant and extremely long-lasting. I love most MAC products because of the fact they prolong makeup wear and this is definitely one of my faves.

Tips: Just wear it by itself with mascara and lip gloss for a casual day.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
14th October, 2019
0 members found this review useful
Mac Paint Pot - Soft Ochre

I own this in the shade soft ochre. I use it as an eyeshadow base and I highly recommend it.

I do think there are dupes for this as an eyeshadow primer for a more affordable price, but this one works the best out of the ones I've tried. I believe they have two shades for eyeshadow bases - painterly and soft ochre. Soft ochre has warmer undertones and painterly has cooler undertones.

I don't need to apply a lot and it's super easy to blend out. I use a fluffy concealer brush and it doesn't take me long to buff this out. (I'll usually go over it with a sponge, quickly, to make sure it's all blended). It has good coverage and covers any veins or redness that I have on my eyes. I like using it as well when I'm not wearing any eyeshadow for that reason. I just set it with a bit of powder and I'm good to go!

This makes my eyeshadow last all day without creasing or fading or smudging. It's my go to when I go out or want my makeup to look good for a long time. When eyeshadow is applied straight onto this base, I find it makes them look more pigmented and easier to blend. It makes my trickier eyeshadows (colourful, bold shades, shades with less pigment etc) a lot easier to work with and look a lot better than if I was using regular concealer or a more thinner base.

The pot is a good size and the product lasts a long time. I don't need to apply a lot and it would take a lottt of uses before it was all gone. If I do use it all I will definitely repurchase!

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
24th August, 2019
0 members found this review useful
Its in the name!

This does not budge at all. The perfect base for all day wearing eye shadow and works great with all textures (powders/glitters/cream) sometimes i even wear it on its own to even the skintone on my eyelids. A little pricey compared to others but definetly worth the money! Comes in a glassware pot and a hard plastic lid, perfect size and durability for in your make up bag. Product us easy to work with and you only need a small amount as it blends easily and a little goes a long way. Defiently one of my staple products in my make up routine. Very natural looking and perfect base to make bright colours pop. I apply using a flat concealer brush then a fluffy eye brush to buff and blend it out.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
6th August, 2019
0 members found this review useful
I really like this one

I thought that I'd see if it was worth the hype. The short answer is: YES! The long answer goes like this: I've seen so many influencers hype this paint pot, specifically for my skin tone in "Painterly" as an eyeshadow primer. It's fantastic. It evens out all of the skin tone on my eyelids- mine are quite vein-y, and shadows apply over it like a dream. No creasing, great pigment transfer, and just generally a really great product. I've been using it every other day basically for about 6 weeks and it's lasting well. It's going to take me ages to pan, and I'll very likely buy it again when I do pan it.

Tips: Apply it with a damp beauty blender like you would a concealer onto the eyelid and set with your eyeshadow of choice. I also use it under my eye, since it's a great colour for me as a concealer- I set it with powder for a smooth finish without creasing.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
21st July, 2019
0 members found this review useful
Easy Eyeshadow/Base

If you’re one of those people who likes the idea of eyeshadow but doesn’t have the patience to blend their life away - this could be for you.

Paint pots come in a small variety of reasonably natural colours - however they are always coming out with a LE variety here and there. A little goes a veeeeeerrrrry long way with these guys, I find it’s more likely to dry out from owning one for so long before I will ever finish one completely!

A quick swipe of my fav colour ‘Groundwork’ makes for a very quick brown smokey eye, sometimes I will use an angled brush to use as a liner. Primarily I use paint pots as eye bases for my eyeshadow as it sticks so well, however the lazy girl in me loves their multi-purposes.

Tips: Start with a little and build up if you need to. It’s easy to go overboard!

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
10th July, 2019
0 members found this review useful
Creamy eyeshadow

I have used MAC Paint Pots every day for about a year now and I can't live without them. I'm not a fan of powder eyeshadows as they tend to crease, smear, flake and generally not stay put and when another brand of cream eyeshadow I was using was suddenly discontinued I had to scramble around and find a replacement brand...in walked MAC. The colours in this range are vibrant and highly pigmented, the consistency is smooth and creamy and you can apply as light or heavy as you need. These little pots of paint really are magic as the eyeshadow stays on place all day long, no flaking, no creeping into any creases, no completely vanishing by lunchtime. I wear contact lenses and I find these MAC Paint Pots do not irritate my eyes at all and at the end of the day it all comes off so easy with makeup remover. Personally I will never use anything else on my eyes, I hope MAC make these little pots of magic forever.

Tips: Despite the pots being small they last for ages! Worth the money.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
18th June, 2019
0 members found this review useful
5 star

I use the shade Soft Ocre and what a difference it makes. I don’t really have veins I need to disguise but I do struggle with creased eyeshadow and fading and this has changed all of that. I use a concealer brush to apply it and then brush a translucent powder over the top. My shadow glides On beautifully and stays on for 12 plus hours. I won’t even consider purchasing another base after trying this and can see why all the YouTubers rave about it. I use such a small amount that I think this one pot will last me a year at least.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
19th March, 2019
0 members found this review useful
Happy with it.

I have only tried one of these. The one I own is called vintage selection. It is like a shimmering sort of cool sliverish beige. It looks great on its own but works amazing as a eye primer to make eyeshadow last long times. Ideal for use as a sticky base for glittering shimmering shadows that tend to fall out or any shadow that tends to flake crease or fall out. This is a very expensive product and I worry about it drying out it hasn't yet though. I saw someone selling a heap of them online and I was very tempted to get a few more shades but thought I'd stick to the one I already have first. Although this is a very expensive product so far for me it works very very well quite an investment. They have a range of colours not all are shimmering so you can use with your matte shadow to have it stay matte too. After trying this I'm very curious to try other cream shadows such as Revlon and Maybelline colour tattoo to see how they perform.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
19th August, 2018
0 members found this review useful
Paint pot in painterley

I have super water eyes and oily lids and was forever finding my eyeshadow creasing or just generally not lasting as it should. I tried a bunch of cheaper Primers before finally splashing out on this cult classic. Well it is a classic for a reason people! My eyeshadow now lasts as it should all day without creasing. This also evens out the colour on my lids so I sometimes just wear it on its own. In wintertime this is realistically a little dark for me so I need to be careful to keep the product to my lids only. Will definitely repurchase- in fact I probably need to soon as I can’t remember how long ago I brought this product and it’s probably outside of its expiry date! Still got tonnes of product left though despite using it religiously.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.7/5
4th July, 2017
0 members found this review useful
Amazing eyeshadow base

I bought this in the shade Stormy Pink after seeing Shaaanxo use it in a tutorial, and immediately fell in love.

First of all, I love the colour! It's perfect for purple smoky looks. The formula is also really good, I've had mine for a few months and it's still as creamy as it was when I first bought it.

I use it as a primer depending what look I'm doing, and all of my powder shadows blend really well over top of it. It dries down really well and doesn't crease, however if you have dry eyelids it will emphasise the dryness.

These come in a really good variety of colours, and I often wish I had more colours that I could use with different eye looks. They're very versatile too, you could use them for eyeshadow or eyeliner among other things.

I definitely recommend these for people who struggle with eyeshadow fading on them because these will almost certainly not fade, and will last a really good amount of time on most people.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No

CHECK OUT THE BEAUTY VAULT PREVIEW!

The Beauty Vault opens this weekend!

You can have a sneak peek at just some of the products you'll be able to grab this weekend in the Beauty Vault Preview!

Click Here to go to the Beauty Vault Preview!