Vault

Max value reached

Adding this item would put you over your total vault limit of $250. please review your cart to stay under the limit.

Glam Pro Lash
Glam Pro Lash

MAC Prep + Prime Skin Review

MAC Prep + Prime Skin Review
Overall rating from 45 reviews so far:
4.5/5
Would use it again?
4.4/5
Did it do what it said it would?
4.6/5
Would recommend it to a friend?
4.4/5

A lightweight gel lotion formulated with special-effect silicones. Evens out skin redness and skin tone while adding radiance. Improves the laydown and application of foundation or powder.

Pack Size 30ml

Availability Select Department Stores, Farmers and M.A.C Britomart, M.A.C Riccarton, M.A.C St Lukes, M.A.C Ponsonby, M.A.C Botany. Online at farmers.co.nz and smithandcaugheys.co.nz

Website www.maccosmetics.co.nz

RRP: $58.00

Write a review

Please sign in to write a review.

Not yet registered?

It's super simple and only takes 30 seconds.

Register now

How would you rate this product?

MAC Prep + Prime Skin Review

MAC Prep + Prime Skin Review

Reviews

Overall rating:
4.0/5
6th February, 2019
0 members found this review useful
Nice to use

When I first used a sample I couldn't believe how different my make up looked. My skin looked so good and I really wanted to get the full size. It was $100 though so I hesitated for a while, but finally managed to get one at duty free. I haven't experienced the same wow factor as i did with the sample (maybe I got used to it) but it's still very moisturising and I got comments that my skin looks radiant. Because of the price point though I may be on the lookout for good primers that are more affordable.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
3.3/5
1st September, 2016
0 members found this review useful
Skin Issues

I think this primer is one of those that works for certain skin types - just not mine. It has a light scent which didn't bother me, and I thought the packaging was nice and simple, also great as it had a pump (however you couldn't tell how much product was left in the bottle.) I small amount of this primer goes a long way and I find it did create a nice base for the rest of my makeup, everything blended well on top and there was no patchyness caused.

However, the reason this primer feels so 'silky' is because of the amount of silicone in it. In my experience, silicone is just not something you want to be putting on your skin, especially not this amount. Along with it not working well for oily skin, silicone can cause a lot of problems for people with sensitive skin, such as burning and/or rashes. Despite not having overly sensitive skin myself, this primer broke me out in not just normal acne, but also some very very painful cystic acne, and I had to stop using it immediately.

There are better primers out there for the same/lower price that don't contain ingredients like these that do nothing for your skin, be careful!

Tips: Get a tester before purchasing and see how your skin reacts to silicone after a few days

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
16th May, 2016
0 members found this review useful
Silky skin.

This was the very first primer I used and while it is expensive it is definitely worth it.

It comes in a black cylindrical container and contains 30mls; one problem with this type of container is you are unable to see how much is left however the pump dispenser allows you to control how much you want out and has the added bonus of being hygienic I typically need between 1-1/2 pumps to do my entire face.

The primer feels rather silky I suppose a bit like silicone. It has a slight shimmer to it which adds a subtle luminescence to the skin without looking like you have rubbed glitter all over your face. It guides/absorbs into my skin well and It makes my make up look fantastic and last all day.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
27th March, 2016
0 members found this review useful
Primer novice

Let me begin by saying my experience with primer is that its the coat you do before painting a house, and is not to be used on the face. I have an old flatmate who is a primer fan and when I headed to Australia for the first time back in February for a dance event I suddenly got worried about my face falling off during the combo of excessive heat, humidity and dancing. So I stopped at MAC in duty free and 'accidentally' purchased a primer, plus a wee sample pot of BB cream. It pumps out of the bottle in a nice consistency, the packaging is small enough and designed so you can add it to your existing makeup bag rather easily. It spreads on smoothly (with fingers of course) and seems pretty novice proof. My foundation (covergirl or mac or anything else) seems to all stick to it very nicely and I've had no issues

Tips: Take the plunge, get a primer, and suddenly your face goop actually stays where you want it to!

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
3rd March, 2016
0 members found this review useful
Holy Grail!

Why oh why did I not get this sooner?!!

I don't have much experience with primers but this is just fantastic!

First of all, the packaging is lovely. A sleek black cylinder with a pull off cap & a pump for getting the product out. Only draw back is you cannot see how much is in it. The Black has a slight sparkle to it too.. it's pretty!

The product is a cream, smooth & silky and a little goes a long way. I fine 1 & 1/2 pumps does my whole face & jaw line.

It has a slight shimmer when on the skin which apparently is a light deflector or something along those lines... It's nice anyway.

My skin looks dewy without being sticky with it on by it's self.

Foundation application is easier. It's almost grippy & hold the foundation well.

I have found it's not slipping off by the end of the day & I'm not as oily as I used to be.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
19th November, 2015
0 members found this review useful
Oily skin

I absolutely love this primer! This is amazing if you have oily to combination skin. Keeps me matte all day and stay's put.

Tips: Use your fingers to apply the primer. Found my foundation had a more flat and even coverage than if I was to use a brush.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
3.7/5
30th August, 2015
0 members found this review useful
Good primer but not for my oily skin

This was the very first primer I ever bought because it was recommended by the MAC MUA who was looking after me and so naturally I thought it was awesome back then.  After purchasing it for a second time (and having a bit more knowledge about face paint) this is not the best primer for my oily skin.

It comes in an opaque black plastic bottle with pump which I hate because I find it frustrating that I can't tell how much product I have left. The product has a thick consistency but a velvety feel once blended into the skin which I feel is typical of primers that are silicone based.  

I use to 2 pumps for my face and under good lighting you can see the reflects - not to be confused with glitter or sparkles.  I don't mind a bit of reflects in my primer as long as my face is not a substitute to light the path at night. It feels light weight and leaves me with a smooth canvas to apply my foundation - either liquid or powder - doesn't matter both types go on beautifully and they don't have to be MAC products.  

I don't notice any difference in the primer making my make up last longer but that doesn't really bother me because the primer alone provided me with the kind of canvas I wanted to achieve a flawless finish (or as close to flawless as one can get).  

The only reason I won't be repurchasing this is because it doesn't do much for oil control.  Even though the product is non-greasy it really doesn't help to keep the shine at bay.  I'm not overly oily (I don't think) so I do expect this product to give me a slight improvement.  Those with dry to combination skin would really benefit from this.

Tips: I dispense 1 pump on the back of my hand, then dot my face and massage it in. Then I repeat the same with one last pump.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
29th July, 2015
0 members found this review useful
I love this primer for dry skin!

Works wonders on dry skin and has a stunning shimmer that adds such a beautiful effect on a full face of makeup! Wish it was cheaper lol

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.0/5
22nd July, 2015
0 members found this review useful
Velvet skin ready.

I am a MAC fanatic, and therefore seemed fitting that I purchase a MAC primer when my previous one ran out. The product is in a neat black container and looks simple and effective. It has a lot of product in it, and has so far lasted me 6 months. When applied the primer goes on smoothly, it is a thicker texture then I have used in the past, but I feel like this helps with the hit of hydration that it gives. I soaks in quickly and sits well, leaving my skin velvety and shimmery. Im not sure how effective it is for helping my makeup last, but I think it lays a great base for my foundation to be applied!

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.7/5
16th December, 2014
0 members found this review useful
Overall favourite.

I have tried a couple of primers, and I have another one on the way to try soon! However the MAC Prep and Prime is definitely my favourite, the slight illumination provided is really handy when you aren't a pro at highlighting.

I often wear the primer with just a light layer of powder foundation over the top when I am in a rush, or not wanting to wear much make up due to either running out of time to put it on or general laziness. It makes the product stay beautifully and is great for evening out skin tone even though it isn't a true 'colour correcting' primer.

It is quite expensive, however 1-1.5 pumps provides ample coverage and if you know you are going to use it regularly then you can pick it up in the occasional sale.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No