Vault

Max value reached

Adding this item would put you over your total vault limit of $250. please review your cart to stay under the limit.

The Beauty Vault - Aug
The Beauty Vault - Aug

MAC Prep + Prime Skin Review

MAC Prep + Prime Skin Review
Overall rating from 44 reviews so far:
4.5/5
Would use it again?
4.4/5
Did it do what it said it would?
4.6/5
Would recommend it to a friend?
4.4/5

A lightweight gel lotion formulated with special-effect silicones. Evens out skin redness and skin tone while adding radiance. Improves the laydown and application of foundation or powder.

Pack Size 30ml

Availability Select Department Stores, Farmers and M.A.C Britomart, M.A.C Riccarton, M.A.C St Lukes, M.A.C Ponsonby, M.A.C Botany. Online at farmers.co.nz and smithandcaugheys.co.nz

Website www.maccosmetics.co.nz

RRP: $58.00

Write a review

Please sign in to write a review.

Not yet registered?

It's super simple and only takes 30 seconds.

Register now

How would you rate this product?

MAC Prep + Prime Skin Review

MAC Prep + Prime Skin Review

Reviews

Overall rating:
3.7/5
14th August, 2017
0 members found this review useful
Currently using - but not my fav

I'm currently using this primer and everything is great about it - its silky smooth, foundation glides on nicely and feels nice and lightweight on my skin. The only thing I don't like about this is the glitter though. It's got a subtle hint of glitter which I always find on my hands after applying it and that puts me off a little. It's not obvious on the skin but I think I prefer a primer without any glitter especially if I'm just using it on a normal day! I'm not a fan of little bits of glitter all over my face!

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
3.3/5
1st September, 2016
0 members found this review useful
Skin Issues

I think this primer is one of those that works for certain skin types - just not mine. It has a light scent which didn't bother me, and I thought the packaging was nice and simple, also great as it had a pump (however you couldn't tell how much product was left in the bottle.) I small amount of this primer goes a long way and I find it did create a nice base for the rest of my makeup, everything blended well on top and there was no patchyness caused.

However, the reason this primer feels so 'silky' is because of the amount of silicone in it. In my experience, silicone is just not something you want to be putting on your skin, especially not this amount. Along with it not working well for oily skin, silicone can cause a lot of problems for people with sensitive skin, such as burning and/or rashes. Despite not having overly sensitive skin myself, this primer broke me out in not just normal acne, but also some very very painful cystic acne, and I had to stop using it immediately.

There are better primers out there for the same/lower price that don't contain ingredients like these that do nothing for your skin, be careful!

Tips: Get a tester before purchasing and see how your skin reacts to silicone after a few days

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
16th May, 2016
0 members found this review useful
Silky skin.

This was the very first primer I used and while it is expensive it is definitely worth it.

It comes in a black cylindrical container and contains 30mls; one problem with this type of container is you are unable to see how much is left however the pump dispenser allows you to control how much you want out and has the added bonus of being hygienic I typically need between 1-1/2 pumps to do my entire face.

The primer feels rather silky I suppose a bit like silicone. It has a slight shimmer to it which adds a subtle luminescence to the skin without looking like you have rubbed glitter all over your face. It guides/absorbs into my skin well and It makes my make up look fantastic and last all day.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
27th March, 2016
0 members found this review useful
Primer novice

Let me begin by saying my experience with primer is that its the coat you do before painting a house, and is not to be used on the face. I have an old flatmate who is a primer fan and when I headed to Australia for the first time back in February for a dance event I suddenly got worried about my face falling off during the combo of excessive heat, humidity and dancing. So I stopped at MAC in duty free and 'accidentally' purchased a primer, plus a wee sample pot of BB cream. It pumps out of the bottle in a nice consistency, the packaging is small enough and designed so you can add it to your existing makeup bag rather easily. It spreads on smoothly (with fingers of course) and seems pretty novice proof. My foundation (covergirl or mac or anything else) seems to all stick to it very nicely and I've had no issues

Tips: Take the plunge, get a primer, and suddenly your face goop actually stays where you want it to!

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
3rd March, 2016
0 members found this review useful
Holy Grail!

Why oh why did I not get this sooner?!!

I don't have much experience with primers but this is just fantastic!

First of all, the packaging is lovely. A sleek black cylinder with a pull off cap & a pump for getting the product out. Only draw back is you cannot see how much is in it. The Black has a slight sparkle to it too.. it's pretty!

The product is a cream, smooth & silky and a little goes a long way. I fine 1 & 1/2 pumps does my whole face & jaw line.

It has a slight shimmer when on the skin which apparently is a light deflector or something along those lines... It's nice anyway.

My skin looks dewy without being sticky with it on by it's self.

Foundation application is easier. It's almost grippy & hold the foundation well.

I have found it's not slipping off by the end of the day & I'm not as oily as I used to be.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
28th November, 2015
0 members found this review useful
Best Primer - MAC Primer

MAC products are good quality products. Each application of MAC primer is amazing! My skin looks better after applying this before i start my daily make up routine! I would strongly recommend to anyone!!! It's definitely worth the cost...

Tips: Ensure that your face is clean and dry before applying your primer!

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
19th November, 2015
0 members found this review useful
Oily skin

I absolutely love this primer! This is amazing if you have oily to combination skin. Keeps me matte all day and stay's put.

Tips: Use your fingers to apply the primer. Found my foundation had a more flat and even coverage than if I was to use a brush.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.0/5
18th November, 2015
1 members found this review useful
Prime Time

I had heard so much about this primer, and a lot of MUA's seemed to recommend it so I was dying to get my hands on at least one bottle. Just to try and it see what it was like for myself.

It comes in an opaque black cylinder and uses a pump to dispense product (which if you stalk my profile- you would know this is my favourite design). Although the black packaging is nice to look at, and is stylish and sophisticated, it’s a real pain to tell how much product is left in the container which I find so frustrating.

The primer itself is white, and almost looks like a moisturizer in regards to consistency. I find a little goes a long way and 1 pump is normally enough to cover my face, but 1-1/2 is what I normally use.

This applies really nicely on my skin, and is easy to smooth over my face. I find this is not a heavy silicon based primer (which is good because I am definitely not a fan of those sorts of primers). However, I feel like this has the tiniest aspect of that because it creates a lovely smooth canvas for my makeup to go onto.

Honestly, the first few times I used this I did not think it made my makeup last longer, but depending on what foundation I use this with, my makeup does actually wear better and doesn't fade so quickly which is great.

Overall, I do like using this primer because of how it works with certain foundations and the way it makes my skin look, but it’s not my favourite primer out there.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
3.7/5
30th August, 2015
0 members found this review useful
Good primer but not for my oily skin

This was the very first primer I ever bought because it was recommended by the MAC MUA who was looking after me and so naturally I thought it was awesome back then.  After purchasing it for a second time (and having a bit more knowledge about face paint) this is not the best primer for my oily skin.

It comes in an opaque black plastic bottle with pump which I hate because I find it frustrating that I can't tell how much product I have left. The product has a thick consistency but a velvety feel once blended into the skin which I feel is typical of primers that are silicone based.  

I use to 2 pumps for my face and under good lighting you can see the reflects - not to be confused with glitter or sparkles.  I don't mind a bit of reflects in my primer as long as my face is not a substitute to light the path at night. It feels light weight and leaves me with a smooth canvas to apply my foundation - either liquid or powder - doesn't matter both types go on beautifully and they don't have to be MAC products.  

I don't notice any difference in the primer making my make up last longer but that doesn't really bother me because the primer alone provided me with the kind of canvas I wanted to achieve a flawless finish (or as close to flawless as one can get).  

The only reason I won't be repurchasing this is because it doesn't do much for oil control.  Even though the product is non-greasy it really doesn't help to keep the shine at bay.  I'm not overly oily (I don't think) so I do expect this product to give me a slight improvement.  Those with dry to combination skin would really benefit from this.

Tips: I dispense 1 pump on the back of my hand, then dot my face and massage it in. Then I repeat the same with one last pump.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
29th July, 2015
0 members found this review useful
I love this primer for dry skin!

Works wonders on dry skin and has a stunning shimmer that adds such a beautiful effect on a full face of makeup! Wish it was cheaper lol

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No